Skip to content

Good stuff out there folks!

January 13, 2008

Here are some great thought provoking posts I ran across tonight. Definitely check them out and let them know what you think!

Church For Sale…Aisle 6!

Paul Washer Quote

Observations from UnChristian

7 Comments leave one →
  1. January 13, 2008 9:10 pm

    Those links Rock !

    🙂

  2. January 14, 2008 4:08 am

    Interesting links!
    I agree with a lot of the thoughts on church hopping/shopping. But I get just as frustrated about folks who continue to stay on at a local assembly that twists Scripture and justify it with the idea that they don’t want to be considered church hoppers/shoppers.

    The Paul Washer entry was interesting… I loved the first part!
    A great reminder to keep on keepin’ on till God says otherwise! =)

    And the last link was just dead-on. We see so much of that regularly where we are…. =/

  3. January 14, 2008 9:32 pm

    My comments on UnChristian’s list of things Christians may be perceived to be guilty of:

    For items 1. Hypocritical, 4. Sheltered, 5. Too Political and 6. Judgmental I don’t find Christians to be dramatically different than Atheist in having these attributes.

    2. Being too focused on getting converts.

    I do think too many Christian leaders are guilty of this. I also think the competition between different religious groups contributes to many of the conflicts we have in the world. Religious differences aren’t the only factor but they are a significant factor that has fueled too many wars.

    On a personal basis I have been asked, at least once, be every Christian I know why I don’t believe in God. I can’t ever remember starting a conversation with a believer by asking them why do they believe in God. It doesn’t bother me now but I have to say that in the past it caused me to sometimes get very defensive.

    3. Anti-Homosexual. This issue clearly divides Atheist and Christians. I would expect that almost everyone who believes in the bible would think that gay sex is wrong. I would expect that almost everyone who does not believe in the bible would think gay sex was all right.

    Gay people have been persecuted through out history by the followers of Jesus. I don’t know what else to say other than it’s an irreconcilable between Christians and Atheist. It’s an emotional issue that will I fear continue to fosters too much ill will, and in some cases hatred, between these two groups.

  4. January 15, 2008 11:14 pm

    Thanks for these links; great articles and good food for thought! Though, as I confessed on inWorship, while I agree that we shouldn’t have a consumer mentality in looking for a church, I’m not sure what the “right” approach is. I’ve also been in the position of being in an international, interdenominational church where a very liberal pastor came in and suddenly the sermons were basically “Chicken Soup for the Soul” rather than, ya know, really preaching the Gospel. And yet I was really invested in that church and didn’t have other good options, living overseas where I did … it was *so* tough trying to figure out whether to stay and try and make a difference, or whether to go elsewhere.

  5. January 15, 2008 11:15 pm

    And I have to agree with Ed on this: “For items 1. Hypocritical, 4. Sheltered, 5. Too Political and 6. Judgmental I don’t find Christians to be dramatically different than Atheist in having these attributes.”

    It’s actually something that really just hit me recently. I realized that my very “tolerant,” mostly liberal, and “open-minded,” non-Christian friends are way more judgmental than most of my Christian friends. But they think that because they are accepting of gays, minorities, etc., that it’s OK when they judge people for all sorts of other reasons. But I digress.

  6. January 15, 2008 11:40 pm

    Faith, I’m guessing then that you’re looking for a church right now? I think the one thing that is right in a search is that it is a bible based, solid bible teaching church. There are always going to be “preferences” but the one thing that should be expected is solid bible teaching. There will always be things we don’t care for as well, we just have to conclude whether or not those things are in opposition to His word.

  7. January 15, 2008 11:45 pm

    Oops I think my post was a little misleading. Actually we are all set in our church for now. But once we figure out when I’ll be able to finish my internship hours and graduate (so we know how soon we’ll be free to move! :)), then TJ will start looking for a job elsewhere–hopefully a ministry job, which may or may not be in a church, but either way, we are expecting to leave this area and that will mean our first church-search as a married couple! Should be interesting. 🙂
    I really appreciate your answer: You’re right that that really is what it all boils down to. Everything else is details. Matters of preference.

Leave a Reply

