Skip to content

His, Hers, and the “Other”?

October 15, 2007

restroom.gifI’m speechless. I am in utter silent confusion.

I’m driving home this morning listening to a local talk radio show when I hear something to this effect… in the state of California they are trying to pass a non-gender bathroom. In other words, recognize that some describe themselves as “non-gender” so then they choose which public restroom, be it mens or womens, they prefer to occupy.

Uuuuhhhh…is this totally nutty just to me??? You either have a “hoo-hoo” or you don’t! If you don’t, do your business next door please!

This means that any boy can go into your daughters locker room. This means that rest stops are even more creepy than they already are.

We are a society that is destroying absolutes.

I am flabbergasted…

23 Comments leave one →
  1. godsgal1 permalink
    October 15, 2007 11:21 am

    Hmmmmmm, when I was a medical aide, I took care of a morphodite, very interesting….never heard of a neither…..how do they…. ????? Maybe it’s a halfway house for people in midst of a sex change??? Hmmmm, I agree to hoo-hoo or not to hoo-hooo, seems pretty plain to me. Every time I think it can’t get any worse, it does….I look forward to the day when God says ENOUGH and we’re outta here!

  2. October 15, 2007 11:29 am

    “Hoo Hoo” LOL!!!!!!!

  3. October 15, 2007 11:30 am

    Yes, that is all I got out of this…I am a guy πŸ™‚

  4. heatherblankenship permalink
    October 15, 2007 12:30 pm

    I laughed out loud at the Hoo Hoo comment too! HILARIOUS!

    Gotta say, I am sick of all this crap about its all relative, no absolutes and all that! It’s only gonna get more dark in the world before it’s over though.

  5. October 15, 2007 1:16 pm

    We’ve never actually met (I don’t think), but DH and I also go to TRF…have for quite a while. Just thought I’d say HI, love your blog!

    In regards to today’s post…it is a sad sad state of affairs when someone’s “Hoo Hoo” or otherwise might get offended by going in the appropriate bathroom so they have to make a separate one. Really!?!? What exactly are they doing in there? Do we need to change all the forms that we have to check for either male or female too…to include an “other”. Sad…and strange.

  6. October 15, 2007 1:25 pm

    What is happening? I leave for 6 months…and now this?

  7. Greg permalink
    October 15, 2007 1:32 pm

    Seems to me that if you don’t know if you have a penis or a vagina, you have a much more serious problem than having a special bathroom is going to solve. Can we say T-H-E-R-A-P-Y?

  8. October 15, 2007 1:45 pm

    Hi again πŸ™‚
    Thanks for stopping by MY blog πŸ™‚ I think we have seen each other at different events, but never actually “met”. I’ve heard your name a lot over the years from other friends (always good), so I feel like I know you. I have a picture of me and my son several posts down on my blog, so see if I look familiar πŸ™‚

  9. October 15, 2007 3:03 pm

    I mentioned in one of the FC threads about the “uni-sex” bathrooms in the traditional Japanese public restrooms when I was in Japan in 1966.

    I left quickly the first time I but after a while it didn’t bother me.

    The public bathroom in one of the local Town Halls is now uni-sex. You are supposed to lock the door when using it. Someone else may learn more than they want to about you if you forget to. :).

  10. October 15, 2007 3:19 pm

    I’ll never use the bathroom in public again if this happens. Ugh.

  11. October 15, 2007 3:27 pm

    Hooo-hoooo ROTFL!!!! You always have great posts and very insightful and then you send something in there that totally catches me off gaurd!

    Seriously, I am sure that this is the beginning of the end…and it will get darker before our Light of the World shows up and takes us out of here.

    No public bathrooms for me without hubs..if we are all going to go together..YUK!!!!

  12. October 15, 2007 4:46 pm

    Wow. I got nothin’.

  13. October 15, 2007 8:47 pm

    oh my i am with you on this being totally weird! ha ha on the hoo hoo! LOL

  14. October 15, 2007 9:21 pm

    OK – so apparently my “Hoo-Hoo” comment was the star of the show today! Wasn’t my intention.

    You all are easily entertained! πŸ˜‰

  15. October 15, 2007 10:45 pm

    Small things amuse small minds, Tam lolololol

    It’s not the size that counts tho – isn’t that right ladies???? πŸ˜‰

  16. October 15, 2007 11:21 pm

    Ok serious for a sec.

    I am reasonably certain all here Thank God they will never have, or had, to deal with this themselves or in their children, but the term ‘hermaphrodite’ has been a part of Human history since WAY before we were born.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hermaphrodite

    What would we do/feel like if we did?

    Given our seeming never-ending capacity to bring yet more kids into the world (take a look at human population graphs for the last 3 thousand years – it is a frightening, and to me is a far greater, ‘problem’ than global warming) it (Tam’s topic and the Wiki reference)is a condition and problem that we are only going to have to face more of in the future. Time to get your heads (and hearts)ready people!

    Tam – i am unsure – was the radio saying we were all supposed to use the SAME room or that there should be a third room for those uncomfortable about going into one of only two? Like we have already for the disabled?

    I have for a while now been slightly bemused by the fact that homosexuality is ‘growing’ and becoming more acceptable in society today for just the kind of thoughts you have, or seem to.

    We have separate men’s and ladies rest rooms to remove the potential difficulties between members of the ‘opposite’ sex getting semi-naked for reasons of bodily functions – Right?

    Well as I understand it, Homosexuality means you are aroused and sexually attracted to those people you share a rest room with!!

    Wasn’t that what we tried to avoid in the first place by having separate rest rooms??? Maybe we need Five rest rooms – any advance on Five??

    Do I hear Six?

    Ok – not serious now! back to Fun πŸ™‚

  17. October 15, 2007 11:27 pm

    And i am REALLY sorry for being pedantic but since everyone else seems to have missed it…

    You said: if you Don’t ( have a ‘Hoo-Hoo’ Giggle) do your business next door please?

    You ‘go’ in the men’s room often, Tam???

    That radio show must have shook you up pretty good huh? πŸ™‚

  18. October 15, 2007 11:32 pm

    Have I got the right ‘Hoo-Hoo’? giggle πŸ™‚

    Brent? little help?

  19. October 15, 2007 11:49 pm

    Yes, Thinker – they were talking about kind of a “rights pass” for some one who might be gender confused to use either of the two restrooms…whichever one they felt more drawn too.

    Crazy, eh?

  20. October 16, 2007 4:11 am

    Can’t they just hold it till they get home? Public loos are invariably unpleasant places to visit no matter what your professed gender. OK, I’m guessing that this is the case for ladies as I’d certainly get arrested if I were to peek.

  21. October 16, 2007 6:11 am

    A nation falling all too quickly it seems. Sad!

  22. October 16, 2007 7:00 am

    Yes Hov, but sometimes holding it, for women, could mean a drastic shift in hormone level which may cause sudden, erratic and potentially dangerous mod changes!

    paintingartist, AGREED! Thanks for stopping by πŸ™‚ Went to your site…beautiful work!

Trackbacks

  1. And so it continues! « inProgress

Leave a Reply

