Skip to content

What’s the point?

September 30, 2007

subway.jpgWe’ve been out of town this weekend and haven’t had a lot of time to spend on the computer. Plus the hotel we’re staying in only has DSL…is that right? Where you have to plug some phone line looking thing into the computer. Kind of archaic!

Anyway, Brent and I stopped at Subway a couple days ago, ordered a sandwich, then watched the creative masterpiece come alive before our eyes. Except there was one thing that didn’t make sense to me. I don’t know if you’ve noticed the employees wearing those nifty little plastic gloves while handling your food now. It’s a good thing…because I sure wouldn’t want their bare hands on my sandwich. Gross! I can rest knowing my lunch is germ free…yes it is!!! NO IT’S NOT! So this guy comes out of the back (with gloves on) takes my order (with same gloves on) grabs the bread (same gloves on) loads in the meat (same gloves on) adjusts his pants (same gloves on) adds the cheese (SAME GLOVES ON) wipes off counter with gloved hands! That’s right! Not a rag – gloved hands! Picks up sandwich, nukes it, cleans counter while waiting for nuking (s a m e  g l o v e s  o n ) sticks nasty little gloved hands into lettuce and olive container – now all of YOUR lettuce and olives are contaminated! Does this make sense to any of you? What is the point???

Just wondering if you knew?!

16 Comments leave one →
  1. September 30, 2007 10:02 pm

    i had subway the other night, thx for this lol

  2. Bran permalink
    September 30, 2007 11:25 pm

    Oh yes! this I have noticed! There is no point at all….. they need to NOT TOUCH anything else or change gloves every time!! I especially HATE when they TAKE CASH MONEY and THEN touch the food. EW!

    Yes, totally gross.

    Okay, thanks for just reminding me why I should NOT eat out anymore, b/c really, even in most restaurants…we do NOT want to know what goes on in the kitchen. *shudder*

  3. September 30, 2007 11:50 pm

    that is so nasty! it may now be awhile before i go to subway again.

  4. paul permalink
    October 1, 2007 12:43 am

    HAH..i have no idea..but we have different people at different stations doing your bread where I live…so its like a different person does your bread, meat and veges. 🙂 now that makes more sense..doesnt it?

  5. October 1, 2007 10:22 am

    Oh MY Grossness…do I need to ask…”Did you eat teh sandwich???”

    I generally “WATCH” them to see if they are putting on fresh gloves before they start my sub, but after that I zone out…guess I better pay more attention! ;(

  6. October 1, 2007 1:42 pm

    I just want to know what he was doing in the back with those gloves on?… uh… no, no I don’t.

  7. Cheryl permalink
    October 1, 2007 2:02 pm

    Oh no he didn’t!? I hate Subway and you have given me another reason not to go there! Bleh!

  8. October 1, 2007 2:44 pm

    YOu should have said..”I think you are going to start over!” I am so very bad about watching things like that too! Too bad your hungry huh? Just make it ourself I guess! 🙂

  9. October 1, 2007 9:46 pm

    i am glad i have never liked subway and as Jesus would say LOL!!! I have a keen sense of smell and there is just something about the mop water smell in those places that gets to me. ha ha

  10. October 2, 2007 8:28 am

    Sorry i had to gross you all out. But it had to be done!

    However, I think D Rho takes the cake on grossness here 😉

  11. lovewillbringustogether permalink
    October 2, 2007 8:32 pm

    The intent of the point (gloves) is to give the customer a Peace of Mind, much more so than it is to ensure hygeine, obviously (from your observations) 🙂

    Overcomer #8 raised a very good point – would you have dared to say that? (or even to have thought it?)

    I have never worked in a fast food joint but my parents have worked in a major bakery and if you heard what they have seen you would never eat any baked (or manufactured) goods again.

    Is probably a case of best out of sight – out of mind. Just better we don’t know (or even think about!)

    If you are seriously concerned by what you saw it would be advisable to send Subway’s Head Office an email asking them to improve their hygeine instructional video so their staff actually think about the food they are preparing and what they touch while doing it. Rather than as you have seen them do – just follow an idea by rote.

    On a ‘positive’ side humans need a certain level of contact with germs and toxins so as to build up their immune system against attack. Living in a bubble makes us more susceptible to illness that exists all around us every day of our lives, so consider your experience kinda like an innoculation for future disease.
    ( But still send that email! 🙂 )

  12. October 2, 2007 9:55 pm

    Ya know, lovewillbringustogether, I should say something to the company. Good point. Thanks for stopping by!

  13. heatherblankenship permalink
    October 5, 2007 4:14 pm

    ewwww that is so disgusting! I am a bit of a germ-o-phobe.. I feel pretty certain, I would have been pretty vocal about that situation! : )

  14. October 8, 2007 3:40 pm

    I rarely eat at Taco Bell anymore, because someone took my order–at the cash register–with gloves on, and then proceeded to go to the back and make food–with the same gloves on! EEEW!

  15. October 8, 2007 8:04 pm

    i just read this post and just threw up in my mouth a little.

  16. October 11, 2007 7:35 pm

    Well, I finally found something I am qualified to speak on. Many health departments don’t require gloves for food service employees because of just this problem. They need to be changed often but they provide a false sense of security for the wearer and it is often forgetten. Handwashing, with very very hot water and soap for at least 20 seconds (that’s a long time) is the industry standard. That being said, gloves will provide a barrier between the food and food prep surfaces and any bodily fluids.

    Don’t bust Subway or Taco Bell. The fast food chains are usually better than the independant operators. You should see what happens in the kichen of 4 star restaurants. I have seen things….. But in reality there are very few cases of verifiable food poisoning incidents in restaurants. There are many more problems with grocery stores, fish markets and butcher shops. Beware of produce – how many hands have squeezed that plum that has been sitting at room temperature for the past 3 days?

    And it’s nothing new. Every year there is a surprising spike in reported cases of intestineal flu, right after Thanksgiving. This is the time each year when the great amateur cooks of America experiment with new ways to promote bacteria growth on warm turkey with cold stuffing. Think about this the next time you go back into the kitchen to graze on the leftovers that have been sitting out for a couple of hours or more.

    Bon Appetit!

Leave a Reply

