Skip to content

My Vice – My Sustenance

April 1, 2008

Coffee.

I have want to have it daily.

My day seems empty without it.

AND…I drink decaf! What’s up with that?

So that’s my vise.

My sustenance?

God

One of my favorite verses? On my sidebar…Romans 12:3 “…Don’t think you are better than you really are. Be honest in your evaluation of yourselves, measuring yourselves by the faith God has given us.”

Another? Mark 9:24 “…I do believe, but help me overcome my unbelief!”

So…

What is your daily vise?

What is your sustenance? 

29 Comments leave one →
  1. April 1, 2008 10:42 pm

    Tam Tam Tam….. 😉

    Okay I hate to say it for fear of the wrath of Love 😉 but Diet Pepsi makes all things right with me. Seriously. I don’t have it everyday, but on *THOSE* days when I am at my wits end and totally on edge…..Jake makes a mad dash for the nearest store and brings me home a laaaaarge diet pepsi. 😀
    Does medication count as a vice? B/c I have that too and that my friend is a neccessity! 😯 😆 haha!

    My sustenance, aside from the obvious (My faith, My God, My love and faith in God) it would be my fam. Jake and the boys. Things are always a little “off” if we are not all together, or not spending good time together. I miss Jake terribly when he is gone and if the boys are gone I miss them terribly. I love when my family is together. It’s just right. 😀

  2. April 1, 2008 10:43 pm

    I forgot to add, within about 30 minutes of sucking down said diet pepsi, I am completely calm and have a smile on my face. Jake laughs at this b/c really, it works. 😉

    Is that some would call an addiction? 😯 😆

  3. April 1, 2008 10:44 pm

    WHAT some.
    WHAT some!

    must….go….to….bed……

  4. April 1, 2008 10:54 pm

    ooooooooo

    Love is gonna get you for this one Bran

    😯

  5. April 2, 2008 12:20 am

    I am beginning to suspect my loving comments made to Brent and his ‘desirable’ food choices are gaining me a ‘reputation’??? 😯

    If Bran has somehow got her wires crossed so that she now associates a man-made concoction of poly-syllabic manufactured poisons chemicals with her smiling, de-stressed self thats entirely HER business and it’s not my place to comment (i’ll do that over on HER blog!! 😉 )

    Vice (spoiled for choice!) – let’s sayyyyy… sitting ‘vegetating’ in front of TV.

    Sustenance – Heavenly: Christ; Earthly: Chocolate! (in small doses though mostly!)

    Tam – Coffee?? tut-tut-tut! 🙂

    It’s a habit – have you always had decaf or ‘weaned’ yourself down to this level? Caffeine is an addictive stimulant – once it hooks you, you get withdrawal symptoms if your levels drop too low.

    Habits are difficult to break but easier to ‘replace’. I recommend replacing coffee in the morning with a piece of fresh fruit – the glucose and fructose gives our body energy – a boost!

    love <B

  6. April 2, 2008 3:55 am

    vice = daily internet fed intravenously

    sustenance = daily bible reading plan

  7. April 2, 2008 4:44 am

    vice = chocolate or internet
    sustenance = God’s will in my life, whatever direction that takes me.

  8. TheNorEaster permalink
    April 2, 2008 5:08 am

    Vice: Single Malt Doublewood Balvenie Aged 12 Years. After the events of “A Dark & Stormy Night”–which has her picture now, by the way–it was a year and a half before I had a decent sleep. I am not kidding. Scotch changed that. One dram before bed and I can sleep for the seven or eight hours I need to fully rejuvenate. Before, I could only manage three or four hours at a time. If that.

    Sustenance: …my dog Sam.

  9. April 2, 2008 6:24 am

    my sustenance is definitely GOD’s hand, He holds me in the palm of HIS hand, and nothing can take me out of it! 🙂

    vise- chocolate (oreos/dark chocolate), coffee, computer (sorry could think of three things other than my Bible that no one is allowed to take without a hissy fit…aww man! now I said it, Pray that God don’t take them..I am being good!)

  10. April 2, 2008 7:59 am

    Vice: Chocolate & Internet

    Sustenence: Chocolate – Hey, I didn’t say was perfect!

  11. April 2, 2008 9:13 am

    Vice: Coffee WITH caffeine (please don’t lecture me, Love, I’ve heard it all before) – used to be Oolong tea but it became much too expensive to maintain.

    Sustenance: The Word of God planted in my heart and mind. Sounds pious, I know, but it truly gets me through the day – not that I read it everyday – but He does keep bringing it to mind…love that! And for the not-so-pious answer–Zoloft. I’ve tried life without it, and nobody likes me, not even my dog! 😉

  12. April 2, 2008 9:53 am

    Dang, I like Noreaster’s vice 🙂

    Vice:Technology!

    Sustenance:Prayer and focus on Christ. His passion’s, His desired for me. My desire to truly want to please Him!

  13. April 2, 2008 11:56 am

    Vice: internet. Gotta keep in touch with family and friends.

    sus: prayer. Foshizle.

  14. April 2, 2008 1:14 pm

    My daily vise? How to pick one? Watching baseball on TV. Eating potatoes chips while watching baseball on TV. Donuts, my car insist on making that right hand turn into the Dunkin Donuts, bad car, bad car! According to my nutrionist I am allowed to eat one donut a week and about 10 chips, yea right!

    What sustenances me? Another long list. To pick one, my growing community of blogging buddies from around the world affirms my faith that the earth is becoming one global village.

  15. April 2, 2008 1:46 pm

    I’d have to say my vice is the internet daily and the gym 6 days a week.

    My sustenance is in God. My time on cardio machines is usually spent reading uplifting books that draw me closer to God or Christian fiction or meditating on Scripture. People ask me how I can read on the treadmill – its a gift – haha 🙂 I can only read at speeds up to 5 mph and then if I go faster, I pray.

    When I first joined the gym I allowed my mind to be filled with the trash from talk shows or the goofy magazines they have at the gym, but God convicted me to use that time to fill up with HIM. I do occasionally look up at the TV’s though – I don’t watch them much though.

  16. kotaincahoots permalink
    April 2, 2008 2:23 pm

    i dont know what my sustenance is but my vise is the love of my life cassidy layton

  17. April 2, 2008 3:58 pm

    OH NO! 😯

    He has a love of his life????????

    This is NOT. GOOD. 😯

    😆 😆 😆 😆

  18. April 2, 2008 4:59 pm

    My vice? I got too many! Diet Coke, Coffee, Choco cookies,,,,,,,,,

    Do I consume daily? Sorry to say yes….

    Sustenance: My bible, His holy word, worship music, & my family!
    xoxoxo

  19. April 2, 2008 5:05 pm

    Vice: Carbs

    Sustenance: My Heavenly Daddy!

  20. April 2, 2008 8:10 pm

    Cassidy Layton? – is that a brand of Coffee??? 😯

    WHAT?? Me?? Lecture?? whatever are you people ON?? – oh yeah – drugs! 😉

    Love is the Drug for me. 🙂

    love <B

  21. April 2, 2008 8:30 pm

    Love, you ARE a drug.

    😉

    Morning there friend!

    Come on now…share your vise and sustenance

  22. April 2, 2008 8:48 pm

    Thank you #7 🙂

    Did! – see #5

    love you more 😛

    love <B

  23. April 2, 2008 10:34 pm

    I too enjoy a good cup of coffee. Some days I enjoy more of it than others.

    My prayer life sustains me. I really don’t know what I would do if I couldn’t talk with God anytime and anywhere.

  24. Lori permalink
    April 3, 2008 5:13 am

    What is your daily vise?
    Hugs from my daughter.

    What is your sustenance?
    My hope that I can..or rather, will heal.

  25. April 3, 2008 7:04 am

    Vice: At first I thought REAL coffee (btw Love, one can easily avoid withdrawal symptoms by not … withdrawaling — I am no quitter.)
    However, my REAL VICE is computers (like B’s Technology) … Now in that dept I’ve suffered withdrawal symptoms on low tech days.

    Sustenance: Him and all His ambassadors, not the least of whom is my bride. (who sometimes wonders if she shouldn’t tattoo a computer company logo onto her forehead… confirming my vice.)

  26. justlovehim permalink
    April 3, 2008 8:48 am

    Mmmm…I have a nice big Dutch Bros Skinny Iced Milky Way sitting right here keeping me company. :0)

  27. April 3, 2008 10:17 pm

    Ric – Withdrawaling?? I think you may be OD’ing a little there maybe? 😉

    As for the other vice ( and the Virtue) – as a fellow withdrawaling sufferer we may have more in common that you suspected, my Friend 🙂

    love <B

  28. April 4, 2008 3:09 am

    Poets can make up words. Its part of the creed. 😉

    (And you misspelled ODD’ing… just saying…)

  29. April 6, 2008 6:10 am

    I found your blog via the Daily Blessing’s blog. I’ve also added you to my blog list.

    Sustenance – my dog’s showing me unconditonal love all the time.

    Vice – Internet, Chocolate, and Caffeine.

Leave a Reply

