Skip to content

Randomness

December 14, 2007

Driving home tonight I notice a big van come up next to me in the passing lane. As it passed I did a double take. It was one of those big white Chevy “Ya want some candy little girl?” Vans, with windows that were covered over with white spray paint and written on the side was, “HOMELAND SECURITY” topped off with our State of Oregon’s seal. Whoa! šŸ˜Æ

We, Brent, the kids and I, all went to the mall tonight to start Christmas shopping. Uuuuhhh…what WAS I thinking? “Hey kids, let’s look for a gift for Grandpa!” – “Ooh-Ooh Mom! Look a this – I sooooooo have to have that!” “Hey Brent, maybe we can get your dad a…MOM, Can I get this?” šŸ˜”

Why do people do that “Random Act of Christmas Lighting” on their homes? Ya know the homes I’m talking about! Those ones that startle you when you drive by them. It looks like a rainbow of light bulbs threw up on their house. People! For the love of all man kind, put some thought into it! You have neighbors for goodness sakes!

I’m about ready to Take Down the Kiosk workers in the mall! They stalk you! Every time we walk by them my son tells me, “No eye contact mom, no eye contact.” But dagammit I’m like a deer in headlights when I get close to them. Like a moth to a flame. A fly to….You get the point. I think I’m just lookin’ for a fight šŸ™„

I LOVE Pre-Lit Artificial Christmas Trees!

Sometimes my husband is a huge embarrassment when taken out in public. I really should limit his outings. Brent and Kota met Kass and me at the mall tonight to shop after they were done seeing “I Am Legend”. Brent acted out some alien, jacked-up person scene from the movie right in front of the Kohl’s entrance. Farted on his daughter in the middle of a store. Twirled around like a little school girl in the checkout line. Then acted like he knew me. šŸ˜³

But when it’s all said and done…I sit here at home knocked off my feet by how fortunate and blessed I am to have this family. They rock!

20 Comments leave one →
  1. December 14, 2007 9:11 pm

    Hey girl! I’ve been thinking about you all week. I can’t believe you went to the mall. I have the same feeling about the traffic this year and what it takes to work your way through the masses. I’ve ordered a few things on line, and I am making the rest. Hopefully there won’t be too many trips need to large parking areas.

    How goes the writing? Looking forward to reading your story very soon. Love to you!

  2. December 15, 2007 5:16 am

    My wife says that Brent sounds like me. I LOvE embarrassing my daughter in public(Bev doesn’t blush like she used to) One of her most beloved stunts of mine (she won’t say that but I know she feels it) was when I carried around on my shouulder one of those giant 48 roll packs of toilet tissue. I was all bent over on one side pretending it weighed about 100 pounds. When we got up to the checkout counter I just ‘barely’ made it, dropping the heavy load with a lound thud onto the converyor belt. “Whew! That sure was heavy!”

    I’ve been waiting for a reason to share that with somebody. It gets lonely in the Family Clown Department. Keep it up, Brent. Never give in – they’ll thank you for it someday. I think.

  3. garmentofpraise permalink
    December 15, 2007 8:40 am

    Wow. Your family sounds pretty much awesome. My cousin used to live with us (he’s about 9 years older then me) and he would get in these “night moods” (I get them too) we’d go crazy. Running up and down the stairs acting like superman and superwoman…ahh, those were fun times.

    Wow, you are so courageous! Going to the mall! I went in November (a few days after black friday!!) and it was so bad that I stayed home.

    You’re random act of Christmas lighting made me laugh. I have a few of those in our neighborhood. What exacally were you thinking? It does look like the color factory barfed all over….every year we go and look (and laugh) at the light show in our neighborhood.

    Hope you’re doing well!

  4. December 15, 2007 10:00 am

    Wow, I’m at a total loss of words…..not surprised…just a total loss of words….

    LOL šŸ˜€

  5. December 15, 2007 12:31 pm

    I’ve got you covered Christian šŸ™‚

  6. December 15, 2007 3:17 pm

    and that was fantastic. Can I trade in my current family situation for yours…just for the next few days? Okay then…thanks.

  7. December 15, 2007 5:37 pm

    HAHAHAHAH!!!So funny!
    My mom is torturing me watching, ” Dreamgirls” right now, did you know the entire thing is musical? UGH.
    Anyway, just not in the mood for it.

    So love your randomness, I am about to get ready for work, but had to tell ya so:)

    The American Family—what a portrait lol.

    So you know, because me and my friend have been talking to the person at work I wrote about, everyone except my one manager quit talking to us…nice right.

    Oh well, I stand in the name of Jesus…always will:)

    Love you!

  8. December 16, 2007 12:41 am

    I LOVE this post! šŸ˜‰ Randomness is good.
    Okay you just STARTED your shopping?! Oh my, I am sorry! šŸ˜‰

    Random Act of Christmas Lighting? Did you drive by our house or something tonight? heehee
    Coachman (by your old street) we’re the ones with the most lights. šŸ˜‰ heehee

    “farted on his daughter in the middle of a store”
    AH HA HA HA HA HA!!!! LMAO!!! heehee I could SO picture this. šŸ˜‰

    Don’tchya just LOVE family quirks? Seriously, they are what makes a family a FAMILY. I am sitting here right now with my in-laws watching Christmas Vacation and everyone is a tad “toasty” and the quirks are running rampant tonight…..but it’s so much fun! šŸ˜€

    BTW, you guys DO rock! šŸ˜‰

  9. December 16, 2007 11:01 am

    HAHAHA that sounds like my family at Kohls or walmart.

    Homeland security! I am sure that gives a strange gut feeling..I know fighter jets flying over our house and apache helicopters are a reality check less we forget…Praying for our soldiers, and our country…and laughing at Brent in the mall..scott does that same kind of stuff to my girls, and sone follows him..I always act like I don’t know them…but sometimes I am just as bad..they will hug up to me at the register..and I will look very serioue and tell the girl “I just met them..”

  10. December 16, 2007 12:22 pm

    Yeah, those kiosk people are so annoying. If I wanted people to jump out and try to sell me something, I’d go shopping in Mexico.

  11. December 16, 2007 8:20 pm

    I’m on the floor laughing! I’m with you on the Christmas lights. Oh and lets talk about the giant inflatable snowglobes. So not cool. They scare pug a bit!

  12. December 16, 2007 9:53 pm

    Twirling–that’s hysterical!
    And Christmas lights? My friend’s neighbor starts putting up his Christmas display in October. Its completely choreographed with music and simulcast on a radio frequency in front of the house. I do love the Griswold look. We usually have it on our block but only 1 person put up lights this year. Don’t know what’s going on.

  13. December 16, 2007 10:34 pm

    Dont worry about the homeland security van…I mean I live in FL…so I sees them a lot:)

  14. December 17, 2007 3:49 am

    Eek, family shopping. My very own version of hell. I haven’t the disposition to cope with other people’s children people during shopping trips. It sounds like you were born to it though.

  15. Heidi permalink
    December 17, 2007 11:08 am

    Homeland security got them all over the place here in San Diego.. I feel a little safer.

    Christmas shopping? Was I supposed to start that yet? Yes, I am a December 23rd kind of shopper!!!

  16. December 17, 2007 12:47 pm

    I loved it…that sounds like me most days…random. By the way, the white vans, I call them “molester vans”; big non descript white vans with no windows.

  17. December 17, 2007 2:22 pm

    Y’all are too fun!

  18. December 17, 2007 8:38 pm

    Blessed indeed! Enjoy your Christmas Tam!!

  19. December 18, 2007 7:50 pm

    Ya want some candy little girl? LOL!!

  20. December 19, 2007 7:35 pm

    Your family rocks! I too get that feeling when those nasty scary vans pull up. I get uneasy when they are anywhere near! Yikes!

Leave a Reply

