Skip to content

UH-OH!!!

October 31, 2007

black-cat.jpgI’m driving home from the Harvest Festival tonight enjoying digging through my children’s candy sack when I notice something shimmering in the road. What could it be?

I JUST RAN OVER A BLACK CAT CROSSING MY PATH….ON HALLOWEEN NIGHT!!!!!!

COOOOMMMMME ONNNN!!!!!!

WHAT ARE THE ODDS???!!!????

I know this is suppose to mean bad luck for me or something – but beings the now road kill never made it across because I KILLED IT – does it make the myth null & void???

Please say yes!

44 Comments leave one →
  1. October 31, 2007 9:02 pm

    ooooo Tam…now you’ve done it! Let us know how things turn out K?….LOL

  2. October 31, 2007 9:12 pm

    HAHA! Very funny!

  3. October 31, 2007 9:47 pm

    I’d stay away from any mirrors just in case. You don’t want to add seven years bad luck. Seriously, though what are the odds of that?

  4. October 31, 2007 9:49 pm

    i can’t believe i just killed a cat

  5. October 31, 2007 9:50 pm

    Since it only got to run half way across you path it might mean half the time you will have bad luck and the other half of the time good luck. Maybe? No, sorry Tam “You are DOOOMED”. (manical laughter) πŸ™‚

    Perhaps this is Gods way of punishing you for celebrating the pagan holiday of Halloween. πŸ™‚

    Are there reference to candy in the Bible? πŸ™‚

    Do the Ten Commandments cover toilet papering a house? πŸ™‚

  6. October 31, 2007 9:53 pm

    I just thought of you and there your blog was:)

    Um, you killed a cat…not good.

    Although, I almost killed a deer once(Yes in FL), while driving.

    I think you’re okay though.

    It could be worse….it could have already been dead…ya know, GHOST! LOL

    Forgive me, watched ” Ghosthunters” lol.

    Love you:)

  7. October 31, 2007 9:59 pm

    My bad luck is already beginning! My kidneys hurt and my man wants to watch Texas Chainsaw Massacre.

    Lord? Take me now!!!

  8. October 31, 2007 10:07 pm

    I hope your family enjoyed the harvest party.

    I live in a complex with a private road so we don’t get any kids coming around. We have a party at the complex which I think works a lot better.

    I still buy some candy just in case any kids do show up, but there were none this year.

    Oh well, I guess I’ll just have to eat all that chocolate myself. πŸ™‚

  9. October 31, 2007 10:10 pm

    We had a great time…that is before I killed the cat.

    TRF, our church as you know, puts on a Harvest Party each year as an alternative to Halloween and trick or treating. It’s a load of fun for kids and adults alike!

    We live out of the city on 2 acres so we don’t get kiddos here. But I still buy candy anyways πŸ™‚

    Hope you had fun too Ed!

    i killed a cat

  10. October 31, 2007 10:15 pm

    Oh. My. Goodness. LOL! It’s easy for me to laugh because we did not kill any animals on our way home tonight from TRF. So nice to meet you!!! Ok, here’s what you do. Tomorrow morning you go get yourself that yummy decaf mocha 1/2 scoop vanilla and you’ll feel all better. Oh, and then envision yourself in Hawaii.

    You killed a cat. Oh. My. Goodness.

  11. October 31, 2007 10:22 pm

    But Kelly, I’m gonna have to drive by the cat i killed to get my comfort mocha. i think i’ll fast…for the kitty of course…

  12. October 31, 2007 10:29 pm

    Tam, if your where in Maine you might have hit a moose. Then you and your car would be laying in the middle of the road. πŸ™‚

  13. October 31, 2007 10:33 pm

    WOW! Suddenly I’m feeling lucky then!

    Thanks for the encouragement Ed!

  14. October 31, 2007 10:40 pm

    I just ran over a black cat in my car as it was crossing my path? does that mean i’ll have bad luck???

    Probably – but not anywhere near as bad as the Cat had!!!!!

    It’s all a matter of perseective People! πŸ™‚

    Tam – quit focussing on the cat? Please?

    What happens to you now is far more important (well it is to my perspective anyways).

    Let God take care of the cat – and you – deal?

    love

  15. October 31, 2007 10:41 pm

    Dang…you may have to change your driving route permanently. I think a 12 hour fast is appropriate…so, coffee for brunch then?

    That is too funny. Oh, and Ed is right, you could have hit something much larger!

  16. Heidi permalink
    October 31, 2007 10:44 pm

    At least there is one less cat in the world.
    Okay I said it I’m sorry I am not a cat lover. Tamm.. you’ll be okay. I know its awful, I hit many possums in Oregon before and I hit a dog just a few years ago.

    Shake it off, get your mocha, eat Ed’s chocolates, Go to Maine and find a moose and sleep better that superstition is only that. Superstition!!!

  17. November 1, 2007 4:59 am

    If it’s a myth, like you yourself said, then you should be just fine! That is one crazy coincidence!

  18. November 1, 2007 5:56 am

    Uhhhh Tam, re-reading here….”I was driving,…..digging through my children’s candy sack…..” Hmmmmm……

    Sounds like boo boo is now more of a flat black?

  19. November 1, 2007 7:54 am

    Oh my gosh!!! I am so sorry Tam…but, I just HAVE to laugh (not being sick or anything…I LOVE cats)…but what is the likelihood of that happening?

    Release it…you didn’t do it on purpose, did you? No…I didn’t think so, so I would say that you are ok…and bad luck…no bad luck, just hard times…and you are one tough chick…so, I know you’ll deal! πŸ˜‰

  20. gavcait permalink
    November 1, 2007 8:33 am

    I am with Heidi. There is something evil about all cats.

  21. November 1, 2007 8:54 am

    What’s black, flat and red all over?

    The cat i killed in the road.

    I just drove by it taking my daughter to school.

    Let’s just say it didn’t suffer….

  22. gavcait permalink
    November 1, 2007 9:00 am

    Too funny!!!

    What did your children say?

  23. November 1, 2007 9:07 am

    They’re just glad it wasn’t a skunk!

  24. November 1, 2007 9:25 am

    Tam, if you did live in Maine, at least some parts ot it, that cat would not have still been in the road this morning.

    That’s one reason I tend to be careful when eating at dinners when I visit there. πŸ™‚

    (I know gross, gross, gross)

  25. November 1, 2007 9:33 am

    LOL, way to end the night with a bang! Maybe the cat committed suicide by throwing itself under your car…so really you might have done it a favor..?

    Coffee and chocolate makes almost everything better, so I’d go with that.

  26. November 1, 2007 10:02 am

    Ed – Out here in our parts, they tend to leave road kill for a couple of days, just to be nice to the neighbors in case anyone wants fresh meat πŸ™‚

  27. November 1, 2007 10:05 am

    Ed, that is gross! Tell me people don’t really do that???

    Kristen, I did manage to get my mocha this morning and as I passed by the carcus one more time I lifted my cup in honor of him in hope it wasn’t his 9th life I just snuffed out…

    Oh – and little Sylvester isn’t just in the road – he is ALL OVER the road now…

  28. November 1, 2007 10:07 am

    I know that’s not how you spell “carcus” but I’m too lazy to get my dictionary. And really, how many times in your life do you write that word enough to know how to even spell it?

  29. November 1, 2007 10:22 am

    Tam, Maine restaurants do have great food and the best lobster in the world. Just don’t try their wild game stew. πŸ™‚

  30. brightshinyobject permalink
    November 1, 2007 10:35 am

    There is a little known subheading in the “Black Cats and how not to get smushed because of them” rule book which indicates that if one blogs in a contrite fashion, much, if not all of the force of the curse is displaced to those who comment on the blog.

    So put on the brain bucket and the rubber suit everybody.

  31. November 1, 2007 10:51 am

    Ed, what InWorship says is true….nothing like fresh possum…..always carry a shovel

  32. November 1, 2007 11:02 am

    thats it, you have to go back,and bury it, then the bad luck will reverse…..didnt you ever see pet cemetary?

  33. November 1, 2007 2:43 pm

    aaawww – “carcus” correct spelling “carcass”

    Thanks to Carrie, http://gremlinwrangler.blogspot.com/

    it’s in her post today!

  34. November 1, 2007 3:18 pm

    “They’re just glad it wasn’t a skunk!”

    Did I mention i just LOVE kids??? πŸ™‚
    ( not a great lover of cats though – sorry ’bout that)

    Mental note to self: if ever visitng the US avoid Maine restaurants and InWorships neighbours. πŸ™‚

    Kristen and Kris – sage advice! (NO! that was NOT a recipe suggestion, folks – that’s just bad ‘taste’ )

    Doing my bit to ‘soak up’ the bad Krushed Kitty Karma

    love

  35. November 1, 2007 5:14 pm

    I used to know a gal named Kitty Stew

  36. November 1, 2007 6:20 pm

    You did NOT!!!!?

    I once heard of a girl called Peggy Sue. Just rhymed was all. πŸ™‚

    Peggy Sue, Peggy Sue – prettyprettyprettylitle Kitty Stew.

    You can’t stop the Music! πŸ˜‰

    love

  37. November 1, 2007 9:54 pm

    Love, you’re out of control!

  38. November 1, 2007 10:05 pm

    and i’m beginning to get the feeling i’m also way beyond mortal ‘help’ πŸ˜‰

    Help Me Rhonda! Help Help me Rhonda…

    No – that’s just silly!

    love

  39. November 1, 2007 10:06 pm

    How about: STOP!… In the Name of Loooove? πŸ™‚

    love

  40. November 1, 2007 10:14 pm

    Yes! STOP! In the name of “YOU”!

  41. November 29, 2007 4:43 pm

    A girl who works with me told a few of us that her cat climbed in the dryer with the wet clothes and she started it and left the house…well yeah it is dead! see she did worst than you..

    BTW- everyone tried to be straight faced about it, and then one started to laugh and then even she was laughing…twisted humor..

  42. November 29, 2007 4:47 pm

    That is hysterically funny! In a very wrong kind of way! 😯

  43. November 29, 2007 4:51 pm

    She is laughing too! laughing just thinking about it again and writing it to you! πŸ™‚

Trackbacks

  1. Randomness « inProgress

Leave a Reply

