Skip to content

Stagnant Mediocrity…the dangers

February 12, 2008

…Supplement your faith with a generous provision of moral excellence, and moral excellence with knowledge, 6 and knowledge with self-control, and self-control with patient endurance, and patient endurance with godliness, 7 and godliness with brotherly affection, and brotherly affection with love for everyone. 8 The more you grow like this, the more productive and useful you will be in your knowledge of our Lord Jesus Christ. 9 But those who fail to develop in this way are shortsighted or blind, forgetting that they have been cleansed from their old sins. 2 Peter 1: 5-9

These words really convicted me this morning. There have been several blog discussions recently that I have sat back and lurked upon. Gaining knowledge and growing. But…”growing” in frustration. I have become stagnant. I have become stale. Not stale in my relationship with God…just not progressing much, lately, in my knowledge of His word. Which in turn can result in a stale walk with the Lord. A place I do NOT ever wish to be!

I have many goals and aspirations. But none should ever take precedence over spending time with my Creator and studying His word.

My alarm goes off at 6:45 each morning. For the last week and a half the Lord has woken me up at 6:10, inviting me to spend some one on one time with Him. Just the two of us, alone. I have declined and chosen sleep and my comfort over Gods request and personal invitation. I justify pulling the covers over my head knowing I will spend some time in prayer and reading…eventually that day. But He wants more from me. He wants more OF me.

I resolve today to heed His Holy Alarm…

22 Comments leave one →
  1. February 12, 2008 9:50 am

    I’ll be calling you at 6:11 tomorrow…….Love you!

  2. February 12, 2008 9:53 am

    I agree TAM. We need to wake up. I am sure if Kass or Kota called out at anytime in the night there would be no hesitation to get to their side…. And yet, when our heavenly Father calls, we pull the blankets up around our ears… I am not sure we sense the urgency of the call.

  3. February 12, 2008 10:14 am

    WOw, God is amazing. I don’t know if you read oswald chamber’s my utmost for His highest…but you should today! πŸ™‚
    THis blog just confirmed His word to me.
    If you don’t have the book… google my utmost for His Highest online…there is an online daily. It’s pretty amazing!
    THanks tam!

  4. February 12, 2008 10:20 am

    Hey Debs…all my clocks are fast so I’ll already be up πŸ˜‰ For sure!!!

    Papa, I have felt an urgency for a long time now. My stubborn will has held me back, I have allowed it. God is patient….for a time! But always gentle!

    Heather, I don’t subscribe to Chambers but I will google todays…and probably start subscribing as well!

  5. February 12, 2008 11:08 am

    tam: i had the same experience this morning…. & i thought: WHY am i awake right now?!

    ahhh…. sweet conviction.

    bring it sista

  6. February 12, 2008 11:38 am

    Wow, what a powerful post. I understand how you feel. It’s hard to take that extra step to intimacy in His word. I do mine at night by myself, but it’s not as regular as it used to. Want to hear something weird? I was actually woken up yesterday with the words resounding through my head—follow my commands. I’ve never had that happen before. What is that about???

  7. February 12, 2008 11:39 am

    PS…I wasn’t dreaming either.

  8. February 12, 2008 12:33 pm

    oh that’s awesome girl!

  9. February 12, 2008 12:35 pm

    I wonder how many times God tries to communicate with our heart on a daily basis, and how many times we ignore it?

  10. February 12, 2008 12:44 pm

    I read Oswald Chambers this morning because I wanted to satisfy that I had time with him, it smacked me hard, and I thought all about it all day…we really need that one on one with hiim in the mornings…at least i do.

  11. February 12, 2008 2:18 pm

    Tam, I hear you your fustration.

    I have conciously made a date with God in my calendar.

    I make it with my hubby, why not with God.

    I go to the nearest Panera’s with my bible & journal. Sit alone with a nice cup of coffee, and sit still.

    Sometimes we need to change the enviornment to give it a boost!

    xoxoxo

    Ivy

  12. February 12, 2008 2:58 pm

    You and me both. πŸ˜‰

    This was nice to read. Go to my place and give me some advice. πŸ˜‰ Love you. πŸ˜€

  13. February 12, 2008 3:18 pm

    Sounds like I need to log on to Oswald Chambers now and see what he had to say for todays devotion.

    Tam, wanted to update you:

    Please keep praying for Daniel – he’s had a set back today…

    http://www.actionsspeakloudest.blogspot.com

  14. February 12, 2008 3:36 pm

    Ryan-probably more than we want to know, or that our heart could stand to hear.

    I want to better at that..spending time with HIM, and listening for HIM

  15. February 12, 2008 6:42 pm

    Great post!

  16. February 12, 2008 6:48 pm

    Ohh, I have had that same experience! May each of us heed His alarm …

  17. Jason permalink
    February 12, 2008 7:53 pm

    Wow, does that sound familiar. This is great in that we are encouraged by each other that our failure doesn’t define us, but our response does. The very next lines (10-16) have an unbelievable amount of tension. The way we respond demonstrates the reality of our spiritual condition, by doing as commanded, we show that we have been chosen. By not, we are closer to proving that we aren’t. ooooo

  18. February 12, 2008 9:41 pm

    i love you and love your honesty.

    Lord, please give Tam a holy passion for you. Let her hunger for your word more than food. God give her a huge appetite for your presence. I pray that she would be so full of you that she would have to take a step back and worship you at how holy and majestic you are! Your glory would kill us you are so full. We love you…she loves you…please dont let our hearts grow cold or complacent. More of you we cry!

  19. February 12, 2008 10:42 pm

    Looks like I have company with some of you.

    After all HE has done for creation. After all HE has ever done, been, revealed, chosen to do and be for me – one little person occupying this tiny little spot – the least I can do is give Him EVERYTHING. The least! And yet, that won’t be enough…

    J, your last two sentences will stick in my mind forever! I will never forget those words…thank you.

    Jenny Hope – AMEN! And AMEN again…Hungry indeed!

  20. February 13, 2008 7:07 am

    Not being accustomed to spending my first moments with the Lord in the morning, this will take some getting used to. I always find time to be with Him throughout the day…on my terms. This new morning routine is more about obedience…I think πŸ˜‰

    He is so patient and gentle! So very good! He disciplines those He loves!

  21. February 13, 2008 8:15 am

    I try, but always succeed, to open my Bible before I open my laptop, or any text book… I’m still getting used to it too.

  22. justlovehim permalink
    February 13, 2008 11:10 pm

    I have been thinking about setting my alarm in the morning so my Bible reading can start my day (instead of my crying baby girl).
    That’s really cool that you’ve made a habit of it.

Leave a Reply

