Skip to content

Passion

February 19, 2008

Igniting The Fire Within

This is the title of our current Series on Fuel at TRF.

Pastor Ron said something that really got my attention this weekend. He said, “You can have the right passion that’s just misdirected.”

Have you ever felt so frustrated feeling you are so close to a revelation in your life yet so far from any indication of what it might be? What prevents us from seeing “the sign”? Misdirection?

I am passionate about so many things! But I sit here now knowing that many of my passions are not being properly used. I’m investing them into things but not always the right things.

Although I know where my gifts, talents and passions come from, if they go misdirected for too long I’m afraid I will see the Giver as less important and my true calling will become blurred. There is a danger in that.

Have you ever been here?

Are you here now?

“God has chosen you. Why are you waiting for someone else to do what you’re suppose to do?”

14 Comments leave one →
  1. Harrison permalink
    February 19, 2008 8:19 pm

    I like your last quote. I am definitely doing what I am supposed to do.

  2. February 19, 2008 8:58 pm

    Sitting smack dab in it.

  3. February 19, 2008 8:59 pm

    I am not to good at providing answers but I am farily good at thinking of the right question. 🙂

    “Why are you waiting for someone else to do what you’re suppose to do?”

    If we are talking about something we are passionate about I don’t think “waiting for someone else” is ever a good idea. I also don’t think “what you’re supposed to do” is part of the equation. I don’t think it’s even what you “want” to do that’s important. The best question is what do you “need” to do.”

    If it is something you really need to do than any delay in starting will just make the task that much harder.

  4. Elaine permalink
    February 19, 2008 10:40 pm

    I believe I’m where I need to be doing massage therapy..My passion, for my own sanity’s sake and for the sake of my family ,however I have had to be a bad guy and say no more new clients because I have so overbooked myself to the point of me having to work 6 days a week plus be a full time stay at home mom. I definatly am open for change and have been praying that God will take away some clients or give me a nice nanny for Friday afternoons. Hard to know, Hard to wait and Hard to make anysense out of anything I said!!

  5. February 20, 2008 2:27 am

    I love you!

    I am in the mix of what I am suppose to be doing, although I am easily distracted. I know I have had a crisis of unblief and not even know that I had it…until someone said to me, “why do you not believe God?” I was so upset that someone would say that to me, but after time with HIM, it was just that. If I had truly believed HIM, I would have already been running through the thing, instead of over thinking it. Now I am praying for our unbelief, as we are so capable of falling in it, and then our soul becomes downcast, confused, and lazy. God is always at work, and so is the enemy to stop us, you can never Ephesians 6 yourself enough . God is going to do something in Oregon, and for some reason of HIS, HE has allowed me to be there(even if for a short time) check on you when I get back this morning.

  6. February 20, 2008 5:19 am

    I’m like you and I’m passionate about many things. I’m getting to a place in life where I have to start making decisions about what to pursue. I’ve always felt like I can do it all, but I can’t. But God can!

    Most of all, I need to pursue Him and not just say it because it’s the cliche thing to say, but squash my selfish desires and let His float to the top.

  7. ang permalink
    February 20, 2008 6:43 am

    So yea this is a post that hits hard right now. I have Eph 6:11, Romans 8:28, Romans 12:12, 2 Cor 4:8 and the lyric from Nichole Nordemans song, ” Hold on” one line that says, ” Love must believe you are worth it”, written on my left arm…I couldn’t survive last night without knowing God’s word was physically written on me.

    There are somethings going on right now, only God can heal within me and the world I live…its insane.

    Thanks for posting that!

  8. February 20, 2008 7:49 am

    I think what hold us back is the spiritual battles that we deal with on a daily basis. Half of the time we do not even know they are happening. But, good and evil are always at odds with each other. The bad part is that it happens within us.

  9. February 20, 2008 9:16 am

    I haven’t had this problem for sometime now – I guess it’s Christian maturity, Lets see, I thinks it’s been at least an hour.

  10. February 20, 2008 9:51 am

    Good thought – I can relate to the misdirection part, I have a lot of passion about a handful of things and I do think I am fulfilling my callings in those areas but I have had plenty of situations where I can’t quite put my finger on the best fit for me. My one suggestion – coming out of the most recent job situation – is that we are often required to wait longer than we feel is necessary or even fair to have things fall into place.

  11. February 20, 2008 11:55 am

    I am the total opposite. I have had trouble finding my passion. After the divorce, I was about deviod of emotion. It is just now that I am starting to wake up and realize the world around me.

  12. February 20, 2008 12:54 pm

    Wholly smokes…this is an amazing revelation. I’m right there too. I have so many passions and a few irons in the fire. I feel I’m being led there for a reason, by God. BUT is it by own wants making me feel that or is it God?

  13. February 20, 2008 3:22 pm

    You all have so much to bring to this discussion. I’ve loved reading your responses.

    Blessed1 brought up a thought,

    “BUT is it my own wants making me feel that or is it God?”

    I remember reading Purpose Driven Life and he said something near the beginning of the book, something to the effect of….Someone wanting to know if he/she should take a job in another State. They didn’t know what God wanted them to do and was “waiting” for confirmation. Warrens take on this was…does it really matter? If you’re main purpose in life is to honor and serve God then odds are, you will make the right decision and you will continue to serve and honor Him in another State as well.

    So back to Blessed1’s thought….how can you tell the difference between your own wants and Gods will?

    There’s a daily process to living that our own wants will be injected repeatedly…that’s ok!

    BUT…if we are living our lives on fire for Him – and HE is the Passion that drives us than our “wants” shouldn’t be a concern. It seems to me they would be, by default of our pursuing Him, in line with His desires for us too. Odds are they will not even be questionable.

    Your thoughts?

  14. February 20, 2008 7:50 pm

    Purpose Driven Life! Don’t get me started! I have read that book at least 3 times! Most people don’t complete it – did you ???? :o) If so send me a copy of your life’s Purpose Statement required in the last chapter! That book performed a miracle in my life Tam.

Leave a Reply

