Skip to content

Friends are friends forever…

October 2, 2007

friendship-art-1.jpgI know the cheesiness of this posts title may have well scared some off – but admittedly, the cheesiness made me laugh so… I went with it.

This Sunday afternoon I was blessed to spend some time with a long time best friend. Her name is Amy, she is Solace Girl in my blogroll. She and I sat at the dinner table catching up, sharing stories, giving advise, crying with each other, and of course laughing. Her mother in law, Judy “lurker”, had a vision of Ames and I spending time together and wanted to make sure we were able to do so. She blessed me – I am blessed! Thank you lurker…I mean Judy šŸ™‚

A true friend is very hard to find. When you do find one – you keep a hold of them. I was asked yesterday by Shell why I considered Amy a “best friend”. It was easy to answer… She is real, she is genuine, she will shoot straight from the hip, she is honest. She has been by my side, even if not physically, for some of the most difficult times. She loves unconditionally and deeply. She is an amazing mother, wife and mostly…woman of God! She inspires me! She is a stellar example of a woman! I do have a few friends like this in my life…Sue and Gods Gal – and I treasure them very deeply.

Why is your best friend your best friend?

17 Comments leave one →
  1. October 2, 2007 1:14 pm

    **warning!!!**This a gushy reply back to Tam…

    I am completely humbled by your words. I count it pure joy to consider you a…sister. I only hope to be an “enth” of the W.O.G.(doesn’t sound as graceful as woman of God, huh?) that you are. You inspire me to know why I believe what I believe, to not care about the things that don’t matter, and to count every moment of life a precious gift. Thank you.

  2. October 2, 2007 1:51 pm

    I have a simple test of who my friends might be. Do I smile when I think of their names.

    Tam, you are my friend.

  3. godsgal1 permalink
    October 2, 2007 2:48 pm

    YAY! Ed’s back!!!! I decided a long time ago that Jesus is my best friend. I know it sounds cliche, but I have such a wide variety of women who minsiter to me in so many ways, both locally and far away. At any given time, one can be the ‘best’ depending on what the situation is. So I love equally, and try to be there both in and out of “seasons” in my life. I do think tho, the more you go through things with people, the closer you become and the more trust you have…..I love the women and men that God has put in my path along the way….He knows exactly who I need at any given time.

  4. October 2, 2007 3:12 pm

    Ames, be as gushy as you please…Can’t wait to see you again friend. I love you very much!

    GG- I see what you’re saying…and for me, there are those few who have simply always stood the test of time…those are priceless friendships to me…

    Ed! Your comment made me cry. I am in no way just trying to be sweet and kind in my reply to you here…you have brought genuine, humbled tears to my eyes! Your return to the blog has blessed me richly today! Welcome back friend – I missed you!

  5. October 2, 2007 3:33 pm

    šŸ™‚ who wants to be my best earthly friend!? LOL I have lots of friends,but things have proven the last few years that women in ministry don’t have many close friends…Jesus has been teaching me that HE is my best friend, and always has pure motives…and I think I just have a lot to learn about this subject…mmmmm I do have a strange sense that my blog friends may be as good as it gets on this side of heaven! Thank Jesus for you!

    W00T! Ed is back!!! I have missed you too!

  6. October 2, 2007 3:48 pm

    Darla… I just think when in ministry one has to work a little harder at friendships – but I think that’s why, for me, they are so sweet. Much has been invested. I do know that being a Pastors wife, as I am – and also in the music ministry, can sometimes be a disadvantage – but I have come to break the “women in ministry” mold!

  7. October 3, 2007 5:45 am

    Tam,
    That is so sweet for you to say about you friend.

    We are doing the study right now, The friendships of women. This seems to be a good example of that.

  8. October 3, 2007 6:20 am

    Tam! Thanks for your sweet message. sorry I haven’t been by to visit in a while. Life is a bit overwhelming at the moment between the lack of job and everything else we are a bit stressed. Thanks for the prayers! We appreciate them so much!

  9. October 3, 2007 6:34 am

    My BFF is my BFF because she loves me, is always there for me, doesnt judge me and is honest but loving. I can only hope these are all of the reasons I am her BFF. My BFF has been there since my first day of H.S. and although we were hell bound rebelious teens at the time, God still saw it as a good thing that we became friends because in the end His plan was much bigger than either one of us could ever have known.

  10. October 3, 2007 7:25 am

    Awww…how cool that you have such a good girl pal. That is a rare blessing! Hey send me the link on Rindy’s page…on which blog you posted on. I want to read it.

  11. October 3, 2007 7:40 am

    What a sweet post.

  12. October 3, 2007 10:01 am

    I don’t have any best friends, just dear ones:)
    All my siestas, Kit and Debbie. The most awesome people in the world!

  13. godsgal1 permalink
    October 3, 2007 10:03 am

    Speaking of friends….we need to get our Sue over her blog phobias so she can be a part of this LOL She would add so much…..love you this day!!!!

  14. October 3, 2007 1:15 pm

    i got your email i am so not looking forward to that kind of talk. u crack me up!!!

  15. October 4, 2007 4:33 am

    We need friends. Like Deb, there are different women in my life for different needs and seasons of life. I have one friend in my life that I consider my best friend. This relationship has stood the test of time (9 years), the test of differences, respecting space (we live across the street from each other), encouraging one another, and being there for one another during trials.

    Tam, I’m glad the Lord has blessed you with this relationship as well as with GG and Sue. I’ve seen pastor’s wife and other women in ministry struggle in this area and I’m glad you have broke the mold.

    Blessings in Christ–

  16. October 4, 2007 5:17 am

    “I know the cheesiness of this posts title may have well scared some off”

    Without a doubt the cheesiest post title I’ve read in years. As a result I didn’t even read the post and instead thought about different types of cheese. Worst part is, I don’t even like cheese! HA!

  17. October 4, 2007 3:31 pm

    It was the title of this blog that made me come check it out! You know, I have been burned by a “best friend” once, and it hurt more than I ever expected. Still does at times. I was mad at myself for allowing anyone that close to me, but one day it hit me, I cannot judge the rest of the world on one person’s insecurities and faults, as much as they hurt me. And now God has put some other friends in my path that I am learning to trust, especially one of them. And although I think I will might reserve the usage of “best friend” for a little while longer, I think what I am learning most of all is that she doesn’t try to change me. She truly accepts me, faults and all. And it isn’t just in words. She doesn’t ever have to better, or more important. She is truly happy for me when things go well. Well, I could go on and on… but I’ll spare you the book! Great post!!

Leave a Reply

