Skip to content

I’m losing my mind folks!

September 5, 2007

goingcrazy.jpgAaaahhhh! So I’ve been spending lots of time over at Friendly Christian. Not always so friendly of a site. Pretty heated topics with pretty heated views. I love a good debate – but detest arguing! Sometimes people go round and round – and for what? To hear themselves speak? To puff themselves up? Lots of questions to explain faith. Lots of definitions. Lots of answers. But then no answers at all. I think that’s called chasing tails.

So because my little tiny brain is overstimulated right now – I need a real good laugh! So help a sister out here… Tell me…

What is the funniest personal story you have that has happened to you or in your presence? Don’t be bashful πŸ˜‰

22 Comments leave one →
  1. September 5, 2007 10:30 am

    Too many to count! There was the time I was in Japan and a short Philipino man tried to sell me and friend. We were 17, in the wrong place…at the wrong time, and ran for our lives. Scary then but hilarious to us now. He offered a couple marines 10 dollars for his prize offers inside, and told them he’d give us to them for 2 because we were Americans! First I was ticked (I’m only worth 2 dollaH??), then I got scared and ran!

  2. September 5, 2007 10:31 am

    Luckily for us he was too fat and slow to catch up to us!

  3. September 5, 2007 10:53 am

    I would have to say that whole falling in church incident. Seriously. That was awful. πŸ˜›
    That and this morning I was at the hospital visiting Kacie (induced this a.m.) and I ran into the nurse that was with me the whole time (the three days) and I said “OH HI!” and she goes “who are you?”

    SUCKSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS. heehee

  4. September 5, 2007 11:22 am

    OH YEAH~I can answer this one! We had just enjoyed our backyard July 4th FUN, and had come out front to walk one set of neighbors out and met another with mutual friends. I threw my arms in the air and hollered out, “HAPPY BIRTHDAY AMERICA!” What I didn’t know was that my hand had gotten caught in my shirt and I looked like a girl gone wild….

    I personally like going round and round sometimes~if it’s done respectfully~gets me thinkin’! LOL! (((((HUGS))))) sandi

  5. godsgal1 permalink
    September 5, 2007 12:23 pm

    It is exhausting isn’t it….ok funny story. I know I must have told you this at one point or another…but here goes…about 15 years ago when Jer and I first began to date, I loved to waterski, and he loved to snow ski. I had never tried it, so we decided to make it one of our first dates. For the first 30 minutes or so he taught me how to “snowplow” aka, stop. After awhile I felt confident enough to try so we got on the lift and as we approached the top he reminded me to stand up and “snowplow”….well I stood up, and my waterskiing kicked in and I leaned back instead of forward which shot the skis forward. Realizing what I did, I overcompensated by leaning forward which in turn helped me to pick up speed. All I remember is seeing alot of trees and hearing Jerry’s “SNOWPLOW!!!!!” behind me, luckily the 8 foot snowdrift and out building stopped me. We should have then been in an avelanch from the thud, but luckily it was fine. Being the gentleman that he is he helped me up and after laughing our heads off we made our way to the top of the “bunny” hill. Of course the whole time I’m so taken by him I’m batting my baby blues….
    So down we start side by side, but being the experienced skier that he was he was faster….until he turned to check on me….at that point, he slowed enough for me to catch up and keeping my feet together, I realized I didn’t know how to turn and my skies ended up between him and his legs….I squatted and most of my body made it through until my poles caught up with me. This cause his legs to go apart so far that he couldn’t move. I finally wriggled my hand out of one of my pole straps and slid the rest of the way through his legs….he fell back in the snow, and eventually we made it down. After a couple of more successful runs, we decided to go and get warmed up in the lodge. Once we got inside, he told me I needed to go to the bathroom????!!!!! Not wanting to disagree with my knight, I went, but was a little confused since no apparant urge was there….
    When I walked through the door, I began hysterical laughter once again as my hair was completely frozen out behind me, and I had forgotten to wear waterproof mascara. I cleaned myself up, and when I no longer looked like a disheaveled raccoon, I went to join up with him….there have been many stories since then, but as they say, the rest is history….love you sweety! πŸ˜‰

  6. September 5, 2007 12:48 pm

    Funny stories I have coming out of my ears but most are personal and only funny to me like the time I cooked Toad in the hole and my eldest daughter, Bethany, went to look for them in the hall. Toad in the hall. Geddit? See, I said it was only funny to me.

    Actually you might appreciate this one:

    We’ve always raised the kids to be brave and not cry or complain if they fall over and hurt themselves. They get a quick cuddle and are then expected to “get back on the horse”. My son fell off a climbing frame and started to cry, The Hildy did the usual and told him to get up and stop moaning (the great ninny) and then picked him and and sent him packing back to play.

    It turns out his arm was broken.

    We laughed all the way to casualty.

    No, OK a joke.

    Q. Why are pirates called pirates?
    A. Because they Arrrrrr!

    Another one. It is a scientifically proven fact that women have smaller brains than men (less water apparently) and that their brains shrink slightly during pregnancy. It is not considered appropriate to advertise this at a prenatal clinic as I found out to my chagrin.

    All my good stories are children related.

    When Cait was a toddler she shared a room with her big sister, Beth. As was our habit of an evening we came in to check on them about an hour after bed time but Beth was missing. We looked in the bed, under the bed, in the cot, in the bathroom everywhere and eventually found her hidden in a cupboard with the doors shut. She had gone there to escape Cait’s incessant yapping and fallen asleep.

    I tell you, these kids are going to kill me with worry one day.

    There was that time that Beth lost her appetite and went looking for it.

  7. September 5, 2007 12:58 pm

    There’s also the cat I rescued fifteen years ago who hates me. Ungrateful little madam.

  8. Cheryl permalink
    September 5, 2007 1:00 pm

    Besides my post about forgetting things…anything else and I’d worry…or end up pregnant!

  9. September 5, 2007 2:02 pm

    On Labor Day my 83yo grandma asked me about “Pot Brownies’….except she called them “Crack Brownies”. hahahahaha It was great! I think the whole family burst into laughter.

  10. September 5, 2007 4:03 pm

    Have you been over to read my post on Labor Day: OCD style? That should get a laugh out of you.

  11. September 5, 2007 4:57 pm

    ROTFL!!!! it is good to laugh! I am a firm believer in that too!

    Hove-you totally crack me up…and the pirate thing..seriously…I was reading Magnificient Frog (actually good reading), and realized their is a holiday when you are supposed to talk like a pirate all day..I wanted to do it..now my family has it on the calendar..we are easily amused!

    One more funny story…My oldest daughter(22) has recently inquired as to why no one celebrates Worth day except my family. LOL I made that up when she was just little to justify blowing off work-because we are worth it!! She wanted to know when the next worth day is…so I made up a date. I love her soooo much…she was very disappointed that I had made it up, as she let her boss know that she would not be in on the date b/c of worth day. And “he is a total jerk about it”! love my blondie, she rocks!

  12. September 5, 2007 5:09 pm

    You all are killing me! I have had a very long day. Busy, both kids were back at school today, I had much discussion time over at FC ( mind bending ) great stuff though! Then I come home to all of this and I am just so grateful! Laughter is indeed good medicine!

    All your stories left me jaw dropped for the most part! And I think American women are worth waaayyyy more than 2 dollaH’s! Figh Dollah on a good day!

  13. September 5, 2007 5:39 pm

    I gotta tell ya even though I wasnt there, I was from the TV, ” Full to the measure” part 3, with Beth Moore today was stinkin’ hilarious. If you have itunes download the podcast, because it is worth it.

    She talked about being in an airport and an old man in a wheel chair with long hair was going by, and God told her to go to him. She was freaking out saying that she didnt want to witness to him.
    God told her, ‘ I dont’ want you to witness to him, I want you to brush his hair.”

    You have just got to hear it, because it is us girl, completely, who would easily do something like that:)

    Maybe Mother Teresa….I just had to add this:)

  14. godsgalchild permalink
    September 5, 2007 6:10 pm

    Some may feel this in inappropriate…sorry, since I’m blond sometimes I felt I had the right….I gotta make my girl laugh…..

    A Blonde’s Year in Review

    January
    Took new scarf back to store because it was too tight.

    February
    Fired from pharmacy job for failing to print labels…..
    Helllloooo!! !…….bottles won’t fit in printer !!!

    March
    Got really excited….. finished jigsaw puzzle in 6 months…..
    Box said “2-4 years!”

    April
    Trapped on escalator for hours …. Power went out!!!

    May
    Tried to make Kool-Aid…. .wrong instructions. …8 cups of
    Water won’t fit into those little packets!!!

    June
    Tried to go water skiing…… couldn’t find a lake with a slope.

    July
    Lost breast stroke swimming competition. ….learned later,
    The other swimmers cheated, they used their arms!!!

    August
    Got locked out of my car in rain storm…..
    Car swamped because soft-top was open.

    September
    The capital of California is “C”…..isn’t it???

    October
    Hate M & M’s…..they are so hard to peel.

    November
    Baked turkey for 4 1/2 days .. Instructions said 1 hour
    Per pound and I weigh 108!!

    December
    Couldn’t call 911 ….. “duh”…..there’s no “eleven”
    Button on the stupid phone!!!

  15. September 5, 2007 10:45 pm

    There is a link to the vitamins in my post that goes right to my site, and another in my sidebar. As a distributor I am not allowed to say the company name “out loud” on-line…. (((((HUGS))))) sandi

  16. September 5, 2007 11:45 pm

    Stop yer lollygaggin, by thunder. International Talk Like a Pirate Day be on 19th September every year. Get ye ta http://www.talklikeapirate.com if’n ye want ta be a salty sea dog ‘stead o’ a land lubber.

  17. September 6, 2007 7:43 am

    Angie, I have actually heard that story spoken from Beth. I laughed AND cried! She is such a great story teller too!

    Deb – my favorite, “January
    Took new scarf back to store because it was too tight.” I know those kinds πŸ˜‰

    Thanks Sandi! I’ll check it out!

    Hover – you’re out of your mind!

  18. godsgal1 permalink
    September 6, 2007 1:56 pm

    Tam, I had the worst night mare last night…Jerry and I were walking through the mall and he led me over to one of those sample tables that were selling razors…..He said “My wife needs one” and when I looked down my armpit hair was about 5″ long…..WHAT DOES THIS MEAN?????

  19. September 6, 2007 2:56 pm

    GG – when I have the strength to pick myself up off the floor from laughter I’ll get back to you on that…Until then…anyone else got something? HELP THE WOMAN OUT!

  20. ur daughter permalink
    September 8, 2007 1:20 pm

    ok i have a good one. last spring my mom my bro and i were in old navy. i had found a pair of shorts that i really liked and went to show my mom. well, when i was talking to her, i didn’t realize there was a pole right behind me. i started backing up and saying that i was going to try them on. well, i turned around to walk away…and i walked right into the pole! i hit my nose so hard, it was bruised for almost five or six days. ya. painful.

  21. ur daughter permalink
    September 8, 2007 1:25 pm

    kind of embarassing too! πŸ™‚

  22. September 8, 2007 10:56 pm

    Funny stories? Have you heard about my son JD?

Leave a Reply

