Skip to content

No. That Just Won’t Do!

June 3, 2008

So we talked about saving tips this weekend. Times are tough and so many of you had some amazing saving strategies that you shared! I hope we all walked away with new ideas!

But I have a confession. As much as I like to save and be frugal there are some things I can will not compromise on.

Generic Graham Crackers

Generic Peanut Butter (Creamy Jif ONLY)

Generic Cream of Mushroom Soup (I’ll buy it if I have to but I won’t be happy)

What about you?


Are there things you just won’t settle on?

111 Comments leave one →
  1. June 3, 2008 3:24 am

    Are there things you just won’t settle on?…yeah, the fact that tam can’t sleep and neither can I…

  2. June 3, 2008 4:08 am

    I really can not think of any thing – I guess my one item is Sardines, they must be good quality – Walmart has a brand – yuk! But I do like store brand vegetable juice as well as the original V8! I will not compromise on my computer – it must be a Mac ! I am willing to try generic brands and then decide.

  3. June 3, 2008 4:37 am

    Been reading here for a few days and will jump into the fray.

    For me it is Hot Dogs… Once I got hooked on Nathans, Oscar just will not do. Funny thing is Nathans are usually on sale.

    Love the Blog, and I plan to get my wife hooked on reading it also. This is right up here ally in the kind of support she needs for her faith. Thanks

  4. June 3, 2008 4:45 am

    chips-ahoy cookies.
    accept NO substitute!

  5. June 3, 2008 4:51 am

    Generic ice cream, nothing beats Blue Belle. And only Diet Dr. Pepper will do, generic soda…can’t be called Pop!

  6. June 3, 2008 5:02 am

    Ok, I agree with Nathan’s dogs. GREATEST HOT DOG EVER!!

    And Paris Wilson is right about Dr DP, but I had the same thought about soda/pop/coke and a friend got me to try Public’s soda and it wasn’t bad.

    My thing not to cheap on is Bread. Give me the great 7 grain stuff

  7. June 3, 2008 5:14 am

    Doritos. Lord help me.

  8. June 3, 2008 5:25 am

    Oscar Mayer Weiners
    Oreos
    Pringles
    Cereal
    Deodorant

  9. June 3, 2008 5:35 am

    Tampons
    Make-up remover
    Tooth brushes
    Mac-n-cheese
    Perfume (but I only ask for this for Christmas)
    Oreos for sure…good one Mandy

  10. June 3, 2008 5:37 am

    k…this is gonna sound odd…but …..toilet paper. Scotts.

    Equal
    Diet Sunkist
    International Delight coffee creamer
    PC… πŸ™‚ (now don’t start with me…don’t wanna hear it!)
    Motrin…generic stuff just does’t work!

  11. June 3, 2008 5:56 am

    I would have to say the cheese singles. It has to be Kraft.

  12. ramsey72 permalink
    June 3, 2008 6:00 am

    Most of mine have already been covered.
    Toilet Paper…..the cheap stuff feels like sandpaper
    Ice Cream
    Tampons
    Scented Lotions……only Bath and Body Works…..have this weird thing about smells.
    Laundry Detergent

  13. June 3, 2008 6:01 am

    I’m totally with you on the peanut butter. Also can’t do cheap brands of:
    make-up remover
    dishwasher detergent
    vanilla yogurt

    oh, and husband says never ever anything from Radio Shack. πŸ™‚

  14. June 3, 2008 6:07 am

    Coke
    Long Hot Showers
    A/C or Heat to our liking

    I’m stubborn. πŸ™‚

  15. June 3, 2008 6:08 am

    I agree on the hot dogs, but we’re a Hebrew National family!

    We never buy these anymore, but if we did, we would NOT settle for anything less than real Pop-Tarts, not the store brands.

  16. June 3, 2008 6:09 am

    toilet paper
    deodorant
    bread
    GUITARS
    cottage cheese
    crystal light iced tea

  17. TheNorEaster permalink
    June 3, 2008 6:18 am

    “chips-ahoy cookies. accept NO substitute!”

    Umm…Gosh. Sorry there, Mandy. I’ve got to go with Rainbow Chips Deluxe. My life needs a little color every now and then, which is about how often I buy my Rainbow Chips Deluxe.

    Well…and I always liked Rainbows! 😎

  18. TheNorEaster permalink
    June 3, 2008 6:21 am

    You know…now that I think about it, I guess it really doesn’t matter about the brands we prefer. What matter is how much and how often we spend on those treats (though some of you had mentioned necessities).

  19. June 3, 2008 6:29 am

    Too many things, unfortunately. Gas consumption is one that comes to mind. I have a Ford Taurus, which helps, but I took a trip to Atlanta this past weekend to see a friend without a second thought about the price it would be to make the 7-hour drive. My husband and I are really into Papa John’s pizza too. Super yummy, but about the least affordable choice of all the many pizza places around.

  20. June 3, 2008 6:58 am

    Generic cheese slices.

    No can do.

  21. June 3, 2008 7:18 am

    Mayo…Best Foods is the only way to go!

  22. Amy permalink
    June 3, 2008 7:47 am

    Cheese has to be kraft
    Sour cream has to be daisy

  23. June 3, 2008 7:47 am

    I am pretty ‘frugal’, too. But…yea. There are definitely some things that I WILL NOT go generic on:

    Mayonnaise- MUST be Hellmans (Best Foods if you’re on the West Coast)

    Ketchup- I watched a thing about Ketchup once. Yea. I’ll never buy a generic. MUST be Heinz.

    Root Beer- MUST be Mug. Although, A&W is good, too.

    Face Cleansers- Usually AVENO, but really wish I could afford Clinique.

    *I’m a (not so) in the closet face cleanser junkie. I LOVE face cleansers, moisturizers, astringents, etc. *

    Lotions/Scents- NOTHING but Bath and Body Works! There is NO substitute. None. I have a scent for every season:) OH….except they just got rid of my ‘Spring’ scent. Yea. They always do.

  24. June 3, 2008 7:54 am

    Mayonnaise MUST be Mayonnaise. Miracle Whip is from the devil!

  25. Heidi permalink
    June 3, 2008 8:03 am

    1. Has to be Tide laundry soap
    2. PIne SOL- not pine whatever
    3. Kosher pickels- not store brand

    These are my top 3.

  26. June 3, 2008 8:05 am

    Mitchum Roll on Deoderant…nothing else dams up my glands
    Mach 3 razors…I’m a bloody mess otherwise
    Cheerios…the fakes stuff is just nasty

  27. June 3, 2008 8:06 am

    Ummmm… not really. There are some things that i might buy once and never make the mistake again but on the whole – no.

    The only exception would be if i was buying something for someone else – a gift.

    I can happily make do – or just go without for a time.

    Few things in life though rarely make me happier than finding something i like (covered in, or made of, chocolate usually) in a brand i adore – 20, 30 or 50 % off the regular price! πŸ™‚

    Watch my smile light up then! πŸ™‚

    Such things include: Terry’s chocolate oranges, Duc D’Or Belgian Truffles and Cadbury’s Turkish Delight.

    I have never seen ‘generic versions’ of any of these.

    I actually get to smile a lot – i can sniff out bargains three states away! πŸ™‚

    My parents grew up during the war (WWII) and learned the value of a buck (pound) – it stuck with me – mostly πŸ™‚

    <B

  28. June 3, 2008 8:28 am

    what the!!!

    how could i forget about oreos??? what is WRONG with me?!

    mud – agreed! Miracle Whip will be forced fed to people in hell. it is n.a.s.t.y.

    oh and toilet paper. of course! im fond of my hiney, it’s the only one im getting (hopefully) so i like to treat it well…only Angel Soft will do!

  29. June 3, 2008 8:30 am

    mac n cheese AKA yellow death
    adams natural Pbutter crunchy
    name brand cereals
    good coffee
    kleenex, not cheap brands, they stick
    tape; scotch not generic
    guys wont drink store brand pop
    looking at this list, we are kinda snooty. πŸ™‚

  30. June 3, 2008 8:59 am

    Mudpuppy, I agree about the Miracle Whip! ICK!!:-)

  31. June 3, 2008 9:00 am

    Tam, you are too funny! Yes, hopefully it is the only one you will get! HA!

  32. June 3, 2008 9:40 am

    I only like Mac n Cheese. Velveeta?
    shudders.

  33. June 3, 2008 9:43 am

    Velveeta and certain jellies don’t need to be refrigerated.

    that’s wrong.

  34. June 3, 2008 9:46 am

    I cannot buy Folgers or other cheap coffee! I have to have my Starbucks! πŸ™‚

    angela

  35. June 3, 2008 9:47 am

    One more, I have to havce Tilamook cheese…not other substitutes! LOL!

    angela

  36. June 3, 2008 10:02 am

    Terry’s chocolate oranges – the BEST!

    Nabisco Nutter Butters

    Jiff creamy peanut butter

    Oreos

    Lay’s Natural Potato Chips

    With these in the house I can rest easy. πŸ˜€

  37. June 3, 2008 10:03 am

    Ok…about the Miracle Whip. It HAD to be Miracle Whip up until a couple of years ago. I would not eat real mayo…..didn’t like the taste. Then, suddenly, it all changed. Praise God, I was DELIVERED! Freed from the bonds of MW!

    Following is my list of non-compromises:

    Mac N Cheese – boxed MUST be Kraft, frozen must be Stouffers.

    Cheese slices – Kraft or Tillamook. NO GENERIC! Generic takes me back to the days when all my family had was gov’t. cheese. YUK!!

    Parmesan cheese – again, MUST be Kraft. It’s the only brand that doesn’t smell like feet.

    Sandwich cookies – Oreo, baby! Anything else is just frontin’!

    Laundry soap – generic brands never make the clothes SMELL clean!

    Ice Cream – store brands nearly always taste like flavored ice crystals. Gotta be Tillamook or Dreyer’s.

    Q-Tips – gotta be…well….Q-Tips! We got some generic brand at Dollar Tree recently……a few strands of cotton stuck to the end of a pointy stick would have been more comfortable in my ear than those things!

    There are probably more – I’m very picky! – but I can’t think of them right now!

  38. June 3, 2008 10:06 am

    Oh, and I’m with y’all (Hi, Mandy….sorry Tam) on the PB thing ‘cept mine has to be Skippy Creamy.

  39. June 3, 2008 10:19 am

    I was just going to lurk and not participate, but GMJ…. Parmesan Cheese that does not smell like feet is NOT Parmesan Cheese… it’s shredded cardboard.

    Even before GMJ’s post my #1 was
    – Parmigiano Reggiano – only imported, no domestic
    Also
    – Procciutto DeParma – again, not domestic
    – NO beer from any major brewer
    – Q-Tips, definitely Q-TIps…

  40. June 3, 2008 10:21 am

    BuddyO – lurk, not participate? I’m so glad you’re here!!!

  41. June 3, 2008 10:23 am

    I’m queen of generic brands except for the following:
    OREOS
    Peter Pan Crunchy Peanut Butter
    Coffee Mate Coffee Creamer (Creme Brulee is my fav)
    Cheese (ima cheese snob – married to a chef)

    I’ve even discovered the store brand tp from Sams (members mark) is pretty darn acceptable, as are the paper towels.

    Personally mayo and mw both make me want to throw up a little.

  42. June 3, 2008 10:30 am

    You can in NO way comprimise on Kraft Mac & Cheese. All else is up for debate for me.

  43. June 3, 2008 10:38 am

    Man I lurk across a bunch of blogs all day. My RSS reader keeps hopping while I’m working…

    I only see fit to chime in when someone misrepresents a fine cheese….

  44. June 3, 2008 10:44 am

    hahaha!!! noted.

  45. June 3, 2008 10:54 am

    Crunchy Jiff, Crucial or Kingston RAM, Seagate hard-drives, ABIT motherboards, vivid adjectives, and poignant metaphors.

    I am sure there is more but that list spans my life rather well.

  46. June 3, 2008 10:58 am

    All cheeses and other dairy products, generic and otherwise, could disappear from the face of this world and we would be one giant leap closer to heaven. IMHO.

    Would you join me in a toast to a lactose-free world Buddy? Any beer, your choice.

  47. June 3, 2008 10:58 am

    Now ya’ll are reminding me of a few more:

    Laundry soap – Surf ocean breeze
    TP – charmin although my septic HATES it.
    Mayo – Hellman’s / Best foods.
    Pepsi – the cheap stuff leaves a weird aftertaste.

    What about any suggestions for “over the shoulder boulder holders”? I’ve been buying Victoria’s Secret, but hate them….need support. =/

    Tam if this question is inappropriate…you can delete it w/ no complaints. This is just how I roll…..

  48. June 3, 2008 11:08 am

    coffee…can’t go generic!!! and HAVE TO have a St. Arbucks cup of the bean once a week!!!

    and for whatever reason sausage links…we’ve tried generic, but never happening again!!! bob is the only one that knows how to make them…and if you don’t know bob, sorry about your luck!!!

  49. June 3, 2008 11:12 am

    Mandy – you can so talk about your girls here! we’re cool with that 😎

  50. Heidi permalink
    June 3, 2008 11:27 am

    Boulder holders you are so (brave) but so right!! I need support baby!!! It has to have .

  51. Emily Mea permalink
    June 3, 2008 11:40 am

    Laundry detergent and fabric softener – I’ve had too many allergic reactions to store brands
    hair products – TRESSeme smoother and Mark Curl Goddess
    face wash/astringent – again, I’ve had too many allergic reactions – the gentle clay cleanser from Bath and Body Works
    caramel truffle decaff coffee
    Prisma Color brand art supplies – so worth the money
    Tom’s Natural Toothpaste
    deodorant
    luna bars

  52. June 3, 2008 11:49 am

    Alright I have to admit: I like miracle whip. I do. I don’t like real butter. I’m weird. go ahead….begin the flogging….

  53. June 3, 2008 11:53 am

    When I slice of a T of butter for the fry pan, I take a sliver for myself and just eat it off the knife. Don’t tell

  54. kathleen permalink
    June 3, 2008 11:54 am

    I think I agree with almost every product on here which is making me think that I am not frugal at all. In fact I think the only generic thing I have in my kitchen right now is applesauce…this is not good!

  55. June 3, 2008 11:57 am

    mandy!!!! eewwww 😯

    lori – you’re not right πŸ˜‰

    kathleen – i wanta eat at YOUR house πŸ˜€

  56. June 3, 2008 11:58 am

    WOW, I think I am low maintenance after reading everyone’s comments!! 😯

    Name Brand: bread and milk. And really that’s about it I think. Milk only b/c some milks taste funny to me. And bread b/c it needs to be healthy and moist. No dry crumbly white bread. I am loyal to no food brands really. Whatever is cheapest works for me. Store brand? Bring it on. I can’t afford to be picky.

    Oh wait, I am a snob. I’m a makeup and hair product snob. Seriously. I used to use only Clinique EVERYTHING for makeup but a few months ago I switched to Bare Minerals….and I am in NO WAY EVER going back to regular makeup. I’d rather go without. And I have to get my hair colored and cut at a salon and use salon products. I am trying to be good now and buy my shampoo at Walmart. But even then, Garnier Fructise b/c my hair dresser cousin said that’s the lesser of the evils. πŸ˜‰ HAHA!!

    Oh! And baby wipes….HAVE.TO.BE.PAMPERS. End of discussion. πŸ˜‰

    Okay so I’m a little bit of a snob. 😯 😳

  57. June 3, 2008 12:00 pm

    Wow I’m embarrassed now. 😳 I said I can’t afford to be picky right before I listed several expensive picky items. *sigh* Maybe I’ll start coloring my own hair….. maybe. πŸ˜‰

  58. June 3, 2008 12:03 pm

    Also, I prefer generic mac-n-cheese over Kraft. I know. It’s almost anti-american. But there is more protein and less carbs in the generic. Really. I check. πŸ˜†

  59. June 3, 2008 12:04 pm

    Fabric Softener HAS TO BE Downy Clean Breeze.

    Sorry. I’m done. I promise. I think. I’m going. Now.

  60. June 3, 2008 12:05 pm

    Liquid softener that is.

    (had to add that for take over purposes)

    πŸ˜†

  61. June 3, 2008 12:08 pm

    brandy – there was actually a study last year about Kraft. It said that Kraft has spent so much on their advertising, that they can on longer afford to put real cheese in their mac & cheese because of the rising costs & their lack of sales. They no longer put “made w/ whaterever% real cheese” on their packagin.

    BUT, most store brands use more real cheese than Kraft. Not sure if it’s true, but I like to think it is. Gives me rationale to buy the cheap stuff. (I prefer Kraft)

  62. June 3, 2008 12:22 pm

    Toilet paper. Absolutely HAS to be Cottonelle with Aloe. Especially after giving birth! Ha!

    I am extremely frugal, but the snobby make-up artist in me will not settle for anything less than MAC make-up.

  63. June 3, 2008 12:52 pm

    Tam 😳 I can’t help it…it’s what I grew up with…blame my mom…she did it. I also can’t do anthing more than 1% milk…again..blame mom. seriously. it’s all her fault!

    other can’t do’s…
    Pizza shop pizza…much prefer home made
    generic “sandwich” bread…Canadian white…or brown…but no ‘sandwich’ bread for me, thank you.

  64. June 3, 2008 1:00 pm

    I prefer Maker’s Mark bourbon not Old Grandpa, has to be at least eye level in the liquor store for me to buy.

  65. TheNorEaster permalink
    June 3, 2008 1:04 pm

    Okay. That’s it. I’ve learned my lesson. Forget flowers. Forget chocolates. Forget romantic poems.

    Forget it! Forget ’em all, I say!

    If ever I go to Europe and find the woman of my dreams–I’m just sayin’ here, Tam πŸ˜‰ –I am going to ask her, “Are there some products you just won’t settle on?”

    Her answer may actually determine what I do with that ring in my pocket!!!

    I’m just sayin’!

  66. TheNorEaster permalink
    June 3, 2008 1:08 pm

    Okay. I just checked my stats and had to share this search term:

    “where to get organic fluff ‘n’ nutter”

    Pretty fitting, isn’t it?

    After all, there is only one fluff!

    (But I kind of doubt it’s organic. πŸ˜† )

  67. June 3, 2008 1:32 pm

    oh no Nor – fluffing is very organic 😯

    i can’t do more than 1% milk either. and i only use it for my cereal. anything above 1% seems to fall out of the jug in clumps. ick.

  68. Tami Christensen permalink
    June 3, 2008 1:42 pm

    I know one thing (although it’s a conspiracy) that I won’t just get any kind of is gas. I work from home, so I barely drive…therefore I justify buying Chevron gas. I also find that generic juice tastes like feet, so I can’t do that. Must be Minute Maid or Florida’s Best. I don’t skimp on makeup products either; it’s either Clinique or Cover Girl. Thankfully, I don’t have to wear makeup during the week working from home, so that right there saves money, see!

    I don’t think we buy generic food of any kind. We’ve TRIED it, we just never stuck with it.

    I’m a big coupon clipper though. Drew got me into that when we first met and it just became second nature to me. We’ve had $30 worth of coupons before; we wait for that day once again.

    We do have an emergency fund account and we do add to that every month. Tithe is automatic for us too. When I think about it now, though, there are MANY ways we could cut back and put more money into savings. This post has given me food for thought…FREE food for thought at that!

  69. June 3, 2008 1:50 pm

    “I also find that generic juice tastes like feet”

    i am officially concerned πŸ˜•

  70. Tami Christensen permalink
    June 3, 2008 2:03 pm

    Trust me, the U.S. population should be concerned.

  71. June 3, 2008 2:06 pm

    i love CREAMY JIF!!!!!!!!!!!!

  72. June 3, 2008 2:14 pm

    Ice cream
    Cereal
    Cookies
    Cheezits
    Soda
    Ditto JIF!!

  73. June 3, 2008 2:16 pm

    Feminine products
    Ketchup [must be Heinz!]
    Chocolate [very specific taste concerning that]

    I can’t think of anything else :/

    Tam, I love your new avatar; you look boooooootifullllllllllllll! Love ya!

  74. June 3, 2008 2:17 pm

    Okay so you and I just commented on each other’s blog at the EXACT same time………..

  75. June 3, 2008 2:18 pm

    I’m not giving up on cereal. I have never found a knock off brand of Honey Nut Cheerios that can compare!

  76. June 3, 2008 2:20 pm

    Oh Peter over here [hi Pete!] reminded me to add cereal to my list. NO NO NO generic cereal! Honey Smacks and Trix and all that good stuff in my bowl please and thank you!

  77. June 3, 2008 2:21 pm

    oooops I meant “Pete” the first time too….as in….”Oh PETE over here…” sigh…why can’t we edit our comments on other people’s blogs once they’ve been posted?!?!?! It would make my [and Alece’s, right Alece?] life so much easier!

  78. June 3, 2008 2:22 pm

    thank you les! πŸ™‚

    Pete – and the knock off ones have less fiber. which is good for me cuz too much fiber makes me. well. never mind. πŸ˜•

  79. June 3, 2008 2:25 pm

    Tam,
    I’m way late to this discussion, but PAPER PRODUCTS. Don’t buy me cheap toilet paper, or cheap paper towels. PLEASE.
    Fred

  80. June 3, 2008 2:29 pm

    i wont fred, i promise πŸ˜‰

  81. June 3, 2008 2:42 pm

    I can’t think of anything at the moment which surprises me…except I do ONLY want natural peanut butter since I started eating it I can’t stand the taste of Jiffy or any other brand. Natural just tastes so real, but I’m alone in my desire for natural peanut butter because everyone in my house prefers the kind with sugar and partially hydrogenated fat added.

    Ok, just thought of something else, but its not a brand issue – I prefer whole grains. The taste of white bread leaves something to be desired for me UNLESS its homemade and warm with BUTTER (I know BAD, but it tastes so good) I also prefer to use whole wheat flour (or other whole grains) and oat bran when baking or if I must I use non-bleached white flour.

  82. June 3, 2008 2:46 pm

    Bush’s Vegetarian Baked Beans

    Hellmann’s Real Mayo

    I only have chocolate once a week now and it must be Ghirardelli Chocolate Squares

    Also once a week Ben & Jerry Ice Cream

    Once a month Ducktrap Smoked Salmon and Johnsonville Brats

  83. Heather Blankenship permalink
    June 3, 2008 3:14 pm

    Mud- Miracle whip is SO FROM SATAN himself!

    ok, I am a high maintenance princess according to my husband!

    Skin care- Mary Kay
    makeup- everyday minerals… I agree with Brandy- never use regular makeup again!

    Toilet paper- cottonelle or charmin
    paper towels- bounty
    NO GENERIC laundry detergent!
    Shampoo/conditioner- most any brand just not generics.
    tampons
    bathstuff…
    Yeah, my list could go on and on and on!

    I will use generic on bread, medicines, toothpaste…that’s about it!

  84. June 3, 2008 3:18 pm

    Ok in reading through the list I must say…

    Paper towels – have to be Bounty, but I buy in bulk when they are on sale and with a coupon

    Facial Tissues – Kleenex or Puffs anything else hurts my nose

  85. June 3, 2008 3:37 pm

    I absolutely refuse to buy the bargain, day old, wherehouse grocery store meat!

  86. June 3, 2008 3:44 pm

    D Rho – NO DOUBT!!! I can not either!!! My mom did that all the time. She’d pull it out to cook it at home and it would be all gray and brown. Wrong on SO MANY LEVELS!!!

  87. June 3, 2008 4:03 pm

    usually bread “Aunt Millie’s” (which is usually on sale)with no high fructose corn syrup which I believe is a banned substance in Europe
    Children’s Motrin-generics add sugar
    Q-tips
    Kleenex
    Sweet & Low
    Ketchup must be Heinz(hubby’s request)
    Coffee

    Hey, is Aldi a nationwide store or just Midwest regional? Aldi often has name brand items in disguise–just distributed under the manufacturer name or low cost company name without the high ad cost etc. We once got an Aldi brand iced tea mix with a Nestea lid on it.

    d rho-warehouse meat is scary

  88. June 3, 2008 4:17 pm

    good question.

    toilet paper

  89. June 3, 2008 5:38 pm

    good one, danielle!
    my cheeks prefer charmin

  90. June 3, 2008 5:45 pm

    steak has to be ny strip or better – which is why we almost never eat it πŸ˜†

    spaghetti sauce
    coffee – must be good quality in bean form

    Pray for me, I really like miracle whip 😯

  91. June 3, 2008 5:51 pm

    P365 – i think I have some of that rancid pinkish sandwich ruiner somewhere in the back of my fridge. i’ll dig for it when you get here in a few weeks πŸ˜€

  92. June 3, 2008 6:31 pm

    Good yummy bread… the Wonder bread stuff just won’t do and raspberries are always expensive, but they’re worth it.

    I like your new picture!

  93. June 3, 2008 6:40 pm

    Darla says Hellmans mayo or nothin’ πŸ˜†

    mmmmmmmmmm rancid pink sandwich stuff

    we were at the local discount grocery last week and they had miracle whip in gallon jars. Darla said no, it’s out of date.

    she is such a party pooper.

    this post needed “poop” in it anyway πŸ™‚

    ok start flinging….

  94. June 3, 2008 6:43 pm

    another one just popped into my mind!
    Fabric Softner….Downy Lavendar and Vanilla
    It is so yummy….and it reminds me of my mom
    ( Can’t you hear the crowds saying, “ahhhhhh, isn’t that sweet?” HA!!)

  95. June 3, 2008 6:45 pm

    addressing p365 and poop:

    my dad, a plumber always said: “it might be poop to you, but it’s my ‘bread and butter’

    ok, so it’s not that funny:-)

  96. June 3, 2008 6:47 pm

    πŸ˜†

    you all are HOT tonight!

  97. June 3, 2008 6:55 pm

    Tam, at least you think it’s hot. My mom used to say, almost everynight at the dinner table, “can we have one meal with out talking about poop or male parts?”

  98. June 3, 2008 6:58 pm

    yah, i understand that! some nights i just wanta hear sounds ONLY from the mouth.

  99. June 3, 2008 7:02 pm

    have you noticed we have been vacillated between food and toliet paper all day? (i mean, the posts on your blog!!:-)

  100. June 3, 2008 7:05 pm

    well. what goes in must go out.

    it really does make sense.

  101. June 3, 2008 7:10 pm

    We could stray to another subject. How about bras? I seriously need a new brand. I put my iphone in the left cup during my walk and BROKE THE UNDERWIRE. My friends call them Epic. Seriously.

  102. June 3, 2008 7:16 pm

    you hate Victoria Secrets Bras and that is the one i have. yes. i said ONE. it gets washed a lot! really!

    do you have a sports one for walking? gotta take proper care of the girls ya know πŸ˜‰

  103. June 3, 2008 7:30 pm

    birth control.
    😯
    has anyone said that yet???

  104. June 3, 2008 7:34 pm

    It all depends on what the girls need. lift, always support….
    I recomment the very sexy balconette.
    tam, they (vicky’s, as my girls call it……….girls, as in my my daughters:-) makes a great line of sports bras too.
    ok, enough said from me!

  105. June 3, 2008 8:35 pm

    mandy, when you say your friends call “them” “Epic” are they referring to the bra? πŸ™‚

    You walk around with an iphone in your bra? I can just imagine some guy walking by you and hearing your bra talking.

  106. June 3, 2008 8:48 pm

    I’ve been so frugal in the last year that I’m tired of it.
    I’ve given up my pikepass.
    I’ve given up my starbucks frappicino’s
    I’ve given up my expensive shampoo.
    I’ve stopped making color appointments for my hair.
    I’ve started making most everyone call me back(except you Tam), as US Cellular has incoming minutes for free.
    I’ve bought the cheap toilet paper, that doesn’t feel the best.

    Okay…and I’ve stopped driving as much. Now I’m ready for some splurges so this month I’ve bought a few of my chocolate treats…and starbucks…and used the pike pass. HOLD ME BACK!

  107. June 4, 2008 2:28 am

    p365 you just got broken up with.

    I would have to add to my list – hairspray. I don’t use a lot, but I kinda don’t like to use the cheap stuff because when I do I have to use extra shampoo to get it out and that challenges my money saving efforts.

  108. June 4, 2008 2:37 am

    kristiapplesauce- please please please give my hubs another chance.. πŸ™‚ its totally a guy thing…and I am praying for him. πŸ˜‰ oh I am working on an email back to you…about support with my church..need more information..hahaha how is that for being a good little wife and helpmate? He is going to crack up when he reads your comment! love ya girl have a great day or night..mmmmmm

  109. June 4, 2008 5:28 am

    I only do my power walking w/ the iphone in the bra. My yoga pants have no pockets. If the phone rings, I can just talk through my earpiece….no talking “girls” (which my friends refer to as Epic)

    I really enjoyed the Body by Victoria bras, but they’ve changed them and they no longer do the job well enough. I bought 4 of the old ones, but am one my last one =/.

    I tried the new Body by Vic Plunge, but the straps are too wide and fall down….makes me look trashy(er) at church.

    Any suggestions, for any brands, would be greatly appreciated by my husband. “We” don’t want them to sag you know.

  110. June 4, 2008 11:30 am

    Hey Tam,

    Love reading your stuff!! I’m a Nashvillian/CrossPointer and found your blog through Pete, Brandi, Brian and GI.

    All of these suggestions have been awesome (and hilarious). Has anyone said razors yet? I HATE those little one blade numbers…………you gotta have at least 3-4 blades. Also, don’t know why but generic frozen pizza is kinda yucky. I like DeGornio (sp?) Otherwise, I’m a bargain shopper. Some generics are great, but others stink. You gotta try them at least once.

Trackbacks

  1. Just Can’t Do Without it… « To Live Is Christ

Leave a Reply

