Skip to content

Tough Judge!

January 26, 2008

homeless.jpg
Ran across this tonight. It’s a real short read 😉

 

What do you think about this?

19 Comments leave one →
  1. January 26, 2008 10:00 pm

    We need more judges like that IMO. I like it. I think one night was easy though. 48 hours would have been good. 😉

    And I like that he had to do all that other stuff, get a job, a GED, all that.

    I think it was fair.

  2. January 26, 2008 10:01 pm

    What do YOU think? 😉

  3. January 26, 2008 10:36 pm

    I thought it was right on. It’s a fitting consequence. Take from the needy, become the needy. The punishment fit the crime.

  4. January 26, 2008 10:55 pm

    Very fair.

  5. January 27, 2008 5:15 am

    Do the crime do the time! stealing from the salvation army..man that is low. I like what the judge sentenced him to but I think he should have had to spend time with the homeless and write a paper on how they became that way..;)

  6. Heather Blankenship permalink
    January 27, 2008 5:40 am

    I love those kind of judges! We really do need more of them.

    Great news!! 🙂

  7. January 27, 2008 8:30 am

    Excellent! With the prison/jail systems being so overpopulated, this was a smart and fitting sentence to the crime. I bet he will think twice about re-offending!

  8. January 27, 2008 10:54 am

    Yes! We need more judges like that! Maybe our justice system could use more judges like that! Perhaps crime would go down!

    angela

  9. January 27, 2008 11:12 am

    Maybe I missed something – What about “smith”? He appears not to have his own place, did not have a high school education, needed money (assumption on my part). I wonder if we are prejudging this guy too quickly? I do agree that he should be held accountable, but it may be that he needs assistance as well. I ask myself, would I be willing to assist Smith if God was speaking to me? Just food for thought.

  10. January 27, 2008 11:29 am

    Good point Papa! I am applauding the punishment fitting the crime. But we do need to be careful not to judge. The “judge” in this case already did that. I think the sentence delivered will be very helpful in getting this man on the road to a better way of life, so that’s good.

    I can’t find in the article anything suggesting he doesn’t have his own place, or somewhere to live. I think he had a moment of desperation and made a wrong choice. I’m hoping the sentence gets him on the road to a better future and wiser decision making.

  11. January 27, 2008 11:46 am

    He was arrested at his mothers house so I made an “assumption” he probably lived there. I figure I have a 60/40 chance of being right – in my “professional opinion”! :o)

  12. January 27, 2008 11:48 am

    That is a very interesting way to judge. It reminds me of the way my parents punished us as kids. If we were late to school we’d pay for gas to get a ride and 20 min. of housework to make up for the time it took to drive us there. I suppose penalties related to one’s crime stick with the person longer.

  13. January 27, 2008 11:57 am

    I remember one time my teenage kids said they were going shopping at the mall. I got suspicious that was not correct. Sure enough they went to the movies! I found the car parked in the movie lot. I went home, got an extra set of keys, took Judy and brought the car home. Sometimes we need to be creative, the judge was and lesson probably well learned.

  14. January 28, 2008 4:17 am

    I think it’s a wonderful sentence! Walking a mile (or just a block?) in the shoes of the homeless would seem to be a good deterrent to stealing from them. Seems to be a good example of discipline vs. punishment.

  15. January 28, 2008 4:18 am

    BTW, I hope it’s ok that I’ve linked to you. It’s the only way I’ll remember your “address”… =D

  16. January 28, 2008 8:00 am

    I think it is a good thing! I bet he wont steal a salvation army kettle again!
    also, tam you are my cheerleader! I just love you!! =)

  17. January 28, 2008 10:07 am

    Hope your packing is going well, and hope you are having a wonderful day! I am cheering for you!! love you, and sending up a prayer for you and your family! check on you later

  18. January 28, 2008 9:27 pm

    I found these lyrics on another blog…
    “Walk a Mile in My Shoes” by Joe South

    If I could be you, if you could be me
    For just one hour, if we could find a way
    To get inside each other’s mind
    If you could see you through my eyes
    Instead your own ego I believe you’d be
    I believe you’d be surprised to see
    That you’ve been blind

    Walk a mile in my shoes
    just walk a mile in my shoes
    Before you abuse, criticize and accuse
    Then walk a mile in my shoes

  19. January 28, 2008 9:49 pm

    Very convicting.

Leave a Reply

