Skip to content

HIS will be done?

February 6, 2008
crosses.jpg

One of the scariest things about seeking God’s will. Desiring it. Stepping into it … Is choosing to BE in it.

What if His will includes discomfort? What if it means giving everything you have away and moving to a foreign country to serve others? What if it means swallowing your pride and taking a less recognizable position in your job so that you can be a light where there needs to be one the most? What if it means requiring of you something you feel so inadequately prepared to do?

God doesn’t call the qualified – He qualifies the called

What does that mean? It means we have to trust Him! If we truly are committed to live our lives to His glory then we simply…Go…

Sometimes we put off what we know we’re being called to from a lack of “peace”.

When Jesus was praying in the Garden of Gesthemane, He was torn. He wanted His Fathers will to be done, yet he still asked for the cup of suffering to be taken away. Mark 9: 35-36

Even the Son of God agonized over the will for his life. But in His obedience the world changed forever! Him choosing His Fathers will, cause He could have taken another way out, changed history!

Is there something you know God is asking of you that you are putting off?

Who’s will truly has more power in your life? Yours…or His?

29 Comments leave one →
  1. Sean permalink
    February 6, 2008 11:41 am

    Thanks for posting this Tam, you know I have been struggling with this recently and I still have no answers but I have to continue struggling and the hard part IS trying my best to keep that struggle centered on God’s will.

    It is sooo easy to say to God, “You know, this really isn’t the time for that in my life, why don’t I get back to You depending on how next week turns out.”

    All I can do is every day, turn to Him and say, not mine but Your will be done. It is not the easy way but it is the best way.

  2. February 6, 2008 11:44 am

    Sometimes God doesn’t even ask, He just throws you right into the refining fire of His will. Now you can choose to be in it or fight it.
    When you choose to set right down in the fire He gives you, thats where you find the peace that surpasses all understanding….

  3. heatherblankenship permalink
    February 6, 2008 11:55 am

    Girl, I am so right there! There is a daunting call on me right now… I feel like moses, saying, “I don’t talk so good!” 🙂
    Seriously though, I am having this come up a lot in my life. I keep reminding myself that as long as I focus on my intimate relationship with the Father, I will be ok. He does indeed qualify the called!

  4. February 6, 2008 1:16 pm

    It’s oh so scary praying for God’s will….b/c you have to realize that HIS will may not be YOUR will, and seldom ever is. To me, that means even accepting an outcome that you might think is horrible.

    Like with Owen, as much as it KILLED me, I had to pray for God’s hand it in, full well knowing it could be different than what I wanted. Don’t get me wrong, I told God what I wanted, but knew He could choose otherwise. That is so hard.

  5. February 6, 2008 1:31 pm

    “God’s Will” as a topic really fires me up! Great post Tam. So many people struggle with “finding” God’s will when the issue isn’t “finding” – it’s “being”! When we go to church to worship, we should be more interested in what God has to say to us than catching up on the latest gossip. When we sing at church are we really listening to the words or are we looking around? To know God’s will we have to “be” what He wants us to be. I like Heather’s comment, she uses “intimate relationship” . Side note – mama just came in – she has a bag of dove chocolate in her dresser drawer and she just took out a piece – for her, I can’t touch her candy! However I said: “I love you!” and smiled – she gave me one! Her wrap said on the inside; “naughty but nice”! Gotta go – “intimate relationships” are the best!

  6. February 6, 2008 2:34 pm

    YAY! I know this one..its like me heading into business, Quality /military corporation, and God saying take care of your kids yourself 😯 and then starting a daycare, and now driving a bus! HIS will is nothing like the plan I had…but it is better, more rewarding, and I would recommend jumping to anyone…HIS awesome presence and showing off is my favorite!

  7. February 6, 2008 3:55 pm

    Tam, I just overcame my will and gave way to His will for me.

    I recently made the out-of-the-box desicion to homeschool my daughter. You will not believe the remarks I have received and still receiving.

    Some have hurt my soul deeply. But this is what happens when you decide to do God’s will.

    It was not my plan/idea. God placed it in my heart, and boy did I wrestled with Him.

    Guess who is limping? Me! HIS WILL, will be done in Earth as it is in Heaven.

    I pray daily that He Fits me for the task that He has given me.

    Doing GOd’s will is not always popular!

    Great Post

    xooxoxox

  8. February 6, 2008 7:03 pm

    For a long time I knew God was calling me to start a single mothers group at the church. There were so many displaced single moms who didnt totally fit in the other womens groups.

    It took me a long time to finally do it but now a year later I am so excited I listened. There are so many women and so many lives being changed every week! God has performed miracles and all I had to do was step up to the plate and encourage them.

    Although I am looking forward for His next request…..possibly being “pick up and move to the caribbean NOW!” OK GOD! On it! haha

  9. February 6, 2008 8:58 pm

    John 7:17 “If any man will do His will, he shall know of the doctorine…..” I just read this this morning… 😯

    Oswald Chambers says :”The golden rule for understanding spiritually is not intellect, but obedience. If a man wants scientific knowledge, intellectual curiosity is his guide; but if he wants insight into what Jesus Christ teaches, he can only get it by obedience. If things are dark to me, then I may be sure there is something I will not do. Intellectual darkness comes through ignorance; spiritual darkness comes because of something I do not intend to obey.

    “No man ever receives a word from God without instantly being put to the test over it. We disobey and then wonder why we don’t go on spiritually. ‘If when you come to the altar,’ said Jesus, ‘there you remember your brother hath ought against you. . . don’t say another word to Me, but first go and put that thing right.’

    When Jesus brings a thing home by His word, don’t shirk it. If you do, you will become a religious humbug. Watch the things you shrug your shoulders over, and you will know why you do not go on spiritually. First go— at the risk of being thought fanatical you must obey what God tells you.”

  10. lazrus2 permalink
    February 6, 2008 9:29 pm

    GG and Oswald,
    AMEN!!!!!!!!!!!!

  11. February 7, 2008 1:52 am

    Love Oswald Chambers! Obedience is key…”thy will be done” Jesus modeled it so well for us.

  12. February 7, 2008 4:39 am

    Lately I’ve been wishing God’s will would include curing me of this miserable flu. Fighting illness is no fun. 😦

  13. February 7, 2008 9:23 am

    Yeah, I wish sometimes we could know exactly and clearly what God’s will is – like I have $50. Should that go to the homeless shelter, the missionary in Cambodia or the Easter outreach in my local community?

    Seems like if things were clear cut it’d be easier to sacrifice and give – but God doesn’t seem to work that way. In the end I’m happy he gives us the freedom to “figure it out.”

  14. February 7, 2008 10:49 am

    I do struggle with allowing myself to be part of God’s will rather than trying to control everything…but slowly I know God is changing me. I can look back and see the progress.

    Thanks for the post. Your statement about using a lack of “peace” as an excuse is something I’m going to have to think on more throughout the day.

  15. February 7, 2008 11:03 am

    Ivy Vega: I would love to be able to talk with you about homeschooling. I wasn’t able to leave a comment on your blog because I don’t have a Blogger account, but I would love it if you stopped by my blog or e-mailed me: mypeaceandjoy@live.com

    Tam: I hope you don’t mind me using your post for this–I just really wanted to let Ivy Vega know I was thinking of her.

  16. February 7, 2008 2:15 pm

    Terrific post!!!!!!! Such a struggle for us all (most as least). I loved the “God doesn’t call the qualified – He qualifies the called”. And it’s not only in big things (callings) but in little like choosing His way in a confrontation instead of ours.

    Blessings

  17. February 7, 2008 2:35 pm

    Amen to this. I think we’ve all been called, but do we all hear??
    Some days I feel I do, and others I’m as deaf as they come! Those are the days He kick starts me and pushes me down the right path, whether I like it or not. And I’m thankful for every step.

  18. garmentofpraise permalink
    February 7, 2008 3:22 pm

    Seeking the will of God….tough stuff. I’m in college now, trying to think about where to transfer to, and then what to do with my life….sometimes I wish God didn’t trust me enough, and just came down in a lightening bult and told me exacally what to do, but I guess that would ruin the adventure, wouldn’t it?
    Another thought. We were called to be like Jesus, that is one aspect of God’s will for our life. Pretty radical when you come to think about it. If every Christian started acting according to what Jesus did….man…what a difference there would be!
    My Youth Pastor used to always say that to me “God does not call the equipped, he equips the called.” Powerfully true. I think I need to be reminded of it, everyday.
    Thanks for this post, Tam.
    Hope all is well with you.
    Joy

  19. February 7, 2008 3:43 pm

    i have been reading Moses by Chuck Swindoll and I was so on that part last night of doing what God calls you to do. So good.
    I was just in awe last night of him turning the staff into a snake and the burning bush and the plagues. Not that I haven’t read them a thousand times but I was just amazed at the AWESOMENESS of Almighty God.

  20. February 7, 2008 5:27 pm

    I really don’t think God wants us to worry about doing His will. If our heart is in the right place I think He allows us to make the choice. If I was 19 (oh was that a long time ago!) and trying to choose which Christian college to go to, and was trying to choose from say three different colleges, I think He would let me make that choice. I think He would simply be pleased at the fact that I wanted to go to a Christian college. I truly believe that if God has a specific concern, He will let us know. He eagerly wants us to follow Him. He does not play Hide N’ Seek with us.

  21. February 7, 2008 6:12 pm

    Ya know Papa, I think you are right. If we are truly seeking Him and living for Him, growing in character, growing Spiritually then we really should be going in the “right” direction by default. How pleasing that must be to Him seeing His kiddos enjoying the fruits of right living. Not that we always live “right”. It’s also not to say that there still, from time to time, won’t be a peace about a decision. Those times cause us to reflect and make us aware of who He is in our lives and our need for Him. Just as a child needs their own father…

  22. February 7, 2008 6:22 pm

    In 1973-74 I was a full time youth pastor, when I left that position and went into secular work, I never struggled with “did I do the right thing?” God provided all the right answers and performed some miracles to assure me I was going in the right direction… He does direct – when necessary. Good post Tam.

  23. Sean permalink
    February 7, 2008 6:43 pm

    Hey Tam and Papa, what you are saying is exactly the same thing as our sermon this past week. Papa, I posted it on my blog if you want to read about it. I know you read it already Tam. lol

  24. February 7, 2008 6:47 pm

    Thanks Tam! On target with the thoughts I’m having now. My seven almost eight year old daughter was reading about John Wesley last week. He gave an example of how when he made 30 pounds and only needed 28 to live on he was able to give 2 pounds to the poor. Then as his income increased he continued to live on the 28 pounds and ended up giving so much more to the poor. I’m so glad my little lady is starting to understand God’s economics – she will probably master it before I do… Keep us in your prayers as we strive to learn, listen and follow Jesus!

    Update: Daniel is out of the hospital. He had an amazing turn-a-round. He still has a long road of recovery, but his parents love him dearly and love the Lord and are fighting with him for his best. His dad emailed a bunch of new pictures that I posted in the last several posts about Daniel as well. There are nine posts in all. When his parents are able they are going to guest blog and share with us about the journey. Thanks so much for your prayers! – http://www.actionsspeakloudest.blogspot.com

  25. February 8, 2008 1:01 pm

    Great post! Thanks for the encouraging word today!
    Blessings,
    Angela

  26. February 9, 2008 8:43 pm

    I’m supposed to do something more with Solace. I’m supposed to put together a longer experience, and I can’t put it off any longer. I’ll give you more info later.

  27. February 11, 2008 8:57 pm

    Thanks for challenging us with this!

  28. February 15, 2008 8:52 am

    powerful words sister. your post makes you THINK hard about your life and where you are. it’s definately a ‘look in the mirror’ time. “God doesn’t call the qualified – He qualifies the called” is so true. We just gotta step out in Faith when He does call. and if we don’t answer, guess what, He WILL call again.

    blessings,
    sam

  29. February 15, 2008 8:59 am

    Yes, He WILL call again! A loving Father never gives up. I’m so thankful He never stopped pursuing me!

Leave a Reply

