Skip to content

I got hit. Twice.

May 10, 2008

Habits, quirks, random things about me… I’ve been tagged by Titus2Woman

1- I started blogging last summer because I was secretly competing with my husband. Jealous *gasp* that he was blogging and having so much fun and I wasn’t. Huh. I fixed that!

2- Growing up, I thought I hated tomatoes and would always take them off my sandwiches. I learned as an adult what I really didn’t like was they made my bread soggy. No. Soggy. Bread.

3- I have super low blood pressure and pulse. My cardiologist says I’ll be happy about that when I’m “on in years”. But this means I get dizzy fast and light headed. One day i confessed to my husband why when I’m praising God I only lift one arm….Because I will pass out! 😕

4- I say “shoot darn” A LOT! It’s my favorite euphemism 😀

5- Everything is a blogging moment! Nothing and no one’s safe! Watch out!

6- When I hold hands with someone and we interlock fingers…my thumb HAS to be on the outside. Period.

Next Tag from To Be A Fool– My Memoir in 6 words

“Indispensable Randomness From A Complete Stranger”

That was hard!!!

So share with us some random quirks, habits about yourself.

And while you’re at it throw in a 6 word Memoir Title too!

67 Comments leave one →
  1. May 10, 2008 10:39 am

    quirks–
    if I am dressed up- I want hubs to open the door for me, if I am in my everydat jeans and tshirt..I can get my own thanks…

    i get irritated when someone dominates a converstation to the point that I don’t even want to talk anymore…I am seriously wierd

    If someone drives my car…just put the seat back where I left it 😯

  2. May 10, 2008 10:41 am

    hahahahaha!!!

    I SO can’t wait to actually meet you!

    So. OR – Watch out!!!

    😆

  3. May 10, 2008 10:45 am

    I was over here and you were over there..hahaha i am also easily amused!

  4. May 10, 2008 10:46 am

    Right now..Katrina is driving my car! OMG!!!! yes her daddy is taking her out…I don’t do the teach you to drive thing until you kind of know how!

  5. May 10, 2008 10:54 am

    I am NOT looking forward to the day my kids start driving!

    Can’t they learn that AFTER they leave the house??!!

  6. May 10, 2008 10:57 am

    HAHAHAHAHAHA I thought that too! but Trina said that technically she will be leaving the house..ya know..no driving inside

  7. May 10, 2008 10:57 am

    oh she’s good.

    very good.

    😕

  8. May 10, 2008 12:09 pm

    How cool would it be to raise both hands and just pass out?!?!?! Think how spiritual people will think that you are.

  9. May 10, 2008 12:16 pm

    ha! funny!

    but SO wrong

    😯

  10. lori permalink
    May 10, 2008 12:21 pm

    hmmm……

  11. May 10, 2008 12:26 pm

    😕

  12. lori permalink
    May 10, 2008 12:27 pm

    yeah, thats the one!

  13. May 10, 2008 12:31 pm

    maybe its not a quirk – but I cry a lot! I can’t read anything to mama without crying! I put her mothers day card on the table and cried just thinking about it. I brought her cut flowers already for tomorrow and she put them in a vase and we hugged and cried. When she opens the card tomorrow – I will not cry – I will bawl!
    I am crying writing this! I am pathetic!

  14. lori permalink
    May 10, 2008 12:34 pm

    So quirks…um…coffee is’nt coffee unless it has french vanilla creamer and 2 equal’s.

    I don’t like tomatoes. Nope. Dry bread or not, don’t like ’em.

    I can’t stand the sound of people eating…and there are days when my ‘super sensitive hearing’ is worse than others…ugh.

  15. lori permalink
    May 10, 2008 12:36 pm

    Papa I think that is a sweet characteristic and not a pathetic quirk!

    (((papa)))…..

    Tam…you passin out kleenex?

  16. May 10, 2008 1:20 pm

    This is really odd… I HATE tomatoes but am actually allergic to them but I do like tomato sauces and such… I HATE soggy bread, I have ridiculously low blood pressure and pulse (glad to hear what your cardio said, no one has told me that ha ha) AND I blog about everything…which is why I don’t actually share my blog haha. Oh, and I don’t like my thumb under anyone else’s either. It isn’t THAT big of a deal but prefer to be on the outside. My dh thinks it means you are a domineering person. I’m actually not one though so he thinks I break that mold. I’m wondering if you are really me.

  17. May 10, 2008 1:29 pm

    Wow!!! Do you have family in MO???? And does your family tree fork? That might answer a lot!!! We could be related 😀

    Lori – Papa makes me cry all the time. Good cry. So I ALWAYS have kleenex handy when he’s near 😉

  18. May 10, 2008 1:29 pm

    L- I think you are really her and not her really you…except that i get confused over the fact that you blog about everything and don’t share…Tam actually blogs about lots of things including randomness but she shares with everyone…soooo much that one blog was not enough for her…got to love her… coffee anyone??? no equal..but slenda is good…mmmmm

  19. lori permalink
    May 10, 2008 1:37 pm

    I am so confused…

  20. May 10, 2008 1:37 pm

    haha Darla! I LOVE Splenda! Yum. But people say that’s bad for us too. Maybe I should just raise both my hands, pass out and go Home now. Yah. That’s sounds great!

  21. May 10, 2008 1:38 pm

    Everybody! Help! Lori is confused!!!

  22. May 10, 2008 2:01 pm

    Hmm…random quirks about me:

    -if I’m eating pizza at home, I’ll take the pepperoni off and eat them last. I don’t do that if I’m eating out.

    -I always load my dishwasher the same way (meaning, I put things in the same places; forks always in the same part, spoons always in the same part) – and it ticks me off if someone just puts stuff in there at random!

    -I am so reliant on hairspray that I feel uncomfortable if my hair doesn’t have some level of hardness.

    -One of my big pet peeves is when people don’t push their chairs back in when they get up from a table.

    -I, too, do not like tomatoes, but like tomato sauces/products – just as long as there are no tomato chunks in there.

    -I looooove garbanzo beans, but I don’t like hummus.

  23. lori permalink
    May 10, 2008 2:01 pm

    hey, it’s not THAT bad! Don’t have to call out the guard!!

  24. May 10, 2008 2:13 pm

    Julie – I am the same way about the dishwasher. I definitely have my routine. But it’s more geared toward the unloading process. I try to think ahead on what’s goin to make THAT part of task easier and more organized. Let’s just call it a “gift” 😉

    Lori – Sawree 😀

  25. lori permalink
    May 10, 2008 2:24 pm

    I still heart you Tam!……wait….are you the real Tam or the other Tam? See, now this is where I get confused.

  26. ramsey72 permalink
    May 10, 2008 2:31 pm

    Ok so here are some of my random quirks….
    -When I am pumping gas, I have to stop on an even number…usually .00. I can’t tell you how many times I have overflowed my gas tank!
    -I have a certain order that check things every time I get on the computer. My personal email, Facebook, MySpace, My blogs, and then my work email.
    -I have to have a clock by when I am sleeping. I have to know what time it is when I wake up so I know if I can go back to sleep or not. This is probably because I wake up so many times in the night.

    My memoir……Normal’s A Setting On The Dryer

  27. May 10, 2008 3:09 pm

    Lori! 🙂 being a little confused can work for you…see I stay partially there all the time, and then if I miss something…well I didn’t get the memo…Tam is still Tam even when she is the other Tam…I am pretty sure, but if she is not, no one told me…

    see it works!

    I love that Normal is a setting on the dryer and since I am not a dryer, why try to be normal 😯

  28. May 10, 2008 3:11 pm

    ramsey72 how come I can not click you?? mmmmmm now maybe you are not really you, or are you?

  29. May 10, 2008 3:18 pm

    oh I see how it is….darla comes out to play and everyone runs away….

    dang ole east coast time! stomps her feet while walking away with her lip out

  30. ramsey72 permalink
    May 10, 2008 3:19 pm

    Not sure…..I be who I be!

  31. May 10, 2008 3:23 pm

    i love how you all make me laugh!

    Ladies – you have brightened my day BIG time!!!

    Love you – Love you!

    Yah – Ramsey – do you have a blog?

  32. May 10, 2008 3:23 pm

    aaaaaaaaaahhhhhhhhhh i get it I really really do.. 😐

  33. ramsey72 permalink
    May 10, 2008 3:27 pm

    Yeah…..ramseysramblings.wordpress.com

  34. May 10, 2008 3:29 pm

    thanks! now I don’t feel like there is big secret I can’t know about it….slightly paranoid, ya think?

  35. May 10, 2008 3:32 pm

    so your blog takes me to mandy….

    MANDY !!! GIRL!!! I know you are stalking…hahaha you are not right child! love you tho

  36. ramsey72 permalink
    May 10, 2008 3:33 pm

    nah….My life is an open book…..or at least what I blog about!

  37. ramsey72 permalink
    May 10, 2008 3:36 pm

    we are all connected in this big,crazy blog world

  38. May 10, 2008 3:37 pm

    ya, connected wireless! toooo funny

  39. May 10, 2008 3:41 pm

    Mandy is slowly taking over and she’s not even in town. The girl is on vacation in FL and she STILL has control! Sickening!

    I’m off to church for and Worship Team Practice! My favorite time of the week!!!!

    Have fun girls! I’ll see you later!

    Darla – Next month!!!! Woo-Hooooooo!!!!!!!!!!

  40. May 10, 2008 3:43 pm

    naaaaaaaaaa when I googled this ramseyssamblings I get mandy-just a girl..hahahaha either way its funny

  41. ramsey72 permalink
    May 10, 2008 3:45 pm

    Now that is weird

  42. May 10, 2008 3:46 pm

    🙂

  43. May 10, 2008 5:23 pm

    1. Hafta eat dessert after dinner!
    2. Cannot stand cold pizza
    3. Ramsey–I have to stop pumping gas at an even $ number too! I either over-spill or under-pump or go over a cent or two and have a fit! LOL
    4. Am the chief of grammar police 😀

  44. ramsey72 permalink
    May 10, 2008 5:28 pm

    gchyayles-Glad to know that I am not the only OCD one in the bunch!

  45. May 10, 2008 5:32 pm

    ramsey72-LOL I can not find you except for comments…honestly if I type in your URL it tells me you are mandy…check it out…mmmmmm now I am the one confused, but I am okay with that… ♥ whoever you are

  46. ramsey72 permalink
    May 10, 2008 5:42 pm

    I tried it and my blog came up. I know when I Goggled it Mandy’s blog roll came up and I am on that.

  47. May 10, 2008 6:59 pm

    Memoir: Lived Long; Loved and Laughed LOTS!!! 😆

    ( don’t you just LOVE alliteration?)

    Ramsey72 – loved your memoir! 8) – and google has found you at last ( at least over here in Aus.)

    TAM! so Brent was responsible for your blog ‘career’ – and here i was thinking it was – Mandy’s Fault ! 😉
    ( everything’s Mandy’s Fault) 😀

    LY

    <B

  48. May 10, 2008 10:13 pm

    Quirks:
    I have to have ice in my water or else it’s just gross.
    I like the bed to be cold, not warm.
    I love to find the cold spots in bed with my feet.
    I also like my pillow cold. (and my toilet seats 😯 )
    As I go up the stairs, I take two at a time, and if I don’t get the same amount of steps per leg, I feel weird when I get to the top. Once 😳 I even re-did it. 😳
    yes, I have been diagnosed as slightly OCD by a therapist now leave me alone. 😆 😆 😆

    Memoir…I’m saving that for my blog since Darla tagged me. 😉 And I still don’t know it yet. 😐

  49. May 11, 2008 5:50 am

    sounds like we started blogging for the same reason. when without wax starting getting more attention than i was getting, i decided to join the fun!

  50. May 11, 2008 5:52 am

    oh – and i also have the same dishwasher loading/unloading gift as you and julie!

  51. May 11, 2008 6:39 am

    HA~#5 is SO ME too! ROFLOLOL! (((((HUGS))))) sandi~thanks for playin’ along!

  52. May 11, 2008 8:22 am

    I read these comments and I think, “How do you guys live life?!”.

    But I had to search myself for my own quirks and I think I found some.

    For starters, a response to those who hate tomatoes: you might have never eaten a true ripen tomato. Tomatoes are ripe in the summer only. They look ripe due to a gassing process. Buy local.

    1. I cannot stand eating anything sweet with my meal. Desserts and the like must be eaten far separately from my meals. Hours after. Entries that are really sweet I will not like. I will go for seconds when it is savory and spicy 9 times out of 10 before I will go for dessert. I will eat dessert (and enjoy it) if I am a guest in somebody’s home.

    2. My Firefox windows are setup the same way every time. 1st window: Gmail, Google Cal, Notebook, Facebook, MySpace, ROOV, ESPN; 2nd window: Google Reader, YouVersion, Google Doc; 3rd window: Blog Admin, Blog Site, YouVersion

    3. My weirdest quirk: I really can’t use dry toilet paper. I use the adult equivalent to baby wipes.

    I got more but those come to mind.

  53. May 11, 2008 8:52 am

    Oh yea, I am like brandy. I need to be cool in bed.

    I am very warm as a person. People sit next to me not because of my charm or heart. During service, the A/C is cranked on. If you sit next to me, you will be warm. If I am not next to you, you are cold.

  54. May 11, 2008 12:12 pm

    hahahahha just came here from the wordpress page under entertainment! your face is big on there…LOL way to go Prin!

  55. May 11, 2008 2:22 pm

    no soggy bread… no soggy anything! I have massive food texture issues. my quirk list is too long to even begin!

  56. May 11, 2008 2:34 pm

    Where is Tam??? am I on the wrong blog?? LOL I may have to post a pic of Where is waldo. and change it to Where is Tam…happy mothers day Princess where ever you are!

  57. May 11, 2008 3:00 pm

    HEY!!!!

    Long weekend at church!!!

    I’m off to your place now Princess 😉

    Brandi – you go girl!!! you show him who’s boss…i mean – be gentle. He’s already lost his man card 😀

    Sandi – I knew you’d like that one!!!

    Joe – i am SO taking notes on this!!! We’ll treat you right when you get here 😉

    Jenni – Soggy food is bad. It is never ok. Period. Nice to meet someone with a long quirks list. It makes me feel less quirky 😉 Thank you!!!

  58. May 11, 2008 9:23 pm

    Y’all are quirky…me, not so much.

    If my family could see what I actually typed, they would jump on here and list everything I see as absolutely normal.

    My memoir is at the bottom of my most recent post (couldn’t get out of it this time…tagged twice for the same meme).

    “The unexamined life isn’t worth it.”

  59. May 12, 2008 12:15 am

    My quirks:

    1. I will not eat anything that someone else has taken a bite of even if it’s my own wife.

    2. I am a creature of habit and hate it when my usual routine is disrupted.

    3. I will frequently remove my socks only halfway leaving a good 3-4 inches of loose sock dangling from the end of my foot which I do primarily to annoy my wife!

    4. I will not eat anything that is past its expiration date even if only by a day.

    5. I CANNOT sit still! I always have at least one leg in motion at all times!

    My memoir would be titled Deep Thoughts From A Shallow Mind.

  60. batguano101 permalink
    May 12, 2008 8:50 am

    Saw your picture, read you post-

    Lighten up.

  61. May 12, 2008 9:04 am

    batguano101 – know this girl, and if she lightens up any more she will float away!

    Tam don’t float away I will be there in 44 days.. 😆 my goodness… 😯 I love ya!

  62. May 12, 2008 10:08 am

    Michelle- I LOVE your Memoir! Perfect!

    GMJ – You could be my brother! I WILL NOT eat after others either. Not on purpose at least. Don’t like people drinking after me too. And the expiration thing…I’m usually prett uneasy a day or two before the exp date. It’s bad around here 😀

    Batguano – 😕

    Darla – HAHA!!! You will be here, like, in a blink! I am doing a Happy Dance!!!!

  63. May 12, 2008 11:55 am

    Oh, nothing is good after its expiration date! And my mother goes crazy because I always ask her “how long was this in the fridge?” before I’ll eat it. (hey, I grew up in that house… and I don’t trust them a bit)

    I’m obsessively paranoid about food poisoning, so everything gets washed with antibacterial stuff if it was even close to raw meat. It usually takes me several utensils to cook meat. I use one to turn it the first time, then that has to go in the sink because it has raw meat on it. Ugh.

    I cannot drink the backwash infested final inch or so of a soda. Ewww.

  64. May 12, 2008 12:00 pm

    OH my!!!
    I’m feeling you there. I go through about 3 cooking forks each time I work with cooking meat. It’s a safety thing i tell ya!

    The soda thing – I have to confess that is true for me as well.

    Man! we are a bunch of messed up people!!!!

    😯

  65. May 13, 2008 2:03 pm

    quirk: I always have to close my closet door at nite (and it’s not because I’m scared of monsters)

  66. May 13, 2008 2:06 pm

    sure it isn’t Kristie. Just keep telling yourself that…. 😉

  67. May 13, 2008 11:18 pm

    the change thing. I shared that somewhere. I can’t pay for anything above $1 with all change. Nothing. No way. If it’s $1.50, I have to have a dollar bill. Growing up my mom would send us to the newspaper machine with $10 in quarters to get 10 newspapers so she could have the billion coupons. And then with said coupons if something was “limit 1” per person, she would take us to the store with her and give us money to buy whatever it was, or half a cart of whatever, and a bunch of change to pay for it that took the cashier half an hour to count out!! My little sister used to throw her change away in the garbage as a teenager…she hated it that bad. I just gave mine to my husband for quite a few years. If we are out of something, like bread or milk, and he gives me change to pay for it, I tell him forget it. We’ll go without.

Leave a Reply

