Skip to content

A Father to the fatherless…

June 15, 2008

I looked out the back window as we drove away and waved good bye to the man that just hurt my mom. I didn’t see him again until I was 13 years old. Even that time was brief. In the meantime there were other father figures in my life. My first taste of abuse of all kinds were introduced as well. I haven’t seen my real father in 11 years. I don’t even know where he is at. Or if he’s still alive.

Yet. There is a peace. A total peace in my heart. I do have a Father. I am not fatherless. I am deeply loved and adored by the God of this amazing Universe! My Abba Father! My reason for looking up. The one I run to. The one I can depend on. My safe refuge!

I know there are many of you today who may not have an earthly Dad to celebrate with. For that, I am sorry. But you do have a Father in Heaven who loves you more than anyone on this earth! Who embraces you today and every day.

And to all the Daddy’s out there…Thank You! Thank you for you commitment to your family and children. Thank you for providing and nurturing them. Thank you for giving them a safe place to run to. You are special and loved beyond words!

HAPPY FATHERS DAY!

18 Comments leave one →
  1. June 15, 2008 3:30 am

    I am thrilled that I am not Fatherless! My heavenly father is more than I could have dreamed of, and always there. Sweet thoughts! I am also grateful and full of praise this day that the Lord broke that cycle in my life and my children have a father who loves them and is a great pic of what daddy is supposed to look like!

  2. June 15, 2008 4:51 am

    Wow…all I can say to that is that I’m so glad that our Heavenly Father found you, protects you, loves you and holds you in His arms more than any earthly Father ever could.

  3. June 15, 2008 5:18 am

    May God continue to comfort and bless you.

    “By his wounds you are healed” of yours.

    For all those reading Happy Fathers Day.

  4. June 15, 2008 6:12 am

    The same thing kind of happened to me. I didn’t see my dad from the time I was 14 until I was 24. Now I have a good relationship with him, although it took the past three years to get to this point.
    I am sorry you have had to go through that, I know it is painful. I hope at some point he is moved to search you out and and ask forgiveness.

  5. June 15, 2008 8:33 am

    Well said Tam! 🙂

    Being a father is not a part-time Job – it is the most demanding thing any man could ever do – but it fortunately also works out as being the most rewarding too – if you are prepared to ‘go the extra mile’ (that does NOT mean spoil your Kids and give in to them always either!)

    Your Old Man may not have had too many great qualities… but the World owes him tremendously for what he and your Mom created!

    <B

  6. June 15, 2008 8:34 am

    Cool! – a hcto without even trying! 🙂

    Yay me!

    <B

  7. June 15, 2008 10:24 am

    Thank you.

  8. June 15, 2008 10:55 am

    Thanks for the father’s day post-card 😉

  9. June 15, 2008 11:13 am

    Thanks Tam, I needed this today. I wrote a similar post–to my Heavenly Father. Oh how I praise Him for calling me His daughter! Love you so much.

  10. June 15, 2008 12:07 pm

    Thank you for the reminder. I’ve been without an earthly father for 19 years. So glad my Heavenly Daddy will never leave me.

  11. June 15, 2008 2:17 pm

    We have been redeemed and set free…You can tell for sure that you are now fully adopted as his own children because God sent the Spirit of his Son into our lives crying out, “Papa! Father!” Doesn’t that privilege of intimate conversation with God make it plain that you are not a slave, but a child? And if you are a child, you’re also an heir, with complete access to the inheritance. ~Galatians 4:6-7 The Message

    I love this paraphrase – you are now fully adopted – an heir with complete access to His inheritance. You have the privielge of intimate conversation. What a DAD!!

    Love you much, Tam!

  12. June 15, 2008 4:22 pm

    Tam, do you know how timely you are with your posts?
    As I look back and remember my father-less days, I never knew then that I had one that Loved me so very much. Abba Father indeed.
    xoxoxo.
    ivy

  13. June 15, 2008 5:06 pm

    I’m learning what the love of a father is. My father tried…but he is human, which means he isn’t perfect. He had limitations. He had challenges. He had things to deal with that I have no knowledge of, nor should I. He was raised by a human father also, which means that he was failed as well.

    I’m learning what a perfect father is. I’m learning that when I fall, he picks me up, brushes me off and say’s “It’s ok, I still love you!” I’m learning that he wants me to succeed. I’m learning that he want’s me to be whole, and he will do whatever he needs to do to help me achieve that.

    I’m thankful for my earthly father, but I’m in awe of my heavenly father.

  14. June 15, 2008 5:11 pm

    Great post Tam! Your healing and love are both evident. God has showered you with HIS unconditional love that is more powerful than any experience we can have here in the shadowlands. One day He will wipe away the tears and I’m pretty sure some things that have baffled us here will make better since at HOME when we are with Jesus. Joseph was able to see during his time on earth how his trials were used for good sometimes we don’t have that…but one day when we are with Jesus it will be worth it all…

  15. June 16, 2008 11:32 pm

    Gosh. This is awesome. I struggled with what to write about Father’s Day on my blog and ended up writing nothing. I wish I had written this but I’m glad that God could speak to my heart through yours. Thank you.

  16. July 1, 2008 9:10 pm

    thank you for sharing your beautiful heart…

  17. October 13, 2008 1:08 pm

    Please, in the future, refer to your biological father as your “biological father.” Men like him ruin it for those of us who take our daddy responsibilities seriously. 😉

Trackbacks

  1. a simple, thank you… « inProgress

Leave a Reply

