Skip to content

Questions To Ponder

November 12, 2007

crosses.jpgI have a couple questions for you my friends…

1) If you believe in God – Why do you?

2) How has God “proved” Himself to you?

3) How do you define “Faith”

You can answer all or one or none. You can just say “Hey!” if you’d like. At least consider these questions. I think for the most part Christ followers are unprepared to answer these. That doesn’t dismiss our belief or faith in Him – but we need to give some sort of explanation, don’t ya think?

When you’re done with these check out more good questions here

17 Comments leave one →
  1. faithfullyours permalink
    November 12, 2007 10:02 pm

    I believe in God because I feel his love.
    It took time, trust, understanding, reading the Bible and taking it as his Truth for me to get where I am today, but I love God and give Him my everything (well that’s the goal anyways) because I know His way is the only way; the best way… my life and the life of others who have been with and without Him are proof enough.
    Faith? Faith is being sure of what is hoped for, and certain of what you do not see.
    Faith is trust.
    Faith is knowing what you know without being able to prove it to someone else.

    In Him,
    Amy

  2. November 12, 2007 10:24 pm

    I have to admit after the shannanigans yesterday that I was afraid to come back LOL:)

    I’ll answer these questions, but come answer mine, i need them for a presentation at school love…

    1. If you believe in God-why do you?
    Because He first believed in me, when things go wrong in life instead of how will I get through this, I say God how will you use this situation…

    2.He hasn’t had to prove anything, He is who He is whether or not we say He is…but if you are saying how has He shown himself…
    through people just like you:) and of course Jesus, just the love that is so unconditional I am in awe of.

    3.Faith ” Fantastic Adventures in Trusting Him”:)

    Every moment of everyday, KNOWING there is something MORE in this world to keep us going…and that there is a reason for everything. Even the rain.

    Love you!

  3. brightshinyobject permalink
    November 12, 2007 11:20 pm

    Nononono wait a minute, that’s not the deal, we are supposed to be scrutinizing “them”!!!

    (smilerguy)

    I guess since I’m such a big mouth, I ought to open it first.

    1. My experience is one of me being basically satisfied living my life. Being a good friend, a going to work, and that’s about it. Wanting to help people more, wanting to be a better son, and better boyfriend, trying to do that as I walked along. There came a day where a person I knew and respected greatly began explaining that none of this was mine. Distantly aware of the idea that, perhaps I could be shooting a little higher, I started reading a bible he gave me like I was reading a Tony Robbins book. There came a day in which I realized that I no longer felt the same way about things. I asked the friend of mine what to do and he walked me through the idea of immediate and continuing repentance, desiring that God would lead me in turning to Him. He explained that not doing the stuff that I shouldn’t be doing wasn’t enough, I needed to know who it was that brought all of this, life, forgiveness, love, justice, into my life, and I needed to be thinking about him, and not thinking about not doing things that now bothered me greatly. this went on for a while. My girlfriend and I were living together. I had an “experience” with Daniel 5, in which, the last King of Babylon was told tonight you are going to die and God says you don’t measure up. I am an emotional person, so one could chalk it up to that, but I thought that I was going to die. I cannot express the pressure on my skull and my shoulders. I walked upstairs to my girlfriend and upon seeing me she said, “what happened?!”, to which I replied, “God is tired of us living like this.” There is no good way to explain how I knew that. It was during that time in my life I pursued an attitude of contrition and came, gradually again, to want God so badly. And this desire was never an unfortunate sensation, it has always drawn me forward.

    This entire thing is very subjective; I don’t like giving my testimony because, having heard them from others before God grabbed me always elicited a response from me like “good for you” But all of this having been done to me, and really feeling as though I was along for the ride, that God calls his sheep when the time comes, has made me to trust that, no matter what else is going on, and not matter how sour things look, God is doing it. Not to me, in any way, be the glory. Nothing.
    *breathe*

    2. I guess this one fits with above. there are many other stories but the above is enough.

    3. Faith is not a wishlist. Faith is not as our culture sees it, that is, a thought or feeling that everything will work out. Faith is knowledge of God’s faithfulness. The two words are almost interchangeable in the New Testament, faith is believing God, even when it looks bad, because he is faithful. We can have “faith” because great is his faithfulness. All those marvelous promises, Romans 5:1-5, 8:1, 28-39, Ephesians 2:10, Phil 1:6, things that we can know are ours because the Creator of the universe said so. When we are struggling, counting on him, when we are weak praying through Eph 6:10, knowing that he will uphold us. I don’t pray these things as a wish list. I pray these things knowing that he is faithful, and though it certainly will not look as I had expected, it will come to pass in a fashion, greatest for his glory, for he has made to want that as much as anything.

  4. November 13, 2007 3:39 am

    Do I believe in God Because he is so alive in HIS word, in me, in my family, in my surroundings.

    He has proved HIMSELF to me when HE saved me deppression, destruction….in so many ways. And HE didn’t even need to!

    Faith I define it but TRUSTING and SURRENDING me to my creator. Even if I can’t see HIM. It is wonderful having a careless child faith.

    Great questions!

  5. heatherblankenship permalink
    November 13, 2007 6:06 am

    I do believe in God. He is very much alive to me. I feel Him tangibly, I hear Him speak. He has proved Himself to me through saving me from a life of despair, depression and misery. He always supplies the needs of my family, sometimes in miraculous ways!
    To me faith is trusting Him and his ways even when it seems illogical to do so.

    @Ivy, sounds like we may have similar stories!! : )

  6. November 13, 2007 7:26 am

    It’s a little early for me to be smart and profound, but basically I believe in God because it’s so obvious that He created everything, including me. As a child of God, I see how He has taken care of me and circumstances in my life, even the seemingly little or menial things. I see how I am happier when I am close to Him.
    I think it takes much more faith to be an atheist than to believe in God. We were made to know Him.

    Whew, I think I need more coffee…

  7. onedirection permalink
    November 13, 2007 7:29 am

    I believe because I was broken and bruised. I had no where else to turn, and no one else to understand. I needed a dad, and his arms were wide open. He has never let me down, his love is unconditionally, and his mercy is a continuous flow that rains down on me. I chose to believe because life is not going to be perfect, I am still going to experience hardships, trials, and struggles but this time as I experience those I have someone to hold my hand.

    The Lord has never had to prove himself to me, instead I feel like I have to constantly prove myself to him 🙂 I agree with Ang. in that I think he constantly shows himself through his sons and daughters here on earth.

    Faith, is to believe without seeing, to trust without knowing. Faith is knowing that something is going to fall into place but not knowing how. Faith is walking around blindfolded and allowing someone else to guide you through life!

  8. November 13, 2007 1:47 pm

    1) If you believe in God – Why do you?
    Besides the fact that I just can’t look at the world around me and think it all just happened, I’ve felt him in my life.

    2) How has God “proved” Himself to you?/strong>
    There are so many ways. Most of which can be shrugged off by a non-believer as coincidence, but I don’t.

    3) How do you define “Faith/strong>
    “Faith is being sure of what we hope for and certain of what we do not see.” —Hebrews 11:1

    I posted a very nice song yesterday that defines faith to me. —Link

  9. November 13, 2007 1:48 pm

    ugh. HTML gremlin….

  10. November 13, 2007 2:50 pm

    I have done everything the hard way…so I also tried many different ways to find fullfillment, and a way to live that works…I believe in God because HE really is all that HE says HE is. HE doesn’t have to prove anything to me, I can look in the mirror and see a miracle.

  11. November 13, 2007 6:12 pm

    Finally, a moment……Faith to is not something that happened overnight. Because of a series of events, my trusting people didn’t and at times still doesn’t come easily. It was even harder with the mindset of “How could God let this happen” to let my guard down and not think all people were like the ones I had experienced so far. From abuse at an early age to my ex-husband sleeping with my best friend the night my son was born…I had a whole realm of zero faith in anything. God takes you where you are and loves you into where He needs and desires you to be.

    Faith came slowly, and gently as He walked with me through fires and tribulations that only He could walk me through. As my faith in Him grew, He allowed more to come my way, not to hurt me, but to show me He could handle the big things as well if I jsut believe. My faith grew and failed and grew again….

    I can honestly say now that in life or death….my faith is in Him. Ya, it hurts, alot of what we have to deal with was never in His original plan…but He is faithful even when I am faithless.

    I could quote the usual scriptures applied to something like this….but faith is an ongoing thing for me….the more I have the more He allows me to have….All my hope, and faith are in Him along.

  12. November 13, 2007 7:03 pm

    1) If you believe in God – Why do you?
    Because He is very real in my life, He has never going to leave or forsake me. Because He died for my sins so a wretch like me can have a chance. Because of His lavish love and grace to me eventhough I do not deserve it. Because He is faithful and proves Himself to me time and time again because He wants to. Because He is all I need.

    2) How has God “proved” Himself to you?
    Over and over. Provision, Healing, Answering prayer, Speaking to me, delivering me, working miracle after miracle in my life.

    3) How do you define “Faith”
    My fav is this-Hebrews 11:1 Faith is being sure of what you hope for and certain of what you do not see.

  13. November 13, 2007 7:52 pm

    1. Yes I believe in God because I was once in a slimy disgusting pit of my own making and only someone outside myself could have pulled me out. I searched far and wide in other religions and beliefs-even Satanism–and none of them offered what God Almighty had to offer. Besides all that, how can anyone look on creation and not see the mark of his hand?

    2.The proof thing is harder because a non believer would say it’s all subjective. But for me He’s not constantly proving Himself, but at unexpected times and in the little things; when I’m listening to a song and am suddenly totally overwhelmed at the lyrics or when I see a something in nature that just takes my breath away. I immediately sense something quite undefinable and know He is there.

    3.Lately faith has taken on a whole new meaning. Faith is what happens when I am in the season of winter as a spiritual being and I am dry and cold and disconnected from my maker. I know He’s there because He says He is. But to know that I have to exercise faith-or the belief in something I have no proof for at the moment.

    Good questions, hope my answers made sense!

  14. November 13, 2007 8:00 pm

    Happy Birthday to you…Happy Birthday to you…Happy Birthday dear Tam:) Happy Birthday to you…

  15. November 13, 2007 9:21 pm

    I was raised to believe in God. I’ve always assumed He existed. 23 years into my life, I decided to believe that Jesus was the way to be with God. Why? Sorry to be so illogical but I’ve always known it to be true somewhere in my soul. Day by day, God reveals himself to me in the intricacy of creation, of the complex systems in nature that seem to run like clockwork, coincidences, intelligence, reasoning, excellence, life, breath, conscience, longing, intervention. To me, faith is a compulsion to trust–not blindly, but guided by logic and hope.

  16. November 13, 2007 9:33 pm

    Happy Birthday to you…Happy Birthday to you…Happy Birthday dear Tammy Jo-oo 🙂 Happy Birthday to you…!

    (Apologies to ang! 🙂 )

    Why?
    because i have tried ‘not’ (for around 34 years or so – maybe all 49??)and frankly – i think this is better for who i am and shall become!!!

    How?
    He’s the Easter Bunny who has been leading me on an ‘egg-hunt’ for my entire life and i was often amazed at the presents i found in each one – recently He sent me some DOOZIES!!! 🙂 🙂 ( and it’s not even His Birthday – or mine! 😉 )

    How do eye define Faith??
    Hmmm…asking His decoding book the answer it seems is 44 (42 is AN answer but i have forgotten that question for the moment – it will come – in His own Good Time – i have Faith in Him)

    44 it may come as no real surprise to those who know me Truly equates to LOVE LOVE! which then adds up to the word ENTIRELY!

    there you have it straight from Him to you via me…

    Faith to me is Love. Love Entirely! The good and the bad, for both were part of His Plan all the time – we just ‘forgot’ that for the last 2000 years or so.
    It’s His Plan – not ours that counts!

    Oh and Mom…?

    #3 – Well There’s your problem – plain as day!

    Jason comes to God through Fear of his own death – I come to Him through pure love.

    love and fear don’t mix very well i’m ‘afraid’ 🙂

    love

  17. November 13, 2007 11:26 pm

    Love Liveth Always.
    Dead scripture speaketh the Law and the Word.
    But there is one to come who is Greater than either.

    We live in Amazing Times, Gracey! 🙂

    love

Leave a Reply

