Skip to content

Clogged Piping

March 25, 2008

No Mandy. I’m not going there!

A friend of mine and I were talking this week about how God moves. How amazing things can be done through willing vessels.

I hear often of people wanting to be a conduit for God. “God, work through me” they pray. “I want to be a conduit for You to work through.

But honestly, sometimes, my conduit is chalk full of stuff. Unnecessary stuff.

discouragment

inferiority issues

pride

priority problems

selfishness

worry

anger

ego

All of these, and more, build up and clog my pipe. His Holy Line. A pathway in which He can work.

I have muffled up so many things in my life. When my eyes are focused on me instead of HIM and others, the line starts to acquire build-up. Build-up of the flesh.

Less of me and more of you Lord, I pray.

Are you clogged?

How do you unclog?

26 Comments leave one →
  1. March 25, 2008 2:19 pm

    My pipe is clogged for sure! Too much stuff I have put in my pipe. Mama is my plumber and helps clean out the pipes. I think she is a sub contracted plumber from “Jesus Plumbing Associates”!

  2. justlovehim permalink
    March 25, 2008 2:23 pm

    Hmmm…I go through this from time to time. When I’m “clogged” with too many commitments and responsibilities, I tend to put ME first and God second or sometimes even further down the line. The most recent time I felt clogged, I got real with God and myself and prioritized my commitments. I prayed to discover the things God wanted me to do for him, for my family, for others, and for myself. Then I weeded out the unnecessary things, and moved on. It was pretty painless. But it’s an ongoing process…

  3. March 25, 2008 2:59 pm

    Do I get spiritually clogged? yes
    How do I get unclogged? By falling on my knees and agreeing with God that everything is about HIM and not about me, repenting in falling inot the same familiarity instead of asking HIM to show me something new, or just plain taking him for granted…

    is that too much information???

  4. TheNorEaster permalink
    March 25, 2008 3:23 pm

    Lately, I have been trying to address this very subject. Because I am clogged. And there are a lot of people who are keeping me clogged. I don’t know how to get unclogged…

    …Hey, Tam. I’m actually clogged because of something you had once said that you went through. And since I’m clogged, would it be okay if I send you an e-mail so we can discuss this…well, a little more privately.

    It’s a touchy subject with me. And I don’t want to broadcast it on a blog. Just thought I’d ask.

  5. March 25, 2008 3:44 pm

    discouragment

    inferiority issues

    pride

    priority problems

    selfishness

    worry

    anger

    ego

    Hey, get outta my head 😯

  6. March 25, 2008 4:41 pm

    The last few years I worked my head was so clogged I thought it would explode. At 50 I could be lay-ed off at anytime. The labor market for 50 year old people is not a good one. No job, no money to pay the mortgage, no condo. No pension. No health insurance.

    What choice do we have but to put one foot in front of the other. Stop thinking and start doing. Do the next job on our list. Make it through the next hour, the next day. No magical answer.

    Faith will help, whatever the source of your faith is. The more faith you have the easier it will be to get through whatever is troubling you, distracting you, clogging your brain.

    Papa has Mama. You have Brent and your kids. You have the bible. Use what you have to unclog that brain.

    Of course in my case I have sometimes have been accused of not having a brain to begin with so maybe the job is easier for me. 🙂

  7. March 25, 2008 5:24 pm

    Wow. This is really good. I’m not sure I’ve thought of it this way. What a good way to pray…”Lord, unclog my pipes so I can do Your work and not be in the way.” (Sometimes I wonder what God thinks about my prayers! I love the simple ones, like “God, DO SOMETHING!”

  8. Mostly Sunny permalink
    March 25, 2008 6:36 pm

    Too bad you can’t buy Spiritual Fiber in a bottle. I always find, and I do mean always, that when I get too full of myself… pity, ego, anger, and all that other ugliness, God always gets me out of it, and it’s usually easier when I come asking first. If I don’t, He sets me straight and I find it’s a tougher lesson to learn. So be of good cheer, and keep askin’.

  9. March 25, 2008 7:43 pm

    More later, but I’m reading a neat book that makes me think about the issues you brought up its by the Blackaby’s and I can’t remember the exact name at the moment, but its on my reading list at http://www.robinsreadingroom.blogspot.com – its about the Gifts of the Spirit. Very interesting read.

  10. March 25, 2008 7:52 pm

    I drench myself in His word and pray. Sometimes I feel so clogged that nothing feels like it can get through, but when I purpose to extract myself from “life” to spend time with Him then things get a flowin’.

  11. March 25, 2008 8:11 pm

    Don’t want to get too ‘Deep’ here and turn people off, but there is something EXTREMELY important we need to realise and it seems from what people often write it is not very clear…

    The ‘list’ Tam and Praise highlighted is but a VERY short version of our EGO! ( Ego ‘contains’ all those ‘aspects’ within each and every one of us – that is what i mean whenever i use that three letter word – Ego)

    It is important to note that it is MORE than just ‘words/definitions’. Each one has a mental, emotional and physical component and all are based around ( intimately linked with) a tiny part of our own spirit.

    The problem is – each aspect of ego has MANY interconnections across more than just one area of our levels of understanding and our actual being.

    Just using ‘positive thinking’ ( the mental aspect alone) cannot in itself be enough to overcome the emotional and physical components of our ego’s. it is those physical and emotional parts that stay ‘alive’ within us even while we try to remove the negative mental parts of each ego that pulls us away from His Word – away from us following His way and going our ( ego’s ) way.

    Like i said – i don’t want to get TOO deep! lol 😆

    But if you, like me, find yourself getting clogged and then unclogged for a second then clogged again, and again, and again… it’s because you are not seeing the ‘depth’ of the problem!

    Faith is a (vital) component of our becoming ‘unclogged’ – it requires a lot more of us than most ever actually realise or attempt to bring into our being, though.

    This could and probably should have a LOT more ‘discussion’.

    So glad you brought the subject up Tam – sorry bout the ‘lecture’ 🙂

    love <B

  12. March 25, 2008 10:50 pm

    dang.

  13. March 26, 2008 5:14 am

    spiritual constipation sucks.

  14. March 26, 2008 6:11 am

    I WILL LAUGH AT THIS FOR DAYS – nay WEEKS – NO!

    YEARS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    i saw the title in my feed reader and thought “my gosh – she’s gonna POST about THIS?!?”

    then. first line. i’m deadonthefloorlaughing

  15. Deborah permalink
    March 26, 2008 6:50 am

    ahhhhh clogging….fun dance!!! Kidding 🙂

    Yes, I think everyone experiences a clog now and then….more of Him, less of me. I know it’s get by myself with Him time so He can use that Heavenly plunger on me….swoosh!
    Then it’s time to let it go and keep on keepin’ on…..

  16. March 26, 2008 8:24 am

    How do I unclog?

    On my face before God, digging into the Word. Asking HIm to reveal the “clog” – and then to explain it or dig deeper into the why of the “clog” to understand the where and how. (This relates to what Love said). Although I don’t believe everything is this complex. Sometimes it’s just the tip of the arrow, we don’t let it penetrate before we run to God. Once I understand, I must let God replace it with His truth.
    Make sense?

  17. March 26, 2008 8:39 am

    I’m clogged.

    I take a dump.
    It stinks and it’s messy – but that pressure building up inside me is no good for anyone (myself and those close to me). Make sure you use lots of tissue afterwards.

  18. Samantha permalink
    March 26, 2008 9:43 am

    Amen. I know all about being clogged. I guess it is good that we have an ultimate Plumber.

  19. March 26, 2008 11:48 am

    Wow.

    Less of me, more of You.

    That is how we get unclogged. I can’t wait to use that.

  20. March 26, 2008 1:09 pm

    The Ultimate Plumber…..ahahahahahahahahahahahaaaaaaa! 😆

    Good one Samantha!!

    Wonderful Counselor, Ultimate Plumber….. hahaha! heehee 😀

  21. March 26, 2008 1:19 pm

    i’ve returned to say that i still can’t believe you did that…… still cracking me up!

  22. March 26, 2008 2:43 pm

    I feel mostly clogged when I’m not well – you’ve been through a huge weekend and are trying to recupe. Sometimes we just need to turn all the questions off and sleep. I cocoon myself under blankets and pillows and ask for good sleep so I can feel better and think straight when I wake. Then I might have the energy to open my Bible and commune for a time – then back to sleep.

    Rest, Tam, your body needs it. I’m praying for you.

  23. Lori permalink
    March 27, 2008 9:58 am

    I’ve had a major clog for some time, but you know, the water from River of Life cleans the crud from our pipes, and we don’t need anything from the world to help it along! He is all sufficient!

  24. March 27, 2008 10:00 am

    AMEN!!!!

  25. March 27, 2008 6:28 pm

    Hmm. I have SO been battling some of these conduit cloggers this week! Thanks so much for this; gets me back in the right perspective!

Leave a Reply

