Skip to content

You Know My Name

February 18, 2008
Of all creation near and far
You know my name you hold my heart
The universe rests in Your hand
And still You know who I am

Not a single breath passes You by
From Your love I cannot hide
In spite of who I seem to be
Your love is calling me

So I run to the One who knows my name
And I bow in the presence of a Holy God
Of greatest fame
And I praise You
Jesus I thank You ā€“ for knowing me

You know my name
You know my name
Iā€™m amazed
You know my name

17 Comments leave one →
  1. February 19, 2008 2:11 am

    beautiful! That brings it all home to me. HE knows my name, although HE know everything, and all the happenings in the world, while he guards soldiers, and helps the homeless, HE knows my name. Sweet ! that is precious to me. What an awesome thought to take with me today! Thanks!!

  2. February 19, 2008 4:44 am

    I cherish the thought that I can be in His presence anytime! Thanks for the reminder!

  3. Heidi permalink
    February 19, 2008 4:56 am

    I’m so awed at times that God knows all of our names…
    I’ve had several through birth, adoption and marriage.
    But he never lost touch with me in the many addresses I have had.
    He never lost touched when I walked away.

    WOW… what an AWESOME God we SERVE.. huh??

    Love you love you TAM!!!!

  4. February 19, 2008 5:40 am

    where’s the audio for this??? huh? i need to hit “play” on this!
    šŸ™‚

  5. February 19, 2008 7:15 am

    Heidi made me think of all the names we have had, both good and bad..and God knows us by the name HE will call us in heaven, just like seeing us as a finished product of what HE is making us into. HE is awesome, and good and faithful, and when we can’t see HIM he is still right there, calling us by our name! Miss Tam! this must be set to music..because I want to sing it (loudly-no ones home) šŸ˜†

  6. February 19, 2008 7:47 am

    I’d love to hear the music to that one.

  7. February 19, 2008 8:46 am

    Hi ladies! I love reading your thoughts!!

    No audio. I only remember half the melody šŸ˜Æ I wrote it a long time ago – but as I was searching through lyrics last night this one stood out to me.

    Put your own personal melody to it and be blessed!

    Love you all!

  8. February 19, 2008 9:51 am

    Love it!

    I remember years ago you told me that this line stuck out in your head and you didn’t know what to do with it: Who am I that you would know my name?

    DId you ever do anything with it? šŸ˜‰

  9. February 19, 2008 10:33 am

    Yes I did – not long after that. That was about 5 years ago, at least. Then Casting Crowns comes along and takes the title!

    I’ll send the song to you Bran Muffin šŸ˜‰

  10. Sean permalink
    February 19, 2008 10:41 am

    Hi Tam, thanks for commenting. I love you guys, see you in the realm of email now šŸ˜¦

  11. Heather Blankenship permalink
    February 19, 2008 11:29 am

    I like this, it’s beautiful! Thanks for sharing!

  12. February 19, 2008 12:15 pm

    Ya know Tam, when I heard that song on the radio I was like “HEY! That’s TAMMY’S SONG!!” hahaha!! At first I thought that is where you heard it, but then I remembered you brought it up WAAAAAAY before it came out by Casting Crowns. haha!!

    Can’t wait to get it. šŸ˜€

  13. lazrus2 permalink
    February 19, 2008 12:48 pm

    Since we’re on the subject of “Who Am I?”, here’s my version from Dec. ’01:

    When I look in the sky and I see Your face
    When I look to the past and I find Your grace
    When I gaze on the cross where You took my place,
    Lord, I cry out to You, “Who am I?”

    Who am I to deserve Your love?
    Who am I to require Your blood?
    Who am I to contain Your Spirit?
    I cry out to You, “Who am I?”

    Lord, I can never earn Your favor
    If I laid all my life upon the altar
    Yet by Your grace, You choose and use me
    And call me Your child—Who I am!

    It’s sort of ‘rhyme-y’, but I guess I’m of the ‘old school’ =}.
    I still sing it in my AM times, but the tune isn’t one of my favorites–just what He gave me to go with it (so maybe the words are the best part to share anyway).

    D-

  14. February 19, 2008 2:09 pm

    Beatiful T…I’ll play with it on the keyboard between hacks…LOL

    D, when ya gettin your own blog???? I love reading your thoughts! šŸ™‚

  15. February 19, 2008 5:09 pm

    Yes Dana, you need a blog! šŸ˜€

  16. February 19, 2008 5:57 pm

    Beautiful… you really wrote that? Wow!

  17. February 21, 2008 11:23 pm

    I love those words. Do you have the melody? When can we buy and down load the sheet music ?

Leave a Reply

