Skip to content

In Training

February 13, 2008

  10 For our earthly fathers disciplined us for a few years, doing the best they knew how. But God’s discipline is always good for us, so that we might share in his holiness. 11 No discipline is enjoyable while it is happening—it’s painful! But afterward there will be a peaceful harvest of right living for those who are trained in this way. Hebrews 12 : 10&11

The Lord is gentle, He is also very firm. He is relentless in pushing His children on to growth. What good father isn’t?

He is less concerned with our comfort than He is our character.

Discipline is a sign of love.

If I didn’t love my children I wouldn’t bother disciplining them. I’m not talking abuse, I’m talking training. Investing that time into them shows I care. That they’re worthy and valuable of our invested time to help them be positive and productive citizens in this society with good moral character, respect, compassion, experience, knowledge and wisdom. I would be doing them a disservice by not disciplining them.

It’s hard being a disciplinarian. But it’s even harder being the disciplined. Our response to it is key.

We can ignore it. Done that.

We can scoff at it. Done that too.

We can kick and scream about it. This isn’t looking good.

We can embrace it. Eh?

By embracing Gods discipline…His training, we concede that we trust Him. That we believe He knows what is best.  It demonstrates our awareness of Him and our acceptance of His authority.

We all live under and for something.

Today, I choose to follow Him.

18 Comments leave one →
  1. February 13, 2008 9:37 am

    good stuff. did you wake up early today to get that?
    🙂

  2. February 13, 2008 9:43 am

    yes ma’am.

    Funny though. Things we know already. Just a refresher course.

  3. February 13, 2008 9:45 am

    Question Tam – HOW has God disciplined you? When I disciplined my children it usually involved a specific act on my part. How does God do that to us? Curious – I enjoy your sharing.

  4. February 13, 2008 9:45 am

    refreshers are good…. otherwise we’re just hearers & not doers. ya know?

  5. lazrus2 permalink
    February 13, 2008 10:16 am

    I think the most difficult part about receiving discipline as an adult is that it’s not so clear coming from an ‘invisible’ parent. As a child we know who our parents are, and experience their physical presence (both to discipline and embrace). But as adults we have to ‘see the unseen’ and realize that when pain comes, it could very well be our heavenly Father’s ‘getting our attention whatever it takes’. It’s the ‘whatever (and whoever?) it takes’ that we often can’t accept as ‘from Him’.

    For me, I’ve found that when He allows pain to come, I need to look inside to see if there’s something in me that needs correcting (pre-, during-, and post- pain). If so, I need to receive it, thank God for caring enough to reveal it, and ‘make it right’ with Him (and others if need be). The pain may not completely end if it involves multiple lessons or people, but at least I’m at peace that He’s working on/through me in it, as I continue to look to Him for further guidance.

    D-

  6. February 13, 2008 10:24 am

    Papa, I know He is disciplining, or training me, in the times when I hear or feel Him challenging me. I know it when He is asking me to do something that goes against my “wants”, whether it be physical or mental. When He has challenged my thinking; perspectives on Him, correcting them – that is discipline. When He insists morning after morning I spend some time with Him – He is working on my selfish nature – disciplining me, re-training me to prioritize. When He corrects me through through His word. And He always does it lovingly. He has most recently disciplined us, Vinny and me, by having us loosen our grip on all our possessions. Having us walk away from everything and teaching us that HE is all we need. Reminding us again that He is our provider Who will never fail.

    Mandy, I SOOOO want to be a doer. Sometimes I just get sick of hearing my mouth run on…

  7. February 13, 2008 10:32 am

    Mornin’ D 😉

    I have learned to consider it an honor to be disciplined. Again, I go back to being a parent. If I didn’t care about my children or see potential in them, I wouldn’t waste time disciplining and training them. So what does that say about what God sees in us? Potential. I have potential. He knows I am more than what I am today. And He loves me enough to reveal that to me. Even if it hurts and regardless if it’s uncomfortable. And though it is for our character and better good to be disciplined…it is always for His Glory so that we can be better equipped to be His hands and feet.

  8. February 13, 2008 11:18 am

    So do you feel like you have more time today? That’s what usually happens in my day when I bet up early…He somehow extends it to where everything gets done with time left over! Love ya!

  9. February 13, 2008 11:38 am

    Tam – I like your simpleness of heart. Thank you –

  10. February 13, 2008 12:00 pm

    Amen…

    I think of it almost as an apprenticeship. However, I can never be as good or better than the master.

    I wish I knew what God was training me for. I have this burning passion inside of me to do something BIG to expand God’s Kingdom, but I never know what path I should be taking. Ever feel like you missed that one moment to listen to God’s direction? We need to train ourself not to miss directions 🙂

  11. February 13, 2008 12:07 pm

    Irwin McManus said something once at a conference Vinny attended and I will never forget him sharing it with me. He said, “It’s a go til you hear a NO.” So whatever we think it even “might” be – we should at least try, don’t ya think. If it’s not right God will speak. But at least we will have tried.

    Debs, I don’t know yet. More than time, there;s a peace in the obedience!

    Papa, I love you!

  12. February 13, 2008 12:30 pm

    Tam:

    I think that when God allow circumstances to enter our lives is part of disciplining us as well. He wants to know how we are going to respond. He is polishing our character. Whether we turn to Him in faith or away, is part of the training.

    God is God. He knows whats best for us, even when at times I have thought that He was wrong!

    Just to find out a short time later, that if I would have “allowed” Him to discipline me that first time, I would not have encounter the amount of grief that I did.

    Great post.

  13. February 13, 2008 12:39 pm

    Yes, He does allow us to make mistakes so that we can learn from them. There just comes a time after Hes been pressing on us minute after minute after minute – that our spirits cannot help but to respond and relinquish control. I love that He doesn’t “force” Himself on us – but His undeniable presence is easily detected by an in tune spirit. i just pray mine is always tuned in 😉

  14. February 13, 2008 12:41 pm

    Actually, I don;t know that it is our spirits finally responding rather our relinquished stubborn wills

  15. February 13, 2008 4:33 pm

    Discipline is always a hard areas to come up to but such a necessary place for at least a moment. Great writing today!!

  16. February 13, 2008 5:31 pm

    True self discipline is a tough subject for the world to swallow, which is why most of our society is in such chaos to date. Great post Tam.

  17. February 14, 2008 5:42 am

    Amen!
    Blessings,
    Angela

  18. February 17, 2008 1:10 pm

    Amen!

Leave a Reply

