Skip to content

Randomness

March 31, 2008

We have a birds nest in our attic. There may possibly be 852 birds nest up there. It sounds like thousands of little chirpers up there at random times throughout the day! It’s making Duke, the poo-Flingin’ Yorkie, go more insane!

Funny too that we just moved from 2 acres on the outskirts of town and didn’t really deal much with wildlife. Now we have tweets in our attic and occasionally wake up to Ducks swimming in our pool. IN THE CITY PEOPLE!!!

I cut the crust off all my sandwiches. I really don’t like crust. Life is too short to eat something I don’t enjoy AND it saves me extra calories and carbs. I encourage all you all to ax the crust…Guilt Free!

Last week when I was sick I got a burst of energy one night and decided to wash my bed linens. So I stripped the sheets, put them in the wash, got totally wiped out by that, went back to my bed to rest. 10 minutes into rest child #1 enters, “Mom? You really should rest for at least an hour, k?” Sure honey, I’ll start over…starting now! 15 minutes later child #2 enters…”Mom! Did you know that (insert random sports fact here)” No dear, I’ll be sure to dream about that when I get BACK to sleep. Shortly after, child #3 (hubs) enters, “TAM!!! You’re suppose to be resting!” Uuuhhhhh… “You took the sheets off the bed! – REST!” Uuuhhhh,Okay???

I LOVE my man! You all KNOW that! But sometimes. Sometimes. Sometimes, he is SO embarrassing! Our family went out yesterday afternoon, it was my first outing all week, and Vinny morphed into the public nuisance we’ve all grown to tolerate. Actually it started out fairly normal. Minimal disturbances. A few bodily noises and funny faces. Then he got a package in his hands. A bag with a shoe box in it. Shoe box was his Ammo and his son was his Target! All the way out of the Mall he swung that package around like a lasso aiming for Kota as Kota ran, ducked and rolled and screamed like a 2 yr old girl! My pace sped up rapidly as I high tailed for the Exit….Kass closely behind. Enter, Parking Lot. Open range. Lord help us all! In between Nike Box Assaults on his only son, Vinny thinks now would be a good time to sashe to our car like a woman! Making sure to use the entire aisle in between parked cars, he worked his imaginary runway! Still swinging his bag and box around being sure NOT to draw any attention to himself! You all have NO idea what it’s like!

When I think of “Pygmy Goats” it just doesn’t sound or seem right. Oxymoron perhaps? Kinda like “Almost Suddenly” and “Adult Male”.

That’s all I’ve got for now. Brain is still a bit numb from being sick. Thanks for all you well wishes and prayers friends. you rock!

One more thing…A good friend of mine asked me not too long ago if I would be interested in being a co-contributing author on a new blog she has created. Totally shocked and humbled, I accept! I will be sharing this adventure with two amazing women and am looking forward to seeing what unfolds in this new journey. You wanta know more go here. The official kick off is tomorrow, April 1st. Would love to see you there!

33 Comments leave one →
  1. March 31, 2008 9:32 am

    am i the only one that finds it so ironic that your pups name is Duke?
    & i thought about the whole scene earlier today & LAUGHED AGAIN!

  2. March 31, 2008 9:57 am

    haha…when you lived in the outskirts there were probably a heck of a lot more trees, bushes, muddy embankments, etc., for the birds to roost. There in the city the birds have no other choice but to take up residence in a nice warm attic. We live in the middle of a large city too and can’t keep the raccoons out of the trash. That’s OK. We like it.

  3. March 31, 2008 9:59 am

    Those birds? I hope they find your pillow case! Poor Vinny! That is documented spouse abuse!

  4. March 31, 2008 10:23 am

    I love your random posts.

    – it cracks me up that you are now being distracted by Actual Tweets. I thought the virtual ones were bad enough…
    – you know those magnetic cabinet door locks used for childproofing the kitchen? you need one of those on your bedroom door. And you should have the only magnet key.
    – YOUR HUSBAND AND MINE MUST NEVER MEET. NEVER EVER EVER. πŸ™‚
    – looking forward to realitychicks

    Hope your energy comes back this week.

  5. Judy Westcott permalink
    March 31, 2008 10:36 am

    Now you know when hubby is acting up it is funny. You could have been stuck with a stuffed shirt, think how borring. I enjoy your blog.

    Love You

  6. March 31, 2008 10:46 am

    adult male ~ 😐
    aaahhhhhahahahhahahhahahahahah!!

  7. March 31, 2008 10:57 am

    yeah I am with Krislinatin up there…ADULT MALE….hahahahahahaaa!!!

    Okay and that story about B…..that is just…..awful. Purely awful. You are more gracious than me….I would have been doing a lot of yelling. πŸ˜† But then again, I am married to a mute who hates calling attention to himself. πŸ˜‰

  8. March 31, 2008 11:25 am

    Tam, you really need to start fighting back with these public outings…like maybe tack on a little facial hair right before entering a store…or even forget the beano for a couple of days!!! There are ways….. πŸ˜† I’m sure people here could help you think some things…… πŸ™‚

  9. March 31, 2008 1:41 pm

    Thanks for the plug girlfriend!

  10. justlovehim permalink
    March 31, 2008 1:55 pm

    The new website looks like it should be pretty fun.

  11. March 31, 2008 2:40 pm

    You should find nothing to be embarrassed about Brent’s (Vinnie’s?) behavior. God designated husbands and fathers to be the entertainment of the family. If only you gals would give it a try….

    I went to your website. Very nice but…ah…unless they really are putting female hormones in the water supply I probably won’t be visiting too often. Oh…I’m getting all verklempt – discuss-discuss.

  12. March 31, 2008 2:48 pm

    C – I know it’s pretty girly – but I’d like to see my guy friends over there asking us some good questions. So have at it! Pick on me over there if you want πŸ˜‰

    JLH – Thanks! I’m looking forward to it!

    Vinny is mellow today….aaahhhhh….

  13. TheNorEaster permalink
    March 31, 2008 3:14 pm

    “I’d like to see my guy friends over there asking us some good questions. So have at it!”

    Oh, that is like giving me a bound book with blank pages!

  14. March 31, 2008 3:26 pm

    oh-oh

    😯

  15. March 31, 2008 4:38 pm

    I do so love your random posts.
    And my man can get embarrassing sometimes, too. I feel ya on that.

  16. March 31, 2008 5:44 pm

    Hey…love the random thoughts posts, always makes me laugh. I just found my way to your blog…sorry to hear you are so sick!

  17. March 31, 2008 7:03 pm

    Tam! You are a VERY bright spot in what may be someone’s otherwise dull day – that vision of Vinny was PRICELESS (i’m still grinning a mile wide) and i hope when i grow up i can marry a man just like him! πŸ˜‰

    Have to go with some of the girls on this – Adult Male – oxymoron??

    As for your ‘three’ wonderfu Kids (and i do so realise you were ILL and tired when ‘they ‘ struck…)

    Bear in Mind always the words of the Great Joni Mitchell:
    “Don’t it always seem to go that you don’t know what you’ve got till it’s gone…? (They paved paradise – and put up a parkin’ lot. Dooooo-wa-wa-wa-wa))

    I so loved this Random and was thinking as i read it – “You really should be writing for a column in a major women’s magazine and making squillions!”

    love <B

  18. March 31, 2008 7:06 pm

    lol! Your randomness cracks me up!! I love my man too… but can so relate to this post!

  19. March 31, 2008 7:15 pm

    Deb, didn’t you say “fight back”? Everything you said is everything I’ve always tried to get her to do πŸ™‚

    Christian…Amen!

    Brandy, the louder you’d yell…the worse I’d get πŸ™‚

  20. March 31, 2008 7:45 pm

    Tam, why are you upset that your husband is having so much fun with the kids? I think you women are just envious that use guys have not lose our inner child. πŸ™‚ Just because you girls can’t win a farting contest doesn’t mean us guys should neglected this much overlooked talent.

    I also see you have discovered the fact that there is far more animal life in a city than in the country. Have the raccoons discovered your garbage yet. There is also nothing like the sound of two cats fighting at 4 o’clock in the morning.

    I hope you are feeling much better, but try and remember that it is Brent’s duty to pass on to his son his ability to make noise from every orifice of his body. You women just want to stop us guys from having any real fun. πŸ™‚

  21. March 31, 2008 7:49 pm

    Love it!! Can’t wait to read the new blog tomorrow! Way cool.

  22. March 31, 2008 8:11 pm

    wow – and I thought there was insanity in our household sometimes!? Sounds all-too-familiar!

    FM

  23. March 31, 2008 9:40 pm

    I’m more comfy in my randomness. It comes so natural. Is that even a good thing?

    FM – good to see you! I added you on my AIM acct. So let’s chat sometime πŸ™‚

    Love, Ed…Back Off. I say that with love – of course! I have a confession (shhhh, don’t tell anyone. I can ham it up with the best of any of you men out there πŸ˜€ )

  24. March 31, 2008 9:45 pm

    Skyler – Hi friend! Praying for you…

    Hey everyone. I’m so sad to say that Skyler lost a friend tonight. She, Kelly, leaves behind a husband and 3 children, 18, 16 and 12. She lost her battle with Cystic Fibrosis.

    Please, Please keep this family in your prayers!

  25. April 1, 2008 6:16 am

    Ed, I could SO win a farting contest.
    Tam, thank you for pointing out the crust issue. I’ve been thinking that for years. Who cares if you eat the crust? Too many carbs for too little reasons.
    And even though I too would be appalled at the child lassoing, I would probably die laughing at the whole scene–as long as I was watching someone else’s family doing it!!

  26. April 1, 2008 9:18 am

    While it is true that most men have the maturity of a middle-schooler, I prefer to view this as a cup-half-full: Men reach their maturity peak early, often by middle-school age.

    And I didn’t know Oregon had cities.

    When did this happen?

  27. April 1, 2008 2:50 pm

    Hey do you think we could take my family with yours to the mall, and the guys can make disgusting noises, and the kids could run from them while they try to hit them with bags, and you and I could ditch them all and go for coffee??? This way everyone is happy!

  28. April 1, 2008 2:54 pm

    HAHA!!! How about this…they can go to the mall here and you, me and Debs will go far, far away to another land? Where it is much safer!

  29. April 1, 2008 2:58 pm

    hahaha I love it already..I am quite the adventerous type!! okay where ya wanna fly off too…

  30. April 1, 2008 3:14 pm

    fixed the font problem I think 😐

  31. April 1, 2008 3:52 pm

    no I was very sweet on the phone call. πŸ™‚ how’s the book coming?

  32. kotaincahoots permalink
    April 1, 2008 7:56 pm

    actually my random “sports fact” was that stephen curry point guard for the davidson wildcats scored 103 points in 3 games of the ncaa tournament

Trackbacks

  1. 15 Ways To Keep A Healthy Level of Insanity « Joni Ruhs-Observations and Testimony

Leave a Reply

