Skip to content

1st Christmas – Good Times!

December 3, 2007

tree.jpgHave you ever rejected a gift or a kind word? When Brent and I celebrated our first Christmas together we were struggling to make ends meet. Our money tree was not sprouting although our efforts should have suggested otherwise. We both worked very hard at full time jobs and rarely saw each other. We were just starting out and had very little. Needless to say our first Christmas was very tight.

So Brent and I decided we would set a very small budget to buy a gift for one another. The next day on our lunch breaks Brent headed straight for the mall and I headed straight for the Dollar Store! I was practical, bought him things he liked. Gum, armor-all, a wrench, a 10 pack of no. 2 pencils with the name Brett etched in gold on them (Brent is a hard name to find). I paid the damage, went home, wrapped it all up in one box, put a $5.00 bow on top (it’s all about the delivery) and called it a good venture! As I placed this remarkable gift under our Charlie Brown tree my eyes immediately bolted to this object lying helplessly alone. My heart went out to it for it had clearly been attacked by a large dose of testosterone. Men do not contain the “wrapping” gene. It didn’t take long to figure out from the outside exactly what it was. It was a Remmington Wet/Dry Razor. I’d wanted one forever – but it was way too expensive! And there I sat in a glorious knick free shaving dreamland until I was interrupted by reality, “I must return this gift!” So I hopped in my car, unwrapped the gift while I drove to…let me see…Yes, the price tag is still on it…Sears. I returned the wet/dry razor, with much remorse, and headed right to our bank to deposit the money back into our account.

How practical and wise and thoughtful I was! Brent thought otherwise. I think he was shocked, probably wondering what he had married. Who was this disturbed lady? I’m sure his feelings were hurt and looking back now, I regret that. However, he did learn that I am a low maintenance kinda girl. Although I require little and I’m not expensive to keep I do have my quirks. When it comes to buying me a gift Brent cringes in anticipation of how his ungrateful wife might respond. Poor guy, I should let him do nice things for me. It blesses him when I allow him to. “It is more joyful to give than to receive.” I need to learn how to accept things from him and receive his compliments without a negative retort about myself or going on and on about how we can’t afford it. It brings him pleasure to do nice things for me and I shouldn’t rob him of the joy of giving. By the way, I think I ended up with some kitchen towels that first Christmas. Now that’s practical!

What are some of your funny Christmas stories?

10 Comments leave one →
  1. December 3, 2007 7:09 pm

    Funny Christmas stories???

    I’ve got one about a crazy wife and an electric razor…want to hear it?

    🙂

  2. December 3, 2007 7:31 pm

    LOL…Brent.

    I just have to say people must think that way with me sometimes. I get my Pastor’s family something every year, and it is usually over $50 for whatever reason…and they receive the gift openly.
    How I love that about them, they have so much from me, and I am glad that they do:)

    Anyways, funny Christmas story, I know of one about a girl who is so busy with school work that she doesn’t know if she can get her cards out on time! 🙂

    Love you:)

  3. December 3, 2007 8:20 pm

    Tam – ever hear the one about the poor woman who washed a guys feet in expensive oils? The recipient had something to say on the issue of giving and taking or receiving i believe it might be timely to look it up again… or not – whatever 🙂

    Low maintenance woman – I can Dream! If only i was the kind of guy who was happy being a cheapskate – i might be a heck of a lot richer financialy than i am right now – and maybe in other ways too i guess 😉

    Brent – I am not sure how you outgrew that particular kick in the teeth but i bet you are a forgiving kind of guy huh? 🙂

    We all do crazy things at Christmas – then New Year comes and we make all those resolutions not to be so stupid next year and yada yada yada…

    😀

    love

  4. December 3, 2007 8:43 pm

    Brent: actually it would be fun to hear your side of this story….LOL

    When I was a pre-teen, all I wanted was a Kenny Rogers greatest hits album. I know, I know…

    I knew my parents had gotten it so I found it in their closet and carefully slit the sleeve and played it for a month before Christmas when they were gone. Everything would have gone without a hitch if I hadn’t have lit the match to try to “sodder” the slit shut on the sleeve….needless to say, my half scorched album was under the tree Christmas morning. Unwrapped, with a not from my Dad that said, “I always look forward to the humor that comes from you learning lifes lessons. I love you, D” I have never been a klunk since….

  5. December 4, 2007 2:33 am

    Tam-you crack me up! Brent-I would love to hear your story.

  6. December 4, 2007 6:04 am

    I remember our first Christmas with baby Snarly. we bought her so much stuff that she fell asleep half way through opening everything. Well, she was only five months old.

  7. gavcait permalink
    December 4, 2007 6:52 am

    That is so funny. I don’t have anything to top that. 🙂

  8. December 4, 2007 9:10 am

    It was the year that I finally decided if Santa was real. We woke up on Christmas morning and my oldest sister grabbed her stocking. She looked inside with out knowing that our brothers had woken up early to exchange her Christmas treats for a pile of rocks! I was aghast! How could my sister end up with rocks while I ended up with an orange transitor radio? (Which still works!) Oh, were they in trouble. With heads hung low they brought out a shoe box with my sister’s stocking gifts and mumbled an apology. As a youngster I was shocked that something like that could ever happen. As a teenager I longed for someone younger than me to be able to try out that trick on. As as grown up it would break my heart to see someone wake up with rocks in their stocking unless they asked for them.

  9. December 4, 2007 11:49 am

    At least he realized that when a woman says, “don’t spend much money on me” she usually never means it. HA!

  10. Brandy permalink
    December 5, 2007 8:25 pm

    as soon as I saw the title to this I thought “if I remember correctly, there is a razor return in this story!” HA! 😉

    This story cracks me up!

    A few years ago I had mentioned a few times that I would love it if we had a four slice toaster, that it would make making breakfast go faster. Now I did not say that I wanted this as a present, just that we should get one. That year Jake got me a four slice toaster. I still have that stupid toaster to this day, and only two of the four toasters work. Go figure.

    Another year he bought me a bread maker, now THAT I specifically asked for. 😉

Leave a Reply

