Skip to content

Enquiring Mind – Want To Know

April 24, 2008

Spring is trying to happen upon us. Which means nicer weather and Summer is approaching. So I thought I’d ask/answer some questions and have you all do the same…

real tan/fake tan?

Favorite summer food

Favorite Summer activity

Concerned with being in shape for summer?

Going on vacation this summer?

Car windows down or A/C?

Lake, River, or Beach?

Water sports or land sports?

Favorite Summer memory….

52 Comments leave one →
  1. April 24, 2008 8:07 am

    i’ll go first…

    real tan/fake tan? – Real (or a bottle tan)

    Favorite summer food – Watermelon and fresh Blueberries

    Favorite Summer activity – BBQ and hangin’ outside with family and friends

    Concerned with being in shape for summer? – YES!!!

    Going on vacation this summer? – no 😦

    Car windows down or A/C? – A/C ( long hair is a beast in windy situations)

    Lake, River, or Beach? – BEACH!

    Water sports or land sports? no

    Favorite Summer memory….Camping when i was a kid. Back when i didn’t care if i was clean. We actually used to take our cat with us. My chore was to walk our cat…ON A LEASH! Have you ever seen such a thing? It is so ridiculous! He would fight and resist the whole way!

  2. April 24, 2008 8:13 am

    real tan/fake tan?…..I’m a redhead. I have no choice but the fake tan.

    Favorite summer food….. bbq burgers, watermelon

    Favorite Summer activity….. late night walks when it’s still warm out, driving with my windows down, camping….I’m a simple girl really. πŸ˜†

    Concerned with being in shape for summer?…..not really. I’ve never been a bathing suit girl at all. Or a shorts girl. Remember, I’m albino. πŸ˜‰

    Going on vacation this summer?…… besides a lil camping, nope.

    Car windows down or A/C? WINDOWS DOWN!!! (and a/c when it’s really hot.)

    Lake, River, or Beach? all of the above. πŸ˜‰

    Water sports or land sports? ew, none. haha! πŸ˜†

    Favorite Summer memory….oh dear….um…. I can’t think of one right now. One kid is running naked, the other is asking for food. I should go huh?? hahaha!! πŸ˜†

    (btw, I used lots of these πŸ˜† πŸ˜‰ just for you. πŸ˜‰ haha!

  3. April 24, 2008 8:14 am

    real tan/fake tan? REAL please please please!!!

    Favorite summer food – anything i can eat outdoors

    Favorite Summer activity – having the happy chemicals in my brain renewed by exposure to the sun

    Concerned with being in shape for summer? dang right i am

    Going on vacation this summer? YEAH BABY!!!

    Car windows down or A/C? Georgia = A/C, Mass = Windows down (summer in Massachusetts lasts 3 days)

    Lake, River, or Beach? YES!!!!!!!!!!

    Water sports or land sports? YES!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Favorite Summer memory… HAVING a tan.

  4. April 24, 2008 8:26 am

    real tan/or real sunburn πŸ˜† color is good!
    favorite summer food- fresh fruit (any kind) and salads
    Fav summer activity-anything that requires not needing a watch
    Concerned with being in shape- always, but my meds make it difficult..but I haven’t given up! πŸ™‚
    Vacation- YES!!! (hey you are supposed to share my vacation, not the same as leaving the house, but I will get you out! )
    Windows down, unless the humidity is high, then AC…hate that wet underwear thing! 😯
    Lake, river, beach? all of the above please, I am not fussy I will take what I can get!!!
    water sports or land sports-no sports unless you count spectator sports πŸ™„ (twirls hair and give a smile, and a very quick wink)
    Fav summer memory- staying at the bay for a week sleeping in a cabin…tons of stuff for kids to do, and lots of free time!! was very good!!!! everyone was happy..that must have been God!

  5. April 24, 2008 8:36 am

    real tan/fake tan? Neither, I don’t tan naturally and the fake tans always turn too orange for my taste…clashes with my hair. πŸ˜‰

    Favorite summer food? Shish-ka-bobs and lots of salad.

    Favorite Summer activity? Floating in the pool after dark while watching the stars come out.

    Concerned with being in shape for summer? Concerned, but…oh well…can’t have everything.

    Going on vacation this summer? No plans – but Israel next year!! YES!

    Car windows down or A/C? A/C – Texas heat? Been running the air since March.

    Lake, River, or Beach? Beach, always the beach…although the rivers further north are so crystal clear…I could do rivers as long as I’m above the Red River.

    Water sports or land sports? SPORTS? I wish…reading, thank you very much.

    Favorite Summer memory…traveling with the family to Yellowstone Park – what an amazing place – and swimming in a heated pool in Jackson Hole, WY with the weather in the 60’s and mountains all around. Lovely.

  6. April 24, 2008 8:36 am

    real tan/fake tan? The day I apply some substance to my skin to change its color is the day I resign what’s left of my manhood! Whether I tan or not is not something I don’t actively engage in worrying about.

    Favorite summer food Ooooooo! So many! Fresh native Pioneer Valley corn on the cob, BBQ chipotle pork tenderloin made on my grill, Strawberry Zabaglione

    Favorite Summer activity On the less humid days…hiking, biking…camping…

    Concerned with being in shape for summer? i could live with a few less inches at the waist and few less pounds over all…but overall…come’on! i’m an Adonais! πŸ˜‰

    Going on vacation this summer? Booth Bay Maine again sometime in July…wifey knows…i don what she says

    Car windows down or A/C? As the AC compressor in my vehicle has gone Tango Uniform…windows down

    Lake, River, or Beach? Bike into the Chesterfield Gorge via Knightville Dam and go swimming in the Westfield River…sometimes with the kids sometimes sans kids (and clothes) πŸ˜‰

    Water sports or land sports? Frisbee or softball with the kids.

    Favorite Summer memory…. Camping with my family on the Cape when I was a boy

  7. April 24, 2008 8:38 am

    I am making a new summer favorite vacation memory this summer!!!! Woooohoooooo…I am tasting it now..must..wait..must … wait….dang I hate when I tease my self!

  8. April 24, 2008 8:39 am

    again with the bad grammar!

    Whether I tan or not is not something I don’t actively engage in worrying about.

    sheesh!

    R.

  9. Heidi permalink
    April 24, 2008 8:54 am

    real tan/fake tan? Real- the spray on ones don’t last!!

    Favorite summer food- smores

    Favorite Summer activity- campfires on the beach

    Concerned with being in shape for summer? heck yea. I’d better start now, huh?

    Going on vacation this summer? nope

    Car windows down or A/C? windows down

    Lake, River, or Beach? beach

    Water sports or land sports? all

    Favorite Summer memory…. When I caught my first trout on the Willamette river, it squirmed and squirmed, then I poked its eyes out. Hey I was 6!!!

  10. April 24, 2008 9:09 am

    Sidenote….

    Tam you’d better start praying that Kota and Ethan don’t meet.

    Their combined energies could theoretically rip a hole in the space-time continuum which might render cause and effect reversed!

    The horror!

    πŸ˜‰

    R.

  11. April 24, 2008 9:21 am

    R – i agree – i know you’re not a praying man, but considering this possibility you posted – now might be a great time to start. i’m just sayin’ πŸ˜‰

    Oh and R – Grammar? You’re worried about grammar HERE! Relax and let your hair down friend!

    Heidi – You poked its eyes out?!?!?! HAAHAHAHAHA! that is hilarious! in a “Bad Girl!” kinda way 😯
    Michelle said – “Favorite Summer activity? Floating in the pool after dark while watching the stars come out.”

    Whoa – I think I found me a new summer activity!!!

    Darla said – “hate that wet underwear thing! 😯

    I have a solution for that πŸ˜€

    Mandy – Can you get a tan by Friday?

    Brandy – remember all those summer days when Kass and Kota were super small and they’d come over and swim at your house? Ahhhh, those were the days!!!!

  12. April 24, 2008 9:22 am

    Tam: ok. that was officially mean. and your nice readers have NO idea why!!!! 😯 maybe next week they’ll find out what i’m doing tomorrow… maybe.

  13. April 24, 2008 9:24 am

    Tam – isn’t a bottle tan a fake tan? anyhoo…

    real tan/fake tan? Real – or none, my brother died of skin cancer.

    Favorite summer food – anything on the grill

    Favorite Summer activity – hiking/camping

    Concerned with being in shape for summer? – why start now?

    Going on vacation this summer? – yes, to Cornerstone Festival (www.cornerstonefestival.com)

    Car windows down or A/C? – both.

    Lake, River, or Beach? lake – as long as there are woods surrounding it

    Water sports or land sports? – land

    Favorite Summer memory? – Young Life camp at Frontier Ranch in Colorado – got born’d agin thar. Six days with 46 people on a bus that only had seats for 43; seven days at the camp. The best week of my life.

  14. April 24, 2008 9:25 am

    Robert – it’s just not your day.

  15. April 24, 2008 9:26 am

    Mandy – I wuv u!

    Bad – ha! nice catch! oops!

    Buses? Can’t stand them. Crowded buses? I’d rather poke my own eyes out with a plastic fork 😯

  16. April 24, 2008 9:28 am

    I burn.

    Anything from the grill

    Cornhole

    Not yet

    Florida in August

    AC

    Lake

    Land

    Just being a kid and running around sweaty all day, not having a care in the world.

  17. April 24, 2008 9:28 am

    Tam said:

    I have a solution for that

    Robert says

    You gotta love a woman who thinks underwear are evil! >:)

    My wife feels the same way! πŸ˜€

    R.

  18. April 24, 2008 9:34 am

    Tam said:

    now might be a great time to start. i’m just sayin’ πŸ˜‰

    Robert says:

    I have a hypothesis with regards to children’s behavior.

    Karma is a real part of reality. By that I mean the Universe gives us children with behaviors that reflect our own past behavior as children.

    Now mind you Ethan is NOT biologically my child… and given my absolute spotless record as a child I can only conclude that either my wife or Ethan’s father was a figurative demon of SATAN!

    What’s your excuse? πŸ˜€

    R.

  19. April 24, 2008 9:38 am

    What’s my excuse!

    It’s all Brent! He ain’t right and hes passed it down to the spawns.

  20. April 24, 2008 9:40 am

    Tam says – Robert likes to speak in the 3rd person and it makes her giggle.

    Tam likes to giggle.

    Tam says – thank you Robert.

    Tam is smiling πŸ˜€

  21. April 24, 2008 9:48 am

    Robert thinks Tam might be picking on him just a tad but he thinks Tam is a good doobie so he’s OK with that!

  22. Heidi permalink
    April 24, 2008 9:50 am

    You are not suppose to poke their eyes out?

  23. April 24, 2008 9:52 am

    Tam said:

    It’s all Brent! He ain’t right and hes passed it down to the spawns.

    Robert responds:

    I really can’t wait to see how Vin responds to that!

    I’m also really glad my wife confines her online activities to myspace…so she didn’t see that “spotless record as a child” referenced to myself above.

    R.

  24. April 24, 2008 9:54 am

    R – Hmmmm… and where can i find your wife on MySpace????

    HEIDI!!!! 😯

  25. Deborah permalink
    April 24, 2008 9:57 am

    real tan/fake tan?-fake, I’d much rather lay in a bed for 20 minutes than outside for two hours.

    Favorite summer food- anything bbq

    Favorite Summer activity-i live on the river πŸ™‚

    Concerned with being in shape for summer? – what shape?

    Going on vacation this summer? yup, taking the “kids” to disneyworld…

    Car windows down or A/C? πŸ˜† Top off (jeep that is) πŸ™„

    Lake, River, or Beach? Any water body

    Water sports or land sports? Water

    Favorite Summer memory….Endless days by the river and fishing…I think my favorite memory is when it was hot, we had no air conditioning, so my Dad would hook up the stereo and we’d sit outside under the stars and talk about everything. Sometimes I would climb up on my horse and lay on her back watching the stars until it cooled off. There was never a “bedtime” in the summer.

  26. April 24, 2008 9:58 am

    Tam asked:

    where can i find your wife on MySpace

    Robert chortles

    Oh yeah!! That’s gonna happen!

    R.

  27. April 24, 2008 9:59 am

    Deb – “Car windows down or A/C? πŸ˜† Top off (jeep that is) :roll:”

    uuu-huh πŸ˜‰

  28. April 24, 2008 10:00 am

    Tams says @ Robert

    Wuss!!!!

  29. April 24, 2008 10:00 am

    Tam is gonna get ready for her day. finally. play nice kids!

    i’ll be back

  30. April 24, 2008 10:01 am

    Tam, I have a VERY cute pic of you and the kids by the pool at the going away party had for Daniel. Kota was still in diapers and had a shaved head! πŸ˜€ I’ll see if I can find it and send it to you. πŸ˜€

    Robert said: You gotta love a woman who thinks underwear are evil!

    My husband thinks I’m crazy for this. 😯 πŸ˜†

  31. April 24, 2008 10:02 am

    Tam said:

    Wuss!!!!

    Robert says:

    Like Vin isn’t scared to death of you! πŸ˜‰

    R.

  32. April 24, 2008 10:04 am

    Now that Tam is gone…I can come and play πŸ™‚

    Robert, it’s all lies…lies I tell you…

  33. April 24, 2008 10:09 am

    I’ve got Tam’s back…. πŸ˜‰ I can see you two ya know?

    Dontchyaknow? heehee πŸ˜†

    I do believe Tam has a “look” that makes Brent beg for mercy. πŸ˜† hahaha!

  34. TheNorEaster permalink
    April 24, 2008 10:10 am

    real tan/fake tan? Neither.

    Favorite summer food? Grilled brat burgers.

    Favorite Summer activity? Shakespeare in the Park. πŸ™‚

    Concerned with being in shape for summer? I am always in shape.

    Going on vacation this summer? Nope.

    Car windows down or A/C? Car windows down.

    Lake, River, or Beach? In the summer? LAKE. The other 9 months of the year? BEACH.

    Water sports or land sports? Baseball.

    Favorite Summer memory? Sorry. It’s so good, I’m keeping that one for me. πŸ˜‰

  35. Deborah permalink
    April 24, 2008 10:12 am

    Tam you know me WAY too well… πŸ˜† πŸ˜‰

  36. April 24, 2008 10:16 am

    Tam has asked that I include the link to Strawberry Zabaglione recipe that was in my original post and WORDPRESS screened out…

    This isn’t my recipe (that’s at home) but it’s close…

    http://www.foodnetwork.com/food/recipes/recipe/0,,FOOD_9936_24024,00.html

    Robert

  37. April 24, 2008 10:35 am

    I think I like that solution..just saying…

  38. April 24, 2008 10:37 am

    Real tan
    Grilled cheeseburgers
    Water skiing
    Always concerned with summer body
    Maybe, we’re last minute planners
    A/C is a must in Texas
    I love the beach, but all we have is lake
    Water sports
    Favorite memory: The last day of school before summer. Then 2 months off. Totally rocked!

  39. lori permalink
    April 24, 2008 11:07 am

    real tan/fake tan?…..i would so not look good in tan…

    Favorite summer food….green snow cones

    Favorite Summer activity……doing nothing

    Concerned with being in shape for summer?….thought about it for oh, 10 seconds?

    Going on vacation this summer?….yep…first family vacation for us…you bet we’re whooping it up in Disney!

    Car windows down or A/C?…depends on where i’m going and if i’m concerned about how my golden locks will be when i get there

    Lake, River, or Beach?…..River, then lake, then beach

    Water sports or land sports?…water sports

    Favorite Summer memory….going to make a new one this year, i’ll have to up date you later!

  40. April 24, 2008 11:24 am

    real tan/fake tan? – No Tan. I use a special zinc cream on my nose and SPF 45 on all other exposed skin.

    Favorite summer food – Barbecue spare ribs with grilled corn on the cob.

    Favorite Summer activity – beach walking.

    Concerned with being in shape for summer? – Usually no. This winter I was very lazy and did not get in the walking and exercise I needed.

    Going on vacation this summer? None that are planned. I expect to have a few unplanned road trips. Being retired I am always on vacation. πŸ™‚

    Car windows down or A/C? – It has to 100 degrees before I use the AC on the car.

    Lake, River, or Beach? – Beach

    Water sports or land sports? – Sports?

    Favorite Summer memory…. The last day of school in any year. The day I retired and throw my clock away.

  41. April 24, 2008 11:29 am

    Meg – isn’t the anticipation of the last day of school the best feeling??? Although when i was in school, on the last day i would immediately start counting down to the first day of the next school year. Geeze! I was such a pessimist!

    Lori – HAHA! thought about it for 10 seconds! Can’t wait to hear about your new favorite summer memory πŸ˜‰

    Ed – are you hair deprived? How can someone drive in their car in 90 degree temps without AC? Wow!

  42. April 24, 2008 11:30 am

    real tan/fake tan? : Real!!

    Favorite summer food: Roasted corn

    Favorite Summer activity: Summer camp

    Concerned with being in shape for summer?: Always a concern

    Going on vacation this summer? :Um…

    Car windows down or A/C?: windows down.

    Lake, River, or Beach?: Beach

    Water sports or land sports?: water

    Favorite Summer memory….: summer camp…every single year. I love camp. Love it love it love it.

  43. April 24, 2008 2:28 pm

    real tan/fake tan? Neither. I am rocking a farmer’s.

    Favorite summer food: Watermelon

    Favorite Summer activity: Being inside with A/C on High, under water or wait until night falls. That or Camping.

    Concerned with being in shape for summer? Negator.

    Going on vacation this summer? My vacation is The Hodges.

    Car windows down or A/C? A/C

    Lake, River, or Beach? Beach

    Water sports or land sports? Land

    Favorite Summer memory…. Oooh. Camping in Colorado.

  44. April 24, 2008 2:31 pm

    Tam, I almost never drive more than 30 mintues now, never in heavy traffic, so I can stick out it for that long.

    For any of the unplanned trips I may take I will probably be taking someone else’s car, like my friend Mike’s. A Lexus with the windows down and the A/C full blast. I will probably need a sweater. πŸ™‚

  45. April 24, 2008 2:34 pm

    So Kristi – you love camp? πŸ˜€ I love uuuuuuu!

    Joe – you got tickets yet??? Huh, huh? I was just thinking about this a few moments ago! πŸ˜‰ SO excited!

    Ed – That reminds me when a friend of mine and I used to drive around So. Ca late at night with the sunroof open and heat on high! Loved it! Good times!

  46. Lori permalink
    April 24, 2008 3:08 pm

    real tan (if I have time)
    salad
    swimming
    no concern
    no vacation (moving)
    car windows down
    swimming pool
    water sports
    Water skiing in Minnesota during the summer πŸ˜‰

  47. April 24, 2008 3:54 pm

    Lori – for some reason you got caught by the spam monster. sorry!

    So my man was born in MN. Hmmmm…where on earth would you water ski THERE!???

    πŸ˜‰

  48. April 24, 2008 9:10 pm

    Real tan
    BBQ ribs & corn on the cob
    Sitting out-maybe even by a pool if I’m lucky
    Concerned with being mobile for summer-in shape would be a bonus!
    Probably no big vacation. Maybe visit grandparents.
    Windows down & AC
    Beach but I’ll take a lake if I can get it
    Land sports–especially when I could actually play them!
    Most recent fave memory: standing with my family on a lock of the Mississippi River watching a barge come through from start to finish. And then it poured rain on us the entire time. Oddly, the kids didn’t get cranky. We just watched the boat.

  49. April 25, 2008 7:41 pm

    Why would anyone want to be fake? ( But as i have ‘delicate’ skin i don’t go TOO far with the real stuff – too many painful memories as a kid ( AND i have the scars to prove it (melanoma surgically removed) Older and very much wiser.

    STRAWBERRIES (possibly dipped in Chocolate or soaked in my Cherry Brandy recipe ( it’s a SECRET so don’t waste your time asking – just pop over for some! πŸ™‚ )

    Eating the above! ( on the beach! – watching the sunsets with friends ideally!)

    I AM in Shape ( we just had our summer 😦 ) – if that shape is ‘pear’ πŸ˜‰

    no πŸ˜₯ – Joe: ‘Going on vacation this summer? My vacation is The Hodges.” Way to rub it in, man! (Down, Envy! Down, i say!)

    Definitely windows down (Tam – Hats!, Girl – use’em! πŸ™‚ )

    All are good but with beaches and rivers like ours here (both Perfect) it’s a tough choice.

    Swimming skills being what mine are – land! (unless we’re talking jetskis, catamarans or ocean powerboat racing πŸ™‚ )

    Too many to pick one -summers here are too long and too gorgeous to not have brilliant memories of them . 8)
    (Sorry for ya Mandy – Truly am!)

    <B

  50. April 29, 2008 4:21 pm

    Real tan in the summer, but I like to pop into the tanning salon now and then in the winter for a dose of sunshine!
    Favorite summer food, FRUIT!! Fruit salad with apples, bananas, oranges, grapes, pineapples, pears, anything in season!

    Favorite Summer activity -being out on a boat

    Concerned with being in shape for summer? – most definitely…but the pounds are coming off!! -25 since December

    Going on vacation this summer? – If my husband wants me to have any sanity at all we better

    Car windows down or A/C? – A/C , short hair and windows still don’t work well!
    Lake, River, or Beach? – I live a few blocks from Lake Michigan in Northern Michigan…sugar sand beaches…the best!

    Water sports or land sports? only if jet skiing is a water sport:)

    Favorite Summer memory….I think last summer, just sitting on the swings at the beach after dark talking…all by ourselves…minus our 5 kids….*sigh* πŸ™‚

  51. April 29, 2008 4:29 pm

    mmm – mmm Joni! BBQ Ribs and Corn on the Cob. GRILLED Cobs are the best too! Yum!

    Love – you and your chocolate covered strawberries πŸ˜‰ And i DO use hats Mister!

    Kelly – Congrats on the lost pounds!!! That is awesome Kelly!!!! 5 Kids? Whoa! I understand your vacation answer then real well πŸ˜€

  52. April 29, 2008 8:57 pm

    Thanks Tam:) I have some most terrible pictures of my success (LOL! okay, terrible “before” pictures) on my other blog http://www.boggledbrainyisms.wordpress.com
    and the reason for such a need for a vacation….yes, 5 kids would sum that up quite well:) Here’s a peek into my life with 5 kids…that will leave you either laughing hysterically or running scared for the the birth control!! πŸ™‚ http://boggledbrainyisms.wordpress.com/2008/03/26/housekeeping-disclaimer/

Leave a Reply

