Skip to content

Tight Wad Tips?

March 18, 2008

Someone has given my daughter and me a nice sum of moola to go to a swanky spa here in So. OR. Ummm….I don’t do these kinds of things. Not from a lack of never wanting to but our budget scoffs at such desires. I cut all our hair and color mine and Kass’s myself. We even clean our own dirt from underneath all 20 finger and toenails.

Here’s my problem…The gift $$$ (I was given cash for this) covers the services we’re getting this Thursday to the penny, which include…Haircut, pedicure and manicure. All side by side services, so Kass and I get to hang out the whole time next to each other. But…how much am I suppose to tip? Do I tip all the people working on us? Which is 3 a piece. Which equals 6 TOTAL!!! 😯 That’s not in our budget I’m sure. So I’m thinking about canceling just the manicure for one or both of us and using that $$$ for the tip??? Yes? No? Maybe so?

I am so foreign to this kind of stuff. I’m sure one of my guy readers know more about this than I do 😐

HELP??!!

57 Comments leave one →
  1. March 18, 2008 7:12 am

    This is so my life! I would cancel the manicure as I like my own work anyway, and give that to the 6 to split! and if they are offended – oh well! I am not coming back here anyway unless God does drastic things to my budget. 😆

  2. March 18, 2008 7:35 am

    When I go get my haircut i have to pay extra then most. I have so little hair anymore they charge me a “finders fee”!

    Cancel the manicure – Brent can clean the nails, use a little turtle wax car polish on them and you will be as good as new!

    I usually tip my beautician 20% who cuts my hair.

  3. Deborah permalink
    March 18, 2008 9:16 am

    Hmmmmm…..I wonder what would happen if you turned around and blessed someone else who was even worse off than you…..and gave them your appointments…..

  4. March 18, 2008 9:21 am

    Indian Lake Papa: FINDERS FEE! HA!!!!

    http://www.spafinder.com/spalifestyle/spa101/etiquette.jsp

    has notes on nudity, shaving, AND gratuity… looks like ya gotta pay everyone. 🙄

  5. March 18, 2008 10:01 am

    I’m awful at figuring salon gratuities. I did give my last pedicurist (I get 1 a year for my birthday-with a coupon!!) 20%. And if this was a gift to you, it is a blessing to the giver that you use it for yourself–just my opinion. God will give you an opportunity to pay it forward I’m sure. We are seeing that as we are on the road to the end of the townhouse.

  6. March 18, 2008 10:04 am

    Help is here! I went to beauty school and worked at a spa as an esthetician. Yes, you are supposed to tip each individual you receive a service from. It is customary to tip 15 – 20% of the amount each service cost. So, let’s play pretend spa right here…

    This is an estimation for just ONE of you…
    if you’re tipping 15%…oh, and I’m totally guessing prices…
    Haircut ($30) – tip would be $4.50
    Pedicure ($50) – tip would be $7.50
    Manicure ($25) – tip would be $3.75

    So you’d pay an extra $15.75 in tips, multiply that by 2, you’re up to over $30 just in tips! I’m just guessing an average cost of those services, so obviously the tipping could be MORE (!), could be less. Definitely cancel whatever services you have to in order to not have to dish out your own cash. But KEEP the pedicures…they’re SO worth it…especially in preparation for flip-flop season!

    Oh, and by the way…most spas are set up where when you pay, the person who does your service has no idea what you’re leaving them as a tip. So you could tip less, if you want…whatever you feel comfortable with. Its only if you are planning on going back regularly that you’d want to tip well, so they really take care of you the next time. But I’m not getting the impression you’ll be hittin’ up the spa for your weekly mani/pedi. : )

  7. March 18, 2008 10:07 am

    I am with Papa. I have so few hears on my head I have given them names. Bob, just went do the drain this morning. (Old Joke)

    I still have to pay the same price even though they only have to trim the sides of my head. Life is so unfair.

    I pay my barber a 20% tip.

  8. March 18, 2008 10:46 am

    hmmm, I still make it to a nice salon for all my hair care stuff, but when we move I’m going to have to start coloring my own hair (or just not at all) since we are taking a huge pay cut after we move…… okay WHY is any of that important…it’s not. ANYWAY, I would talk to Kass and see which one BOTH of you could live w/o (pedi or mani) and skip those, tip for the others, and then go get yourselves a treat and walk through Lithia Park aftwards. 😉

    I always tip quite a bit when I get my hair done. For one, I ADORE my hair lady and have gone to her for three years and she is more a good friend than hair lady at this point. I love love love her. I feel like you tip depending on the quality of service. NOT what a standard tip rate is. I tip $10 on average, $20 if it’s a big appt with the whole nine yards. But again, I’m in love with her. hahaha! 😉 heehee I tell her that all the time. Also, I just don’t go get my hair done if I can’t tip her accordingly.

    You guys are going to have so much fun!! It’s so nice to go get pampered. 😀 But I would do what I suggested above, both of you skip out on one and then get a treat afterwards.

    Have fun! Let us know how it goes!! 😀 WITH pics! 😉

  9. March 18, 2008 10:48 am

    BTW, I’m with Kate…I’d keep the pedi’s and forego the mani’s. You nails will chip faster than your toes and flip flops are wearable again! 😉

  10. March 18, 2008 11:15 am

    YES! PEDI’s ALL THE WAY – especially if they have the massage chairs and light up water. 😉

  11. March 18, 2008 11:33 am

    You guys are funny!

    We will probably give up the mani’s. We could live w/out ANY of it! We’ve gotten by just fine so far. But it would be an insult not to use this gift as it is from my Mother-in-law as a thank you gift to me and for my daughters 14th birthday present. So it would just be rude and insensitive not to use it. She is SOOO excited to be able to do this for us!

  12. March 18, 2008 12:46 pm

    Mandy, I checked out your spa link, of course being a manly man I have any interest in going to a spa, and noticed the following:

    “Shaving If you must shave, do so at least two hours before your scheduled appointment, particularly if you’re a man receiving a facial or a woman receiving any kind of scheduled bodywork.”

    Men do not get facials. 🙂

    Tam, perhaps you should ask “Vinny” if he wants to join you. 🙂

  13. March 18, 2008 12:53 pm

    Oh, men definitely get facials…I had several male clients…many got their eyebrows waxed too! But my all time favorite was when men came in to get their backs waxed! They’d cry like little girls. : )

  14. March 18, 2008 1:00 pm

    Kate, I have heard of men getting facials, but eye brows and backs waxed!

    I am beginning to think Christians may be right, the Apcolypse is coming. 🙂

  15. March 18, 2008 2:09 pm

    15-20% is standard.
    You may just do two of the three services so that there’s enough left over for a tip???

  16. March 18, 2008 2:43 pm

    I called and canceled our manicures. So that will give us a total extra of 60.00. I can’t believe how much money this stuff is.

    It’ll be a fun once in a lifetime event for us 😀

  17. March 18, 2008 3:35 pm

    I would spend it on Kass and just enjoy the time chatting with her. Use the leftover to tip those involved.

  18. March 18, 2008 4:03 pm

    you color your hair???

  19. March 18, 2008 4:17 pm

    Yah, I’m gonna love spending that time with her. I love our one on one moments!

    bad – yes? i color my hair?

  20. March 18, 2008 4:18 pm

    Bad- don’t you color your hair? I thought everyone did! 😉

  21. March 18, 2008 4:43 pm

    I’m surprised. That’s all.

  22. March 18, 2008 5:04 pm

    Tam- so what do you have planned for your hair at the salon? are you going to surprise us?? 😉 Scott just colored my hair and Trinas on Sunday afternoon..hahaha he likes to do it..and we like to sit. 🙂

  23. kotaincahoots permalink
    March 18, 2008 5:15 pm

    I would go for the pedicure. Not that i would even have a pedicure. but… bye!

  24. March 18, 2008 5:29 pm

    Kota, Derek would never let anyone touch his feet.hahaha would you? are you ticklish? mmmmm wondering minds and all!

    BTW-I have no interest in either boys feet not at your age 😉 j/k

  25. helloworldbea permalink
    March 18, 2008 5:29 pm

    that’s actually a good point you raise.I haven’t even thought of that aspect. Hmmm, maybe cancel the manicure and use that for the tip. Out of all the services, that’s the 1 you can readily give up right? 🙂

  26. March 18, 2008 5:30 pm

    Aww what a fun gift! Yeah I don’t know what the tips would add up to but cancelling the manis seems like a good idea. ENJOY, girls!! 🙂

  27. March 18, 2008 5:30 pm

    If I had hair – I wouldn’t color it.

    I guess I just have hair envy.

  28. kotaincahoots permalink
    March 18, 2008 5:35 pm

    does it involve soap, Darla

  29. March 18, 2008 5:39 pm

    Bad – I have super, super ashy dark brown hair naturally…with a little “aging” in it – ugh – so YES, I am ALL about the coloring.

    Feria – Rich Mahogany. 8 bucks. every 4 or 5 weeks. in my bathroom.

  30. March 18, 2008 5:43 pm

    Tam you crack me up 🙂 I don’t do much on the spa treatment stuff either. I had my nails done for my wedding and once after. I’ve never had a pedicure and get my hair cut at the beauty school all to save $$ My daughter donated 12″ of her hair this time last year (what does that have to do with anything – I have no idea it just popped into my head and onto the keyboard…). I’ll stop now…

  31. March 18, 2008 5:44 pm

    Tam our hair must be close to the same color. Everyone tells me its black but its dark brown. If I’m in the sun a lot I will get red highlights – I don’t think black hair does that???

  32. March 18, 2008 5:51 pm

    Yup, that’s it. A dark bunch of…. what color IS that???

    My hair has a personality all its own now 😀

  33. March 18, 2008 5:52 pm

    I have thought about coloring my hair – all three of them. Maybe a different color for each one – “Rich Mahogany”? Sounds like a color for a Ukulele! Ed, maybe you and I could share color bottles.

  34. March 18, 2008 5:54 pm

    Kota- soap Oh….MY….GOSH!!! at your age and you know about that???!!!!! it could include soap…

    I use Feria too! R68 three times the red!! yay my hair is dark and when the light hits it the red screams!!! I miss my natural red highlights in my dark hair…now it would dark hair with gray highlights…sorry just not ready for that, and I am sure God will wake me up and tellme when I have to stop…oh please Lord don’t wake me up 😉

  35. March 18, 2008 5:54 pm

    Papa you crack me up!

  36. March 18, 2008 6:06 pm

    So, use the extra money to go out to lunch…and I know for a fact they have little yellow tip envelopes there at the counter. You don’t even have to put who its from, it can be anonymous as you want. So stick like $5 a piece in there and call it good. I’ve been at both ends before. The giver and reciever. Have lots of fun !!!

  37. March 18, 2008 7:04 pm

    Sorry Tam – us Aussies don’t have compulsory Tipping over here – we charge what we need to cover ALL costs so there are no litle difficulties like you are seeking help with.

    One of the reasons why sometimes our prices seem so ‘expensive’ compared to the US.

    20%?? whatever happened to a 10% tip regime?? Didn’t that used to be ‘normal’.

    Here’s my two ‘tips’ though – for what little they are worth.

    1. Do the Christian Thing – lay down your gifts to the truly needy – Brent and Kota! then what they tip is their problem! 😉

    2. Drop the feria and use Olive Oil ! Better for your hair and goes further AND cheaper by the ounce! For colour buy a few bottles of food colouring and have fun experimanting!! 🙂

    You hair and budget will thank you for it. 😉

    Oh, and for my best tip – wash out excess oil with shampoo and rinse with diluted plain brown vinegar ( neutralises the soap) then wash out vinegar solution with good old water.

    love ❤

  38. March 18, 2008 7:12 pm

    Oil and Vinegar in my hair? Should I wrap it with lettuce too 😉

  39. March 18, 2008 7:55 pm

    Loved your Blog and all the remarks!
    Too FUNNY!
    Here’s an idea–you can always tell everyone who works on you that the trip to the Spa was a GIFT…..then maybe they won’t expect TIPS??
    OR..perhaps one might think the TIPS were already included in the prices?
    OK, now I don’t want emails from every salon and spa expert in the country to tell me I am a CHEAPO–soooooo
    I think 15%-would be fair to give if you are delighted with the services.
    I hope God provides this additional provision for your budget and will pray for you. Enjoy your day of pampering!
    Blessings,
    ~Lisa

  40. March 18, 2008 8:03 pm

    Make sure it’s a good ‘head’ of lettuce! 😉

    Enjoy your ‘Salad days’ heheheheheeee

    ( I WAS being serious with the hair ‘tips btw – try it!)

    love<3

  41. March 19, 2008 4:33 am

    I’ve never understood tipping. They’re getting paid aren’t they?

  42. March 19, 2008 7:35 am

    yes, Hov…I agree. It has always confused me too!

    I’ve been out of touch with you lately Hov, have you written that article yet that you were asked to participate in?

  43. March 19, 2008 7:47 am

    Err…maybe. Do you mean the regular thing on otmatheist.com that I’ve been up to for a few weeks? You’re welcome to pop over and leave comments or rude pictures or whatnot at any time. You know that you’re always welcome.

  44. March 19, 2008 8:01 am

    Yes! that’s it! I’ll pop over today. Hope you’re doing well. I went over last night and laughed at your pi post 😆

  45. March 19, 2008 8:25 am

    I’m glad I keep you amused. You might want to laugh at my chocolate post today as well. 😉

  46. March 19, 2008 10:01 am

    I believe it is always a good idea to leave a tip…it shows appreciation. Plus, I think it’s a good witness to be generous.

    You leave the tip when you pay for the service(s). So if you are paying for all the services at once (which is typical at a spa), just add a tip in there and they will split it up for you unless you specify who you would like to give the tip to. Or you can just leave the tip at the person’s station if you want a specific amount to go to a specific person.

  47. March 19, 2008 12:16 pm

    Hi Tam,

    I read an email story once – not sure if its true, but I liked it…

    http://id.mind.net/~dnol/icecream.html

  48. March 19, 2008 3:58 pm

    Okay if I lived in Oregon I would so be knocking on your door for a hair cut. Your hair always looks fantastic in your video clips. You’ve got skills!!

    This is a great discussion. My husband ran into a sandwich shop the other day to pick up an order for us after church. While standing in line, he over heard a waitress say, “oh no here comes the church bunch, they’re horrible tippers”. Broke my heart.

    I usually do at least 15% on the total bill and then they can split it up if it was multiple services.

  49. March 19, 2008 9:57 pm

    thanks Meg! Well then, it must look better on camera…trust me 😯 But Kass and i will post pics of our hair and feet…ooo-yippee everyone!!! 😆

    I’ve heard that said many times too that we are horrible tippers. truth is…most of us are in ministry and cant afford to tip…at least that’s our story 😀

    I think I’ll tip 15% tomorrow – but only if we’re pleased with the services. I think that’ll be fair. It’s our first time there and likely our last.

  50. March 19, 2008 10:48 pm

    Don’t forget to have fun doing each other’s nails 🙂 ( you cancelled the manicures, right?)

    Would not want the in-law’s feeling ‘guilty’ for not including enough to cover the tips in your present!

    It was a nice and generous thought – would not want something so easily forgotten to do anything to make it less than it was meant to be – a Joy for all)

    Make sure your manicure’s look professional now! 😉 How about lashing out on some of those nail transfers you can buy to make them look ‘extra-special’?? Check with the salon if they have any first though in case M-I-L likes yours and asks for them next time she goes! ( I try to think of everything! lol)

    love ❤

  51. March 19, 2008 11:02 pm

    Love, you’re good! but I’m better. I had already thought of that. 😆 tee-hee!

    Kass and I are doing our nails tomorrow morning. I agree, I really don’t want M-I-L to feel bad. I’m afraid she would and she really has no reason to at all. She is such a sweety! So generous to gift us with this!

    Thanks for your ideas…and YOU DO think of everything 😉

  52. March 20, 2008 5:46 am

    I’m VERY Good…

    But you’re ‘PERFECT’ – don’t forget now! (#7) 🙂

    Am sure you and Kass will have a wonderful day! Do we get a before/after photo? Video??

    ( I wonder if i would be able to correctly pick which was which? You just look so darned beautiful all the time it seems? and it runs in the family – wellll, on Mom’s side at least heheheheh 😉 )

  53. March 20, 2008 7:39 am

    it would be funny to do before shots of our feet. I mean, it would be scary to do before shots of our feet. But we just might have to

    😯

  54. March 20, 2008 8:47 am

    hahahahaha before and after pics of your feet! we are getting to know you very well!!

    where is everyone today??? I am guessing I need to have my break changed so that it works with everyone elses! 😯 do you think the bus company and the school district would understand?? I think they will be hard to get along with on this… 😆

  55. March 20, 2008 8:50 am

    Love- smoooooooooth! 😆

  56. March 20, 2008 12:57 pm

    Tam, If the owner is doing any of the services,you do not need to tip for that particular service.

    Rule of thumb, for Kass services I would not tip the full 18%.

    Hope you get to enjoy your day with your girl!

    xoxoxo
    Ivy

  57. TheNorEaster permalink
    March 20, 2008 3:28 pm

    Umm…Well, I got my haircut today. And, uh, I think I gave her an $8 tip for a $22 haircut. I do that because it’s easier to remember how much I spent, not because I’m actually nice. Heh.

    By the way, I’m the one who did the search for “So just how weird is this woman?”

    Nothing came back, though. (I did mean it in a good way, just so you know.)

    Hey, how did I end up here anyway…?

Leave a Reply

