Skip to content

Super Bowl Orphan

January 22, 2008

footballfoto.jpg

It’s the time of year when millions of girls and women become orphans. This Sunday is the day when nothing else matters. No ifs, ands, buts about it!

Our poor daughter Kass will be alone, once again. Another loner weekend. Locked in her room…reading, painting her nails, playing her guitar, writing songs about how neglected she is.

I’d love to say I care…but, well…it’s Football Season! What am I suppose to do??!!!

You didn’t think I was one of the million orphans did you? πŸ˜‰

So I’ll have to make up for it somehow. Any suggestions?

What are your Super Bowl Sunday plans?

Any special traditions? Favorite Super Bowl food or recipes?

WHO ARE YOU ROOTING FOR???

**Update**Β 

YES I KNOW!!! Super Bowl isn’t until the 3rd of Feb. I got a little over excited and my weekends mixed up… Shoot me! Brent called to pick on me about it and asked if I had any comments yet…I said “Yes, but they’ve all been from girls” HAHA!!!

CORRECTION! Some of you guys missed it too – Come on men!Β 

70 Comments leave one →
  1. January 22, 2008 8:24 am

    Um,yeah, pretty sure I’m rooting for NO ONE. πŸ˜‰ hahaha!

    Seriously.

    Kass can come over here b/c I’m pretty sure Jake is watching that dreaded game ELSEWHERE. heehee

    Yes I am an evil, evil wife. BWAH AH AH AH AH AH !!! πŸ˜‰

    BTW, Jake is rooting AGAINST the Patriots. So whatever team that is, he is rooting for. haha. He hates the patriots. And I have no clue who the other team is, only that he doesn’t want the Patriots to win. I suck. I know. πŸ˜‰

  2. gavcait permalink
    January 22, 2008 8:27 am

    We will definately watch it but I am not sure that I have a favorite team. I am not always into football, being a single gal and all but I was really heartbroken when Dallas was knocked out of the playoffs.

  3. January 22, 2008 8:42 am

    Patriots and Giants Bran 😯

    GO PATRIOTS!!!!

    Crystal, How are you? You don’t have to like football to enjoy the excitement and snack foods πŸ˜€

  4. January 22, 2008 8:49 am

    Oh my! So many thoughts! Having been raised in Michigan, and Qtr Back Tom Brady is a former Michigan (GO BLUE!) player I just gotta back the Patriots. However, my spiritual dilemma is how much “trash” (beer commercials, sex ads, Janet Jackson disrobing) am I willing to absorb in this mind and body I’ve committed to Christ. I love football, mostly college ball, but I am getting more frustrated with the trash that comes with it. My priorities Super bowl Sunday will be worship (Sunday AM & PM), go to Wendy’s after evening service with friends then come home and probably sneak some peeks at the game. After all PBR (Professional Bull Riding) is on later, gotta watch that!. Hey, I didn’t say I was perfect! :o)

  5. January 22, 2008 9:01 am

    ooooh I vote PBR over superbowl ANY DAY!!!! πŸ˜€

    Okay Tam, PATRIOTS?? SERIOUSLY??? hahaha!
    Jake doesn’t like the Giants but he REALLY doesn’t like the Patriots. BOTH of his teams lost on Sunday….and I only know that b/c I was home and was subjected to listening to a lot of yelling and brow beating. haha! AND THEN, on the way to link group, he was playing the game the radio and NO JOKE at one point he was listening so intently that he was driving 15 MPH!!!! hahaha! Oh geeze….football. *eyerolling* πŸ˜‰

  6. January 22, 2008 9:03 am

    You know I used to be more of a football fan before my husband, but he’s such a fanatic about the whole thing — part of me rebells against it.

    Now if the Redskins had been going to the SB…than we’d be talking a different story!!

  7. January 22, 2008 9:04 am

    As a New England native (which Cool Mum gives me a hard time about b/c I only spent the first 7 years of life there, but I still claim it!), I am firmly behind the Patriots!

    The amount of success recently is just embarrassing, but I’ll take it. I watched when the Bears destroyed them in Super XX and I was young, so I’m allowed the victories to make up for that trauma.

  8. January 22, 2008 9:05 am

    Ok…

    I find humor in the fact that only gals have commented here and that may be the reason that one small detail about this years Super Bowl has slipped through the cracks.

    Super Bowl is next week Hun πŸ™‚

  9. January 22, 2008 9:08 am

    Now I see it is even worse. I do notice that some men have commented. And even the men have not notices tv error πŸ™‚

  10. January 22, 2008 9:13 am

    I wondered….this was a debate at link group on sunday. Jake swore it was next sunday, someone else swore it was this sunday. It was quite the debate. πŸ˜‰

  11. January 22, 2008 9:14 am

    Why did he have to ask if you had comments yet?? Couldn’t he just SEE? πŸ˜‰ hehe

  12. January 22, 2008 9:15 am

    Okay now this is all really funny and I laughing very hard. hahaha! πŸ˜€

  13. January 22, 2008 9:15 am

    Being that we live in Arizona it’s a big deal however I should have just rented out my house for the BIG $$$ πŸ™‚
    My hubby’s team just got out (Chargers) so we will have to see how it goes. I just know not to plan anything on the weekends right now.

  14. January 22, 2008 9:15 am

    Hey – several of the most important comments have been from the masculine frame of mind! I gotta go, my wife is calling me.

  15. January 22, 2008 9:21 am

    Patriots all the way.

    I think I’m going to do some wings and guacamole and have a small party.

    mmmmmm……. can’t wait!

  16. Jason permalink
    January 22, 2008 9:31 am

    If you have someone in your household who does not appreciate football, give them an empathetic look as they walk needfully through the room, then quickly turn back to the television so as not to miss Rodney Harrison decapitating Eli.

  17. January 22, 2008 9:35 am

    Which one plays for which team? πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜›

  18. Jason permalink
    January 22, 2008 9:40 am

    Rodney is a Patriot and Eli is the Giants’ quarterback.

    Let’s just say that I was the headmaster of the metaphorical orphanage for a long time.

  19. January 22, 2008 9:43 am

    hahaha
    My poor hubby…. is NO ONE else rooting for the Giants??? I’ll have to fill him in on this. haha! πŸ˜‰

  20. Jason permalink
    January 22, 2008 9:46 am

    My roommate in college was from Schenectady. He was perpetually annoying me with Giants trash talk, and to make matters worse, the 1976 Vikings COULD NOT beat the 1986 Giants on Madden (93? 94?). Joe Morris was just too fast on the sweep and LT could catch Ahmad Rashad at a full sprint from behind.

    Torture.

  21. January 22, 2008 9:51 am

    I am going for the patriots..realy dont like either, but after watching NY play as badly and get lucky with GreenBay..I am waiting for them to get spanked!

    inworship-never too early to start thinking about superbowl food! Want our men to be happy even if their team loses!
    mmmm wings hot and bbq/ poppers, maybe I will make some chili too..of course all that little stuff like chips and cheese :), and If I really go over board…I can have leftovers the next day!

    Maybe our girls can talk on IM during the game because I will have one doing the same thing! πŸ™‚

  22. January 22, 2008 9:54 am

    ILP- you just need a back up plan for the commercials and half time…like I just stand in front of it…I am bratty about it! but hey you wouldn’t want to have to take your eye out..or anything like that..didn’t GOd saythat somewhere, if you can’t keep you eyes from looking (or was that lusting) then take it out. πŸ™‚

  23. January 22, 2008 10:15 am

    Darla, got a back up plan – at my age I get up (slowly), put my dentures in a bowl to soak, by then that commercial is over. Next commercial I take them out of the bowl and brush them. Then my wife can use them during the next commercial to eat some hot wings!

  24. January 22, 2008 10:18 am

    Wow!! No one’s razzing me about the weekend mix up! You love me! You REALLY love me!

    or pitty me πŸ˜€

    Did someone mention Rashad? I remember when he proposed to Claire Husktable on live TV. He was all sweaty, wiping his face with tissue and big piece of white kleenex got stuck to his whiskers while he’s flailing around in his words trying to propose this tissue is flinging and waving everywhere from his face…Hysterical!!! Classic TV!

  25. January 22, 2008 10:19 am

    Papa! Eeewww!!!! 😯

  26. January 22, 2008 10:29 am

    I’ll keep razzing you un…Did anyone notice this post ias a week early πŸ™‚

    Brandy – Jake is out of luck. there is no chance the Giants can beat the Patriots…unless of course Brady plays like Favre did…crap I’m getting depressed again 😦

  27. January 22, 2008 10:42 am

    GO PATS!!!!!!!!!!!

  28. Cheryl permalink
    January 22, 2008 11:31 am

    I just got to read this and I was going to mention that right away that you had the wrong weekend, Tam…I mean you can watch football on Sunday if you want but I’m not sure that your going to find any games playing…LOL πŸ˜€

    I’m rooting for the Giants…well, it is the lesser of two evils in my books…Maybe Tom Brady will have Geisel (You, know the Super model he got with after getting his former girlfriend pregnant…oh but last revenge, the baby doesn’t have his last name…hmmm..) Anyway, maybe he can get Geisel to rub his little foot better…that’s if it really is injured… πŸ˜‰

    Oh…we usually have pizza!

  29. Sean permalink
    January 22, 2008 11:40 am

    Well even though this is an ENTIRE week early…

    I am in a dilema, my team (the Eagles) decided not to play this year.
    The Giants are division rivals and my wife and Father-In-Law will be rooting for them.
    But, I can’t stand seeing the Pats go all the way, again.
    I guess I will end up rooting on the Giants.

    Rough year, Eagles are no where, my second pick (Indy) gets knocked out by the Chargers and while wishing for another Bowl, upset and coup de grace for the end of Farve’s career, I get nothing!

  30. January 22, 2008 11:51 am

    OK – why have I heard so many poo-poo the Pates success. If you play well and win then you deserve to be on top. It’s not rocket science nor is it a conspiracy people!

    I say with love in the name of Jesus πŸ˜€

  31. Cheryl permalink
    January 22, 2008 12:00 pm

    Did Tom Brady really play well in the last two games or was he just lucky?

  32. January 22, 2008 12:46 pm

    Brady’s consistency at the end of this season has been terrible. BUT, even on a bad day, his stats are still amazing.

    Brady is good with a couple of bad games…

    Eli is OK, with a couple of good games…

    I would tend to say the Giants will focus on their running game, cause it is a little stronger overall than their passing game, but Maroney had phenomenal game for the Pats against Sand Diego, so I expect him to show up as well.

    When you look at the stats, the Giants have no chance, but look what happened to Favre last week…

  33. January 22, 2008 12:50 pm

    UM Tam, did you not hear about their cheating scandal?? And Jake could do with a little less of Tom Brady’s ego, although I saw him on a news program and he seemed nice enough. I don’t care much about that, but the cheating thing……yoweee….no thanks.

    And plus, Jake is a Favre fan all the way, even if they lost.

  34. January 22, 2008 1:01 pm

    That cheating thing is stupid. There is not a team in the country Pro, College or high school that do everything they can to find out about their opponent…including video taping them. there are rules against it, but that doesn’t make sense to me. I say they should be able to spy and try to figure out plays and hand signals. I think it evens the playing field. Would be fun to watch if the defense knew what the offense was going to do. would make them be more creative and tricky.

  35. January 22, 2008 1:02 pm

    Ahhh now Brent, are you saying that b/c others MIGHT also be doing it that it’s okay, even if it’s against the rules??? πŸ˜‰

  36. January 22, 2008 1:31 pm

    Nope…I’m saying it shouldn’t be a rule and that others feel the same way, so they are doing it as well. The Patriots are looked at as the bad guys cause they got caught πŸ™‚

  37. January 22, 2008 1:34 pm

    hmmmmm………

    Still Brent, you know I’m a rule maker, not a rule breaker. πŸ˜‰

    Love love love me. πŸ˜‰

    Speaking of Love, I haven’t seen him around anyones blog lately. What gives????

  38. January 22, 2008 1:56 pm

    I am a true blue New York Giants fan, going back to the days of Frank Gifford and YA Tittle.

    Connecticut is divided into two regions. The south part mostly oriented to New York City. The north part more towards the rest of New England and Boston. The state is probably dived equally between NYG fans and NE Patriot fans.

    I think my Giants will need some sling shots to beat NE (note biblical reference) πŸ™‚

    I agree with Indian Lake Papa about all the hype and trash that precedes the Super Bowl. It almost seems the half time show is more important than the game.

    Brent, you have “the big guy” looking over your shoulder all the time so you can’t have any secrets. πŸ™‚

    Christians teams cheat? I am shocked! πŸ™‚

  39. January 22, 2008 2:02 pm

    I am a sad Packer’s fan, sitting here in my Cheesehead sweatshirt. The superbowl isnt gonna be so fun for me now.
    On a different note completely, today is Jan 22…the anniversary of Rod vs Wade, and a very sad day for our nation as a whole, and for us individuals who have suffered because of this law especially. Say a prayer for our nation today. (I have a link to my testimony on my post today, btw)
    Diane in Oregon

  40. January 22, 2008 2:03 pm

    oh yeah Ed, I’ll tell Jake there’s one other Giants Fan out there. πŸ˜‰ OH wait, CHERYL too! πŸ˜€

  41. lazrus2 permalink
    January 22, 2008 2:43 pm

    iW,
    So if “it shouldn’t be a rule”, it’s okay to break it??
    I’m with Ed (and Brandy) on this one.
    D-

  42. January 22, 2008 2:58 pm

    I can honestly say that I have never videotaped an opposing teams practices or games for the purpose of cheating…

    I don’t agree with the rule…

    I think the scandal was blown out of proportion…

    Kind of like everyone’s take on my opinion πŸ™‚

  43. January 22, 2008 2:59 pm

    Besides, do we really want to get into a discussion on what rules we all do or “don’t” break everyday…

    I’m just asking πŸ™‚

  44. January 22, 2008 3:06 pm

    HAHAHAHAHA! That’s funny. πŸ˜‰

    I know you’re playin’ B….

    You know what’s not funny though….. Heath Ledger. 😦 So sad. He was my pretend boyfriend that Jake pretended to be jealous of just to make me smile. πŸ˜‰

  45. January 22, 2008 3:11 pm

    Are we casting stones here???

    Yes, Ledger…A tragedy… Terrible and heart breaking

  46. January 22, 2008 3:15 pm

    Not stones, just pebbles. πŸ˜‰ haha! I kid! I kid! πŸ˜€

    I know. I’m so sad. 😦 Only 28, and with a little girl too. 😦

  47. January 22, 2008 3:16 pm

    Sorry Tam, emoticon overload I noticed. πŸ˜›

  48. January 22, 2008 3:25 pm

    Brandy is the emoticon King!

    err…I mean Queen πŸ™‚

  49. Cheryl permalink
    January 22, 2008 3:34 pm

    Heath Ledger…hmmm never seemed happy since Brokeback Mountain… coincidence??? 😦

    Oh Brady’s foot has been healed…ah, he did get the girlfriend to tend to it afterall. Oh well, allow me my fantasy in seeing the Giants win. Betchya, their kicker has been practising since Sunday.

  50. Cheryl permalink
    January 22, 2008 3:38 pm

    and if he knows what’s good for him, he’ll keep pracising until Feb 3rd!

  51. January 22, 2008 3:45 pm

    EMOTIQUEEN. πŸ˜€ ch-yeah!

    Cheryl…I was thinking the SAME THING!!!! Hey I replied back to you at my place earlier. πŸ˜‰ Thanks.

  52. January 22, 2008 4:45 pm

    I think we noticed the date error but we all knew what you meant. We’re secure enough to not have to correct you!

    I’d like to see Eli win although I’m not a Giants fan generally. I’d like to see him come out from Peyton’s shadow a little. Tom Brady kind of bugs me and I don’t know why. Not as much personality as Brett or the Mannings. He’s just kind of there in an history-making undefeated sort of way! I just like the commercials. Not looking forward to Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers. Serious has-been material. I guess they ran out of old timers. Maybe they could go back to the “Up With People” road shows. Remember them? Anyone?

  53. garmentofpraise permalink
    January 22, 2008 6:34 pm

    Did someone say Redskins (blessed1)? I agree. That’s about the ONLY reason I’d watch the game. I LOVE football, don’t get me wrong…it’s just sitting watching it with not so great ads, and kids running around….no thanks. Can we just stick to the game? Thanks. πŸ™‚ Hope all is well with you, Tam!

  54. January 22, 2008 11:31 pm

    Being English I was disappointed to discover that the Super Bowl didn’t involve a giant bowl at all. Instead it’s some sort off sporting event. Pah!

  55. January 23, 2008 12:04 am

    hahaha! Yes, they are wasting the term “super bowl” on a game. Just the sound of it makes me hungry for some warm yummy soup. πŸ˜‰ Seriously. Homemade Minnestrone. YUM.

  56. January 23, 2008 9:30 am

    I was a football orphan (as a child). My mom was a huge Seahawks fan (and still is). Anytime there was a game she would shut out the world and yell at the TV all day! πŸ™‚ My dad was not so crazy. He would go back and forth from the TV to the garage, where he would fiddle around. I remember many time when, during half time, I would talk my dad into driving me over to a friends house or to the mall. I survived and so will your daughter! Now I can appreciate football, and although I am not a huge fan I like to curl up on the couch durning a good game and take a nap!!!! HA!

    angela

    ps my husband is more of a basketball fan, so I don’t really have to worry about football season so much!

  57. January 23, 2008 11:17 am

    i didnt even know who was playing

  58. January 23, 2008 11:55 am

    Ang…that makes me so sad 😦

    In all honesty, I really do try to include Kass in as much as possible. She’s on to me though. She knows I feel bad but I am so sucked into the stinkin’ sport! She’s very gracious!

    We’re much worse with College Football though!

    Now that our son has started playing basketball we’re beginning to watch that a lot too! Yikes!

  59. Sean permalink
    January 23, 2008 12:13 pm

    I gotta admit, we are worse… Pro football and eekk Nascar!

  60. January 23, 2008 12:23 pm

    Nascar? Round and round and round and round….

    Fishing network anyone?

    Kidding!

    ?

  61. Sean permalink
    January 23, 2008 12:30 pm

    I remember a post a little ways back of someone getting pulled into a fishing show? hhmmmm, who would that be?

  62. Sean permalink
    January 23, 2008 12:35 pm

    My own turn at deviltry! haha

  63. January 23, 2008 12:37 pm

    Ouch! Good memory! You must be much younger than me 😯

    **waves white flag**

  64. Sean permalink
    January 23, 2008 12:39 pm

    Talk about putting a date down on the calender? I got Tam to surrender? haha

  65. boffthewall permalink
    January 23, 2008 2:00 pm

    GO PATRIOTS!! There is no better team!! πŸ™‚

  66. January 23, 2008 2:19 pm

    Clearly! Glad we have a majority here πŸ˜€

    Go NE!

  67. Angela permalink
    January 23, 2008 3:56 pm

    I wasn’t trying to give a sob story! It was sort of tongue in cheek! I don’t think I was too traumatized by my mom’s love of football! Actually, I like football season…it is sort of cozy to sit on the couch all day watching a game and eating junk food!

    πŸ™‚

    angela

  68. January 23, 2008 4:05 pm

    I know….It still made me sad… So, your URL isn’t working.

  69. January 23, 2008 5:50 pm

    don’t shoot me, but sports make me gag a little. I’ll try not to hold it against you, Tam. You being a fellow musician and all. I was more like your daughter, hiding out in my room writing about how neglected I was.

  70. January 23, 2008 5:54 pm

    HAHA! It’s really pathetic how I mostly don’t care. I mean I do – but I don’t. I totally know she’s ok – it just makes me laugh. A little. Sheeze, I’m cold hearted!

    Carrie – I love you anyways – you rock!

Leave a Reply

