Skip to content

Get Your Free Advise Here!

May 3, 2008

I like to give advise. Unfortunately, I will spurt out advise often without having given it any thought or prayer. Not good! But there are also times where I have managed to offer some pretty darn good advise and counsel.

So I was wondering…


What is the best advise you have ever received?


What is the worst advise you have ever received?


And did you act on either and what were the results?

19 Comments leave one →
  1. May 3, 2008 5:57 am

    were you up & posting at 5am tammy? 😉

    best advice = don’t have a long engagement. :mrgreen:

  2. May 3, 2008 5:57 am

    oh what were the results?

    y’all know where paul says its better to get married than burn with passion? um. yeah. we got married instead.

  3. May 3, 2008 6:41 am

    Well, I don’t know about best and worst, but I worry about money a lot. So my husband always tells me, “Carrie, they’re just numbers.”

    He says this so much that I no longer feel like throwing up after spending money at the grocery store.

    And the worst is from my mother. I know. Scary. She always told me to hold some of my cards back with people. Just another way of saying don’t trust people ever.

    I took that advice and to this day I’m suspicious by nature, but I can finally say that I’m opening up to people. She’s a looner.

  4. May 3, 2008 6:49 am

    Best Advice #1: Spend time with your children – they grow up too fast. My kids would probably give me a “C+” Ii coullld have done better.

    Best advice #2: Don’t try to change your partner/spouse – you change. Mama would give me a “B+” – I think I am getting it!

    Worst advice: All the ideas I am getting for “Mothers day” suggestions on my blog – I thought my ideas were right in there!

  5. caffeinatedradio permalink
    May 3, 2008 7:10 am

    I didn’t have to think long about that one:

    Best advice ever: My Dad told me as soon as my husband and I came to the Lord, “Always pay your tithes and you’ll have God blessing in everything you do.”

    Results: 25 years of many ups and downs with God’s help through them all. Not rich, but well supplied in all things.

    Worst advice ever: When going through a very tough time of unemployment we were about to lose our house. Went to our pastor for counsel and he said, “Just let it go. Let the bank have it back and start over.”

    Result: We did lose the house, but since then we’ve learned many valuable lessons about integrity and money management, which had we known (or been counseled about) then, we would have made very different decisions. (Needless to say, he’s not our pastor anymore. Or anybody else’s for that matter.)

    PS: This is my first visit to your blog and I love it! I’m a new blogger, can I learn from you?

  6. May 3, 2008 8:48 am

    Best Advice: It’s a tie….
    1) Enjoy every minute with your kids b/c they grow so fast and be grateful when they scream their heads off b/c they have voices to do it, be grateful they run around like crazy b/c they have legs to do it, mostly to just be grateful even for the things that bother you b/c they are alive and healthy. 😀

    2) There is a season for everything. This too shall pass.

    Worst Advice: (mandy might want to cover her eyes! 😉 )
    Even if you don’t want to have sex and your husband does, you should do it anyway, whenever he wants b/c you belong to him. Likewise he belongs to you so even if only one of you wants it, you need to do it. No matter what.
    *I STRONGLY DISAGREE*

    That might have been TMI but that really was the worst advice I’ve ever gotten. Really. And I got that advice when we were engaged by a trusted individual. *sigh*

    Did I act on either:
    I try to act on the first one everyday. Remembering that everything happens only for a season helps me to put things into perspective on a daily basis. Especially with the kids. For times when they are driving me crazy, and for times when they are being so precious my heart will explode. It can go both ways.

    And as for the worst advice, lets just leave it as awful advice. haha!

  7. May 3, 2008 9:15 am

    Earn more than you make.

    I never want anyone to say, “We pay her HOW much?” I’d prefer to hear them say, “We only pay her THAT much?”

    Big difference.

  8. Heidi permalink
    May 3, 2008 9:16 am

    Best advice: Friendships come in seasons.

    So true and so deep. But because of that I hold on to the “real” friends and let go of the others.

    I invest let’s say and do life.

  9. May 3, 2008 11:03 am

    Best advice: This too shall pass…talk to God about it.

    Worst advice: God wants you sinless in this life.

    Through all the tough times I now know they are only for a season – our life is but a vapor…

    Sinlessness before heaven…no way…it’s all a journey with our eyes fixed on Jesus…some day we will be completely sanctified, but not this side of heaven.

  10. May 3, 2008 11:14 am

    I may be the worst person in the world when it comes to seeking help, advise, from another person. I can’t think of a single imprtant decision in my life were I sought, much less listened, to anyone elses advice.

    The best advice I can think of was from the many people who kept telling to me to chill out. It only took me 50 years to listen. 🙂

    My family was constently giving me advise, instructions, on what I should do. I found the answers I needed when I stopped listening to everybody else and worked out my own plan.

  11. TheNorEaster permalink
    May 3, 2008 1:54 pm

    Best Advice: “Just think…in a few hours the sun will be up!”

    Worst Advice: “Get over it.” (regarding grief).

    Act#1: Yep. And I remember those words every time I encounter a dark and stormy night.

    Act#2: You can’t “act” on that advice when you’re grieving. So my response to this was quite simple. “Still miss your father…? Okay then.” And that…settled that.

  12. May 3, 2008 8:57 pm

    Great advise I’ve gotten….

    “If you’re worried about what others are thinking of you…forget about it. They’re only thinking of themselves”

    When I was suffering from depression after my first kiddo was born my MIL said…

    “Remember, this is Physical NOT Mental”

    Cuz I really did think I was going out of my mind and would never return!

    Worst advise…

    When i was a kid and worried about my skin – someone told me when i wash my face I should let the soap set on my skin for at least 2 minutes.

    Uuuuhhh – no. no I shouldn’t have!

    Meany!!!!

  13. May 3, 2008 9:17 pm

    Best Advice 1- Shortly after I gave my life to Jesus and I was a totally crazy on fire Jesus Freak “in your face you’re all going to hell and NEED to get saved RIGHT NOW!!!” kind of person, he said: Let your light shine, but don’t shine it in their eyes.

    Best advice 2- Dad again. When any of us were going through a hard time, he would draw a circle, and put a dot in the middle. He’s say ‘the dot is your perspective of the problem, the circle is God’s. Understand that He’s sees what you can’t, and He’s got it all under control.”

    Worst advice- Don’t have a long engagement! (so glad it was good for you Mandy!)
    Results- My husband and I were only friends for about 2 months before we were engaged, and then were only engaged for 2 months and then married. We were STRANGERS! VERY different strangers! In that first month, we took a personality test, and we were EXACT OPPOSITE on 74 of 75 questions! Hard to get to know someone that different AFTER you’re married!! Makes life fun and exciting now, But in that first year of marriage….with me pregnant just a few months into it….Good Lord…hormones weren’t the only thing flying! (a few shoes on occasion) That man just plain got on my nerves!! (he is an only child, clean freak, I am a 5th born out of 8 kids, very laid back and relaxed!) But as Billy Graham puts it….we are happily incompatible:)

  14. May 3, 2008 9:25 pm

    What is the best advise you have ever received?

    “Don’t burn your bridges.”

    What is the worst advise you have ever received?

    “Try it, you’ll like it.”

  15. gentledove permalink
    May 6, 2008 6:58 am

    I was running for a bus that was just pulling away and someone shouted run for it, so I did and grabbed the bar and ended up flying like a flag as the bus sped on, letting go was so-o painful and humiliating. Don’t jump when someone shouts advice at you, stop! and think.

  16. May 6, 2008 7:02 am

    Good morning Gentledove!

    Goodness! Hope you didn’t get hurt. Yah. I agree. Very bad advise!

  17. May 6, 2008 9:38 am

    Okay Tam, just cause I love you so much, and I cannot stand it anymore….
    advise is pronounced (ad vize) like-“I advise you NOT to leave me comments that correct my spelling!” LOL!

    And advice is pronounced with the soft s sound like-” what’s the best advice you’ve ever been given? ”

    Still love me?? Hope so.

  18. May 6, 2008 9:42 am

    HAAHAAHAA!!!

    How did I miss THAT!?!?!

    Geeze! YES I still love you!!!

    You Rock!

    But I’m not changin’ it!

  19. May 6, 2008 1:57 pm

    Of COURSE you can’t change it! Cause then you’d be perfect and that just wouldn’t work for any of us. Cause then you couldn’t be the Martha Stewart for real people 😉

Leave a Reply

