Skip to content

Preserving Grandchildren

September 11, 2007

I just had to share this with everybody! My son had to get an x-ray today of his lungs, docs are looking for Asthma like things…Anyways, I’m in the X-ray room with Kota, I’m standing safely behind the half wall that protects me from impending doom, watching the tech get him situated. I notice on the wall behind him a few objects hanging in order of size. They were the shape of tear drops going from small (about the size of a grapefruit) to large (…larger than a grapefruit?) with a flexible band around the top. Miss Tech reaches for one, the small one…he’s only 10, and proceeds to wrap it around my sons waist. Kota looks very, very perplexed and concerned at this point. He glances down at this hanging object in front of him and ask, “What is this for?” At which Miss Techy replies, without delay, “It’s to protect your future children.” Awkward!!!

photo-276.jpg

15 Comments leave one →
  1. ur daughter permalink
    September 11, 2007 7:43 pm

    the thing that was really funny was his priceless facial expression. hillarious!!!

  2. ur daughter permalink
    September 11, 2007 7:47 pm

    he almost looked worried. And embarassed. πŸ™‚

  3. godsgalchild permalink
    September 11, 2007 8:42 pm

    Whew! Camping trip was just in time it sounds like…..Did they at least give him the big tear? Sorry, you can delete that if you like…..

  4. September 11, 2007 9:08 pm

    I know sis! I’ll never forget his look. He didn’t quite recreate it exactly in this pic either – but close!

    GG, I edited in the “size” to the post…tee-hee πŸ˜‰

  5. danieltomlinson permalink
    September 12, 2007 2:36 am

    Funny stuff Tam! I can imagine. I had a female pediatrician. Physicals were ackward at a pre-pubescent age.

  6. September 12, 2007 4:41 am

    Was it awkward for you or for him?

    Parents are generally much more sensitive about this stuff than the kids themselves are. They tend to take things more in stride while we view them as “our little babies” still.

  7. September 12, 2007 7:03 am

    Daniel, it was funny! And I just remembered when I saw your pic up there that I forgot to email you about the book – sorry. I’ll do that today πŸ™‚

    Hov, No, awkward for him…It was hysterical to me! I saw it coming too so I was anticipating it and watching for his reaction. I was so bummed that I couldn’t have my cell phone to catch his expression in a pic!

  8. September 12, 2007 8:09 am

    Ohhh that is too funny! He was probably confused. hahaha

  9. September 12, 2007 8:22 am

    At least she didn’t pretend it was an oxygen mask or something.

    Hey, thanks for stopping by immersionworship.com.

  10. September 12, 2007 8:44 am

    when did they start using grapefruit size things, i love the heavy metal jacket slash blanket. the bigger the better i say for protecting my grandchildren!!! πŸ™‚

  11. September 12, 2007 9:13 am

    Krislinatin, I know! I had never seen one of those protective shields before – but of course I’m a women! She used the small one cuz he’s just wee one πŸ˜‰ and I assume they use the larger ones for grown wee ones!

    Hey Gretch!!! How are you? I’ll stop by later!

    James, thanks for stopping by too! I really like your blog… a lot. I have a confession – I’ve been lurking (eeeks) for a couple of weeks. Just wanted to get a feel for it…love it!

  12. September 12, 2007 12:04 pm

    That is spectacular!!!

  13. gavcait permalink
    September 12, 2007 2:26 pm

    Poor child. Between camping and doctors he may be scared for life. Seriously, he sounds like a great young man. How did his test turn out??

    I finally updated my blog. http://simplysanders.blogspot.com

  14. September 12, 2007 2:40 pm

    Hey girl! Nice to hear from you again. I’ve missed ya!

    Doc just called and his lungs are fine!

    I’m off to check out your blog now! πŸ™‚

  15. Cheryl permalink
    September 12, 2007 3:17 pm

    OH MY GOODNESS!! That is hilarious!!! And eve though the picture was a re-creation, it fits!!

Leave a Reply

