Skip to content

Unspoken

October 21, 2007

unspoken.jpg

 

 

We all have a secret. We all are hiding something. We all have fears. We all have doubts. We all have hurts. We all handle these things differently.

I’ve known people in my life who abused drugs. They wanted to be someone they weren’t.

I’ve known others who were alcoholics. They wanted to numb their many pains.

I’ve known others who used sex in hopes of feeling valued and wanted.

I, myself, battled anorexia. I wanted something only I could be in control of.

Our Rachele has a story to tell. Something you don’t hear about often. It’s the unspoken vice. Read her story here.

18 Comments leave one →
  1. October 21, 2007 9:59 pm

    right on Tam

  2. October 21, 2007 10:01 pm

    very tough subject…and not too often talked about…great words

  3. October 22, 2007 2:00 am

    “I wanted something only I could be in control of”

    Gee! That is ONE perspective i never viewed it from!!!

    How me!me!me! ego-centred is that?

    How BADLY that ego wants some control and how hard it will fight you and everything else for it if it is not geting what it wants!

    That points a way to overcome such addictions.

    Our kids need to experience positive self-control and not be alllowed to let it run away with them!

    Respect you more and more each day Tam!

    You are Amazing – just Amazing – even if it is not completely all your ‘own’ work! πŸ˜‰

    Credit where credit is due! πŸ™‚

  4. October 22, 2007 6:47 am

    I knew the moment that I read your blog, before I clicked on the link, what her story was. I suppose I know because I have been there too. I appreciate your willingness to share her post, and I appreciate your honesty. It’s not easy for some scars to heal.

  5. October 22, 2007 7:31 am

    I know…”me,me,me” to the inth degree. It’s sad isn’t it? Although that part of me died many, many years ago. This rising generation has it so much worse! So many pressures. So much expected of our youth. So much abuse. They’re breaking down. It’s heart breaking!

    Shell (Rachele) is a tremendously strong young woman of God. We believe in her and the ability she has to rise above affliction. She has a story to tell. A ministry before her. A heart for her generation and then some!

    Thanks for encouraging her friends and stopping by he blog. She’s gonna get under your veins…trust me πŸ˜‰

  6. October 22, 2007 11:16 am

    Hey:)

    I think you know that I struggled with that for a couple good years…and I was impressed by her story:)
    And that she was so open about it.

    Its a tough subject.

    Spiritual Warfare is the hardest thing when there is something in YOU that is trying to be fought….

    Give that girl a hug!

  7. October 22, 2007 11:34 am

    That points a way to overcome such addictions.

    Your exactly right lwbut. this is whay there are often “Christian” or “religious” based addiction programs. they replace “ourselves” with something else, like Jesus.

    I have always agreed with not focusing on the addiction, but instead focusing on Christ. Replacing our weakness with his strength.

  8. heatherblankenship permalink
    October 22, 2007 12:35 pm

    Such a great blog! Thanks for recommending it! I commented on it. I also was a cutter in High school…some 10 years ago! I began cutting at the age of 12. I stopped the cutting and traded addictions the older I got…it was a Christian 12 step program that taught me to replace my self focused thinking and living with a Christ centered one.

    Hi Love! If you think about it honestly we all tend to be self focused even as Christians…it takes a continual humbling of ourselves to keep a proper perspective!

  9. October 22, 2007 1:41 pm

    Wow! Tam thank you for sharing her blog. And you are so right we all have a different ways of handling stuff.

  10. heatherblankenship permalink
    October 22, 2007 2:21 pm

    oops…denial got a hold of me for a moment… I graduated more like 12 years ago! lol!!

  11. October 22, 2007 3:04 pm

    I just read your message about your sever problem. “Goshdarn’t”. Now I am sure you are a true Christian. When my computer crashed a couple of days ago the words I used where a tad more explicit. :).

    Reading stories like your’s and Rachele’s is one reason I am optimistic about the future.

    You are right we all have secrets, fears, doubts. I certainly have had my share. Sometimes the battle is long and hard, and mine certainly have been. However look at how far we all have come.

    I don’t know if you have super powers :), I know I don’t. Our life stories show how much strength we all have inside ourselves. Harness that strength and there isn’t a problem in the world that can’t be overcome.

  12. October 22, 2007 5:49 pm

    I just love Shell! thanks for sharing her with us. But I do think you missed one profile of addiction..the one who is addicted to everything and will use anything that is available to escape reality at all costs. I used to be that one. I have been delivered..YAY GOD!!

  13. October 22, 2007 7:13 pm

    Excellent comments everyone πŸ™‚

    Heather B I am so in tune with you about honesty and self – Every day is a challenge to ‘us’ to not slip into complacency.

    And as for your denial – i bet you could pass for ‘8’ lol πŸ˜‰

    Tam – I DO trust you! I also am geting an idea of just how sneaky you can be too! πŸ˜‰

    Ed – How true – the strength is always there inside of us – Some have different ways of understanding and accessing it is all. Now where the strength actually comes from….. Hmmmmmm… Off to ponder on that. πŸ™‚

  14. October 22, 2007 7:35 pm

    SNEAKY! WHAT??!!

  15. October 22, 2007 9:44 pm

    Hahahahahahahaha! πŸ˜€

    ‘Ping’ πŸ™‚ (another nail)

  16. October 22, 2007 10:07 pm

    OK, really! What? I’m serious here friend… Throw me a bone πŸ™‚

  17. October 23, 2007 8:44 pm

    Oh – sorry Tam I thought you ‘got’ it?

    Ok – “Here Girl!” “Catch!” πŸ™‚

    Sneaky as in: inviting me over to FC, as in trying to ‘trip’ me with the moles; as in your B’s Aunt Ethel ;-); as in your devilish devious fun-lovin’ nature! as in hangin’ your head because you got found out about as yet unreleased Kota/Kass video’s ???

    Y’know? SNEAKY! πŸ™‚

  18. October 23, 2007 8:49 pm

    OOOOHHHHH!!! That’s not “sneaky” – that’s talent!

Leave a Reply

