Skip to content

Randomness

November 29, 2007

random_squares_21.pngAs if Starbucks “Holiday” versus “Christmas” blend, so as to not offend non-Christians, wasn’t enough apparently Lowe’s has removed the descriptive term of “Christmas” tree and replaced it with “Family” tree. They claim it was an “error” and have “no idea how it slipped by in printing” 😯 oooo-kay???

Bottom line…do whatever you want. It will never, ever change what I believe, my freedom to believe it and my right to wish someone a Merry Stinkin’ Christmas if I want to! Geesh people – Grow Up! 😀

On to lighter things…I forgot to tell you all this a couple weeks ago. The day of my Birthday I was taking my son to school and decided to stop and get myself a free birthday coffee at my favorite Coffee Stand. Of course to get your free drink you have to tell them it’s your b-day. So I do and naturally they ask how old I am – I tell them 37 – to which they freak out and really went waayyy over the top with the “Nuh-Uhs!” and “Nooo Waaayyyys!” Flattery – Love It!

Anyways, as we drive off I hear “Aaawk-ward” from my son. He thought it was a little strange how complimentary they had been. I told him, “Dude, when you get my age you don’t care about that or even if they’re lying, you’re just diggin’ the compliments!” To which he replies with this…

Mom, if I were a teenager I’d think you were hot. And I’d ask you out. Then you’d say you were 37 and I would run away……..in shame.

What the?!

I actually had to pull over to the side of the road from laughing so hard. And to write that down!

I have no idea what I want for Christmas. The best gift right now would be the sell of our home! And a free tank of gas 🙂

I love coloring books. I like the basic Pre-K ones too. The big fat thick books with simple big pictures of a tree with 3 apples on it or a cat curled up in a basket…or flattened on the side of the road (most of Fluffy is gone now by the way) I bought a few coloring books today and a big box of Crayola’s with the built-in-sharpener – Sweet!

We haven’t put our tree up yet. I don’t think we are while we’re trying to sell our home. Our home is only 1,100 sq. ft. and we just don’t want it to appear crammed in any way. Do you all have any ideas or suggestions on how we might still spruce it up with some Christmas cheer?

What is your favorite Christmas tradition?

What is your favorite Christmas memory?

What is your favorite thing about Christmas?

13 Comments leave one →
  1. November 29, 2007 4:11 pm

    i actually had a guy who was bell ringing, wish me a merry christmas! i had to do a double take at him, then smiled and told him merry christmas. Whoa!

    I grew up pagan, so my memories are of coming down the hall in the morning for the picture and presents.
    The tradition was getting a present Christmas eve, they were always jammie.
    so i do that with my boy.
    best thing about christmas is when it is over.
    i know, bah humbug! 😦
    use nature to decorate, pinecones, leaves, branches, its real easy to make swags and wreath yourself for little money. wire and trees.
    Kristina

  2. November 29, 2007 4:18 pm

    Okay I am going to post, because you mentioned Starbucks lol:) I’m kidding…

    Here’s my idea, people think I’m a dork, but whatev,
    so get a piece of long paper and paint your Christmas tree, and then post it to the wall, so that way you still have a tree and can reuse it every year, it is genius for us procrastinators:)

    Fav Christmas trad/mem: Taking a drive around to look at Christmas lights with the fam, and going to Christmas ever service at church:)
    Fav thing: kneeling by the Christmas tree seeing it all lit and looking at the angel on top of the tree and remembering Jesus…:-) I do that every year:)

    Love ya girl!

  3. November 29, 2007 4:34 pm

    I love randomness! I can wish all them a Merry stinkin’ Christmas, just because I can! 🙂
    Buy one of those little end table top sizes from the dollar store (do you all have a dollar store?).
    I also love coloring in those big pictures and I stay in the lines pretty good too!;) when June comes I will show you…

    Fav thing is sitting in the dark with the tree lit, and the kids totally whacked out with excitement the night before…and Hubs teasing them about what they are getting.

  4. November 29, 2007 6:00 pm

    Hey don’t forget tomorrow is friday! 🙂 some of us need our fill ins. love ya

  5. November 29, 2007 7:47 pm

    Doh! Thanks Darla!
    You just reminded me 😀

  6. November 29, 2007 9:24 pm

    Hey! My favorite holiday memory is actually not from my childhood, but from my Christmas being a mom. It was the best gift I had ever received.

    PS… not sure you get my emails… 😦 I email from time to time, but haven’t heard from ya in a while… everything okay?

  7. November 29, 2007 9:45 pm

    you are so hilarious!! I cracked up at this one…girl a cat KEEPS coming to my door and in the nicest way possible i say scat cat! So morgan doesn’t think her mom is mean!! LOL!
    On another note…I was asked if I was Morgan’s sister 2 days ago. Give me a break!!

  8. Brandy permalink
    November 29, 2007 11:32 pm

    My favorite Christmas tradition: opening one present on Christmas Eve and driving around looking at lights.

    My favorite Christmas memory: Mine and Jake’s first Christmas. It was a very sad and depressing Christmas but we made it our own and I love that. We hung out together making our decorations (b/c we were too broke to buy any) and watching christmas movies. We only had eachother that year, no friends or family to spend the day with, but it was still special and memorable. I set up our card table with our fine china. HA! So funny. For our “bubbly” drink we had Sprite. Too funny…..

    My favorite thing about Christmas: Christmas has never really been my favorite holiday (it was Thanksgiving) but now with the kids I LOVE IT! It’s fun to see them get excited and think of all the ways to make things memorable for them and set up family traditions that they will hopefully remember forever. Also, now that I do have my own family and GOBS of decorations, it’s fun to decorate the house all festive. Such a contrast to our first Christmas.
    ALSO, OF COURSE, telling the kids what Christmas is all about and explaining the story of baby Jesus. The looks on their faces is priceless! 😀

  9. Brandy permalink
    November 29, 2007 11:43 pm

    Get a miniture tree with mini ornaments. We have one of those set up too and it’s cute and festive and you can set it up on a table so it’s out of the way and if you still have it up at Christmas just put the presents on the table or on the floor around the table.
    Or, just put up the other decorations and forget the tree until Christmas Eve. When the kids are in bed you and Brent set up the tree and stuff and when the kids get up it will be a big surprise. Someone my mom knows did this ever year with ALL of their decorations and their kids LOVED it.
    I am cracking up that you bought coloring books!
    Also, that thing that Dakota said was HILARIOUS!!! It’s better than what Dylan does when he sees me with make up on (believe it or not I don’t wear it all the time;-) ) He looks at me all weird and nervously says “I don’t like your eyes, I don’t like your skin, I don’t like you with make up on mommmy” and then he gets embarrassed and runs away. heehee

  10. Brandy permalink
    November 29, 2007 11:43 pm

    Miniature. Miniture. I think I spelled that wrong. Crap.

  11. November 30, 2007 9:48 am

    Oh my goodness, I can totally relate to the flattery feel goods…and what your son said is beyond hilarious and cute, and definitely something you’ll remind him of someday 🙂

    My favorite Christmas tradition is our annual family 7-11 party, where we have a bunch of white elephant gifts mixed in with some good ones too (lottery scratch-its, coffee bucks, etc), and we sit in a big circle around the gifts and roll dice…if you get a 7 or 11 (2 dice obviously), then you get to pick a present, but you don’t open it. We go around until all the gifts are gone, then we do the same thing for 5 minutes but you get to steal gifts (still not knowing what’s in them)…then at the end we all open them at the same time. Some gifts have been in the game for at least 6 years. It’s great fun.

    My favorite thing about Christmas is getting to spend time with family and relax. Christmas day we spend at my in-laws and we play games take naps, or whatever we want to do, it’s a great day!

  12. November 30, 2007 2:46 pm

    speaking of coloring books! my favorite family tradition is this ginormous “twas the night before christmas” coloring book. it’s huge and only partially colored. and a darn awful 5 year old coloring job i might add, but my dad reads it each year on christmas eve. i try to swallow in that 5 minutes of joy to last me all year.

  13. November 30, 2007 3:09 pm

    Favorite tradition: the opening up of the stockings to see how imaginative my wife and I can be without spending much money.

    Favorite memory: trying to assemble Barbi’s Dream House at 3:00 am Christmas morning. It was awful at the time, but what I wouldn’t give to be there again.

    What I like best: a re-ordering of priorities with an emphasis on reaching out and spending time with friends, family, neighbors, co-workers. The sense that we are all loved and it is so wonderful to love others, especially those we may never see again, like the grocery clerk, the bellhop, the postman. It is magical.

Leave a Reply

