Skip to content

One Book Meme

December 27, 2007

library-shleves.jpgMiss Darla tagged me for a Book Meme. At first it made me nervous because I’m not as big of a reader as I used to be. But going through this has inspired me to read and write more…so thanks!

01.  One book that changed your life? 

Dream Giver by Bruce Wilkinson. It’s one of the most creatively written books I have ever read. He tells the story of Ordinary (characters name) who leaves the Land of Familiar to pursue his big dream. On his journey he is confronted with obstacles and feelings of hopelessness as life and others, even if unintentionally, threaten the Dream. My summary is not doing it much justice. It is a MUST read! Super inspiring! Yes, I said “Super”.

02.  One book that you have read more than once?

The Heart of the Artist by Rory Noland. I’ve read this at least 4 times now. I love this book! As a member of a Music Team I have found this book to be a necessity as a great guide in all facets of this ministry. Rory confronts many characteristics, both good and bad, that effect individuals and a team. How to recognize them and address them. And so much more than this!

03.  One book you would want on a deserted Island?

“How To Survive On A Deserted Island”

04.  One book that made you laugh?

The Gingerbread Man. OK, I used to be a Co-Teacher in a 1st/2nd grade class of Behavioral Learning students. Koty was a 2nd grade boy with severe Autism. He looked no one in the eye…except for me. I had to read him this book every day. He would laugh so hard at the most not funny parts! But he loved it. I loved it!

05.  One book that made you cry?

Heaven by Randy Alcorn. Really, do I have to explain why? What a great read!!

06.  One book that you wish had been written?

Darla…you are so stinkin’ sweet! I am working on my book! And it WILL get completed!

07.  One book that you wish had never been written?

Any of those books on how to make homemade bombs in your garage. Look at how many teens have gotten a hold of those and destroyed so many lives.

08.  One book you are currently reading?

I’m actually not reading any right now. Is that horrible?

09.  One book you have been meaning to read?

90 Minutes In Heaven by Don Piper. This has GOT to be good!

Feel free to answer any of these questions here if you’d like. It would be great to see what everyone is reading and what you’re interested in!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. December 27, 2007 8:52 pm

    I with Darla… waiting to read YOUR book! 🙂

  2. December 28, 2007 4:25 am

    :clap: :clap: you did real good ! Luv ya, and now I want to read Heaven by Randy ALcorn.

    Hope you are feeling better, missed you the last couple of days…and GG although I understand-hope she falls back on the earth in blogland!

    love you, write the book! I am working on mine again too..hahahaha see how God works from a simple meme!

  3. December 28, 2007 6:38 am

    So Daniel and I are reading “for men only” “for women only” and we each read the other one first, to be given to the other person…but we highlighted and underlined…made notes that agreed with our lives (if that makes any sense). So then when we were through we each gave it to our spouse and then he could read about women (specifically about me) and I could read about men (specifically about him) but in a non-intrucive manor and without us getting an “I told you so” or getting our feelings hurt. It rocks to communicate through a book. We have never done that before. Yay.

  4. December 28, 2007 11:37 am

    Tam, can I just tell you how much I LOVE YOU? You encourage me probably more than anyone else on the planet! *THANK YOU!*

    I love your snow, btw… *MERRY CHRISTMAS!* (((((HUGS))))) sandi

  5. December 28, 2007 12:27 pm

    oooo ooooo ooooo fill in friday is it coming??? please tell me ya but later even much later

  6. December 28, 2007 6:20 pm

    I just ordered Don Piper’s “90 Minutes in Heaven” and can’t wait to read it.
    Must recommend “The Shack” Awesome!! Mind-expanding. Good winter-time read.
    Read “Heaven” by Randy Alcorn, and loved it too….even if he is my friend. 🙂 Still an excellent book.

  7. December 29, 2007 4:33 pm

    The Gingerbread man is my little sisters’ favorite book. My whole family can recite it to you, if you ever desire. “Run run, fast as you can, you can’t catch me, I’m the gingerbread man, I’ve run from a….” shall we go on?

    You really must read:
    The Sacred Romance by Brent Curtis and John Eldredge
    and
    Your God is Too Safe by Mark Buchanan

    Currently reading Your God is Too Safe…it’s AWESOME!
    I really really want to read your book when it comes out…I can’t wait. Can I order an autographed copy? 🙂
    Hope you’re doing well!

  8. December 30, 2007 8:02 am

    Tam:

    90 Minutes in Heaven is a good read if you have lost a loved one. It gives you a sense of comfort and a little peek into heaven from Don Piper’s point of view.

    I highly recommend Battlefield of the mind. I am currently reading it and it has blessed me tremendously. I am also reading The Women of the Bible. Nothing that we don’t already know, but more like a refreshing course of these women that made it to the most highly recognized history book!

    What are you writing about in you book, do you have a title?

    Talk soon

    Ivy Vega

  9. December 30, 2007 10:51 am

    Tam- the two books that joy mentioned above..total keepers! I love Mark Buchannan what an awesome writer, keeps my attention and makes a strong point! I did love this meme it has given me a extensive wish list and new reads for the new year!

  10. December 30, 2007 7:07 pm

    One of my huge goals for the year is to read 25 books. I say 25 because I have that many that I have that I still have to read. My newest aquisition is Wonderlust: A spiritual travelogue for the adventurous soul. We receive a Border’s gift certificates a new books as gifts a couple of times each year so between all of us we’ve built up a nice library.

Leave a Reply

