Skip to content

duh-duh-duh-duh

January 9, 2008

I’ve got nothin’! No zing. No umph. No energy. As my mom-in-law says, “My get up and go got up and went”. Oh my word, I just quoted my mother in law! I’m slippin fast friends!

Getting over being sick, Christmas break, the heavy Holiday schedule…I’m finding it difficult to ease back into a normal sleeping pattern and finding myself walking around in a fog.

How are you all doing? Have you gotten back into the swing of things? How do you do it? Any special tricks or advise?

While you’re thinking, here’s some good stuff to check out…

(P.O.O.) The Problem of Odor

Questions???

An Attack On The Environment

Had to add this incredible post!

Picture my JesusΒ 

23 Comments leave one →
  1. January 9, 2008 4:04 pm

    I can’t believe you linked to my POO piece. Of all the things I’ve written. You are so…MEAN! (I hope my mom doesn’t read your blog.)

  2. January 9, 2008 4:11 pm

    You mean she doesn’t read yours! That’s very sad C 😦

  3. Heidi permalink
    January 9, 2008 4:23 pm

    Are you pinging me?

    Feeling a little pooey??? GO FOR A LONG WALK is my remedy…
    I got to read this article… on christian’s site.

    Love ya!!!! I’ll talk to you shortly, I gotta pick up the kids.

  4. January 9, 2008 4:43 pm

    During the holidays I turned my brain off and have yet to find the on switch. πŸ™‚ No thinking, just doing. Enjoying all the good food I was eating with no thought as to where it came from or how it was prepared. No ethical question such as is fruit cake a lethal weapon that should bared by the Geneva Convention? πŸ™‚ Or who is actually going to pay for all the gifts I got for my nieces children?

    My only suggestion is we need to find a way to make the holiday spirit last all year round. Of course I would weigh 300 lbs if I eat like I did this Christmas but then there is always liposuction. πŸ™‚

    Living alone I may not be as concerned about body oder as some others. Then again maybe that’s why I am living alone. πŸ™‚

    If you have ever taken public transportation in many parts of the world you will need to quickly adjust your tolerance for BO. πŸ™‚ Of course all that hot stale air coming from Washington, DC must also have something to do with global warming.

  5. Brandy permalink
    January 9, 2008 5:12 pm

    UGH. Someone who knows my dilema! 😦

    I sat on the couch all day yesterday, barely able to muster the strength to keep my eyes open. Kids got clothed, fed, butts wiped (EW), and well taken care of…..but my house, my poor pitiful house….not so much.

    The boys are suffering from the after effects of the holiday hum drum as well. Many tears have been shed in the pursuit of avoiding a return to routine. Bed times? NO! Naps? How dare you! A REGULAR eating schedul that doesn’t include TREATS? GASP!

    Sorry, no tips here. However today I DID get up and actually get ready like I had somewhere to be (Oh wait, I did…Dylan>School) and it seemed to help. A little.

    Good luck!
    πŸ˜‰

  6. Brandy permalink
    January 9, 2008 5:14 pm

    AH HA HA HA!!! LMAO “Living alone I may not be as concerned about body oder as some others. Then again maybe that’s why I am living alone!” heehee πŸ˜€

  7. January 9, 2008 5:52 pm

    I went through this with Mike going away etc. I realized that I didn’t look forward to getting back into my routine because I needed to freshen it up. So I’ve made some changes and look forward now to see what God has for me each day again. YAY!!!! Love ya!

  8. January 9, 2008 6:00 pm

    no pressure to blog, tam. just get better!

  9. January 9, 2008 8:34 pm

    Cool Mum has been on a getting-organized kick since the holidays and by gum, it’s working! I’m just trying to be supportive.

    How did we do it? Grace of God.

    Special tricks? Nope.

    Advice? When the dirty dishes coalesce and gain self-awareness, it’s time to wash them.

  10. January 9, 2008 8:52 pm

    One thing that always helps me is getting back in my exercise and good eating routine…always with goals in mind. πŸ™‚ If you want to borrow some videos, just let me know πŸ™‚

  11. Momma Jen permalink
    January 9, 2008 9:28 pm

    More coffee sister! I have felt the exact same way… I really don’t think this lovely weather we are having helps. Who wants to go out in the 33 degrees, raining/snowing wind storm for milk & stamps??!
    Hot coffee, cozy slippers & a good blog to read (as always, thanks for the contribution) – that’s what I’m doing until my energy level comes back up and/or the weather changes…

  12. January 9, 2008 9:41 pm

    I am sleep deprived and couldnt answer the questions if I tried. I think there should be a floating holiday called “Need Sleep & Cant come to work”….dedicated to over worked mothers. πŸ˜‰

  13. January 9, 2008 10:35 pm

    I thought of you throughout my bible study yesterday. I am going to a study that is more of history/geography lesson. It is about Israel. We are watching a Ray Vanderlaan series. Each”history/geography” lesson ends with a life lesson. Yesterday had to do with making our life count for the Lord. You have made a great positive impact with so many people just by being yourself. I know that you are frustrated with what you feel is wasted time, but you are at this place where you can go crazy burning the candle at both ends while working multiple full time jobs as wife, mom, author, musician, daughter-in-law, sister… You have used so much of your time in a way that glorifies God. I know your energy is low. I can relate. Just keep seeking out the Lord and do little bits each day. In time you’ll regain your strength and your get and go won’t get away from you. Love to you.

  14. January 10, 2008 6:02 am

    Girl, I am in the same situation! My sleep schedule is still thrown off–made worse last night by a 5 a.m. thunderstorm–and yeah, I’m sleepy and lacking energy. I have all these wonderful plans of how to spend my break, and I *am* getting stuff done–including some really important things I’d put off for months!–but not at the rate I had anticipated. Hopefully both of us will find our “umph” again soon! πŸ™‚ Love you!

  15. January 10, 2008 7:24 am

    Having trouble with getting my sleep back into a schedule! Hope you feel back to your self soon! I am going to step up the prayers for you…I am guessing the enemy just doesn’t want you to write that book!! Just start a new thought and see if God breaks through the fog…sometimes HE does! πŸ™‚

    Thanks for pluggin me, I am always inspired by you!

  16. January 10, 2008 10:00 am

    I love that saying…my grandpa used to say that!

  17. Angela permalink
    January 10, 2008 11:03 am

    Yes I have been feeling blah lately too! I have to force myself to exercise, but it is a struggle! I gained some weight over the holidays too, which doesn’t help much either! I take a supplement called “Supermom” which really helps with energy you can find it at http://www.beeyoutiful.com or http://www.morethanalive.com. Also, on a more spiritual note, I am really concetrating on keeping my eyes on Jesus (and not myself or circumstances) and I know that God honors that!

    IN Christ!

    angela πŸ˜‰

  18. Angela permalink
    January 10, 2008 11:09 am

    PS My husband I also take “emergenC” with really helps if we feel a cold coming on and gives us a boost of energy! You can find it in the vitamin section at Target!

    God bless!

    angela

  19. January 10, 2008 12:02 pm

    “Emergent C” – isn’t that the medicine being hawked by Tony Jones and Brian Mclaren?

  20. January 10, 2008 12:26 pm

    I usually have the post-holiday-it’s-winter-and-I-hate-the-cold-dark-months-of-January-and-february-and-sometimes-march blahs too but this year I have had some developments occur that have pushed me to get recharged quickly which is a wonderful change to that cycle. I suggest a weekend roadtrip to get away.

  21. January 10, 2008 1:26 pm

    Wow! HI everyone! Seems like there’s an epidemic going around πŸ˜‰

    I think a lot of it is the weather. Gloomy skies do nothing for me! I’m snapping out of it – much better today! There’s just a lot going on right now and I’m learning to breathe in His goodness, grace and strength!

    Angela, I have to be careful with taking supplements that boost my immune system. I have lupus so when my immune system is healthy (which it rarely is) my body thinks something is wrong and then attacks itself. It’s a little disturbed 😯 But I’m gonna check into to those anyway to have here for the rest of my fam…so thank you very much!

  22. Angela permalink
    January 10, 2008 3:51 pm

    Tam, I had no idea that you had lupus! I live in the NW and we have rain about 9 mos of the year; so it is easy to get depressed! My husband is from Southern Cal, so as you can imagine he has a very hard time up here! YIKES!

    take care,

    angela

  23. January 10, 2008 3:55 pm

    Yup, we’re in Southern Oregon and both from Southern California too! I miss it down there so bad! I lived in Port Hueneme on the beach so this is just cruel and inhumane punishment 😯

    I have a good blogging friends who have helped changed my perspective on lupus…so I can say today – that’s it’s ok! It’s for a season…and for a purpose…and always for His Glory!

    Hope you’re having a good day Angela!!

Leave a Reply

