Skip to content

Mac Daddy Smackdown

May 21, 2008

We had a Smack Down at the Hodge Lodge this afternoon.

Our Brents kids are slacking. They’ve turned into slobs.

So Dad laid down the Law today. I usually crack lil jokes to lighten up the tension in the air that is wrapped around our necks like a noose. I usually get the look for that too πŸ˜€

The kids responded great. They always do. And they’ll stay on top of things for quite awhile. Then slowly the slack demons will take over their impressionable little brain cells and turn them into our personal pet pigs. And we’ll have to have a smack down again. OH, the joys of parenting πŸ˜•

Of course there’s a lesson in all this. I do the same thing with God. I’m a slacker. I get comfy in a routine and eventually get too laxed in it and will let things slide…like reading my bible or praying regularly. And sometimes He needs to have a smackdown with me. He does it cause He loves me. And knows I am better and capable of more than a life of mediocrity and half attempts just to get by.

The next time our offspring start slacking I will remember that I am a slacker too. (why did the old Dr. Pepper tune just pop into my head???) I’ll remember to extend to them the same love and patience God extends to me when I’ve slacked…more time than I care to admit.

I’m a slacker

He’s a slacker

She’s a slacker

We’re a slacker

Wouldn’t you like to be a slacker too…

Be a slacker – Be….

i just had to!

sawree

No Slackers.

23 Comments leave one →
  1. May 21, 2008 11:40 pm

    thanks for the big mac slacker slap in the face…
    …i needed it…

    p.s…I, this borderline OCD case here, was once one of those slackers…my dad once cleaned my room by placing all of the contents into 4 huge trash bags and dropped them in the garage. He said I could have my things when I put them where they belonged….when I changed, how I changed…I have no idea. But my color-coded closet tells a story in itself!

  2. May 21, 2008 11:53 pm

    i’m not really sure why … but i’m feeling a little disappointed Mandy did not get a Smack Down here??? 😳

    Suuuure – NOW they’re Brent’s Kids.

    You ain’t fooling this little black (slack) duck – no sirree, Bob.

    <B

  3. May 22, 2008 1:42 am

    awe dang. I think I am convicted by this post. Thanks a lot.

  4. May 22, 2008 2:28 am

    Hey we have those kind of smackdowns here to …not very often but they need it from time to time…and yes I can also fall into being a slacker.

    hahaha I love the Pepper song! 😎

  5. lori permalink
    May 22, 2008 2:43 am

    We haven’t yet had one of those smackdowns, but I’m sure they are coming.

    I admit it, I’m slacking right now. He keeps poking me, trying to get me to move, but I’m not moving. I will…I will

    Thanks for the poke.

  6. May 22, 2008 5:32 am

    Saw your gas budget on Mandy’s blog… ours is $120 and really needs to be less. UGH! Gas prices stink!

  7. May 22, 2008 5:35 am

    Oh how sad – who gives a rip! mama and I are retired! heh heh! We just throw the plastic ware away. Change our sweats once every two weeks, someday we will be able to even just soak our teeth!

  8. May 22, 2008 5:55 am

    I remember smackdowns growing up — very similar to what you described. Now that you mention it…I’ve gotten some lately (as you described)

  9. May 22, 2008 6:28 am

    Would you please (secretly of course) video a Brent-smack-downing event on your next go around. I’m always interested in new techniques. You know, “The Look”, “The Voice”, “The Vein”, etc…

  10. May 22, 2008 6:39 am

    Thank you for your blog, you are awesome. I think you are reading my mind, I sometimes get the smackdown for my disobedience and sometimes I give it to my children, so I know exactly what Brent is going through. Sometimes it’s not easy following rules. But, we have to please our father( Earthly and Heavenly).

  11. May 22, 2008 6:59 am

    Maybe that’s why I love you like a sister Tam…I’m a slacker too!

  12. May 22, 2008 7:03 am

    PS…been slacking on my housework for a couple weeks and now it’s a pit….aaaah!

  13. May 22, 2008 7:30 am

    Hi all!

    I’m off to see my son play drums in a talent show!!!

    Hopefully we’ll post a vid of it…if it turns out…

    Play nice while mama’s a way πŸ˜‰

  14. May 22, 2008 8:07 am

    so totally sounds like our house. We’re actually planning a Full Summer Smackdown, where we are doing something very close to cathi’s story (first commenter) and ‘cleansing’ the kids rooms. should be really, you know, “fun”.

  15. May 22, 2008 8:38 am

    Yes, yes – it never fails. As soon as I hear the words “You wouldn’t have to listen to me nag you if you just did what you are supposed to do” come out of my mouth, I feel a wave of conviction wash up on my sandy little beach. Funny how those little parenting moments often help us see a bigger picture.

  16. TheNorEaster permalink
    May 22, 2008 9:09 am

    I’m not a slacker. Oh, sure. I might procrastinate like I did in college and then write my term papers the night before they are due…but I AM NOT A SLACKER!

    Dr. Pepper, on the other hand, is the worst-tasting soda.

    Ever.

  17. May 22, 2008 10:00 am

    We do well if we can maintain a plan for two weeks…

  18. May 22, 2008 11:55 am

    I’ve been slacking a lot lately….Thanks for the reminder and encouragement to get back in the swing of things!

  19. Deborah permalink
    May 22, 2008 12:26 pm

    Understand, totally understand!!! I have actually been working on my slackedness in different areas of my life. The kids used to get me too with the 2 week meltdown of not remembering! I told Mike and Steve last time Mike was home that I missed their odor….. πŸ˜† When I cleaned Mikes room out after he left, he and Steve had each left a dirty sock with a note…It was one of the most thoughtful things they’ve ever done…. πŸ™‚

  20. May 22, 2008 12:53 pm

    Since my OCD personality sometimes drives other people crazy perhaps your kids could teach me some “slacker” lessons. πŸ™‚

    I needed to get in touch with my inner “slacker” When I start lining up my pens and pencils by size, color and type. πŸ™‚

    Even as a child everthing in my room was in perfect order. My sister really did hate my neatness. πŸ™‚

  21. May 22, 2008 1:11 pm

    Got here via the wordpress.com homepage. I like your blog!

    πŸ™‚

  22. May 23, 2008 7:48 am

    Yeah, I’m usually the one who has to lay down the law around my house too. If I’m away for a couple of days and the girls are home with Lisa all hell breaks loose. They all thank God for the day I come back to return order and balance to the force.

    (or at least that’s the way I see it)

    Brad Ruggles // http://www.bradruggles.com

  23. Momma Jen permalink
    May 25, 2008 6:57 pm

    Personal pet pigs! That’s what I have!!! Yes, I thought I actually birthed 2 children, but what I’m realizing now is that I have 2 (most days 3… but that’s a whole other post) little piggly wigglys! πŸ™‚
    I’ve learned more about God’s grace from my children, than anyone else I think. It’s the times that I’m feeling like I’m being a little too harsh w/ them that I get that gentle nudge and whisper from the Lord… neverending is His grace – THANKFULLY!

Leave a Reply

