Skip to content

Got 7 Minutes? Sure you do!!!

April 21, 2008

You HAVE to check this out!

7 minutes = WOW!

53 Comments leave one →
  1. April 21, 2008 12:00 pm

    Do a Google Image Search for Laminin.

    I literally get hundreds of visitors a day searching for Laminin. I often wonder if my blog stats would exist would I had not done that post (with that picture).

  2. April 21, 2008 12:06 pm

    WOW Mud!!! That is incredible!!

    It’s just breath taking to me.

    Which post of yours was that? Link it here!

  3. April 21, 2008 12:48 pm

    This was great!!

    Years ago I was teaching a Bible Study on the Names of God, couples from church getting together for a few weeks. An older man who was a physicist became really excited when we got to the verses in Colossians about In Him all things holding together…he said scientists had been looking for that substance for years. They knew that the power within a cell was so vast that it should explode, but something was holding all matter together, it just hadn’t been identified yet.

    That gave me chills — I sure hope that physicist has seen the molecular structure of laminin by now. Wow.

    Thanks for sharing this, Tam…that teaching has now come full circle for me. How good is God!! 😉

  4. April 21, 2008 1:01 pm

    i heart louie

  5. April 21, 2008 2:27 pm

    I love Louie Giglio! He always has a word, and one that I can understand…totally rockin…Our creator holds us together by the cross…literally!

  6. lori permalink
    April 21, 2008 3:51 pm

    I’m speachless…

    That is awesome.

  7. TheNorEaster permalink
    April 21, 2008 4:43 pm

    Okay. Laminin. Got it.

  8. April 21, 2008 5:21 pm

    Here is the original post.

    And here is another post I did recently about all the traffic I get on Laminin.

    I was at the Chris Tomlin concert when Louie gave the talk. Simply loved it.

  9. April 21, 2008 6:10 pm

    Thanks Mud!

  10. bluewaveted permalink
    April 22, 2008 12:51 am

    Wow, that’s amazing!

  11. April 22, 2008 1:10 am

    Sorry. Not persuaded. Shouldn’t be posted under science.

  12. Corey permalink
    April 22, 2008 6:43 am

    “Thou shalt not make unto thee any graven image, or any likeness of any thing that is in heaven above, or that is in the earth beneath, or that is in the water under the earth.”

    -Exodus 20:4

    not sure why this is posted in science

  13. April 22, 2008 7:22 am

    Yes all, it is amazing! Took my breath away really! He holds all things together…I love that!!!

    Grant and Corey – OK – Have a great day 🙂

  14. April 22, 2008 8:33 am

    @Grant / Corey — Do think you’d ever find Laminin in a science book?

    Yeah, me too.

    That’s why.

    Peace.

  15. April 22, 2008 8:51 am

    This doesn’t even surprise me. There is so much in the Bible like that, now very few thing surprise me anymore.

    Proverbs 25:2 It is the glory of God to conceal a matter, But the glory of kings is to search out a matter.

  16. April 22, 2008 9:51 am

    How’d I do that twice?

    Thanks for posting this! Wow!

  17. April 22, 2008 10:14 am

    Corey and Grant- I hope you watched the whole thing, the science stuff is at the end…I believe God is the original scientist..its all his baby! Peace, Jesus loves you!

  18. April 22, 2008 12:53 pm

    it’s funny, with some of the links and a couple comments made here. The video doesn’t bash science or try to disprove anything that evolution supposes. It is simply a response of awe and wander to our Creator from a Christ Followers point of view. Period.

  19. April 22, 2008 2:22 pm

    You know Tam you mentioned to me about the “this shouldn’t be in science” statements, but Corey is SO off base here.

    Corey, you obviously have no idea what you are talking about. You probably didn’t watch the video and if you did, how in the world did you miss JESUS!!!! WHo said anything about worshiping Laminin????

    Go read your Bible again and come back later if you figure anything out.

  20. April 22, 2008 2:25 pm

    😯

  21. April 22, 2008 2:28 pm

    I loved this post/video…and it had caused me to see things alittle clearer…and I have shared it with several people, and all have been very touched…

    You know the most amazing thing and most hard to swallow for me is there are some who will see the KING face to face and HE will force them to bend the knee…how sad to be that full of ones self, and to miss the most awesome thing ever….

    Christ is not against science, HE created it!

  22. April 22, 2008 2:31 pm

    “Christ is not against science, HE created it!”

    God is the Creator of all things…

    no argument there!

  23. April 22, 2008 3:28 pm

    Looking at the video my thought was I watching a person of religious faith who had found something in the world of science that inspired him.

    I would think the two world views are compatible as long as we recognize that sciences is about the world we see and touch and religion is about feeling the presence of God. What is viewed as proof in science is different that what is viewed as proof in religion.

    Religious faith is having absolute, 100%, faith in the idea that God is exist. That it is impossible for God’s guidance to be wrong. Mis-interpreted yes. Wrong, no.

    Science is a process, not a single theory. Every single theory that is now accepted as being right could, and most likely will, be proven wrong tomorrow. Nothing is 100% proven.

    Religious faith is about acceptance. Science is about asking questions and re-evaluating every theory every day.

    That video could inspire men of religion and men of science.

  24. Corey permalink
    April 22, 2008 3:31 pm

    I did watch the entire video, and you will find Laminin in text books. My reference to worshiping idols is not aimed at worshiping Laminin but at the cross. When such an engraven image is burned into the fiber of your being of course you’re going to start seeing everythere. The telephone poles on my street look identical to crosses yet I doubt there is any divine meaning behind them. Had Jesus been around at any other time in history you’d all be looking for images of electric chairs, nooses, or guillotines with your sub concious mind. The reason I say that this does not belong in science is because it is obviously faith based in a subjective manner.

  25. April 22, 2008 3:37 pm

    I don’t worship the cross, but i do worship the One that removed my sin as far as the east is from the west, there on a cross…the Bible is full of shadows of the cross, my personal study..amazing!!!! The odd thing is that I am intrigued by science, and i love proof…

    Corey-love you man…

  26. April 22, 2008 3:47 pm

    Ed, thank you for such a well thought out and respectful comment…as always. I agree, the video should inspire anyone and everyone who chooses to be inspired. There is truth in the video. Something for everybody to agree with.

    Corey – The few categories I chose for this post were “Faith, God, Information, Science” Just a few.

    This video is “informing” those of “faith” in “God” that Laminin, a molecular structure (a “scientific” finding) is a crucial part of our bodies that hold everything to together. To HIS Glory

    I have faith in Science. I am amazed by Science. I love to learn about it. That’s one of the reasons why I posted this video. It’s fascinating to me. Scientists have done amazing things and have worked hard for years to find cures and answers to things we need answers to. i have a great deal of respect for Science. As well as my Faith. I believe God has the answers we are all searching for. He WILL get all the Glory…like it or not.

    The whole telephone pole, electric chair, noose stuff….nonsense.

    But thank you for coming back here to comment. that says a lot and I respect that a great deal Corey 🙂 Nice to meet you.

  27. April 22, 2008 4:16 pm

    Corey, I agree with tam, thank you for coming back and responding.

    The whole idea of seeing an image of a cross to where you are taking it is ridiculous and this video has nothing to do with it.

    This video has everything to do with Jesus and who He is and what He has done and the cross represents that beautifully. Do not worship the cross, worship Jesus. BUT, the cross is and always will be an excellent reminder of the Savior and what he has done for us.

  28. Gods Gal permalink
    April 22, 2008 5:29 pm

    ….and the fact He’s not on it anymore….that’s what I think of when I see it.. He’s alive, well and working in and through His people. 🙂

  29. April 22, 2008 5:56 pm

    Hi Tam: I was at this talk. Prob not the same Tomlin concert that Mudpuppy was at but one-o-them. I was sitting with Pattin in the third row back. You could hear a collective GASP or about 2000 people when he show the laminin diagram and pic. Louie rocks. Not nearly as much as Jesus … 😉 obviously. Louie is just an awesome reporter.

  30. April 22, 2008 9:21 pm

    I’d be FAR more impressed if Laminin as ‘photographed’ looked like Joe Louthan’s comment Pic – THAT would be something Like ‘proof’! 🙂

    Hey Brent – forget to take your anti-grumpy pills this morning? Or were you simply outraged and defending your lady ( and Lord’s) honour in Comment 22 Dude?

    Did comment 30 contain an aplogy to Corey when he showed you you were wrong in your assumptions ( well one or two of them relating to him?) I think i missed it if it did.

    I get where Corey is coming from – i Get where Tam and Mud are coming from. I get you are a loving man who follows Christ – i don’t get your first comment here.

    As for Laminin and science. The ‘image’ (graven) is very misleading – it is highly stylised in the fashion science often uses to try to display things in their simplest form which often bears little to no actual relationship with real life. ( trust me – i am a former organic chemistry major)

    When i see the actual photograph i am not reminded so much of a Cross – as a sea-horse with arms oustretched?

    I guess it’s all in the mind of the beholder, huh? 🙂

    <B

  31. April 22, 2008 9:31 pm

    Sea horse? 😉

    The thing that brings it together for me is that I believe He is the Creator of all things. Period. So when i learn of this molecule and it’s job i immediately think of the connection to God holding all things together. HE’s got a Master’s in Creativity I tell ya!

    G’Mornin’ Love!!!

  32. April 22, 2008 9:41 pm

    Hey Love, definitely not grumpy. But concerned. My original comment spoke to that.

    Defending Tam? Not necessary, she is quite capable of kicking my butt, I do not need to defend hers 🙂

    Where I draw the line (and why I spoke as i did), is when someone uses scripture completely out of context. Drives me nuts!

    Apology? For wondering if he actually watched the video? Corey’s conclusions were and still are so far out in left field that I found it hard to believe he was watching the same thing. He said he did, I believe him.

    And, how can an image of laminan be considered graven when it is just a representation of the cross. A graven image is one you take to be a representation of something. And instead of worshiping the actual thing, you worship the representation. In this case however, neither Laminan nor the cross were worshiped. they were both used to point us to Jesus who was then worshiped as the glue that holds us together. Not the Laminan or the cross…Jesus! It was very well spoken and clearly made sense as to what Giglio was talking about.

    I honestly think that things are as simple as we have seen in this video. If we believe God holds us all together, why is it so hard to believe that something like Laminan was put there by God to hold us together. And to top it off, His signature is on it. that’s pretty cool.

    Science or not, this video is inspiring.

  33. April 22, 2008 11:13 pm

    I’m sorry Brent – i just read : “you obviously have no idea what you are talking about” and heard ‘judgment’ – and not a righteous kind either. 😉

    I guess i was mistaken – i wonder how Corey read it and the ‘come back later if you figure anything out’ part’?

    Out of context? or not of your personal understanding?
    Ex 20:4 can only be read one way as i read it – 20:5 goes on to add to the idea further but 4 is quite clear. As are 13, 14, 15 and 16.

    and as for ‘worshipping’ – i think the audible collective ‘gasp’ as a sylised graven image was displayed to the audience gave quite a clear indication of what Corey was trying to express.
    I do agree with you about louie’s True Motivation – i have less ‘faith’ in all those who ‘see’ what he showed to them.

    I don’t believe any in the audience would have made an idol out of Louie’s image and bowed down to it – but Christians certainly have for much of the last 20 centuries. Both with Christ and without. it is the ‘without’ that made those witnessing behave the way they did.

    I get what Tam said about her being a visual person needing something to ‘see’.

    I think Ex 20:4 advises us to NOT do so to ‘see’ Him – He is in EVERYTHING equally – why do we select two bits of wood at right angles as being of such significance in our lives?

    I do not hear Christ recommending any do so.

    Perhaps there is some Scripture where this practice is condoned in oppostion to Ex 20:4? There are frequent apparent ‘contradictions’ in the Bible and i could have missed that one?

    Standing up for your belief is one thing – turning someone even further away from Your Lord is another.

    I’m not hearing you too clearly here, man. 🙂

    <B

  34. April 22, 2008 11:14 pm

    Mornin’ Sweetness – Give your grump a big kiss and a hug from me huh? ( Or from you if you feel like it – or think he could do with one! 😉 )

    <B

  35. April 23, 2008 4:06 am

    😯

    man. me & Tam only play fight.
    y’all are for real.

  36. Corey permalink
    April 23, 2008 6:45 am

    My claims refering to the cross are just as rediculous as offering proof of a supereme architect in a squiggly X shaped Laminin. The caduces looks remarkebly like the double helix in DNA. Does that support evidence of the greek god of Hermes? The reason I imagine people are taking with you for placing this in Science was that it appeared on the wordpress science splash page.

    I don’t think I’m going to say too much more on this. Thanks guys.

    cheers!

  37. April 23, 2008 7:31 am

    Here’s another visual I look to often…my wedding ring. my wedding pics. my wedding vows. my wedding video. All these things remind me of my wedding day and the vow I took to remain faithful to and love my husband til death do us part. I don’t worship those things and give them more respect or honor – but they serve a purpose.

    when i think of the cross, read Gods word (more often than i do my own marriage) I am reminded of what Christ did for me on the cross. Huge day in History there. It serves a purpose. It causes me to remember His sacrifice for all. when I see the cross i see life. Life for everyone. That is a great thing to gasp about. And it will take my breath every time.

    When i take communion, i do that in remembrance of Him. 1 Cor 11: 23-26. i don’t worship communion because i partake often. I allow that time to reflect, to worship and give honor to Him.

    I believe when you get a room filled of any group of people for one purpose things will get exciting. It is a result of fellowship, of being in the presence of like minded people. I’m guessing if that video was of a group of scientists that was shown a slide of an archaeological find that supports a theory you would have heard the same gasp. And that’s awesome!

    The people in this video gasped in awe and wonder of how complex our bodies are and wonderfully created we are. I gasped before i even saw the picture – as Laminin was explained, it blew my mind. I was thinking about God already 😀 I didn’t “need” to see Laminin to be in awe. Although i enjoyed the privilege of seeing the slide, particularly the 2nd one. I don’t equate the human body with any other design other than the Designer Himself. So when i learn more and see more – I am more in awe.

    As for the pics being in the shape of a cross or a seahorse. i guess it’s how you choose to look at it. i don’t care what shape is made of it to be quite honest. it doesn’t change Who made it’s shape in the first place.

    Now, i will not spend the day disputing over telephone poles, sea horses and laminin. For those of us who are believers in Christ – we stand on common ground. We believe in him and His sacrifice for all. Whatever ways we choose to remember Him and worship HIM – then please continue. All to his Glory not our own!

    Peace 😉

  38. April 23, 2008 7:59 am

    W00T! Just been to church… 🙂

    Amen and Amen and Amen…to God be the Glory great things HE has done!

  39. April 23, 2008 10:18 am

    Corey, as you have come back to this mix, I would extend an apology if I came of as attacking you personally. Not my intention.

    You said, “My claims refering to the cross are just as rediculous as offering proof of a supereme architect in a squiggly X shaped Laminin.”

    If you believe in the God of the Bible, then it is not difficult to see how a scripture says, “Jesus holds us together” and how we see laminin as further proof of the God that has given us that promise. Is Laminin Jesus? No. Can it be a wonderful reminder of the God that crafted us by His hand? Yes.

    If you don’t believe in the God of the Bible, then you would not see it this way.

    Tammy, well said.

  40. Corey permalink
    April 23, 2008 11:43 am

    inWorship:
    Agreed. Whatever our tunnel reality we will further perpetuate our own truths. Yours and mine however absurd they both may be.

  41. April 23, 2008 9:49 pm

    Amen!

    I do like it when we see more of ‘each other’ in ourselves… and more of Him also.

    Brent – now i’m hearing you MUCH more clearly 😉

    Tam – you sure you’re dumb??? Didn’t sound like it to me up there, baby!

    Mandy – no way was we fighting – we wus EXPLAINING our own perceptions – hopefully honestly, truthfully and with all respect to others – whatever their personal beliefs – or age 🙂

    That’s one of the things LOVE does 😉

    LOVE

    <B

  42. April 23, 2008 9:56 pm

    Love…

    “or age”

    You are a little instigator aren’t ya?

  43. April 23, 2008 10:11 pm

    Oh – for clarity:
    Graven: 1. deeply impressed; firmly fixed.
    2. carved; sculptured: a graven idol.

    Idol: 1. an image or other material object REPRESENTING a deity to which religious worship is addressed.
    2. Bible. a. an image of a deity other than God.
    b. the deity itself.

    If we can’t get this right as Christians we are in DEEP trouble!

    Someone tell me that we don’t look at a Cross (Formerly, and perhaps still, WITH a graven image of Christ) to adress our religious worship in Churches? What do we wear around our necks?

    Read all of Exodus 20 one more time – Yes?

    People in Moses’ time did not believe the Golden Calf was the real God either – They just addressed their worship to the IMAGE they felt represented their ‘picture’ of ‘a’ God, presumably because they felt a similar need to ‘see’ what they were directing their worhip towards.

    NO man hath seen God at any time; the only begotten Son, which is in the bosom of the Father, he hath declared him (John 1:18)

    That ought to be enough for us.

    I truly do not know WHAT the early Churches were thinking of when they made their idols for ‘worship’.

    Many things of the OT (not just Ex 20:4) have been specifically disobeyed in them and remain with us still – even today.

    How any religion can preach text from the OT and yet be so denigrating of some paragraphs from it in God’s ‘House’ i find completely baffling?

    <B

  44. April 23, 2008 10:12 pm

    😉 welllll… She started it !

    🙂

    (Sorry Mom – Sorry Lord)

    <B

  45. April 23, 2008 10:15 pm

    Rats – that whole ‘8 ) sunglass smiley’ thing caught me out now!

    The quote was from John 1: 18 for those interested.

    <B

  46. April 23, 2008 10:19 pm

    honestly – when i imagine the cross – i never envision Christ on it. ever. That’s the point of the cross to me. He’s off it – He’s alive. It, and the grave, did not hold Him down. that’s what i think about.

  47. April 23, 2008 10:20 pm

    Hahaha!!! “cool dude emoticon” gotcha!

    “She started it”?

    i have a feeling you two are in this together…

    bad. very bad.

  48. April 23, 2008 10:28 pm

    I amswered over on Mandy’s loooooonnng W.W. and for lunch i’m having Honey, leg Ham, Jarlsberg Cheese and vine-ripened tomato on Wholemeal bread – Mmmm 🙂

    i thought we were in this together?? 😉

    WE old un’s stick together through thick and thin – right?

    Not that EYE think you are ‘old’ – i hasten to point out 🙂

    <B

  49. April 25, 2008 11:12 am

    Oh I hate coming late to the party.

    “…because that which is known about God is evident within them; for God made it evident to them. For since the creation of the world His invisible attributes, His eternal power and divine nature, have been clearly seen, being understood through what has been made, so that they are without excuse.” Rom 1:19-20

  50. April 25, 2008 2:39 pm

    Joni – Better late than never 😉

    This is one of my favorite verses! i refer back to a lot actually. It sums most questions up very well!

Trackbacks

  1. Laminin « To Be A Fool…
  2. Louie Giglio… Laminin! « To Be A Fool…
  3. One swallow does not a summer make. « Ubiquitously

Leave a Reply

