Skip to content

God Can’t Do That!

December 4, 2007

Have you ever tested God?

I remember the first time I ever prayed. I was in the sixth grade. Had never gone to church but knew enough to pray when I “wanted” something.

My mother, brother, baby sister and I lived in a tiny apartment in Southern California. The three of us girls shared the one bedroom and my brother slept on the sofa in the living room. This place could not have been more than 500 square feet. You could walk from one side to the other in 1.2 seconds…on a slow day! We didn’t have much but I did manage to acquire a cat. I don’t remember its name but I do recall loving it very much. Probably not as much as the helpless little girl I likely stole it from.

I loved it enough to pray for it when it didn’t come home for several days. My prayer went something like this, “Dear God, I miss “my” cat. I want it home. But if it’s dead and not coming home then make this bedroom window be open tomorrow when I wake up. Amen”. Now this window I challenged God with appeared to be eternally stuck. No one had ever been able to open it before. But I reasoned if He’s God and all He would figure out a way. All I wanted was an answer and that seemed perfectly acceptable to me.

Morning came and as I began to wake the sounds from the street below seemed oddly louder than usual. “Oh-no!” I thought. No way was I going to open my eyes to see Gods answer. But curiosity killed the cat…no pun intended, and I peeked. As slowly as possible I opened one eye and couldn’t believe it. The window was wide open! Whoa…come on now! I didn’t really want the window to be opened! That would mean the cat was dead. That’s why I challenged God with the jammed window in the first place, the impossible! In a panic I sat up and thought, “Oh my God – God killed my cat!”

I rushed outside to look for my fury little feline but never found it. What’s my point? Don’t play games with God.

I’m just here to help 😀

26 Comments leave one →
  1. December 4, 2007 5:11 pm

    LOL, oh my goodness. That’s tragic and funny all at the same time!

  2. Heather Blankenship permalink
    December 4, 2007 5:28 pm

    This story is funny. I once tested God as a child in a similar way although not quite as serious. I wanted to see if God could do miracles, so I cut all the hair off of my Barbie dolls and then prayed that He would make it all grow back! Needless to say the laws of nature were pretty much against me! lol

    BTW, I still believed He could do miracles and have seen many since! 🙂

  3. December 4, 2007 7:05 pm

    Didn’t Jesus have a word or three to say about tempting the Lord Thy God???

    Still why would anyone want to follow His words, huh? 😉

    They are written down in the Bible though – for anyone who needs the reference: Matt 4:7 and Lu 4:12

    Matt 4:1 makes for interesting reading while you’re all busy looking it up…. what does ‘in Spirit’ mean??? Hmmmm 😉

    love

  4. December 4, 2007 7:20 pm

    Kristen – you nailed my life…Tragic and Funny! What a fun ride 😉

    Heather – Hey girl! Wow – the things kiddos will do. Poor Barbie girl!

    Love, I didn’t even own a bible and was in a family that never went to church – so I “didn’t know better” But I learned quickly 😀

  5. December 4, 2007 9:19 pm

    Wow, what a crazy story! I definitely remembering testing God myself when I was little … never had a cat though! 😉

  6. December 4, 2007 9:20 pm

    Tam – we do many things as a child we might regret later when we ‘know better’ and as a child we are somewhat ‘at the mercy’ of what our parents do, say and believe.

    It is my considered opinion though, after reviewing all available (to me) evidence, that almost all who do have access to a Bible rarely read it through and/or understand what it is trying to say to each one of us.

    Do you still ask God for what you want? or ask Him for what He wants?

    He knows what need you have before you ask it – do you know what ‘needs’ He has for you? Have they changed at all over time and with ‘experiences’?

    Do you follow Jesus’ instruction on How to Pray? He tells all in the Bible how we should. Do we think we know better than He does?

    Any Christians out there able to give the reference for what i am talking about?

    Anyone?

    If you can – do you Live It Yourself – or simply know where to look for it??

    Do you ignore it at all? Ever? Why, if so?

    Some tough questions.

    tough love.

  7. December 4, 2007 9:54 pm

    Love, I’m off to bed (Good morning to ya!) But I will gladly offer anything I can to your questions tomorrow!

    Sleep sweet all 😉

    Love – Lounge on the beach for me 😀

  8. December 5, 2007 2:46 am

    Once I stood on “my rock” high above the river and very much in despair, not much of a believer in God at the time, and I yelled and cursed HIM, and accused HIM of being not as powerful as HE said. My testing of HIM was telling HIM that I am going to jump from this rock and end it all..stop me if you think you can! Whew! knowing what I know now..how foolish that was…but the next thing I knew I was waking up in my car locked in, safe and warm…and totally freaking out over what just happened. I don’t know what happened, but I didn’t jump, and I have never confronted God like that again, not in that tone, not accusing HIM of not being what HE said. And believing that HE has ordered all of my days, and HE will be the only one to determine when I leave here. I am glad of the outcome..but at that time…I needed to learn some holy fear…

  9. December 5, 2007 2:49 am

    Hey do you think HE just said “that will be enough of that tone with me young lady” “I am not hearing anymore of this..to sleep with you!” LOL I have thought about that.

  10. December 5, 2007 6:59 am

    And that is why we are friends. Thank you for that. You are rad.

  11. December 5, 2007 7:34 am

    I used to do that too…although typically with girls. “God, if you want me to ask this girl out…[do this].” God, if this is the girl I’m gonna end up with…[do that].”

    It never worked 😦

    I even did something like that recently. I was mad at God (happens more than I like to admit) and begged God to remind me that he loves me and hasn’t left me. Surprisingly I got nothing.

    Looking back, it’s times like those, though, that I grow the most.

    bc

  12. December 5, 2007 8:30 am

    Bill sometimes there are other things in our lives that keep us from hearing God, and sometimes we don’t sit still long enough to listen to HIS voice, but I have never not gotten an answer of some kind, and sometimes HE just wants me to worship HIM without all the feeling things…but HE always comes through.

  13. December 5, 2007 8:30 am

    Love,

    “Do you still ask God for what you want? or ask Him for what He wants?

    That’s a great question. When I have a desire or a perceived need, I always ask God to help me recognize if it’s in line with His will. Is this what HE would want. Is this a part of a plan of this individual journey and path? So when it comes down to it I usually end up asking God to give me the desires of HIS heart…

    “He knows what need you have before you ask it – do you know what ‘needs’ He has for you? Have they changed at all over time and with ‘experiences’?”

    Interesting “trick” question 😉 My “perception” is whats changed. As I mature as a woman in the Lord, with much experience under my belt I see things differently. As I grow in His word my eyes don’t see things like they used to. I think there really is only one “need” He has for me, and all of us, that is to surrender to Him, to know Him personally. Once that “need” is met, honestly, things start becoming more clear. And it IS a need in us all – but some of us don’t realize, or acknowledge it.

    “Do you follow Jesus’ instruction on How to Pray? He tells all in the Bible how we should. Do we think we know better than He does?”

    I certainly don’t know better than God. I can’t see the whole big picture.

    As far as praying…you have the Lords prayer Luke 11:1. Matt 6:5 Don’t be hypocritical and boastful about it. Phil 4:6 Pray about EVERYTHING. Mark 11:25 – First forgive others before you pray. There’s so much more….Pray in the Spirit – Pray humbly – Pray in expectation…

    Now, with all that said…I am not perfect. I have not “arrived”. It would be arrogant, and false, for me to say that I am a perfect Christ follower and doer of His word. As followers of Christ, I think we are all perfection inProgress (hence my blog title)

    But I am constantly asking the Lord to make me aware of my shortcomings. Show me where there is filth in me. Disobedience. Pride. Ignorance. Selfishness. Greed. Faithlessness. It’s why I am on such a wild ride! Because when you ask..He WILL reveal!

  14. December 5, 2007 8:35 am

    Darla, I am SOOOOO glad He rescued you from you and that rock! He placed you on a new ROCK!!!

    Love you June!

    Bill – hey there! I’ve always wondered how an Omni-Present God would feel absent to me, or has “left” me. So when I feel He has I might want to ask first where I “myself” have gone? I know I have left on numerous occasions!

  15. December 5, 2007 8:36 am

    Kristiapplesauce!!!! You rock my world girl!!!

    Do you have a funny story too?

  16. December 5, 2007 9:35 am

    Actually very good sage advice cleverly wrapped up in a funny story!

  17. December 5, 2007 9:53 am

    June loves you back! 🙂

  18. December 5, 2007 12:18 pm

    Wow! i love how God does that!
    Much love,
    Angela

  19. December 5, 2007 12:51 pm

    Funny story, good point. “Do not put the Lord your God to the test.” – Luke 4:12

  20. December 5, 2007 2:00 pm

    Testing God. I don’t know how many times I have been in that ridiculous situation. The stupidest “prayer” I ever prayed though was when I was in Bible college and I was walking into the dorm and as I opened the door I said, okay if “he” is there I will know that “he” is to be my husband…then I started laughing at myself and said to myself and God…”just kidding” and then opened the door. And low and behold my crush was sitting in the commons area. I was like “bummer” because I had nixed it. I am so dumb sometimes.

  21. December 5, 2007 4:37 pm

    pick me pick me! LOL jcb4uorme on yahoo..or crazymm186 on AIM

  22. December 5, 2007 8:40 pm

    Oh Tam….that is so sad but ohhh so funny. At least you didnt ask God to let you find the cat.

    I tested God a few times. One in particular time stands out the most. When my ex and I were at our last straw I told God He needed to make him tell me the truth as to what was going on in our relationship one way or other. I just had so many soeculations. And then I called him….and somehow my phone call interupted the call he was on and I just happened to get clicked into a conversation where he told me the WHOLE truth. He just didnt know he was saying it to me. haha

    Its kinda funny now when I look back. I would have loved to be a fly on the wall to see his face when I asked if he knew who he was talking to.

    When I asked God for this I am not so sure I really excpected this sudden “truth” from him. But…..like an unopenable window….I too had a window opened that day. =)

  23. December 5, 2007 9:42 pm

    Fine answers Tam – but what would i expect from a number 7??? 😉

    No tricks – just ‘perceptions’ 🙂

    p.s. – never sell yourself short – God doesn’t! He knows you better than you know yourself.

    You are always ‘in progress’ but you have come a LONG way in a short time – don’t be boastful, but recognise the hard work you’ve put in and the rewards it has brought so far – there is yet more to come 🙂

    You are blessed, you may still be tested and may grow more than you ever dreamed possible.

    May you know His Peace,

    love

  24. December 6, 2007 8:38 am

    A lot of deep thoughts on this post! I still pray that God would drop loads of money on my desk when I wake up each day…is that wrong? HA!

  25. December 6, 2007 5:39 pm

    I dunno skyler – i think a lot depends upon your motivations for wanting all that money and what it might do to you if He granted your wish?

    Have your prayers worked yet? (maybe they have and you don’t yet see how? )

    If not – then you are probably doing something ‘wrong’ – i.e. not the way He would have you do it – for your own continued ‘good’ 🙂

    Or i could always be wrong? 🙂

    on a different topic… if we had a million dollars, tax-free, in our wallets tomorrow morning – would we spend it ‘on Him’? or on ‘us and ours’?

    50/50? 60/40? give it to the REALLY poor?…

    love

  26. December 7, 2007 9:17 am

    hey – found you! a few weeks ago, i just got angry w/God. I never do – but i did then. i didn’t test him so much, but i prayed for many days that i wouldn’t catch this sickness my son had, and that he would get better. aS I prayed, i did all the precautionary things you’re supposed to – wash hands, religiously told him to cough into his elbow instd of his hands, drink fluids – & no, he wasn’t healed instantly…and moreover, i got it from him.

    the minute i felt the raw feeling in the back of my throat, i was like, what is this, God? I pray with faith in front of my son that you heal him and not only does he still have it, but you let me get too, to teach me a lesson? what about the lesson Braylon is learning about prayer? Oh, i won’t let this mystery about sickness&healing keep me from praying, but i have to resolve to stop trying to figure Him out. He is an unreasonable but ever-faithful mysterious but sovereign God. even as i still struggle to understand why some are healed and others not, my energy will be spent on thankfulness for what he’s brought me thru in my past & will in my future – not trying to reason or complain about my present. –
    just a reminder to myself.

    any thoughts about that mystery?
    (how are Vanessa… & Shawn -& his fam!)

Leave a Reply

