Skip to content

It’s Time For A Change

April 14, 2008

So I want to change my template. I’d really like to simplify my look but I don’t want it to look boring either.

I am stuck with WordPress’s basic choices. Of course some of them I, I mean Brent πŸ˜€ , can tweak with the coloring and widgets and stuff…so there is a little room for fun with some designs.

I need your help. If you care, give me your opinion of what you think my blog should look like. I’m just trying to get more ideas and since you all have to look at this all the time you should have some input, right? πŸ˜‰

40 Comments leave one →
  1. TheNorEaster permalink
    April 14, 2008 7:30 pm

    I think “Connections” would fit you rather well, Tam. Nice look with a custom header and plenty of room for happy widgets. And besides, it’s called “Connections.” And isn’t that why we blog? πŸ˜‰

  2. April 14, 2008 7:53 pm

    I feel our blog needs to say something about who we are and display a little of our personality, so is mostly a personal taste.

    I would offer two points for consideration though.

    i think it’s handy to have the comments numbered (mine are not!!! did not realise until ‘after’). and having a decent sized font helps too! (some of us are getting on and are not yet choosing to wear glasses! πŸ˜‰ )

    Oh – but please do NOT choose a black background!? ( are you listening Chris??? πŸ™‚ )

    <B

  3. April 14, 2008 8:13 pm

    Hmmm… this is hard because the WordPress options are pretty limited. But I do recommend picking one with a custom header. It’s fun to change the picture with the seasons.

  4. April 14, 2008 8:24 pm

    I agree with you Lady and NE about having a custom header. I really like that a lot! I like that about “Connections” but the font is pretty small on that one. I like it’s simplicity tho.

    I also want to keep the comments numbered too. So I will definitely make that a necessity Love!

    I’ve just spent the last half hour looking through all the options and all I can seem to do now is Yawn 😐

    we’ll probably purchase a CSS upgrade for better customization. we’ll see…

    Thanks for your help and input. I really appreciate it friends!

  5. TheNorEaster permalink
    April 14, 2008 8:39 pm

    Tam:

    What is a “CSS upgrade?”

    (Please don’t laugh too loud, but I insist on maintaining my computer illiteracy.)

  6. April 14, 2008 8:49 pm

    CSS is the code that is used to create web pages. So if we upgrade I can control some of the features to better design my website.

    DANG! How I wish I had spatted out that explanation all by little self…but NO – that was all from my man πŸ˜‰

    and i would never laugh at you NE!

    (on purpose)

    πŸ˜€

  7. April 14, 2008 9:12 pm

    yeah something custom would be awesome! your man’s blog design looks great!

  8. April 15, 2008 4:20 am

    I chose ‘blogger’ for my own blog because of the its customization abilities. I could ‘hack’ it to my hearts content!

    Which I have.

    WordPress seems to really limit what you can do with it. I don’t like to be limited.

    Wow!!! There’s an unintended metaphor there!

    R.

  9. April 15, 2008 5:44 am

    I like the Dig 3 column template. Lots of room for widgets and, with a nice custom header, you can have a good dose of originality. πŸ™‚

  10. April 15, 2008 5:47 am

    mine.

  11. April 15, 2008 5:47 am

    just kidding…..
    i can see you with white. clean. custom header fo sho!
    πŸ˜‰

  12. April 15, 2008 6:18 am

    Yah, I’ll have Brent go McGyver on whatever we all choose here “fo sho”!

    R – Hmmm…never knew that about you πŸ˜‰ Funny, I started with blogger and feel just the opposite as you… 😯 πŸ˜‰

    Jim – My son has been up for 15 minutes and has managed NOT to talk about Dixon yet. I’m beginning to find forgiveness in my heart for you πŸ˜†

    Mandy – White background is what I’m wanting. And i definitely want a custom header too. I mean, I need somewhere to display my family tree!

  13. April 15, 2008 6:22 am

    Design it the way you want to express yourself. I love the way Brandy has that shot of her eyes, to me thats how I see her! She is a very visionary person. What do you want me to see???

  14. April 15, 2008 6:30 am

    for some reason I’m imagining a clean, white theme with somebody’s random melon peeking in from the right side… or has that been done?

  15. April 15, 2008 6:48 am

    I love what you have…the colors and the large font are great. But, hey! Go ahead and change, then I can take this one for myself. (Is that envy, Love?) πŸ˜‰

  16. April 15, 2008 6:56 am

    my vote, custom header, a great excuse to take crazy pictures of that beautiful family!

  17. TheNorEaster permalink
    April 15, 2008 6:57 am

    “CSS is the code that is used to create web pages. So if we upgrade I can control some of the features to better design my website.”

    If is supposed to make sense to someone who knows nearly nothing about computers….It doesn’t!

  18. April 15, 2008 7:44 am

    tell us what some of the white background ideas are…. there are some GREAT wordpress white templates to choose from – and most of ’em offer the customizable header.

    what’s your liking?

  19. April 15, 2008 8:01 am

    Personally, I love your page. It’s the one I wanted when I was first browsing their selections last year (before I switched) and then I realized you already had it! πŸ˜† bummer!

    If you are going to change it, please don’t peak out of the sides like Brent. 😯 That’s just creepy! πŸ˜†

  20. Selena permalink
    April 15, 2008 8:56 am

    I think your blog looks cute as it is.

  21. April 15, 2008 9:01 am

    you are welcome to the code I have set up for mine…and just change all of the color…Id go all white with a cool header…
    hit me up if you want it

  22. April 15, 2008 9:36 am

    Brandy said:

    “please don’t peak out of the sides like Brent”

    I have to agree….I feel like I can’t post at Vin’s blog anymore because I feel like he’s watching me….

    …which is doubly weird because I am posting while naked most times! πŸ˜€

    R.

  23. April 15, 2008 10:42 am

    Posting from a friends office I’m working at this week…

    R – 😯 You REALLY concern me dude!

    Klampert – Uh-Ya!!! I’ll contact you later. Or have B get with ya. Thanks!

    I do want it simpler but personal too. So I will definitely keep my originality to it…whatever that is! πŸ˜‰

    Kim – HAHA!!!

    Selena – Cute? Hmmm….maybe that’s my issue. I’m just not cutsie – Not that it’s bad – so Bran and Michelle – you can have this template ya know?! πŸ˜€

    Papa – I think I’ll put my “family tree” somewhere on the new page! πŸ˜†

    Mandy – I think one of the templates I like is “Shocking Blue Green”? I’m pretty indecisive right now.

    Kinda silly really…it’s just a blog 😐

  24. April 15, 2008 11:01 am

    Oh yes, go with the “Faimly Tree” idea!

    I’m not too original either…that requires more time than I have. But customized headers are cool.

  25. April 15, 2008 11:02 am

    I meant Family Tree of course πŸ˜€

  26. April 15, 2008 11:03 am

    Tam said:

    “:shock: You REALLY concern me dude”

    Robert says:

    I relish the compliment!

    R.

  27. April 15, 2008 11:18 am

    Hey Cheryl! The tree definitely has to make it’s way on there! Ha!

    R – I’m sure you do πŸ˜‰

  28. April 15, 2008 11:46 am

    I think a custom header is a necessity! BUT…I really don’t know much about designing my blog page…..as you can tell when you look at mine:)

    Absolutely LOVED the story! Please do that EVERY Friday!!! Pretty please???? LOL!

    Love your blog….will be visiting again, soon.

    Love and Blessings…..

  29. Heidi permalink
    April 15, 2008 11:58 am

    Brent sticking out is absolutely hip and he eats Sushi, he is all about this decade!!!

    Tam – whatever you do is fine with me.

    Just keep INSPIRING ME with your words.

    love you chicklet !!

  30. April 15, 2008 12:28 pm

    Are you talking about the family tree I think your talking about??

  31. April 15, 2008 1:10 pm

    Why are you guys limited on WordPress? I can customize everything on mine.

    Did I miss something or is it because I host my own blog?

  32. April 15, 2008 2:10 pm

    Tam, I picked WordPress because it was so easy to start with. I am more interested with content than how it looks.

    Having a customized header that you can change whenever you want, as klampert suggest, sounds like a great way to go.

    Do you want a theme for your header? One that speaks to your religion, or one that speaks to your personality?

    You have a great sense of humor. I think what ever header you choose should reflect this. Perhaps something more whimsical than somber.

  33. April 15, 2008 2:25 pm

    Heidi – You made me SMILE!!!! Thank you!!! i heart you!

    k, sounds like a Custom Header is tops on mosts list!

    Joe – Everything I do on WP is free. You prob pay to host your own right? I’m not going that far. So I need to make what I have work for me here. I’m sure it’ll turn out great tho! It’s fun having everyones input too.

    Ed – I’ve been thinking how I can integrate everything I am into a header pic. And no, somber isn’t a possibility πŸ˜‰ I’ve been goin over that in my wee little brain today. I want it to make people smile for sure! πŸ˜€

    Thanks everyone! You’re helping out a TON!

  34. April 15, 2008 2:26 pm

    Yes Papa…THAT Family Tree

    πŸ˜†

  35. April 15, 2008 5:34 pm

    Michelle – it’s more ‘covetting’ i think – covered in my comments over on my blog if you want a better definition πŸ™‚
    (P.S you’d better be quick – Brandy wants (covets) it too!)

    Robert – THANKS 😯 for that little mental picture….

    I’m gunna need therapy to get over this!

    Tam – pure and white and washed anew huh?.. i had a comment but i think i’ll just settle for a knowing ‘wink’ πŸ˜‰

    <B

  36. April 15, 2008 5:45 pm

    tam: go with it!!!

  37. April 15, 2008 7:13 pm

    Hi Tam, I love stopping by your blog. Here my little input. Like it has been said before, your blog should resemble somewhat of who you are, and I think you are such a colorful fun person- so make it colorful and fun!
    Blessings!
    Tressa

  38. April 16, 2008 4:40 am

    its time for a new blog post……
    i’m just sayin’

  39. April 16, 2008 6:55 am

    I vote for something Orange!! and just please try to keep away from black backgrounds..they are so hard for old people like me to read…hahahaha honestly whatever makes you smile its yours!!!

  40. April 21, 2008 6:49 am

    GREEN. Go green. All the best blogs are green.

Leave a Reply

