Skip to content

Frustation to Rejoicing

April 9, 2008

I had no idea American Idol could stimulate such a wide range of emotions in me.

I knew ahead of time tonight, before the show aired, that I was gonna be frustrated. Thanks to my East Coast Tweets they Twitter play by plays as they watch AI before me…E.V.E.R.Y. week!

thanks guys 😐

Tonights show was Idol Gives Back. A great thing they started last year to raise money for a number of different charities and organizations. Very commendable.

A couple things did rub me wrong though. Like the Celebs asking us, the viewers, to give all we can. Sure! Many will. Probably 50 bucks. Which is A LOT for most people. I hope the same Celebs were willing to give “all they can”. Can you imagine if they really did? Wow! One Celeb could out give my whole town! Hmmm….I wonder…

Then of course there were performances. Performances to honor the poor and dying in Uganda, the families still homeless from the wrath of Katrina and families in Georgia making only 9,000 a year where young children are taking their own lives. Yes, celebs like Snoop Dog and his side kick performed. Then later Mariah Carey blessed us with her pipes. And all of them sporting there Diamond encrusted microphones, 8 pound Gold Medallions around their necks – totaling more than most of our homes and all our possessions.

I was slightly insulted by this.

I read, from one of the Twitter Litters, that Shout To The Lord was performed and they took the word “Jesus” out. And sure enough. They did.

😯

Seriously.

Then the Lord brought a passage to mind where Paul is talking about how some were preaching the Good News with selfish ambition and wrong motives. But then Paul says something that bugs me…in a I SO know he’s right kinda way.

Philippians 1:18 – But that doesn’t matter. Whether their motives are false or genuine, the message about Christ is being preached either way, so I rejoice. And I will continue to rejoice.

They sang a Worship Song on Idol tonight. So they took “Jesus” out of it. They still sang THIS tonight on Idol…

Shout to the Lord all the earth let us sing – Power and Majesty, Praise to the King

Mountains bow down and the seas will roar at the sound of Your name

I sing for joy at the works of Your hand – Forever I’ll love You, forever I’ll stand

Nothing compares to the promise I have in YOU

Whether the intent and motive were pure or not a proclamation of who HE is was displayed tonight for millions to hear. If one life was changed by that moment then I have to agree with Paul…“so I rejoice. And I will continue to rejoice.”

**EDITED TO ADD** Tonights Idol Results show opened up with another Performance by the contestants of Shout To The Lord. Guess what? They brought Jesus back.

56 Comments leave one →
  1. April 10, 2008 1:27 am

    nothing any human can say or do will stop the plan of God, that is my thinking and it helps me to rejoice inspite of what people may do to take HIM out…HE is the creator of all things…its ignorance on mans part that it is even possible to take HIM out. πŸ™‚ so rejoice in the Lord! thats my plan..hahaha

    good thoughts…last week on AI dolly parton say about Jesus, and and told them they have Simon, but she has Jesus! she asked Simon “are you okay?” πŸ˜†

  2. April 10, 2008 3:49 am

    That’s really cool. I can’t believe they sang it. Here’s hoping they sing a few more

  3. April 10, 2008 4:11 am

    Tam: That’s pop culture for us! I agree with you when you say celebrities ask us to give, how about them? For most of them, donations just represent more tax write off!
    I understand that they should not feel “ashamed” to wear what they have i.e. diamonds, etc but at the proper place and time. Not when we are trying direct the world’s focus on poverty. I have a close relative in the “eterntaiment” business and they exclaimed that these folks just show up to have camera time for whatever project they are promoting.
    xoxoxo

  4. TheNorEaster permalink
    April 10, 2008 4:50 am

    What is this “American Idol?”

  5. April 10, 2008 5:16 am

    I’ve noticed over the years how they (Simon, in particular) would say to those who chose Christian songs, “It’s a bit self-serving, don’t you think?” But, noticeably different this year, they’ve been more accepting. I wonder if Carrie Underwood and Mandeesa’s success have anything to do with the change?

    For whatever reason, it’s refreshing.

  6. April 10, 2008 5:17 am

    Hi Tam

    You have alluded to exactly what nauseates me so about the American mob erm I mean public: it’s morbid fascination with celebrity!

    We are a culture that IDOLizes entertainers and sports figures who make more money in a month than most hardworking people will earn in a lifetime. …and these IDOLS will implore us nobody’s to give more of our meager resources to help others as they sport diamonds, gold and Lexus’s!

    Am I supposed to be impressed by “Oprah’s Big Give”? Ooooh! Oprah’s giving away a few million of her multi-billion dollar fortune! Somebody alert the Vatican we need to canonize this woman immediately! They should rename that festival of self-aggrandizement to “Oprah’s Big HEAD”. Spare me!

    I wouldn’t feel too bad about the producers removing the word “Jesus” from a song….plenty of other ‘edits’ are made that don’t make me happy either.

    I against censorship in all its forms!

    It’s gotten to a point where I don’t even watch TV certain nights of the week simply because of how irritated it makes me.

    I’ll record what interests me to my DVR and skip the ads for McDonald’s and ‘Oreo Cake-sters’

    They don’t call it the ‘idiot’ box for nothing!

    R.

  7. April 10, 2008 5:37 am

    you’re a wise woman…..

  8. April 10, 2008 6:19 am

    Lovely post.

    I didn’t get to see it, but I, like you, would probably have been miffed by the double standards on display that are so prevalent in our entertainment obsessed culture.

    They should call Oprah’s show, “The Very Small in Proportion to Overall Net Worth Give” … that’d be more like it, ya’ll.

    =P

  9. April 10, 2008 6:45 am

    I don’t watch AI, so what did they sing in place of “Jesus” in the song? My ______? My ______? Lord there is none like You. What?

  10. April 10, 2008 9:07 am

    I don’t watch AI. I miss out on all the umm… excitement. And Bling. And ahh… giving? Hmmm.

    I’m with Robert here, it is nauseating. I feel a poem coming on…

  11. April 10, 2008 9:08 am

    NO THEY DID NOT TAKE JESUS OUT!?!?!?!
    hubby said they sang it, but he probably didnt notice that.
    maybe those people should have just took off all their bling and set it in a pile for the poor and needy.
    i hate american idol.
    ohhh, did i say that outloud?
    xoxo, kristina

  12. oneDirection permalink
    April 10, 2008 11:21 am

    I thought it was pretty cool to be honest with you! They sound amazing together. I went onto i-tunes and they have the full version of it on there! Jesus included πŸ˜‰ Last week they had a could more songs on there that representing Christ, that was an amazing show!

  13. oneDirection permalink
    April 10, 2008 11:22 am

    jezz I need to read what I write! couple* and represented*

  14. April 10, 2008 11:51 am

    Censorship is a SCARY thing. Even though they sang my Shepard, my Savior it was still a victory! But given the content of the rest of the song why bother changing it.

  15. April 10, 2008 12:08 pm

    That’s so funny…I thought the same things when it came to the bling studded appearances….HOW much can they give back as well? I didn’t catch any gospel songs being sung, b/c I DVR’d it and flipped through some of the singing. I can’t believe they took out Jesus to be PC…that’s crazy. If Dolly Pardon can sing about JESUS the week before on IDOL and be okay, than the rest of them can. Whatever dudes….censorship is crazy. They’ll censor the name JESUS, but not the words like bitch or ass when they’re airing a family ‘friendly’ show? That’s one thing that bothering me a lot…if my kids are in the room watching a great show on giving back to his community…I don’t want some celebrity on air saying curse words!!!!!!

  16. April 10, 2008 12:17 pm

    American Idol?! Whats that ?? I have seen it once. I was at someone else’s house. The word “idol” has a bad connotation in my mind. I prefer the more reality programs like Star Trek or the Lone Ranger.

  17. justlovehim permalink
    April 10, 2008 1:44 pm

    I’m amazed that they even sang a praise song–period. Though I am pretty sure Dolly Parton sang a song a few weeks ago where she said Jesus numerous times. I’m pretty sure the song was called “Jesus and something or other…” But I have no idea what it was about.

  18. TheNorEaster permalink
    April 10, 2008 1:51 pm

    Umm…Would somebody please tell me what this “American Idol” thing is…?

  19. April 10, 2008 1:53 pm

    NorEaster…it’s a talent show on Fox that showcases the latest vocal talent that is 25 and under. They eliminate the amateurs week by week until one is left standing, essentially winning the title, “American Idol” This person then gets a recording contract and get famous overnight.

  20. April 10, 2008 2:09 pm

    THe dolly song was “jesus and Gravity”, it is on you tube the whole performance and Steph at http://www.notesforthesoul.blogspot.com
    has posted it a couple days ago

  21. April 10, 2008 2:12 pm

    I guess American Idol must be more of a chick show. I go along with Robert, Ric, NorEaster and Papa. I have not seen the show.

    I also am very uncomfortable with idea of a person as an “Idol”. I am not that upset about the whole vanity, charity, celebrity business. As long as people are spending some money and time, and bring publicity, to charitable causes I think overall that is a good thing.

    What counts with words is the context in which they are used. Does anyone think someone hearing that worship song on AI did not realize that it was about Jesus and God?

    Does anyone believe that someone would be allowed to sing an anti-religious song on AI? I don’t know since I don’t watch the show, but my guess is no they could not.

  22. April 10, 2008 2:12 pm

    http://notesfromthesoul.blogspot.com

    sorry I messed up! 😐

  23. April 10, 2008 2:29 pm

    I didn’t watch AI last night b/c I knew there would be all those blinged out celebs telling to give when I know full well that they could buy enough food & water with the money they make to feed the hungry.

    Interesting that they chose that song though. Hmmm

  24. April 10, 2008 2:43 pm

    I’m still shocked they used this song. Of ALL the inspirational songs to pick, they picked this one. I think that on top of Dolly’s Jesus and Gravity, I wouldn’t be surprised if a revival broke out among the staff there!

  25. April 10, 2008 3:23 pm

    Amen girl!

  26. April 10, 2008 3:24 pm

    God is after Simon…all the hurt he has inflicted on God’s babies, and then they prayed for him..oh yeah! God is after Simon…don’t be shy simon..you could be one of us! πŸ™‚

  27. April 10, 2008 4:09 pm

    They clearly should have sung “How great Is Our God”.

    The world is so out of touch with the church….

    πŸ™‚

  28. April 10, 2008 4:12 pm

    InW- every little bit helps though Eh?
    planting seeds, planting seeds…How Great is our God is one of my favs… Days of Elijah…wooohoooo, I am going to sit here and raise the roof, with alittle church on thursday night! I am so ready to get some praise on, and just leave the world behind!!! maybe it will be alittle contagious (or alot) and every one will join me!!

  29. April 10, 2008 4:14 pm

    makes me wonder about the person who is searching and sitting watching AI and all of the sudden enter God into the living room! I get way too excited…but HE could do it!

  30. April 10, 2008 4:16 pm

    where is my Tam?? I am missing her?? eating oreos…got your attention???

    its been a while since I filled up your comment box..maybe today is the day??!!!

  31. April 10, 2008 4:19 pm

    “makes me wonder about the person who is searching and sitting watching AI and all of the sudden enter God into the living room!”

    Darla – Exactly! That was the point of this post. Paul said, it doesn’t matter what the motives were, they were preaching (or singing in this case) Good News! And so I will rejoice!

    Did someone say Oreos!!?!?!?!

    77 days!!!!

  32. April 10, 2008 4:20 pm

    i think I am done with frustration today, lets get on with the rejoicing!!! I so want to know that you all are getting some praise on! (an filling up your comment box) … and waiting for FIF!! hahaha I love ya!

  33. April 10, 2008 4:21 pm

    I just blessed this oreo for you…if you were here I would let you eat it too..but for this moment just know you are loving this one! πŸ˜†

  34. April 10, 2008 4:31 pm

    HAHAHA!!! You blessed an Oreo WITHOUT ME???!!!! You’re gonna pay for that when you get here!

    I know what my cupboards will be filled with!

    πŸ˜‰

  35. April 10, 2008 4:32 pm

    No I blessed it for you. πŸ™‚

  36. April 10, 2008 4:37 pm

    I am hurrying home from work tomorrow morning so i can play FIF..yes I can hardly wait to see what all the blog dudes and dudettes are going to write tomorrow…did I just say dudette? long day..very long>>

  37. April 10, 2008 4:41 pm

    I thought you didn’t work on Fridays?

  38. April 10, 2008 4:42 pm

    this is how I eat an oreo…first the top and then I kind of play with the inside, and eat it, then the other side…soooo how do you eat your oreo? I better stop eating oreos or i will be so sugar buzzed, shhhhhhh I can’t keep hubs awake…oh well its almost the weekend! right?

  39. April 10, 2008 4:43 pm

    I have off almost every other friday, but was off last friday sooo tomorrow I am driving πŸ™‚

  40. April 10, 2008 4:46 pm

    Hold up!

    “or i will be so sugar buzzed”

    or you WILL be? You mean you’re NOT already???

    I pull apart the cookies and look to see which side had more frosting on it. Whichever has less I’ll eat first. Then I save the side with the most frosting on it to enjoy at a slower pace.

    It’s an art really

  41. TheNorEaster permalink
    April 10, 2008 5:46 pm

    So…it’s a talent show for kids on national television.

    Oooookay!

    Why on Earth would anyone want to be famous?

  42. April 10, 2008 6:33 pm

    Hey Tam I promise I didn’t miss the point of your post. I think it’s amazing that God can work through these songs and plant seeds. I guess I’m just still miffed from last night when bad words were clear and evident and they felt the need to take out the name of Jesus.

  43. Lori permalink
    April 10, 2008 6:47 pm

    My Word will go out and will NOT come back void! Amen. They sand a worship song on Idol! Yeah! Not our will but your be done Father!

  44. April 10, 2008 7:11 pm

    Tam, the ancient art of cookie unfurlment. I am afraid I usually windup breaking the stupid cookies into pieces. Ugly but delicious non the less.

    I am more of the “cookie monster” type. My inner beast perhaps. πŸ™‚

  45. April 10, 2008 7:22 pm

    NE’er: i think it’s something to do with perceived ‘Instant Gratification’. A kind of ‘all my prayers will be answered NOW – not after i’m dead kind’ of thing – Kids today, Huh? πŸ˜‰

    I am not quite sure how many realise this but AI has been ‘hi-jacked’ – by church groups intent on spreading the word.

    As Tam says – it is working! – After, and up to, a fashion.

    The WHOLE purpose of AI is not entertainment – it is to sell the intended audience to the sponsors/advertisers.

    Initially this was the ‘under thirty’ demographic who have the most ‘diposable’ income. Now, thanks to the number of church participants voting their ‘shills’ in, they are including under thirty Christians into the ‘audience’.

    You are being sold people – just as Jesus is. – it can work both ways!

    Good thing? Bad thing?? Discuss.

    Would He approve? Or be kicking Cowell off the idiot box?

    Sadly, we get both ‘American’ Idol AND ‘Australian’ Idol on our screens – i choose not to watch either – i already have Jesus in my life.

    <B

  46. April 10, 2008 7:28 pm

    I also do agree that it doesn’t make any sense to leave out the words Jesus or God in what is obviously a religious song. It just shows how dumb the thought police are. I find it kind of funny that when censors remove a word, any word, from a song or story, it almost always just brings attention to that word.

    I don’t happen to believe in God, but I do believe in love and joy. An inspiring song inspires me. I am still not sure that I would find AI very inspiring. πŸ™‚

    Oh, by the way my Mets just beat up the Phillies. Hearing 50,000 screaming fans shouting “We will rock you”. Now that’s inspiring. πŸ™‚

  47. April 10, 2008 7:32 pm

    hi tam! i like you. but i saw this entry and then saw it had like 44 comments and i was like whatever! no fair! (braylon’s new fave phrase). well, maybe when i’m a pastor’s wife of a big church, that many peeps wil reply to mine (which, for all tam-fans, can be found at: chelaners.wordpress.com!) : ) – anyway, noticed they aren’t all from diff. people, which relieved me. its hard to find time to blog w/a 16mo.old! i only get to it like once/week lately! anyway, it’s fun huh?! btw (sorry for txt-talk) have u heard of pandora.com? it’s the bomb. i’m gettin wireless spkrs in the house and pumpin my customized radio-tunes at will, for free.

  48. April 10, 2008 7:33 pm

    Dang Kids!

    I’m with you love πŸ˜‰

  49. April 10, 2008 7:54 pm

    My tummy hurts. I need an Oreo!

    Right on Love – Right on Ed!

  50. April 10, 2008 8:20 pm

    Hi Chelaners…just wanted to say that I find Tam and Brent very informative, witty, loving, in love with God, caring of others, selfless, funny, Spirit filled, with hearts of servants, taking time for others above themselves, and scripturally right on. I think that has more to do with their success in blogville more than anything.

    Tam fans, including me, are Tam fans because of Tams heart….glad to hear your doing so well…! πŸ™‚

  51. April 10, 2008 8:37 pm

    Yeah – what she ^ said! πŸ™‚

    <B

  52. April 10, 2008 8:53 pm

    aaawwwww schucks guys

    πŸ˜‰

  53. TheNorEaster permalink
    April 10, 2008 8:58 pm

    LoveWill:

    Thanks for that explanation. Never quite saw it that way before.

  54. April 10, 2008 9:07 pm

    No Probs – it is something ( desire for instant gratification ) i have had ‘explained’ to me over recent years – i am working on that! πŸ˜‰

    <B

  55. April 11, 2008 1:29 pm

    Okay I love AI and I am bummed that I have missed it for the last month. 😦

    I am ESPECIALLY bummed that I missed last night and the night before!!!!!!!!! I would have cried if I heard them singing that. Really. I love that song. And like you say “Jesus” in it or not, there is still a message to be heard.

    Glad to be hooked back up! Going to FIF next! πŸ˜€ BTW, we made it. πŸ˜‰

Trackbacks

  1. Rant….just a little « daily blessings

Leave a Reply

