Skip to content

Crown Of Hope

February 5, 2008

The last post and several of the comments reminded me of this. So I thought I’d share it.

 

CROWN OF HOPE

Carefully designed I hang my memories on a wall

Safely out of reach but yet I reach them when they call

At times I take them down and hold them close

And wear them like a crown of thorns

 

A past that beckons me when I forget who I’ve become

No longer looking forward but getting ready for a fall

As I’m falling fast You hold me close

And You put on my crown of thorns

 

“Lay it down my child”, You say

“I have come to wash your pain away

On your feet my child and go

And wear this Crown of Hope”

 

Β© 2004 Tammy Hodge

13 Comments leave one →
  1. February 5, 2008 9:49 am

    Hope is what life centers around. God has blessed mama and I beyond what we ever have hoped for! Thanks for the reminder Tam.

  2. February 5, 2008 9:50 am

    um, wow! You have such a gift with words.

  3. Deborah permalink
    February 5, 2008 10:01 am

    Funny, but when I read that I hear a tune in my head… πŸ˜‰

    Love you!

  4. February 5, 2008 10:11 am

    Mornin’ Papa! We all hope in something…

    Thanks Crystal. How are you? How are the kiddos?

    Funny Debbers!

    I sang this song to Deb many years ago at a Womens Retreat and when i was done she told me, “I know you didn’t know it, but you wrote that for me.” Ever since then she’s been singing it in her concerts. God is so fun!

  5. February 5, 2008 10:16 am

    Oh and the day I wrote it I attacked Kass as she walked in the door from school and sang it to her so I wouldn’t forget the melody. There she was, 9 1/2 at the time…figures out the chords on her guitar. It’s very daunting actually, but beautiful!

  6. Sean permalink
    February 5, 2008 11:11 am

    We keep sayin that you have talented kids!

    Nice song Tam. Gives a lot of food for thought.

  7. February 5, 2008 12:28 pm

    Check my blog asap. Thx.

  8. February 5, 2008 3:48 pm

    That was beautifully written Tam. A crown of thorns transformed into one of hope.

  9. February 5, 2008 6:03 pm

    Tam that was beautiful!

  10. February 5, 2008 7:51 pm

    Wow! Praise God for his mercy!

    Tammy, I deleted that email account that we were emailing on, so can you email me at daniel3carey@yahoo.com so I can have your email again? Thanks.

    Daniel Tomlinson

  11. Momma Jen permalink
    February 5, 2008 9:43 pm

    That is beautiful! When Deb said she could hear that to music, I was thinking “yes!! we can sing that in worship!” Apparently we already do??
    I’ve heard that you & Bren… uh, I mean, Vinny, have written some songs we sing… I can definitely see that!
    Great poem/song! Thanks for sharing! πŸ™‚

  12. February 5, 2008 10:25 pm

    Hey Momma! We don’t sing that one in church but Deb does when she does concerts. Brent and I do write and use several of our songs in church. Actually, it’s been awhile since we’ve done an original! Anyway…thanks for your kind words!

    thanks to everyone in fact! If you wanta hear more you’ll just have to come out to Oregon πŸ˜€

    I’m serious

  13. February 7, 2008 3:45 pm

    I LOVE IT!

Leave a Reply

