Skip to content

Reflecting

February 4, 2008

I think God was protecting me. I spent most my time at the new house during our 2 day moving adventure, doing the “easy” stuff while my neck was still mending. I had mentioned before in an earlier post I realized that although I am a very clean and tidy person once you start moving things around and emptying cupboards you see you’re really a slob. So there I am, 2 days removed from the chaos and I walk into our empty home. There should have been yellow CSI tape wrapped around the entire house as a warning upon entrance! I have never seen such monstrosity! I wanted to gauge my eyes out with a plastic spoon. It was so hard to look at! I quickly grabbed what I needed, being careful not to get swallowed by the all the evil dust bunnies and wire hangers, then ran for my life!

Isn’t it funny how quickly your life can change?Β  Jason commented on my Sting of Defeat post how losing can be good. There truly is a season for everything. Here we are in a new home (new to us) and although I am still Tam and Vinny is still Brent, we are completely different people with a brand new life.

The last several years have been a tremendous growing process. We truly have learned how to get by on little and be content in that. It has been extremely humbling and if I’m gonna be honest, very frustrating at times. The past 3 years however have brought our little family so close together. We have such an appreciation for every little thing. I have a garbage disposal now…the sound of it munching cucumber peelings made me weep last night! The little things. Our last home was so tiny that you were always in someones business. We’ve learned to bend, to communicate openly and honestly, to enjoy each others company. We never want to forget that! I never want to be anything but humbled for what we have.

Bankruptcy has been a difficult process. It certainly has been humbling too. But it is not my identity. My significance is not found in it either. It doesn’t change a thing about my eternity. I am secure in that. But it is changing my character. It is building it. Strengthening it. Growing it. Teaching it. I don’t want to go through this or walk away from it unchanged. What a waste that would be!

Romans 5: 3-5

3 We can rejoice, too, when we run into problems and trials, for we know that they help us develop endurance. 4 And endurance develops strength of character, and character strengthens our confident hope of salvation. 5 And this hope will not lead to disappointment. For we know how dearly God loves us, because he has given us the Holy Spirit to fill our hearts with his love.

27 Comments leave one →
  1. February 4, 2008 12:58 pm

    It would be sweet to be content with little while God has blessed you with much. Don’t let that garbage disposal change you, Tam!

  2. February 4, 2008 1:10 pm

    Romans 5:3-5 = Classic All Time.

    Don’t so much wait until you get to the Cross but savour and be strengthen by the journey to the Cross.

  3. February 4, 2008 1:21 pm

    Y’all are just too wonderful. It breaks my heart that you all have to go through this, but you’re probably the strongest couple I know for it and will rise out of the ashes.

    Read Daniel if you get a chance.

  4. February 4, 2008 1:34 pm

    I was thinking about your “cleaning house” scenario. Its kind of like us spiritually, we think we look pretty good to God and others until we start cleaning out the accumulated stuff. He wants to clean us up but we like to hang onto a lot of “stuff”. Then when we get working on our hearts and minds we realize how much “dirt” there is back in the corners. Yet – He Loves us so very much.

  5. Deborah permalink
    February 4, 2008 1:41 pm

    It’s neat to be on this side, and see you guys grow through this…you know you’re always in our prayers.

    Joe: I really have to say that your last sentence penetrated my heart today. Excellent way to put it. Thank you! πŸ™‚

  6. February 4, 2008 1:44 pm

    CD, Don’t worry, I’ll stay grounded! I give you permission to call me on it if you see otherwise πŸ˜‰

    Joe. AMEN! There is so much in the journey. I really don’t want to miss one thing on the way. Great encouragement, Thanks!

    Meg, funny you mention Daniel. As I was in the Word this morning I kept going to Daniel passages but never stayed camped out there. I’ll read it again later. And you know, we’re doing real well! Our joy is in Him not our circumstances!

    Papa, that is SO good! We’re good at facades aren’t we? Often times we don’t even realize we’re masked! There needs to be a consistent cleaning of our “house”…taking stock and purging if necessary. You should write a post on this Papa and take it further!

  7. February 4, 2008 1:44 pm

    ahh poo, I forgot to fill in the required blanks and I lost my post. Shoot dang.

    I like Papa’s analogy! Good stuff! πŸ˜€

    Tam, your move and all that goes with it is making me think of our move and how I’m looking at it like a new start, a clean slate, a second chance. It’s refreshing and a blessing to be given that clean slate and a new starting point. *aaaaahhh!* πŸ˜‰ Enjoy your new start! πŸ˜€

  8. February 4, 2008 1:44 pm

    hey we posted at the same time!

  9. February 4, 2008 1:47 pm

    Hey Debs, thanks! I sure love you!

    Bran, does the military have people pack and move for you? If so, YAY FOR YOU!!!!! Love you!

  10. February 4, 2008 1:51 pm

    Tam, yes they do, but we are doing a partial Dity move (do it yourself) for our clothes, pictures, stuff we don’t want to chance getting lost or ruined.

    We just got word about a half hour ago though that we might not be leaving as soon as we thought….I’ll have more info on that in my blog later today. 😦

  11. February 4, 2008 1:59 pm

    Did you just put a sad face after that???

  12. February 4, 2008 2:03 pm

    yes, I KNOW! The only reason is b/c we just spent $$$ on winter snow gear for the kids and I finally got off my keester and got some purging/organizing done…which is good. It’s just a lot on my nerves….this wishywashyness. πŸ˜‰

  13. February 4, 2008 2:22 pm

    Hi Tam – I did a post on my blog about “trash” & “neglect”. Check it out. I will do an update when I get “10” comments. Self explanatory if you go there. (smile)

  14. Deborah permalink
    February 4, 2008 2:24 pm

    Brandy: Where ya goin??? I haven’t even met you yet…geez…hopefully I’ll see ya before ya leave!

  15. February 4, 2008 2:24 pm

    What a testimony your life is in so many ways. Thanks for teaching us with your openness and vulnerability!

  16. February 4, 2008 2:28 pm

    Deb, we’re moving to North Dakota! πŸ˜€

    I have a few posts about it on mine. We were supposed to be leaving here March 7,but now it may be a month longer.

  17. Jason permalink
    February 4, 2008 2:30 pm

    Great great post.

    5:3-5 has always blown my mind because the equation doesn’t add up without the Spirit. The Holy Spirit is THE reason that “works” according to Scripture.

  18. February 4, 2008 4:04 pm

    Tam,
    After reading your post and clicking on a link that took me over to your Hubby’s site, I read and reflected.

    Yes, we are stewards of our financials, but sometimes “things” happen, and you find yourself in a financial pit. I know, because we are there now.

    But living with little or living with plenty reminds me not to get too comfortable here.

    God chooses for us, His children, His best. And I am sure that is what He is doing for you.

    Wishing you happy memories in your new home.

    Ivy

  19. February 4, 2008 4:14 pm

    Hey Papa, I’ll go check it out!

    Hi Robin, Thanks for your encouraging words. You got me thinking… When I think of lives being a testimony I automatically think of a positive outcome of being in Christ. But I’ve realized that we ALL testify to something. Good, bad, neether, neither, depends on where you stand. But we all have a testimony…one way or another.

    J, You’re right πŸ˜‰ It’s the Spirit that motivates us to rejoicing…in any and every circumstance. He is so good to dwell in and with us!

  20. February 4, 2008 4:21 pm

    Ivy, thank you! Some times life does throw a curve at us, for sure! i can certainly relate where you’re at right now. I hope and pray you are able to rise above it too!

    Gods “best for me” is simply Him being God over my life. I need to be content on needing, wanting and desiring only that! Less of me, more of Him!

  21. February 4, 2008 7:29 pm

    So true Tam – I need to think about that I’m a testimony to something and oh how I want it to be Jesus and His love… Pray that for me!

  22. February 4, 2008 7:57 pm

    I don’t want to go through this or walk away from it unchanged. What a waste that would be!

    That’s a powerful statement. One I’m not always quick to make. It takes a lot of trust… What happens if I’m changed in a way that I didn’t plan or desire…? Sometimes that stinks. But through perserverance and trust, God blesses us.

  23. February 5, 2008 6:15 am

    Usually when we reflect we reflect on the present or the past. Maybe Tam we should create a new word (another one!) called “prereflecting” so we start thinking about how God knows are future and be more confident He has that under control. The irony is we can work to change the future – but we cannot change the past and yet we “hang out” there a lot.

  24. February 5, 2008 8:08 am

    Blessings on your transition. I am assuming you are still in the same area just alocal move? None the less it is still a lot of work no matter how far!
    P.S. – When it settles down..save those cucumber peelings! They are great for the eyes and other homemade beauty stuff πŸ™‚
    Have a GREAT DAY!

  25. Angela permalink
    February 5, 2008 9:28 am

    Thanks for the transperancy! God bless!

    angela

  26. February 9, 2008 8:27 pm

    I love the fact the verse promises that that hope DOES NOT disappoint. I thought of you this weekend as I listened our retreat speaker. She was fabulous. I thought that someday I would be sitting at a retreat or a conference listening to you tell your story of hope.

  27. February 9, 2008 8:32 pm

    Wow! God gave me a vision of that before Amy. He woke me up in the middle of the night with the vision of me speaking to women in an arena. Remember me sharing that with you? And you were in the vision too. You were on stage with me. He gave this to me about 9 years ago. I believe it will still come to pass! When we’re all ready…

    Love you!

Leave a Reply

