Skip to content

Pain In The Neck

January 25, 2008

I’ve been down for 36 hours now. I have no idea how I did it but I did it good! I’ve pulled something in my back. Actually it’s more around my shoulder/neck area. Nice big knot in there. And the pain? OH THE PAIN! Okay…I had both my kids natural without any drugs at all – this pain today is almost as bad to me. I don’t like pain meds but I took a pain pill last night. Alright, I’ve said “pain” enough now. Negative in – Negative out! Think positive Tam!

When I don’t feel good I crave one thing. Oreos! At some point in my life they became a comfort food. I seem to associate them with illness or discomfort and they make me smile now πŸ˜€ This is why I never drop pounds when I’m sick either!

Thursday I went to the grocery store and was driving through the parking lot down one aisle when I realized that I had been driving about 3 mph behind a young couple walking right down the center. They even turned around to look at me, strolling along hand in hand. HELLO! Scootch over or meet my grill people!!!

We move next Wednesday. For more information on that go see my man. Not a good time to be down though! I’m a little picky and too orderly when it comes to moving. I tend to unpack as I go and like things put away as soon as possible. As of now, I don’t see this happening. God really has me in a growth spurt right now. He’s teaching me to not white knuckle everything. Loosen your grip Tam. It’s all temporal anyway!

These Oreos are really good! I’m on #5

😯

I love my blogging friends! I look forward each and every day to interact with you. Learning with you. Laughing with you. You are often my bright spot!

Leave ya with this question…

You have been given the opportunity to relive one thing from your past. What would it be?

HAD to add this today. Saw this on Yahoo News…

“Giants fan dyes dog blue to prove his loyalty”

What? How does dying a helpless, innocent dog blue prove this mans loyalty? It didn’t cost him a thing! Why didn’t he dye himself blue. Or shave a big “G” out of his hair. Tattoo “Go Giants” on his forehead. Dye his dog blue? Wimp πŸ˜‰

27 Comments leave one →
  1. January 26, 2008 4:16 am

    I think I will have to think and get back with you on this one. thanks a lot. πŸ™‚

  2. January 26, 2008 6:11 am

    Change the past? I would wake up in the morning On October 20, 1991 and find my son and daughter safe at home and in bed. I would find their mother sleeping peaceful next to me, not waking in tears. Our daughter was in a shelter for abused wives 1200 miles from home and our son serving military confinement for multiple drug offenses at Ft. Leavenworth.

    Comfort food try mine! A can of cold Franco-American Spaghetti & meatballs (right out of the can!), can of sardines, and a couple chunks of brick cheese all on a large plate. You can eat the spaghetti right out of the can if you Want! Yum! Wash it down with a bottle of Vernors Ginger ale!

  3. January 26, 2008 7:40 am

    What would I change from my past? A dumb grieve induced quarrel with my sister. We have not spoken for 2 years 9 months!.
    I have asked forgiveness, prayed and waited to no result.

    Comfort food, Anything sweet. But frozen cookie dough is the highlight of the monthly visit.
    Glad you are moving, does that mean you sold your house? Hope you feel better, see it as a time of rest.

  4. January 26, 2008 8:37 am

    Tam,

    One thing I would have changed? Honestly, nothing. I have come to realize that my past has made me who I am today, and the future will make me who I am tomorrow.

    My comfort food? Ben & Jerry’s S’mores Ice Cream!

    Also, good luck on the move. My wife and I have been trying to get out of debt for the past 2 years. It is difficult, but it can be done! Look for Dan Ramsey’s Financial Peace University. Our church has been following this for a few years now, and monthly, people are becoming debt free! We have started using our tax returns to pay off big chunks of what we owe. Our normal return has been a little over 2,000. This year we are looking at a little higher with the baby and new house. We paid off a half dozen of cards, cut them up, and the consolidated the remainder of what we owed onto a few credit cards. Any extra cash we get goes to paying those off. We hope to be debt free in 3 years. It will be a struggle, but that is what God is for.

  5. Angela permalink
    January 26, 2008 8:54 am

    This is one is not hard. I don’t think I would change anything. Although I regret lots of stuff, I know that the Lord has used it to mold me into his likeness.

    Happy moving! I don’t envy you! We’ve moved like 10 times in 8 years of marriage!

    In Christ,

    angela

  6. January 26, 2008 8:56 am

    Hey Tam, if you need help moving, please let me know.
    Do you have any muscle relaxers? Those can help A LOT with those pesky back strains.

    I love Oreos as well!! Especially the chocolate stuffed ones…mmmmmmmm!

    To answer the question. If I could relive one thing in the past, I probably would relive the time we confronted a family member on some issues we were having with her. It was not received well, and no good really came of it. Oh, and one time we bought a used car in the dark on a whim….not a good idea. Oh, and probably shouldn’t have bought the timeshare, but at least I get to go back to Cabo πŸ™‚

  7. January 26, 2008 8:58 am

    Oh man, that would drive me nuts on the moving/packing/unpacking thing. I say that knowing that still after 9 years, we still have unpacked boxes.

    Reliving. Hmm. Do I get to know then what I know now or am I just re-experiencing?

    Comfort food? Definitely Moose tracks ice cream, fried foods(egg rolls perhaps), and caf-free Coke. Then I bloat and feel awful.

    Hey Ryan K, my husband and I have gone through several seasons of debt and freedom from it. You can certainly do it and it feels so good to write that last check or make that last payment. Enjoy!!

  8. January 26, 2008 9:10 am

    I would definitely relive our wedding – it would help me remember what happened that day if I had a second time around πŸ™‚ Especially since our wedding video never made it to us 😦

  9. January 26, 2008 9:51 am

    Morning everyone! I slept with an icy hot heat pad on my neck/shoulder all night. It’s a bit looser today. Still a mess. My daughter is studying bones and muscles, she said it is my Trapezius (sp) muscle – smarty pants!

    I would relive the day my son was getting off the bus from kindergarten, I was sick at home on the couch, he got to the door and it was locked. In the time it took for me to get from the couch to the door my little Kota was crying and screaming in fear, chasing the bus down the street yelling, “don’t leave me alone!” over and over….

    Heart breaking!!!! Little 5 year old precious one. He still takes issue with being alone. That one moment has scarred him for life.

    Kristen, thanks for offering your help. That is so cool of you! We don’t have a ton of stuff – so I’m hoping it will go fast easy. But if it gets to a point where I’m useless and need trusted hands…I will SO give you a ring πŸ˜‰ My body can’t handle muscle relaxers. It takes me days to recover from them. So I’m just taking a real light weight pain med before bed. It seems to be working fine.

  10. January 26, 2008 9:52 am

    I have to go with our wedding as well. Not b/c I don’t remember it,but b/c I do….. I don’t think I enjoyed it as much as I should have. I was very stressed out and just wanted it over with by the time it came. I wanted to “move on” from all the wedding stuff. I did enjoy my reception, but I really didn’t take everything in that day. It went so fast. I would just slooooow doooooowwn this time, not change anything, just slow down and enjoy it. I’m alwasy in a hurry with everything, in a hurry to get to the next step, even still. πŸ˜‰

    hmmm…..maybe I should slow down now? πŸ˜‰ It all goes so fast…..

  11. January 26, 2008 9:53 am

    alwasy….now that’s a new word! πŸ˜‰

  12. January 26, 2008 10:45 am

    In the past I would have agreed what Ryan K, the past made we what I am and I am a very happy person.

    I looked at the question from my, self centered, perspective.

    I answering the question now I think about people I have hurt and how in changing the past I could/should have helped them.

    I should have reached out to my father instead of waiting for him to reach out to me. My last words to him were harsh.

    My last words to him should have been “I love you”.

  13. January 26, 2008 10:51 am

    Ed, I think about your last moments with your father (you’ve shared it before) a lot. I wish you could make peace with that. As a parent…there is no doubt in my mind he knew you loved him and he loved you more than you could ever know. One of the best things you could do for yourself would be to embrace that. I wish you would embrace that.

  14. January 26, 2008 11:51 am

    Tam,

    I hope you are feeling better soon! Back pain is no fun. I too had my children without pain relief and the back pain I deal with is more intense than labor also. There might just be something about the prize after birth that minimizes the pain we remember too.

    Congrats on moving – I understand wanting to be in control… maybe sometimes God takes away the option to help us rely more on Him…not easy, but good for us…

    One thing I would have changed is going on some trips that I wanted to take in college, but let them slip by because I didn’t have the money (or the faith that God would provide). I’ve always wanted to go on short term missions trips, but always let lack of money stand in the way. I’ve done some day trips, but nothing longer. I also passed on an opportunity to take a psychology course during a January term while riding a bike out West. It would have been quite the experience.

    I also like waht Ed said about changing how we might have hurt other people too. Good advice about making sure people know that we love them. But I also agree with Tam (although I don’t know you or your situation) that letting go and forgiving yourself would be for the best. Praying that God gives you peace!

    Ryan – I’ve heard only good things about Dan Ramsey’s Financial Peace University. You know as we get out of debt we are more able to take care of those God may send our way!

  15. January 26, 2008 2:34 pm

    relive? the night i sang backup for Mac Powell (lead singer of Third Day)…

    trust me. make these NO-BAKE OREO TRUFFLES – this will bring your oreo experience to a WHOLE NEW LEVEL::::

    pound into smithereens (good for the stress!) one box of oreo cookies

    stir/mix/smush in 1 regular sized box cream cheese

    roll into bite-sized balls, place on wax paper & chill in fridge

    melt 3 boxes Baker’s White Chocolate

    dip chilled balls in chocolate, lay back on wax paper & chill in fridge ’til hard

    EAT until your heart’s content!

    love you! hope you get through this week.
    xxoo

  16. January 26, 2008 2:36 pm

    ps: my friends affectionately call those truffles “snowman poop” bc they are white on the outside & icky dark brown on the inside!

    he he!

  17. January 26, 2008 3:48 pm

    Those oreo balls sound delish! I may have to try them! but i might dip them in milk choc, not a big fan of white choc! πŸ™‚

    Tam, just said a prayer for you neck! bum deal!

    angela

  18. January 26, 2008 5:07 pm

    I’d like to relive my wedding for the pure fun of it! Wearing a veil and walking down the aisle, seeing all my friends and family, and marrying my best friend…amazing.

    I am SO with you on the Oreos. I’m not picky about them, I will even eat the generic versions! Cool Dad has had to cut me off a couple of times. =)

  19. January 26, 2008 5:55 pm

    I am guessing you did not mean changing the past..but reliving a moment..so here goes…

    I had to really think this one through as I am working on hard on thinking ahead. If I could relive one moment it would be those quiet hours after giving birth to my oldest, sitting an looking at the miracle that laid on my bed with me, so innocent and so beautiful. For that moment nothing else in the world mattered, just her and the chance I had to make life worth living to her. She was the most beautiful quiet baby, and my first real heart feeling of loving someone else more than myself.

  20. January 26, 2008 6:53 pm

    Hey all! The knot in my neck/shoulder is beginning to loosen up. I am still so sore. Crazy!

    I did mean a moment you’d want to relive. Not a do-over or change, but something you’d want to experience again.

    I am so gonna make those Oreo Turd things! They sound amazing!

  21. January 26, 2008 6:57 pm

    So will you have the turds ready by the time I get home from church πŸ™‚

  22. January 26, 2008 7:01 pm

    no

  23. January 26, 2008 9:33 pm

    No Turds For You!!!

    πŸ™‚

  24. January 26, 2008 11:25 pm

    Oh, I’m so sorry about your painful neck. Do you need help moving? Email me and let me know what you need.

  25. January 28, 2008 4:55 am

    not turds….

    snowman poop, people! snowman poop!

    they are actually mypeaceandjoy.wordpress.com’s recipe! i stole the idea from her…. so you can thank her for the oreo goodness!

    πŸ™‚

  26. January 28, 2008 7:10 am

    You broke the “no poop” rule…now we are on the brink of breaking up. Didn’t we go over this on Mandy’s blog? Dang.

  27. April 6, 2011 7:48 am

    I think your blog is great. Just keep on! I think so, I will be back again.

Leave a Reply

