Skip to content

Needs – I haz them

April 23, 2008

When I don’t get enough sleep my body starts sending me signals. It slows down. My memory loses its sharpness. My endurance fades quickly. I’ll get irritable. Yes. I get irritable.

When I do not eat well or enough. My body again sends me signals. Mostly the same ones.

When I don’t give my body what it needs it responds poorly.

When I am not in His Word and spending time communing with Him – my Spirit responds accordingly. My mind and thoughts react and respond.

Spending time with God is just as crucial as eating and sleeping to me. Without it – I do not function well. It’s not good for the mind, body and spirit.

Just a morning thought I wanted to throw out there…

16 Comments leave one →
  1. April 23, 2008 8:45 am

    man can’t live by bread alone, and neither can woman!
    thanks for sharing

  2. April 23, 2008 9:03 am

    It is very loud on me when I don’t spend time with God..NEED HIM…even more than food and rest…although I need that too.. Does human needs fall under science?? just asking… 😎

  3. April 23, 2008 9:20 am

    hahaha!

    πŸ˜†

  4. April 23, 2008 9:26 am

    AMEN!! πŸ˜€

  5. TheNorEaster permalink
    April 23, 2008 9:37 am

    Huh. Yeah. That is true. It is also something I had forgot about recently. I might have posted Category 5, but I wasn’t eating my daily bread so…my attitude suffered. And I got…irritable. Thanks for the reminder, Tam.

  6. Heidi permalink
    April 23, 2008 9:57 am

    I believe God gives us these “Holy Spirit” signals to remind us that we cannot do life alone.

    ~ We need food and Drink
    ~ We need sleep
    ~ We need Family and Friends
    ~ We need to have His word

    But most of all WE NEED HIM… We need Him to do life.

    Awesome concept huh?

  7. April 23, 2008 12:18 pm

    SO true. And what’s amazing to me is that the effect of the presence or the absence of time spent in the Word in my life is almost instantaneous.

  8. April 23, 2008 1:01 pm

    Amen…life just goes better with the proper nutrition. πŸ˜‰

  9. April 23, 2008 2:39 pm

    It’s amazing to be so in tune with your spiritual connection to God that you know when it’s all out of whack . Great post.

  10. April 23, 2008 7:08 pm

    Great points!

  11. April 23, 2008 8:07 pm

    Oh Tam, I was just sharing this very thing with someone today! A couple of days last week I did not have my morning devotional time (for me…gotta have it to start my day) and by the second day, it struck me. I realized my overall attitude, my conversations with my husband…they just were not good. I wasn’t mean and nasty, but I wasn’t as loving as I should have been.

  12. April 23, 2008 8:54 pm

    If I happen to wake up at 3:30, I have to stay up….otherwise I’m toast.
    If I don’t spend time with God first thing in the morning…my day somehow shortens, I get frustrated…and then realize why…He has to be #1.

  13. Ravensday permalink
    April 24, 2008 9:06 am

    WOW! That is exactly how I feel right now… thanks!
    I pulled my bible out, Now if I could only get some shuteye. πŸ™‚

  14. downcastmysoul permalink
    April 24, 2008 10:12 am

    Yeah me too: when I starve myself of the Word I haz a problem too.

  15. April 24, 2008 10:51 am

    im glad that there are still people out there who realize the importance of taking in the word of God…when i spend time in his presence,i am calmer and more equipped to handle the challenges that come my way for the day…how can i say it?being with God is AWESOME!!!

  16. April 30, 2008 3:38 am

    this is so true… before I do my work I say a short prayer; there are times I skip this and for some reason, my day becomes disastrous. I find it calms me too πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

