Skip to content

It’s A New Day!

January 31, 2008

Alright…so it looks like I might owe a few of you an apology. I am not pregnant. Didn’t mean to mislead anyone. Thought the pic of 2 babies connected well with our 2 kiddos and their new blog. And the link was hard to see too. In fact, they are in this template. So I am sorry…

On a positive note! THANK YOU all for receiving them so well! Kass and Kota were totally shocked by the warm welcome they got from so many of you. They have been wanting to do this for a long time now. And honestly, you all have brought so much to our lives and mean so very much to us, we wanted them to have that too!

Moving! Ya know…I’m a pretty clean person. I like things in order. I am not a pack rat. I do not like clutter. It clutters my mind. Then you move out of a house and realize…WE’RE SLOBS!!! Well, we’re not, but by the look of that nearly empty house right now one might assume a bunch of blind monkeys lived there!

We are LOVING the new home already. Last night was our first night here. I kept walking from room to room weeping. We are truly so humbled by this whole process. I’ll go more into that in a couple days…

Your prayers! Oh my stars – you’re prayers!!! Thank you! The help we had was fantastic! They worked so hard with us. Everyone was safe. No injuries. There was a joy in everyone and about everything! As chaotic as the day was – it was a great day too! So thank you!

Question: If you had to be stripped of everything you own, everything you know, to start over…what would be the hardest thing for you to let go of? Why?

40 Comments leave one →
  1. January 31, 2008 8:48 am

    Short answer: Control

    I deal with that issue daily.

  2. January 31, 2008 8:55 am

    So glad you are all moved and enjoying your new place!

  3. January 31, 2008 9:08 am

    my books…I would just throw a fit if I couldn’t keep my books..reading is good for the soul πŸ˜‰ at least I think so.

    Glad things went well with the moving..don’t forget the pics we need to see the new place..we are almost family

  4. Sean permalink
    January 31, 2008 9:11 am

    I have to answer the same as Darla. My books, they are my information, my education, my entertainment and my sanity. There is nothing more comforting to me then to be given the time to curl up in my favorite chair wrapped around a book.

    Also echoing the new house setiments, glad everything went well and looking forward to seeing the new place!

  5. January 31, 2008 9:19 am

    I guess I should have come here first! I just asked Brent how the move went! ha!

    Glad it went smoothly and I’m glad that you are enjoying the new place. πŸ˜€

    And can I just say how much I was CRACKING UP that people thought you were pg???? hahahahaha!! Oh man that was enjoyable. πŸ˜‰

    I think the hardest thing for me to let go of would be pictures. You can’t replace pictures. Especially of the kiddos. And as much as you’d like to think you’ll remember what they looked like at a certain age, you can’t always recall it correctly. So I have to go with PICTURES. I would fight tooth and nail for those.
    In fact, we are taking alllll of our pictures with us when we move. I don’t want the movers packing them up and ruining them, or possibly losing them.

    Was there anything you had to part with b/c of the move?

  6. January 31, 2008 9:24 am

    If you’re jsut referring to giving up ‘stuff’… then I would have to say my Basses and guitars…

    I have a real GAS problem… (Guitar Acquisition Syndrome).

    And pictures…

  7. Angela permalink
    January 31, 2008 10:34 am

    my shoes…LOL! Just kidding, sort of! Let me think on this one! i’ll be back!

    angela

  8. January 31, 2008 11:11 am

    I was stripped of everything I had, own or hold dear: my wife, son, home, comic book collection, music collection, furniture, tv, cars, career, friends, checking accounts, savings accounts, etc.

    I sit here before you with nothing. Yet, I still gain to lose more.

    Yet I am still with peace and joy that comes from God. In this time, my life is on a huge reset and the restore is slowly taking place.

    I have absolutely no idea what God has in store for me but I have never been more happy in my life then where I am today.

  9. lazrus2 permalink
    January 31, 2008 11:32 am

    To be stripped of everything I own, what would be the hardest to let go of?
    My first thought was my dogs, but they’re more like members of the family than ‘things’. I did have to let them go when we went to Africa, and it was very hard. I longed for something furry to pet and Nick’s beard just wasn’t an adequate substitute.

    But as in possessions, I would most miss my rings… more for the sentimental than monetary value. One is my wedding ring from Nick of course (and redesigned for our 25th anniversary); another is a birthstone ring my Dad purchased for me from Jerusalem when I was in Jr. High; the third is a ‘promise ring’ I sort of consider from the Lord confirming a promise He gave me on a very dark day in June ’02.

    As to what I would have the hardest time letting go of from ‘everything I know’, it would be my relationship with the Lord. My life has no hope without that, and by comparison every other possession or relationship is meaningless to me.
    D-

  10. January 31, 2008 11:35 am

    Materials objects?

    Easy….my library of books.

    I could make do without most of my possessions, my books I would miss the most.

    WooT alert….

    Hey Tam in regards to your M&M’s in your bathroom comment on my latest blog entry…my Mom used Whoppers (malted-milk balls) for my ‘training’….

    Also I printed out Brent’s application and gave it to my 13 year old daughter. She loved it and gave copies to her girlfriends. Oddly, her male friends weren’t so amused….I’m not sure why. Puzzler!

    R.

  11. January 31, 2008 11:52 am

    Ok, help me out guys…

    What is “WooT”?

    I see it all the time…

    Not a clue what it means

  12. January 31, 2008 12:02 pm

    WooT means “Way off of Topic”….

    Basically says i am about to utter something not relevant to the discussion at hand!

    R.

  13. kim permalink
    January 31, 2008 12:19 pm

    Congrats on the move and more importantly, PEACE about the move.

    If I had to give up all possessions….. sadly, I think I’d have to say I’d miss my laptop the most. Isn’t that sad?

  14. January 31, 2008 12:30 pm

    I’d miss my bible and my laptop and pics!

    Hmmm… I suppose i should start beginning each of my comments with “WOOT” then…

    Thanks R!

  15. January 31, 2008 12:31 pm

    Without getting too spiritual, my biggest fear of losing is family photos and my family history research. I lost cherished photo’s on November 21, 1987, it actually became a national news event. If any of you can remember that far back, I was interviewed on all national news networks because of a major news event that occurred. You would have seen me on TV. I still miss the photo’s I lost – they were precious irreplaceable family photos.

  16. January 31, 2008 12:39 pm

    @Indian Lake Papa

    WOW!!! i hadn’t considered that! I have researched my family tree back to middle ages France!! If I lost that I’d be crushed!

    Though, I do have digital copies of the data backed up at many different genealogy sites.

    R.

  17. January 31, 2008 12:46 pm

    @R
    I agree back up and then back up again! I have special photos I found when I was in Sweden those are duplicated as well.

  18. January 31, 2008 12:51 pm

    Papa, what happened on that day?

  19. January 31, 2008 1:05 pm

    I worked at the Federal Detention Center in Oakdale, LA. We had a riot — 30 hostages taken. I was in management, my office was destroyed, (14 million dollars worth of damage to the facility) all my family photos in the office were trashed. The riot lasted about 8 days, through Thanksgiving. I was asked to give press releases to the press on several occasions. All our hostages survived, a counselor that had worked for me was seriously injured but survived. A special community church service was done on Thanksgiving because the hostages had not been released yet. I didn’t mean to WooT your post….

  20. January 31, 2008 1:41 pm

    Wow! I had just turned 17 when that happened and not during a particularly good time in my life so i don’t remember that incident at all.

    I am so sorry Papa! that is horrible! So thankful no lives were taken though!

    You can go WooT anytime you like too πŸ˜‰

  21. January 31, 2008 2:49 pm

    I see its now 5:45PM here in the east. We can quit praying now — right? That was nice to pray at 6pm for two days, but by now I am sure you have it under control – -right??!! I mean, after all, prayer is an “emergency tool”.

  22. Sean permalink
    January 31, 2008 3:09 pm

    Ahh, but aren’t we supposed to be praying without ceasing? πŸ˜‰

  23. January 31, 2008 3:23 pm

    Tam, so glad you’re getting adjusted as best you can! Just another stop along the journey.

  24. January 31, 2008 3:39 pm

    AMEN! Every time I think of any of you, which is often, I pray for you. I love to do that. That’s what family does!

    We’re gettin settled in today. Actually, we’re all moving rather slowly today. We’re sore and tired. But everything is coming together πŸ™‚

    As soon as we have things in there place – which will be soon – we’ll post pics for you all!

    Thanks again everyone for praying and supporting us through this journey. Words fail to express our gratitude…

  25. January 31, 2008 4:50 pm

    Glad ur all moved girl! YAY! I think the hardest thing for me would be my baby grand piano…..it was my great aunties and has many memories….love you!

  26. January 31, 2008 5:14 pm

    In looking around my home the one thing I can see that I could not replace is a picture painted by my sister that she gave to me as a Christmas present.

    This does remind me that the pictures I do have of my family I need to get scanned so I can save them online.

    Tam, thanks for bringing up the subject.

  27. January 31, 2008 5:42 pm

    I’m here to serve πŸ˜‰

  28. January 31, 2008 5:45 pm

    I pray for you all too everytime you are brought to mind, which is often. Did you ever think you would have such a big family, that actually cared and loved like this family? I stand in awe and am amazed. Been fighting with this cold so I have lots of time to pray!

  29. January 31, 2008 5:47 pm

    Papa- I remember the prison riot, and it impacted me at that time, and you were the one on the news? I remember..amazing I can hardly remember supper from yesterday…and write lots of notes to help me…God is faithful and really took care of you and the rest in that.

  30. January 31, 2008 7:16 pm

    @darla
    I did press releases for a couple of days. I worked 38 hours straight, slept 7, and worked 38 hours again. Not a good 8 days! I stayed at my secretary’s house, my home was 45 minutes from the prison. I was not home for a week – missed Thanksgiving with my family. God is faithful in those critical times. I love Him supremely!

  31. January 31, 2008 7:22 pm

    It would be hardest to let go of my pictures and books. Everything else can be replaced. Congrats on the new house!!

  32. January 31, 2008 8:18 pm

    Ummmm your kids are not on your ROLL yet!? πŸ˜‰

  33. January 31, 2008 8:40 pm

    HAHAHA! I know! That is so funny! I barely have had a sec to think. Kass asked me tonight why she wasn’t on my roll too. Huh? Oops!

    I’m off to fix that now!

    Thanks!

  34. January 31, 2008 8:59 pm

    well i hope no one would take my bible away…i would freak!
    would love to see pics of the new place. i am so happy for you! now you can get back to that book!

  35. January 31, 2008 9:08 pm

    Jenny, when I read my bible at night I think of you and how you sleep with your bible. I love that!!!

    Pics of the house are coming soon!

  36. Meg permalink
    January 31, 2008 9:32 pm

    really i’m at a loss. I feel in all honesty that I’d probably have a hard time of letting go of my pride. I’m horrible at asking people for help. I like for people to think I’m all together, but in a situation like this I’d probably have to let that guard down because one would need a lot of help to recover.

  37. January 31, 2008 10:15 pm

    Glad everything is good for you…when we did move and sell or give away everything…the hardest thing to walk away from was the intimacy of our family and friends….there is nothing like being close to those who you love and who love you. Seriously, I now know that I took all those moments for granted and I regret it. I should have told them every chance I got how much I loved them and now I do.

  38. February 1, 2008 4:02 am

    The sentimental things–each piece with a story behind it, special gifts from loved ones, whether it be the jewelry, china, furniture, etc. If it was a family heirloom, it meant something in my heart. Memorials so to speak.

    Praying for you.

    Blessings in Christ–

  39. February 2, 2008 5:13 am

    Judy and I were thinking & praying for close friends today. A few weeks ago they lost their only child, a daughter (40 +) to cancer. The daughter had went through divorce (alcoholic husband) 2 years ago. Now there are 3 children, ages 18, 16 & 10 with a dysfunctional father, no mother. He doesn’t want the 16 year old (Downs Syndrome). The daughters mother herself is struggling with and fighting with terminal cancer. After thinking about it – the material things just don’t seem to matter.

  40. February 3, 2008 2:54 am

    Tam;

    If is not material, it would be my family. (Think of Job).

    If it was material here is my list.

    1. books
    2.shoes
    3. clothes

    I have a nice collection of the above, even if I live in the same raggedy outfit everyday that consists of crocs and sweats!

    I am SO glad you are posting!

Leave a Reply

