Skip to content

I have issues. no. really.

April 21, 2008

I think people are watching me.

When I go to Hotels I am convinced there are cameras somewhere in the room. One time while I was showering in a Hotel I noticed a hole in the top corner of the wall. It freaked me out! So I crammed a bunch of soggy wet toilet paper in the hole and continued my shower…alone.

The new house we live in was completely remodeled 9 months ago. One day I’m in my bathroom, doing what people do in the bathroom (sorry Mandy and Kristiapplesauce), when I noticed something on the wall in front of me. Right next to the vanity mirror.

A hole.

WHAT!!!

I’ve been sitting here this whole time and there is a camera in that hole watching me?!?! EEEWWWW!!!!!

So I pack it up and promptly remedy the situation!

Yes. I realize that whole was probably a mistake when they were hanging the mirror.

Or not 😯

So what about you? What are your quirks?

45 Comments leave one →
  1. lori permalink
    April 21, 2008 8:22 am

    Uh…sounds….creepy sounds in an empty house most especially.
    Once, as a newly wed home alone while hubby was at a friends house, I heard a sound from upstairs. I grabbed the phone and (oh my gosh i’m going to admit it…) a can of Raid, and I crept, ever so quietly upstairs, went into the master bathroom and locked the door. I locked myself in the bathroom with a cordless phone and a can of Raid. I thought, if I have to I can spray the intruder??? Using the phone, I called hubby to please please please come home and rescue me. He did….and the noise? The neat little suction cup towel holder that I installed in the guest shower had fallen off into the tub.

  2. April 21, 2008 8:26 am

    hahahahaha I have a thing about looking for holes too in hotel rooms and bathrooms in general…Issues…well maybe but I can deal with those kind of issues 😉

  3. April 21, 2008 8:27 am

    I love how your laptop is your camera. 🙂

  4. April 21, 2008 8:29 am

    A can of raid!!! Would have worked if it was a big giant cockroach Lori! HAHAHAHA!!! That was funny! AND so brave to admit that. Here!

    D – I’ll be sure to patch up all holes in the guest bathroom when you get here 😉

  5. April 21, 2008 8:30 am

    Mud – don’t start with me! I have NO idea how to get pics off our normal camera. I am technically illiterate 😐

  6. April 21, 2008 8:31 am

    well the raid probably would blind an intruder and then you could get away…just thinking..

  7. April 21, 2008 8:35 am

    This will seriously creep me out…when I am home alone and my dobie starts to growl and look paranoid at nothing, like she sees something I don’t, and won’t give it up…protecting me from air? she usually gets smacked if she wierds me out to much… 😆

  8. April 21, 2008 8:36 am

    hotel comforters = UGGGGHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    i’m just sayin

  9. lori permalink
    April 21, 2008 8:37 am

    We have dogs now. 🙂

  10. April 21, 2008 8:43 am

    What if the dog DOES see something you don’t???? Hmmm….Creeeee-peeeeee!

    Mandy – Comforters or anything with upholstery. 😳

    Lori – Have your dogs ever freaked you out tho? My little one does. ONLY when I’m the only one home. Of course!

  11. April 21, 2008 8:45 am

    😆 i have lots of issues I didn’t even know I had…

    comforters in hotels – I always take my blanket, and pillow, except when I go to Oregon…but I trust my friends, hopefully the first night in a hotel I will just be tired and not care… 😳

    Okay what else do you all have..wondering if I have any more that I haven’t brought to the light! 🙂

  12. April 21, 2008 8:48 am

    aaaaaaaaaaaaahhhhhhhhhh I have thought about that she may see something I don’t…and #1 leave it that way, #2 I will start rebuking something in the name of Jesus! 😆 I think our Father just must laugh when he sees it..you know tough girl and all!

  13. April 21, 2008 8:53 am

    Princess Tam did I not get approved on my comment about comforters? Did I really go into spam?? Don’t tell Ric, thats his job…fighting spam- the spaminator!

  14. lori permalink
    April 21, 2008 9:09 am

    My dogs are perfect….

    No, for real…they sleep in our bedroom (on their own beds..sheesh!) and have alerted us (alarm barking) to deer in the front yard in the middle of the night that we couldn’t hear, to a skunk in the back yard that we couldn’t smell/hear (again in the middle of the night) and then they don’t budge when it’s one of us coming in late or finally making it upstairs in the middle of the night.

    I trust my dogs with my life. I once heard something in the garage, went upstaris and got the dogs to send them out ahead of me. I actually knew there was nothing to be worried about when they were all reluctant to leave their warm cozy beds and never made a peep on the way to the garage. Being that there are 3 of them, an intruder would have NO chance! When I made the comment that a home alarm is something I would consider for this particular house (10th of a mile off a major highway) our dog trainer was very quick to remind me, “Lori, do you really think anyone is going to make it through the door with Jingo in the house?” …and that is why they sleep in our bedroom!

  15. April 21, 2008 9:28 am

    Tam: anything that might’ve been a “flat surface” for the people that stayed in the room before us. 😯 do i need to go into MORE details than that????????

    and my cat used to stare off into space like she could see things that i couldn’t see. totally weird.

    and there was this one time when she was constipated. she was CLEARLY in pain, slinging her head back and forth, and backing up like she was trying to get away from something. and she had a look on her face that meant she was dying. i thought she WAS dying. ran out to get my dad’s help… it was a traumatic experience for this teenager.
    i told drew the story recently – and laughed so hard that i cried.

  16. April 21, 2008 9:42 am

    Mandy – I can SO relate to your cat. And trust me. it’s no laughing matter 😐

    Lori – you think you can train my Yorkie??? 😀

    D – off to de-spam….

    Ohhhhh Riiiiiiiic….

  17. April 21, 2008 9:46 am

    i dry my toothbrush before putting it in its holder

    i always apply mascara to my right eye first

    i can’t drink water w/out a straw

  18. TheNorEaster permalink
    April 21, 2008 10:07 am

    MY issues???

    Well, I have two switches that control one light. But I always want one of them up and the other one down when the light is off. That way, I don’t have to guess when I come home and it’s dark; I always know.

    I cook for my dog EVERY DAY, but rarely for myself. He’s on a special diet…Mmm…Maybe that would make a good Essay one of these ol’ days!

    I open my curtains on bright, bright sun-shiny days like today, but as soon it’s starts to get dark, I close them because I don’t want my anyone peeping in on me…

    …Hmm…Maybe Tam and I long lost siblings…???

  19. April 21, 2008 10:28 am

    Right eye first here too!!!!

    I might call my parents to see if they still have the hairball medicine that we had to give my cat after that whole constipation episode.

    i never tasted it. it was the consistency of vegamite, but smelled JUST LIKE syrup.

    you know – you might be able to get some hairball meds from the vet next time you take Dook -> i mean Duke.
    😀

  20. April 21, 2008 10:44 am

    NE – i think you’re the big brother I’ve been searching for my whole life! I’ve missed you so 😉

    Mandy – Dook? Did you just say THAT? Wow – i’m gonna break you yet!!!

  21. April 21, 2008 10:54 am

    NO!!!! i misspelled. that’s all. my spell-checker must not have been working or something…. apparently, it crapped out again.

  22. April 21, 2008 10:57 am

    yep. i’m totally breaking you

    muahahahaha

    👿

  23. April 21, 2008 10:57 am

    Okay so were we twins serperated at birth? Seriously I have those same thoughts! Aaagh I thought I was the only one. I even think someone’s sneaking up in my attic and camping out, when I hear creaks from the ceiling. Even though I know it’s empty, I still do that thing….”is there someone up there?”

    When I see holes or pricks in the ceiling or wall I think cameras are there…..scary to be us huh?

  24. April 21, 2008 10:58 am

    Any other issues? Hmmm…
    I will take an alternate route home or to my work if I see someone in my review mirror too long.

  25. April 21, 2008 10:59 am

    no no no no!!! i’m CLEARLY referring to pets and technological malfunctions.
    that’s it

  26. April 21, 2008 11:00 am

    Blessed1: REALLY??? alternative route? hmmmm……..

  27. TheNorEaster permalink
    April 21, 2008 11:08 am

    Tam: Always wondered what happened my baby sister! 😆

  28. April 21, 2008 11:09 am

    Oh my goodness, I have the same quirk!! Doesn’t help that this happened to people I know, and in a Christian setting, too–somebody put cameras in the homes of several of his neighbors. Took ’em a couple months to realize they were being spied on. Ugh!

  29. April 21, 2008 11:13 am

    Glad I’m not the only one who ALSO thinks that there are cameras in holes that I find in the walls. Seriously. Imagine yourself staying in a dumpy Super 8 in a place called WILLISTON where you are afraid to let your kid crawl on the floor and you see one of these said holes while you are showering in the bathroom. 😯

    Now you know how I felt at the last hotel we stayed in. 😉

    Same goes with base housing…. b/c you know someone lived here before (lots of someones) and you always wonder what they’ve left behind. 😉 Creepy. hahaha! 😆

    I am sooooo with you on this one!!

  30. April 21, 2008 11:18 am

    😯 does this creepy camera rule apply to seminary apartment housing as well????

  31. April 21, 2008 11:36 am

    Your water comment reminds me….

    I can’t drink water from the tap. AT ALL. It tastes funny. And I picture it running through all of those pipes underground to get here and those pipes have to be a bit dirty by now.

    The taste of tap water….. makes my skin crawl. Doesn’t matter where I am, it all tastes funny. And yes, bottled water may come from a tap across the country, but still…..I can ONLY drink bottled water. I’m a water snob. 😆

  32. April 21, 2008 11:38 am

    Mandy, I think it applies to anywhere someone lived before you. 😯 😉 😆

  33. April 21, 2008 11:39 am

    [gasp]

  34. April 21, 2008 1:04 pm

    EWWWWWW

    You could invest in a black light, but then again, maybe ignorance is bliss. 😯

  35. Heather Blankenship permalink
    April 21, 2008 1:28 pm

    hahahaha.. I do the same thing! I never confessed until now…thanks for your bravery!! 😉 That is too funny!

  36. April 21, 2008 1:42 pm

    see what a little honest confession can do for the Spirit…

    Everybody – Deep breath – Exhale…

    aaahhhhh…….

  37. April 21, 2008 4:57 pm

    If we’re doing honest confessions….

    I’m a nose picker. 😯

    hahahahahahahaha! 😆

    KIDDING!! (well, mostly) 😉 hahaha!

    EWWW I’m gross! 😆 😆 😆

  38. Heather Blankenship permalink
    April 21, 2008 8:38 pm

    Tam- Ok, so I dry my toothbrush before putting it in it’s holder, I can’t drink anything with ice unless I have a straw, mascara is right eye first… sound like we’ve got some similar OCD behaviors!
    😉

  39. Heather Blankenship permalink
    April 21, 2008 8:41 pm

    Oop… hit enter before finishing…
    I am a total water snob too…nothing unless it’s bottled and I have a few bottles that I wont drink too.

  40. lori permalink
    April 21, 2008 9:12 pm

    oh…no no no..can’t drink anything with ice without a straw either.

    Hair on the bathroom floor in a hotel room…someone elses hair…

  41. April 21, 2008 9:54 pm

    I can’t take a glass out of the cupboard without smelling inside of it before I use it

  42. April 21, 2008 11:26 pm

    How many of us put our Faith In God that He won’t lead us to a Hotel where there are camera’s in the walls or ‘flat surfaces’ that may have not been completely hygenically ‘cleaned’ before we get there??

    Those things no doubt exist – but would He send us there to ‘test’ us? do ya think??

    Just wondering?

    Lori – Faith in God or Faith in Dog?? 🙂

    See why i have this ‘thing’ about ego yet?

    <B

  43. April 22, 2008 2:13 pm

    Issues? I have no issues! 🙂

    Well, maybe a few.

    I have to smell anything I’m going to eat.

    I totally cannot have someone pushing a cart right behind me (especially my kids or my legally blind husband… they cannot drive!).

    The mere word “lice” makes me itch for weeks!

    See! No issues at all!

    ~Heidi

  44. April 22, 2008 2:24 pm

    No. Clearly no issues there Heidi 😯

    I hate soggy bread!

    I thought I hated tomatoes for years but it was just that they caused my sandwiches to get soggy. I’m smarter now…

  45. April 22, 2008 8:11 pm

    Mandy seriously. BUT I had someone follow me once, so I’m a little more observant of it. They even chased me into a parking lot and tried to pin me in a tight spot….it was some dude in a white pick up truck, whom I’d never seen before. So yeah, if someone is behind me for more than 5 miles (and it’s not highway travel…that’s different — it’s all one way with no turning) than I drive a different route.

    Now … that’s not all the time….it’s just if my radar is up. In the case of the pick up…it was and it’s a good thing I didn’t lead him right to my house.

Leave a Reply

