Skip to content

Offended Nose

March 1, 2008

Walking down our hallway past the bedrooms yesterday I noticed an awful stench. Hmmm, you wonder where this might be going? I realize quickly it’s coming from the prepubescent boys room. I carefully poke my head in, with Lysol can as my arsenal clenched tightly in one hand, I bravely enter. Oh my Lord – really God, this can’t be right!

Immediately I plug in an air freshener strategically behind his drums, where he sweats the most. This afternoon he bolts in my room exclaiming, “Mom! Somethings not right in my bedroom!!” I look up at his frightened little face and ask what’s wrong. “It SSSSMELLS!” “Dude”, I say, “I had to put an air freshener in their yesterday. Something IS right in your room!”

Sorry Glade doesn’t offer Sweaty Sock Scent 😯

14 Comments leave one →
  1. March 1, 2008 1:42 pm

    A mother has to do what a mother has to do! Did you use an “evergreen” scent? I hated evergreen!

  2. March 1, 2008 1:46 pm

    no, i didn’t. i used lavender vanilla.

    ya think that’s what’s offending him???

    😀

  3. March 1, 2008 2:10 pm

    Just lurking about on the web . . . and your post caught my attention.

    Thats frickin’ funny. I grew up with three brothers that smelled to high heaven during our teen years and now I’ve collected a husband and birthed two boys . . . though the boys don’t stink yet . . . I’m sure it’ll come (3 and 11/2 yrs old) . . . no comment on the hubby. 🙂

    Have a great weekend!

  4. March 1, 2008 2:46 pm

    Ya shoulda used Elisabeth Taylor White Diamond perfume! Which reminds me; my Old Spice stick and my Brute are about gone.

  5. hislifeformine permalink
    March 1, 2008 2:51 pm

    Hahaha… I can so relate to this. Take heart he’ll move out in oh……maybe 10 years or so

  6. March 1, 2008 3:42 pm

    Too funny. You need to get some dryer sheets and hide them around the room.

  7. March 1, 2008 4:46 pm

    There is a room in my house that is the exact same…i have to get myself all pep talked up, and then just make up my mind “I am going in”, I usually tell my daughter if i don’t come out in a few minutes call for re enforcements! LOL

  8. March 1, 2008 5:12 pm

    maybe you should go for that pine scented stuff…. atleast it’ll smell like the outdoors!

    or just hide a box of arm & hammer under his bed….. that’ll suck the smell out.

    OR just put a little bowl of vinegar somewhere – that’ll suck the smell out too.

    or get a fire hose and HOSE HIM DOWN!

    🙂

  9. ang permalink
    March 1, 2008 5:20 pm

    Hey. My sister has a smelly room too…try lavender starting in the kitchen and make sure his door is open. It should illuminate a nice scent even in his room.my teacher has lavender in her office and you can smell it way before her office hallway.

  10. March 2, 2008 3:22 pm

    haha, Misery truly loves company! I am so glad my son isn’t the only one who can stink 😀

  11. March 2, 2008 4:00 pm

    Man I do nnnnooooot look forward to the day I have to deal with this. As it is now, at five years old, I still have that fresh little boy smell with clean hair. It’s so sweet.

    Sweaty boy smell will be yuck! Thank you for this post….it made laugh so hard!

  12. Cheryl permalink
    March 2, 2008 10:24 pm

    You mean my sweet smelling Marcus is going to smell like a gym…how sad… I’m tearing up just thinking about it…mind you I just remembered that he tried to rip my shirt off in front of you. Go figure, I stopped breastfeeding in October and he chose today, in front of you to “attack”…lovely! 😆

    But I feel for Kota…sheesh lavender vanilla, Tam? 😆

  13. March 3, 2008 2:53 pm

    I’m going to get this threefold in a few years aren’t I??? Great. 😆

  14. March 9, 2008 5:38 pm

    Boy smell. Ugh! I don’t REALLY wish this because I know TJ would love to have a son … but part of me really hopes we have two girls and that’s it!

Leave a Reply

