Skip to content

Dare To Live

May 24, 2008

“Death is more universal than life; everyone dies but not everyone lives” – Alan Sachs

Friends, live today. Live! This is what you have, today. Right now, you are alive…but are you living?

“Death is more universal than life; everyone dies but not everyone lives

19 Comments leave one →
  1. May 25, 2008 1:50 am

    True that sister friend, true that!

  2. May 25, 2008 4:33 am

    Great quote. Cheers!

  3. May 25, 2008 7:32 am

    even just the title of the post is gripping.

    a while ago i wrote a blog along these same lines (http://daniellehodgson.wordpress.com/2006/06/17/may-you-live-all-the-days-of-your-life-jonathon-swift/)

    May you live all the days of your life – Jonathon Swift

    Let’s LIVE today!

  4. TheNorEaster permalink
    May 25, 2008 8:32 am

    “Death is more universal than life; everyone dies but not everyone lives.“

    Great words. Powerful.

    EXTREMELY POWERFUL.

    Thanks for sharing that, Tam.

  5. May 25, 2008 8:36 am

    Makes me think of the movie/book Tuck Everlasting…… there was a line in it about REALLY living with the years you have, instead of wanting to be alive forever. There is a difference between being alive and living.

  6. lori permalink
    May 25, 2008 12:23 pm

    i pray for the courage to do just that…one painful step at a time.

    Psalm 39
    12 “Hear my prayer, O LORD,
    listen to my cry for help;
    be not deaf to my weeping.
    For I dwell with you as an alien,
    a stranger, as all my fathers were.

  7. May 25, 2008 1:36 pm

    living! what would it look like if all that were alive were living??

  8. May 25, 2008 3:34 pm

    Yes, today I am living!

  9. Heidi permalink
    May 25, 2008 4:20 pm

    I wanted to comment here all day long, but couldn’t get the words to fit right.

    Do you remember the old story of the Velveteen Rabbit? Remember his journey in becoming alive and how special he became when he did?

    Do you remember the day you became a Christ follower instead of just a Christian in the crowd?

    I do for both and it brings goosebumps knowing that the ALIVENESS in my life is ALL about HIM..

    The death in my life is just the sin and darkness.

    I would rather stand up in crowd and say:

    Hi ! My Name is Heidi, I’m a Christ follower and because of that I AM TRULY ALIVE today!!!

  10. May 25, 2008 5:25 pm

    “I came that you may have life and life more abundantly.”

    Jesus knew what He was saying when He said that. He knew were all physically alive but there was spiritual death. He came to revive us. I think of the story about the dead bones [in Daniel I believe?] that are commanded to come alive. Our lives are very much like those dead bones before we encounter Him and after we do, my don’t we come to life!

    PRAISE HIM PRAISE HIM PRAISE HIM! I have been living since January 31st 2006 and I don’t intend to stop! HALLELUJAH!

  11. May 25, 2008 6:41 pm

    mmm… i liked heidi’s comment up there.

    i should read the velveteen rabbit story again… to help me remember that feeling.

    i know i’m not living as alive as i should be. i’m trying to wrap my brain and heart around what that really means…

  12. May 25, 2008 8:22 pm

    “It’s not the years in your life that count, it’s the life in your years” Abraham Lincoln

    [I have a crush on him]

  13. May 25, 2008 9:12 pm

    Cathi made me giggle.

  14. May 25, 2008 9:15 pm

    Very true…
    The sermon today was on worry, which I think is related. So many spend their lives worrying rather than truly living. How sad!

  15. May 25, 2008 9:16 pm

    who wouldn’t love a tall, underweight with a beard, who saved the world?!? I find myself hugging the $5 bill every once in a while just to get a smidgen closer…

  16. May 25, 2008 10:21 pm

    segall – did you have to check first to make sure Abe was int eh 5?

    i would have 😀

  17. May 25, 2008 10:41 pm

    The Secret to Living? ‘Tis Love holds the Key,
    Not the love that i have just between you and me,
    But the Love i receive from One Ever True,
    Returned from Him – through me – unto you.

    <B

  18. william fhakefpeare permalink
    May 25, 2008 11:30 pm

    if cathi can invite people to Mandy’f to play – fo can i…

    Anyone for a game of 20 queftionf?

    http://cathistegall.com/2008/05/23/too-coldhearted-for-coldplay-part-b/#comments

    wf

  19. Deborah permalink
    May 27, 2008 3:30 pm

    Geez, I need to catch up here!!!! I don’t understand why, when you present the gospel and how full it makes a life, it is still rejected. Why wouldn’t people want that? Amazing…. 🙂

Leave a Reply

