Skip to content

A Random Poem…

December 25, 2007

Oh lucky me – the thing I dread

On Christmas Day – I’m sick in bed

My nose is stuffed – My throat is sore

I’ve never been sick on Christmas before 

So here I lay with the day behind

Reflecting on all that’s in my mind

The joy in my kiddos voices

In their smiles my heart rejoices

My nephew who joined our world today…

“Gunnar James” 2,ooo miles away 

Snow is falling on the Valley floor

I’ve never had a White Christmas before 

Thera-Flu is just minutes away

A good nights rest is close at bay

Tomorrow this Christmas day will have ended

We’ll add up our gift cards and plot how to spend them

Now a New Year is next on our list

But in our preparations let us not forget 

If there’s one thing we can all agree to

That is to follow the Golden Rule

Do Unto other as you would have

them do unto you…

If there is one resolution we dare to make

This is THE rule to follow – make no mistake

At some point this poem must end

So I will end with saying…I am honored to call you all my friends! 

17 Comments leave one →
  1. December 25, 2007 8:35 pm

    😦

    and i’m up LATE tonite bc i just can’t fall asleep!!!

    hope you feel better.

    hope you can somehow enjoy that white Christmas!

    many blessings to you and yours.
    mandy

  2. December 25, 2007 9:18 pm

    too hot. yeah. that’s probably it… i sometimes can’t sleep when i get too hot! sad, huh? i think my mom has cranked the heat tonite, too, which doesn’t help.

    or it may be the tink tink of rain falling outside right now. ahhh… i could stay up & listen to that all night!

    christmas: some jewelry. tickets to see the Blue Man Group in Beantown with my man & some friends. a new set of knives. MONEY that i will hopefully use for spring break with my yankee bffs! a few gift certificates (Starbucks = a necessary Luxury in my cold New England life)… new pjs. 4 cans of boiled peanuts… a few books.
    oh! and my ALL-TIME favorite of the day: an iTrip for my iPod – to send my ipod signal to our car radio so i can listen & drive.
    YAY!

    what’d you get?! was Santa good to you this year? 😉

  3. December 25, 2007 9:53 pm

    foot scraper?? oh say it ain’t so!!!!!

    my mom-in-law gave me “The Proper Care & Feeding of a Husband” by Dr. Laura…. its a GREAT book that my mentor made me read when i first got married.

    i think i like my in-laws better than yours! 😉

    i wished we had some IM thingy so we could’ve chatted this up-too-late-on-Christmas night away! he he!!!

    but, alas, i’m getting sleepy. very sleepy. way past my bedtime!

    hope you get sleepy soon, too!

    love, mandy

  4. December 26, 2007 5:17 am

    Good morning. I’m glad you got to enjoy the kids smiles.

    I hope you’re feeling better today.

    Blessings in Christ–

  5. December 26, 2007 6:05 am

    Where is “free airfare”? Must get to my friend and take care of her! well. that is my heart anyway. Hope you are feeling better real soon..BTW you are tagged on my blog, something a little more meaningful and helpful to me. 🙂 love ya!

  6. December 26, 2007 10:33 am

    wondering if being snowed in took out your power?? or if being sick today is worse..haven’t seen you around blogland..missing me some bunny trails…I will try to make my own, but I know they will not be as good as yours! 🙂

  7. December 26, 2007 11:00 am

    i think it is crazy to go to the mall today, but you could make that cold work in your favor…just tell people to get out of the way or you will have to breathe on them…sick , contagious…

    bet they will let you get ahead of them 🙂

  8. December 26, 2007 12:45 pm

    so sorry to hear you were sick on Christmas. It sounds like you had a good day anyway.

    nice poem.

  9. December 26, 2007 4:33 pm

    Just dropping by to see if you’re feeling better today…

    Get well soon!!!

  10. Heidi permalink
    December 26, 2007 5:37 pm

    Tam!!!

    I told you to drink out of the polka dot mug, not the Goofy mug. You got my cooties!!!

    I’m catchin a healing too baby. I have a nice chest cold. A very sore throat. No snow. California sytle Christmas in the 70’s. I know I know. I would have rather had the snow and a quilt.

    Know that I threw all my healing scriptures at you girl. I love you and I know like me WE ARE HEIRS TO HIS THRONE and we will be up and praising Him Shortly, So until then: enjoy the Brady Bunch reruns (our little secret), Lifetime Network shows and the foot rubs.

    Lots of Love and Vicks VAPORUB!!!

  11. garmentofpraise permalink
    December 26, 2007 6:26 pm

    Awww! You were sick on CHRISTmas? That’s horrible! I did like your poem though! It was awesome! You had a white CHRISTmas? Pretty sweet! Hope you feel better soon!

  12. Momma Jen permalink
    December 26, 2007 9:59 pm

    Just wanted to stop by & wish you a (belated) Merry Christmas and to tell you how much I enjoyed listening to your daughter at Sunday’s service – WOW! How proud you & Brent must be!
    Also, I’ve really enjoyed reading your blog over the past few months and look forward to many more thought provoking & hilarious blogs in 2008! 🙂
    As a side note, I was given the name of a blog/website and thought you & Brent might enjoy it:
    http://www.therebelution.com/blog/
    Hope you are feeling better & were able to enjoy the beautiful white snow today.

  13. December 27, 2007 12:24 pm

    Oh my goodness…this is how I felt on Christmas only I can’t take Thera-flu because I am allergic to asprin. So I’m looking for the Tylonal Severe Cold/Allergy…

  14. December 27, 2007 1:18 pm

    R U feeling any better yet??? Let me know if there is a time to catch you later today or this evening..missin my friend! (she is sick and needs me to make her soup..and get her fuzzy socks)

  15. December 27, 2007 7:39 pm

    I’m so sorry you were feeling sick – and I hope by now you are feeling better! Thanks for being there/here for me this year. I appreciate you.

    Love ya

  16. December 27, 2007 8:02 pm

    Oh yuck. I’m so sorry you feeling bad on Christmas! Hope it’s going away though!

  17. January 16, 2008 11:10 am

    I have Google set to send me notices of Golden Rule posts and so I got a link to your poem. I like it. Its light and bouncy and sort of stream-of-consciousness stuff.

    And I hope that it is one resolution we all dare to make, and do our best to keep.

    If you’d like to see more about my Golden Rule site, please drop in to http://www.goldenruleradical.org

    Happy New Year
    David

Leave a Reply

