Skip to content

Unexpected Joy

June 7, 2008

I’ve not felt well this week. I am coming down with a cold and sore throat and have been functioning on little to no sleep.

Yesterday I was napping (I don’t nap but maybe twice a year, so I really must have needed this one) and as I woke my daughter, Kass, came into the room and began “taking my vitals” so to speak.

“Mom? How are you doing? Do you need anything? Can I get you some cough drops? Oh, and a drink of water too! And I’ll bring you some crackers Mom…do crackers sound good?”

*Heart Melts*

Then about two hours later my son, Kota, walks in. With his bible in tote, he laid across the bottom of my bed. And he asked…

“Mom? Can I read to you from Psalm 118?”

*Lord, You are SO good!*

Have you experienced unexpected joy lately?

EDITED TO ADD : Make sure you check out my sons post today that was inspired by Psalm 118!

31 Comments leave one →
  1. June 7, 2008 10:57 am

    Well, that made my ears tear up. How sweet! I do hope you start feeling better fast! I’m glad you have such great helpers at home while you are under the weather.

    My little guy, Titus, has a rough night the other night. He’s about 21 months now but just kept waking up. I finally put him in the twin bed in his room with me and we snuggled and slept the next few hours of the night. He woke up and my wake up call was the sweetest bunch of smootchy wet kisses. He’s learned to pucker up good and make a smackin’ noise. That just made my day start out so well.

  2. June 7, 2008 11:18 am

    Such a precious day. You’re both obviously great parents to have such compassionate children! Hope you’re feeling better.

  3. June 7, 2008 11:23 am

    wow.
    sweet sweet story.
    now.
    go eat some oreos and drink some honey lemon tea!

  4. June 7, 2008 11:27 am

    i heart you

  5. June 7, 2008 11:40 am

    Wow. That’s wonderful.

  6. TheNorEaster permalink
    June 7, 2008 11:41 am

    “Have you experienced unexpected joy lately?”

    No.

    Good story, but…No.

    No, I haven’t.

  7. June 7, 2008 11:45 am

    Those kids rock!

    Unexpected joy? No. Expected joy? Yes, my family made it home safe last night from being gone for a week. Hooray!

  8. June 7, 2008 11:57 am

    Sorry you are feeling under the weather, Tam. Praying you are back to your old self soon (old as in previous, not old as in age!).

    Can’t think of any specific examples of unexpected joy but I think they occur every day if we are just open to seeing them.

    Feel better soon!

  9. June 7, 2008 12:09 pm

    wow, that is so wonderful. i hope you feel better soon!

    i got some unexpected joy this week. my friend has a two-year old son who i just met for the first time. he calls me “aunt lizzy”. (which is soon-to-be-born sister sharing my name, they opted to go that route for me so that there’s no confusion in his sweet little mind.) the other day i was watching him while parentals were out somewhere. “aunt lizzy,” he said sweetly as he walked over to me on the couch. “snuggles.” i pulled him up onto my lap and we cuddled for a bit. when i told dave and amy about it later, dave seemed surprised. “he doesn’t even do that with me.” amy agreed, “i’m the only one he ever does that with.” it made my heart do a cartwheel.

  10. June 7, 2008 12:14 pm

    *giggle* I knew this story before you posted it. YAYYYYY for Kass & Kota!

    Unexpected joy: My spiritual mom sent me a dolphin pendant for my birthday and I LOVE dolphins! I didn’t know that she knew that so it was very unexpected!

    The house we went to look at for the second time. I swear I don’t remember the huge bathroom from the first time we saw it or the walk in closet or anything else. It was unexpected even though we had seen it once already. It’s like God just put those things in there between our two visits!

    My husband was sitting next to me last night and we were talking about something random and he blurted out “I’m so glad you’re my wife!” He has said that to me before and he’s very consistent in complimenting but this was just different, very unexpected and gave me SO MUCH joy!

  11. June 7, 2008 12:18 pm

    That’s so lovely, your daughter and your son taking such good care of you, and blessing you. Love that about your son reading a psalm. Hope you feel better soon, God bless 🙂

  12. June 7, 2008 12:28 pm

    I am truly am blessed by my family!

    I added this to my post but wanted to make sure to add it here too… Kota wrote on his blog today something that inspired him from reading to me last night. you can read it here…

    http://incahoots.wordpress.com/2008/06/07/pick-it/

  13. June 7, 2008 12:46 pm

    sweet sweet post over there @ inCahoots.

  14. June 7, 2008 1:00 pm

    So cool. So Sooo Cool. I am going to check out Kota’s post.

  15. Heidi permalink
    June 7, 2008 1:15 pm

    Unexpected joy.. hmm yes..
    my husband has been battling his health lately and a very new diagnosis and I have been battling “time” because I’m now taking on his load.
    I just gotten to the car with a load of groceries, sweating, and tired, and I was just staring out in space thinking of what to do next.
    A little elderly lady came walking up to my window with the COLDEST Coke Zeroand the most moistest pineapple Tamale I have ever had, and she said these words to me
    ” He’s watching you from upstairs.. no worries”
    I felt so overwhelmed I got out of my car and squeezed her neck.
    A total stranger was my angel……

    Love you Tam!!!
    Praying for healing over your body right now.

  16. June 7, 2008 1:18 pm

    That is beautiful. I love how kids pull us out of ourselves. Sounds like Kass and Kota are great kids!

  17. June 7, 2008 1:44 pm

    Holy cow snot!

    Way to raise those babies to love you and the Word.

  18. June 7, 2008 2:32 pm

    *gasp*

    I think my heart melted too!!!!

    Tell me Tam. Tell me how to do whatever you did with them. Seriously. And NO I’m not going to give you lessons b/c CLEARLY you should be giving me lessons. 😉

  19. June 7, 2008 2:33 pm

    Holy Cow Snot

    😆

    hahahahahahahahahahaaaa!!!!

    Now THAT was some unexpected joy! HAHA!!!

  20. June 7, 2008 2:33 pm

    And I’m for real…. I want a how-to email. 😉

  21. June 7, 2008 3:11 pm

    may i add here that my kids are not perfect!

    nor am I – or Brent.

    i never want to give the impression we have it all together (hence the “smackdown” post a couple weeks ago)

    we have our moments. we have plenty. then we have THESE and all the tears, the prayers, the tough love, training/discipline give us hope!

    Bwandeeeeee – i will email you. but i dont think i will offer anything you are not already doing 🙂

  22. June 7, 2008 3:51 pm

    Beautiful! Absolutely I have experienced true joy. I have a wonderful husband, a smart/loving 8 year old son and a happy/active 7 month old baby girl. Pure Bliss! AMEN.

  23. June 7, 2008 4:18 pm

    Wow…now those kinds of moments with kids are what you pray for! That right there is seeing the fruit of what I’m sure have been many prayers to God for your kids to be healthy, well-rounded, kind, loving followers of Jesus. That IS pure joy!

  24. June 7, 2008 5:56 pm

    My son was born 1 year ago today… That is Joy in an of it self.

    I would have to go with my kids.

    Just to hear them laugh, be goofy and Just being kids. That brings me pure joy.

    I am trying hard to be a little more goofy with them.

    (SHAMELESS PLUG…. 😉 😀 Click my name to see a picture of my Son. To see my daughter look for the entry “A not so Childish decision”)

  25. June 7, 2008 6:11 pm

    I just read your Son’s post….

    A true pure heart….I love it. Keep him grounded in Christ.

    “Train them up in the way they should go…”

  26. spatulahandle permalink
    June 7, 2008 6:58 pm

    I had a very unexpected joy a few days before Christmas 2007. My children’s school called me and told me they needed to talk to me. When I got there there were 3 large gift bags that each contained a brand new coat and a couple of candy bars. The tag on the bags read “From Mrs. Clause”. To add to it they had a box full of food that the school kids had collected, for us to take home. At the time I had just started a new job and money was tight and the kids were going to be home for two weeks and we didn’t have much in the house…It never fails, around the time I start wondering what we are going to do, God reminds me that He is there and in control…God took care of us!

  27. June 7, 2008 10:45 pm

    Lately mine haven’t been so concrete that I can pin down one happening or another. But they’ll be short bursts of joy totally unrelated to where I’m at or what I’m doing.

    Just like tonight at work, I was walking along, my feet were sore, I was totally ready to go home, and all the sudden I had an overwhelming urge of gratefulness. Out of nowhere.

    Except it wasn’t from “nowhere”. We know Who it was from, don’t we?

  28. June 8, 2008 6:22 am

    Wow….what an amazing day you had. Just more proof that God can use pain (you being sick) to bring about good. This post made me cry. Thanks for sharing!

  29. June 8, 2008 4:07 pm

    Oh my goodness, I hope my kids turn out like yours! What’s your secret?

  30. samantha permalink
    June 8, 2008 8:20 pm

    Wow I hope I have a day like that with my kids. We are in one of those phases where I feel like I am reprimanding them all day and they are just constantly getting in trouble. The good days do come and are to come I know, but I hope I do as good a job as you.

  31. kotaincahoots permalink
    June 8, 2008 8:21 pm

    i’m sick too!

Leave a Reply

