Skip to content

Meaningless

November 25, 2007

“Everything is meaningless,” says the Teacher, “completely meaningless!”

What do people get for all their hard work under the sun? Generations come and generations go, but the earth never changes. The sun rises and the sun sets, then hurries around to rise again. The wind blows south, and then turns north. Around and around it goes, blowing in circles. Rivers run into the sea, but the sea is never full. Then the water returns again to the rivers and flows out again to the sea. Everything is wearisome beyond description. No matter how much we see, we are never satisfied. No matter how much we hear, we are not content.”

These are Solomons words from the first chapter of Ecclesiastes. I’ve been thinking about this post for several weeks now. But tonight, these words hit me very hard.

Meaningless. Everything is meaningless.

We are in a situation where we are faced with tough decisions. Not life threatening – but certainly uncomfortable. We are in a circumstance where, financially, we are just not making ends meet anymore. We’ve decided to sell our home, as many of you know. We have found ourselves in a position of having to walk away from everything.

I look around at what we “own” as far as our home and all the hard work we’ve put into this piece of history in our community. I look at our land, nearly 2 acres of beauty with a panoramic scenery like none other in our valley. And I realize, it is meaningless.

No, it is Meaning-Less. Everything is meaning less.

It is not in the structure of this home where I find happiness and contentment. For nothing is secure in this life. Nothing. I have but one thing that I can always count on…God. The earthly things? They will all fade away. Everything. There is no shame in enjoying things of this life. But for me, when my focus and grip become so tightly wound to them I become unbalanced and lose my footing.

“Things” are Meaning-Less to me. Everything I have is temporal. Here today – gone tomorrow.

What is meaning more? People. Family. My words. Character. Intentions. GOD. Serving.

These things are eternal. What I choose to do with these things will have lasting effects long after I pass on into eternity. This is what counts. This is where I am finding deep meaning today.

What is meaning less to you?

25 Comments leave one →
  1. tammyp200 permalink
    November 26, 2007 5:46 am

    Although I am a complete stranger to you, your entry touched my heart in just the right spot this morning. I am currently teetering on the cusp of finding God and deciding what is meaning-more in my life. I guess it doesn’t hurt that we have the same name and blog page template… you don’t happen to be an aspiring writer too?
    Thank You for your inspiration, I will say a prayer for your financial hardships.
    -Tammy

  2. November 26, 2007 5:57 am

    Tam, love your heart in this! Everything is meaning less, if I am walking closer to the Lord. Letting go of what is important to us and reaching to grasp the wonderful things of GOD. No one had more than Solomon, the wealthiest, and wisest man recorded. For me keeping the focus that I belong to heaven, this world is just the assignment. To remember when the world’s things pull my heart, that my true desire is God’s heart. The rest is distraction, and takes me away from HIM. Everything truly is meaningless without HIM in it. So when I am up against the wall, and things seem dark to me…I pray that GOD’s glory will shine through my situation..and that I learn what HE wants me to learn here. Non-believers are watching to see how we will deal with hardship..and I really want HIM to be glorified in all I say and do…even when its hard. Love ya

  3. November 26, 2007 7:42 am

    What wonderful wisdom and insight….as we go into today the Lord put on my heart that we are one day further along in our trials than we were yesterday. One day closer to the solution….if this post is the only reason why He has allowed this than praise Him, it’s wonderful. I have a feeling there is more tho… ๐Ÿ˜‰ Love you!

  4. November 26, 2007 10:40 am

    ECC 1 – my favorite…it really is a great chapter to focus on kingdom things

  5. November 26, 2007 11:34 am

    I am sorry that you have to leave a home that you invested so much of your self in.

    Home is one of the most comforting words in the English language. Leaving home one of the hardest things to do.

    What gives something value isn’t the thing itself but how much we put into it. You have obviously put a great deal of your self into making this house your home. I am also sure that you will be just as successful with your next home.

    The most important element in any home is the people who share their lives their. I am sure your family will help you make your new home as loving a place as the one you are leaving.

    “What is meaning less to you?”

    As I get older the value of objects that I own mean less to me each day compared to the value of friends and family. My TV set now means less to me than the picture of my deceased sister. Outside of material objects I can’t think of anything or any experience I have had that is losing it’s value.

    The past does have less importants to me than what I do today or may do tomorrow.

    I have bad memories of my early life and good memories of my life since then but all my experiences have value to me. Some things I enjoyed and some things I have hated but they all have equal meaning. Their contributions to my development are of equal value.

    When the teacher at the beginning of your blog says, โ€œEverything is meaningless,โ€ โ€œcompletely meaningless!โ€, I think she is wrong. Everything as some meaning. Every action we take changes in some degree the world around us.

    All the hard work you did was to build a home for your family. It may be just as hard to make your next house your home.

    You are entitled to at least one day to feel total complete sadness at what you are leaving. Two days might be pushing it. ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. November 26, 2007 11:40 am

    What is meaning less to me? You. Tam, you inspire me!Faith…that’s what I’d use to descibe you. I’m praying for you, do you know that? Isn’t God cool, a few monthes ago I didn’t even know you, and now I love you like you’re a part of my family (because you are!) You know, when it all passes away what really matters is relationships. Relationship with God, but also with everyone who we come in contact with. Every. Single. Person. Even the person driving in the car next to us. That’s what is meaning less to me. You’re awesome Tam, keep “faithing” it.

  7. November 26, 2007 5:07 pm

    It is difficult to grasp the meaning of this Old Testament truth, and even more difficult to grasp this basic truth taught by the Lord so many times in the New Testament.
    We live in a secular, materialistic society,where God’s wisdom is considered foolishness.
    But his foolishness is still wiser than man’s wisdom.

  8. November 26, 2007 8:59 pm

    Can I just be honest and say that once again you have made me speechless. Your words from this post sing of God’s faithfulness and from that you have all the strength you need. Wow you are such an encouragement and a blessing to us all!

  9. November 26, 2007 9:54 pm

    Hey you…

    Keep your head up and continue to focus on God. What may seem like an “uncomfortable” move may end up the biggest blessing you have ever seen. I will be praying for you and the fam.

    Your words meant so much that I emailed your post to a few of my friends.
    People need to hear things like this. We treasure our possesions way to often and sometimes those posentions can take our focus from God and other blessings He has in store for us.

    Gretchin

  10. Heidi permalink
    November 26, 2007 10:01 pm

    Tam- this is right where my heart is tonight. Over the weekend I had a small stroke. For the first time, I found meaning in my life for real. Here I am 41 years old having a stroke. Thankfully, it was just a wake up stroke. (a bitsy tiny one) but, I found meaning in who I am, i don’t own a home, in CA you almost have to be a millionaire. but, I hold onto possessions, but I found out this weekend my sole possession has to be GOD Alone. I love my husband, my kids, my church and everything else. But they are meaninng less unless I know the Jesus, Great post.

  11. November 26, 2007 10:49 pm

    Ohh that would be tough! I can relate with the not making ends meet thing; stretches our faith and puts things in perspective in a whole new way, doesn’t it? “I have learned how to abound and I have learned how to be abased” … to be content in every situation. Sounds like you have the secret to contentment, Tam! Our God is good, and His goodness shines through you and through this post and through your response to this very tough decision.
    I love you, Siesta!

  12. November 26, 2007 11:21 pm

    You are sweet to keep checking on my blog when I’ve been having a little blog burnout lately and haven’t really been checking anything out. Kristen told me about your post today and I just wanted you to know that 1. You are wise beyond your years. 2. Your head is on straight. 3. God is good and can see down the road and all the good things he has for you. 4. If you’re being stretched, it must be for something great!

    5. I’m praying for you and your family!

  13. November 27, 2007 3:07 am

    Hey Princess! Have a good day! just wanted to check in on ya before my day gets crazy..and let you know we are praying for you and yours! Love ya!

  14. November 27, 2007 2:26 pm

    Well friends…As always, I soak in everything you say and really think long and hard about it. You all have given me something to ponder and think about or something of encouragement. So thank you very much! Thanks for walking this journey with me and my family and letting me share so openly with you all.

    And hi to our new friends Tammy and Scavenger! Thanks for hanging out and hangin’ in with this post! Nice to meet you ๐Ÿ˜‰

    I also want to say that even in the midst of this limbo situation we find ourselves in…I have joy! I have lots of joy! Sometimes I may not appear happy..ya know, that circumstantial feeling of giddiness…But I have deep, intense joy! Not joy created – but joy discovered. I am hopeful and i am joyful. I am confident in my God and am excited to see just what His plan is!

  15. November 27, 2007 4:52 pm

    Tam,
    I just want you to know that you’ve been on my heart and in my prayers. I have lots I want to share, but I sense you’re in the hallow of HIS hand.
    Blessings in Christ–

  16. November 27, 2007 6:04 pm

    SO many things are meaning less to me. Be patient, don’t loose your grip, for there is a lesson to be learned in your turmoil. You must remember that YOU are the daughter of a king. And you will see how God IS providing for you and your family. What a blessing to be inside your heart. Praying for you friend.

  17. November 28, 2007 11:34 am

    I’ve been trying to formulate a simple answer. What is meaning less to me is stuff. What is meaning more is how I spend my time and how it relates to my role as part of God’s creation.

  18. November 28, 2007 2:23 pm

    Tam, Last night I had a dream that we met eachother. You came to visit DC because your husband wanted to work there…and we met at someone elses house (it wasn’t mine..I’m not sure whose it was). It was weird. I have no clue why I dreamed about you, but I did, I’ve been thinking about it today, and when I do, I smile and pray for you ๐Ÿ™‚

  19. November 28, 2007 6:04 pm

    Hey #7 – Nice Post! ๐Ÿ™‚ You Really are ‘coming along’, huh?

    Life is about ‘ebb and flow’, ebb and flow, just as you described in your post…things come to us and things leave us and the cycle of Life continues rolling along under His ever-watchful Eye and Hand.

    Jesus is our example to follow – no greater reward was ever given to a human child of God than to Him. He gave greater meaning to His Father’s Will and less to his own earthly one and was rewarded with the Seat of Eternal Life.

    If we give more meaning to earthly pursuits than to Heavenly ones we shall receive the reward we deserve.

    If we Honour and follow Him, going with The Flow as it ebbs and flows around our position on earth He will see that we receive His Reward bestowed upon us as only He knows best for our current growth and need.

    If we learn from all that He brings us we shall better know how to fiollow Him and will find what means more and what is meaning ever less to us in our Hearts.

    Bless You Tam – and those you care about and Love in Him. ๐Ÿ˜€

    love

  20. November 28, 2007 8:29 pm

    Thanks for still checking my blog…even though I’ve been Oh So Very Absent. ๐Ÿ™‚

    What is meaning less? Possessions, as has been said several times before. And, can I just say, many of the circles we tend to run ragged within are meaning less? Kid stuff…church stuff…all things that are inherently not evil, but when piled atop a life with no margin, all meaning is lost.

    Thank you for sharing honestly, and for keeping the truly important things in front of all of us.

  21. November 28, 2007 10:34 pm

    I’ve come over to your blog again to leave my replies so i don’t break the blogroll photo sequence of U,U,Debs,U,U. that is up there atm ๐Ÿ™‚

    I don’t care even if you DO ‘pout’ – you would still look just simply adorable, i know ๐Ÿ˜‰

    35 Degs? We only had 33 yesterday!

    OHHH!!! You mean those smaller, tiny, cold Fahrenheidty thingys…. Don’t You?? 8) Brrrrrr Baby!

    Go back and stare at those Photo’s of my Home from Friday and just close your eyes and wish He takes you there for a quick linger and WARM UP! – Then Give Brent a BIG HUG and share the warmth around! ๐Ÿ™‚

    And YES! – i did give my Mum a big hug like you asked – ok? ๐Ÿ˜‰ She kinda liked it – what a surprise! ๐Ÿ˜ฎ

    love

  22. November 28, 2007 10:38 pm

    I think the more mature and wise I get, the less I care about how mature and wise people think I am.

  23. November 29, 2007 7:30 am

    Hey!! You must be doing some serious cleaning or something! It has been a while since there has been four days with no random thoughts! I am truly missing them!

    BTW-I am coming to Oregon in June..hope to see you..

  24. November 29, 2007 9:00 am

    I treasure all your prayers and am so moved by everyones thoughts and wisdom and encouragement!

    God has revealed so much of Him through so many of you. Thanks for being willing to be a part of His plan!

  25. November 29, 2007 5:53 pm

    One BIG ‘meaning Less’ occurred to me today…

    The Medical Business! That is meaning LESS to me every single day (co-incidentally as they are charging ever MORE!).

    God designed a perfectly good self-regenerating system (within most ‘reasonable’ requirements) in our bodies and He and JC gave us instruction on it’s proper care and maintenance requirements.

    Most of these we have gradually frittered away and come to believe more and more in the aid of Professionals’ to ‘manage’ our body, much the same way as many use ‘professionals’ to care for their spiritual body.

    The more unnecessary and unnatural stresses we subject ourselves to, the more we turn to man, and not Him, for the help we think is ‘best’.

    The better i follow God, the more meaning LESS the medical business becomes to me!

    Feel free to join me and live and grow more healthily by putting the medical business where it best fits – and learn how to rid yourself of all unnecessary stress.

    See In Worship for further good and sage advice on that topic ๐Ÿ™‚

    love

Leave a Reply

