Skip to content

Who Am I?

May 4, 2008

So lil Miss Mandy Pants wrote a post this weekend that got me thinking…

Am I who I AM says I am?

I am Loved. Adored. Forgiven. Free. Secured. Guided.

Do I live it? Do I embrace it?

Some days yes. Some days tho, I get so wrapped up in…me…that I lose focus on HIM and forget that my life has purpose. That being loved, guided, adored and forgiven by the God of the Universe is nothing to shrug my shoulders at. I am purposed. I have a role in this world. I have a part to play in HIStory.

I want to make a difference. Not for recognition. But because I desire to give back to my Redeemer everything I can. Me. That’s all I have. And really… I am not even my own. So I owe Him this life. I must decidedly lay it down each day and say “Lord, do as You will”. I want nothing less than His will.

So I seek today Your will Lord and pray that I will choose to live in it and that You might be pleased.

19 Comments leave one →
  1. lori permalink
    May 5, 2008 2:30 am

    I hateitloveit when you make so much sense that I just have to sit here and say “duh”.

  2. May 5, 2008 4:29 am

    A challenge for us to do that everyday – thanks Tam.

  3. May 5, 2008 5:06 am

    oh i so love you

  4. Heidi permalink
    May 5, 2008 5:21 am

    You are my friend of “strength” as I wrote out the story on Mandy’s blog this weekend.

    Without YOU and without God, my physical healing would have been at a standstill.

    I come here to laugh (sometimes so hard I pee), I come here to cry (weep) and I COME HERE to hear God’s word through a woman I have never met (we need to fix that) that encourages, pushes, and keeps me in align in the purposes of me embracing the world around me. Thank You!!

    Te AMO Chicklet

    I love you Tam!!! — YOU ARE SO IN GOD’S PURPOSE!!

  5. TheNorEaster permalink
    May 5, 2008 5:33 am

    Michelle wrote about something similar recently, too–which isn’t a bad thing because it shows us bloggers are feeding off each other’s work. In your case, Tam, that is a good thing.

    In my case…I’m going to be committed.

  6. May 5, 2008 6:10 am

    amen 🙂

  7. May 5, 2008 8:08 am

    indeed!

    thanks, tam…

  8. May 5, 2008 8:49 am

    perhaps this is our purpose…what we are doing right here….to be naked and not ashamed…..just as was intended in the beginning of creation when Adam and Eve were naked and not ashamed. And perhaps life will simply begin to flow out of that purpose, for all of us.

  9. May 5, 2008 9:10 am

    This is an awesome post! Alway need reminders to believe I am who I AM says I am! And then walk accordingly!

    (winking and twirling my hair) some pics are posted….honestly when Scott and I are taking the pic..he is saying in his best GodFather voice….. “you make my baby girl cry..I make you cry” LOL LOVE YOU!!!!

  10. May 5, 2008 9:34 am

    Amen

  11. May 5, 2008 10:32 am

    It sounds so easy but why is it difficult to do?

  12. May 5, 2008 1:16 pm

    Some days it is really hard to do, when life is throwing crud at you. And those are the days I must ask for guidance even more. Those are the days, when it’s hard, that have the highest pay offs when it comes to looking to Him for His will in our lives. It may not be immediate pay off, heck we may not even understand what it is we need to be for Him. BUT just to be willing to look to Him for what His will is … is all we can do some days. I’m having one of those days…God what will you have me do? What is it today, a bad day, that you’d have me be for you?

    Sigh…whether I hear an answer or not…at least I’m looking to Him.

  13. May 5, 2008 2:37 pm

    “I am Loved. Adored. Forgiven. Free. Secured. Guided.”

    I need this etched on my mind and heart. I know it, I DO know it, but…some days are definitely harder than others…

    At some point the knowing needs to reach into the feeling…renewing our minds?…you know, He doesn’t really talk much about our feelings, does He?

    Just thinkin’ out loud…thanks.

  14. TheNorEaster permalink
    May 5, 2008 5:14 pm

    Actually, Michelle, The Psalms are filled with people expressing their emotions to God. Not all Psalms are about praise, but the writing style of each eventually come full circle to trusting God though all of our difficulties. So many Psalms are filled with so many struggles, REAL struggles. I read Habbakuk while listening to the band practice tonight. And he was pretty honest about his doubts with God, too.

    I guess it depends on how you look for it.

    And what you’re looking for.

    So…LOOK! 😯

  15. May 5, 2008 7:04 pm

    It’s getting easier….after so many years of walking with the Lord, the time between “who am I that you would want me” is getting a LITTLE shorter. He is constantly challenging me to step up to the plate and just believe who He says I am….just try. I want all of everything that He has for me and like you say, not for recognition, but to fulfill the purpose He had for me from the beginning. Wonderful post!

  16. May 5, 2008 10:35 pm

    I love what Kelly added to Tam’s words – ‘naked and unashamed’.

    I think we can learn how to be more open and honest and not hiding behind things here in blogland – but then we are challenged to do the same in our real worlds.

    How’s the book Coming Tam?

    better than mine i hope? 😉

    <B

  17. May 5, 2008 10:44 pm

    ouch

  18. May 5, 2008 10:53 pm

    Yeah – me too

    Me too :-\

    <B

  19. May 5, 2008 10:56 pm

    pickin self off floor.

    dusting off.

    *gasp*

    uuhhhh

    it’s going???

Leave a Reply

