Skip to content

Creepy Crawlys!

June 15, 2008

I have a phobia of all things creepy and crawly. This covers all spiders, insects and some people πŸ˜€

Monday morning both our lovely kiddos go to camp. Kota goes as a camper. And Kass goes as part of the Worship Team.

All the little children will meet at the church to sign in then board the bus. BUT. One thing must pass inspection before they are given the free-pass to go. They must pass…

Lice Inspection!

And guess who gets to check those little greasy heads for lice? Uh-huh. ME!!!

I’m already itching, squirming and heebie-geebie’n about it 😯

Wish me luck!

Did you ever go to summer camp?

20 Comments leave one →
  1. June 15, 2008 5:08 pm

    I’m with you Tam – phobia of creepy crawlies here too. Just the thought of checking for lice makes me want to scratch my head. I hope you don’t find a single louse!

    I went to church camp twice as a kid and I was a camp counselor three times. The first time was for a week long camp, the second was for a summer long camp – absolutely loved it! and the last was this past summer and I was my daughter’s counselor. I didn’t arrange it that way and was surprised that they did, but it worked out just fine. I was thinking about being a counselor this summer until I found out I was pregnant and I think its too hot for me to spend hours outside without heat relief. Last year we were outside A LOT and it was HOT… so I guess it will be a few years before I’m a counselor again, but I definitely want to do it.

  2. June 15, 2008 5:28 pm

    Eeew. Don’t envy you that job.

    I went to our church camp many times. My mom was a counselor many times. It was in the woods of Wisconsin and to this day, the smell of OFF reminds me of Lake Helen Bible Camp.

  3. Heidi permalink
    June 15, 2008 5:30 pm

    Yep…. I went several times. Let me tell you..

    Learning how to macrame was awesome. Then those leather straps too.
    I also remember the camp I went to had the best bisquits and gravy.. yummo.

    I miss those days. πŸ™‚
    Can I go? I’ll leave EVERYTHING>>>

  4. June 15, 2008 5:32 pm

    Awwww c’mon….they are just little tiny bugs that crawl and make you itch!! Oh and they multiply…sorry….had to do it!!

    Yes! I went to summer camp!! I loved it. I was saddned to learn that my camp closed and that the final year of operation was 2004.

    I remember canoeing in the Boundry Water Canoe Area along the Canadian border in MN, seeing the northern lights, negotiating white water. I also learned to play guitar at camp. So many memories of summers spent in Wisconsin…

  5. June 15, 2008 5:53 pm

    No, can’ts say that they made me go to summer camp…I wonder why…hmm.
    I wish I could go to summer camp now though!
    Love you!

    – I did a new layout girl:) I linked you to my original blog siesta:)

    We’ll talk soon.

    ang

  6. June 15, 2008 6:11 pm

    Man, how did you land that job? Not my idea of a fun day. Good luck with that

  7. June 15, 2008 6:23 pm

    ditto on brad’s remark… 😯

    loved camp as a kid..good memories!

  8. June 15, 2008 6:53 pm

    I never got to attend summer camp.
    I survived nonetheless. I’m easily entertained, what can I say.

  9. June 15, 2008 7:10 pm

    I kinda met my wife at summer camp (minus the lice).

  10. kassincahoots permalink
    June 15, 2008 7:33 pm

    Mama, I’m sorry. Maybe you could wear some latex gloves (if they don’t have any already) That might help! Oh who am I kidding… you HATE creepy crawlies! Love you mom!!!

  11. June 15, 2008 7:42 pm

    Tomorrow is the first day of the first camp here as well! Mama will be a lice checker as well! she has done it several times for several hundred kids! and she has found some winners! She could give you some lessons tam – we have both been to youth camps – and yes they had electricity in those days! lol

  12. TheNorEaster permalink
    June 15, 2008 7:46 pm

    “Did you ever go to summer camp?”

    Once.

  13. Heather Blankenship permalink
    June 15, 2008 7:59 pm

    ewwww… that’s a gross job!!
    yes, I went to summer camp when I was eleven. I got stuck with a top bunk in the corner of the cabin. late the first night, someone got up to use the facilities and when they opened the bathroom door, I happened to look at the ceiling….yeah, there were like thirty spiders…big ones over my bed. There was a nest or something in the corner above my head… those suckers were about a two feet from my face. I flipped! Leave it to eleven year old girls, we used our aerosol hairspray to kill them!! haha. it worked but I was still unable to sleep soundly the rest of the week.

  14. June 15, 2008 8:25 pm

    Get out the HAZ-MAT suit. That’s a nasty job.

    I loved camp as a kid. I still have a good scar on my arm that serves as a good story for the kids.

    Bugs? Can’t have camp without ’em.

  15. June 15, 2008 8:57 pm

    I never went to summer camp but I worked at one… and no, lice inspection was NOT one of the jobs… and I would not have volunteered for that job AT ALL!!! GROSS!

  16. June 16, 2008 12:56 am

    MINISTERING ANGELS
    The Bible makes it very clear that we are to send the angels out to fight for us, for they have much more power than us mere mortals. For all the problems that we face are orchestrated by the evil unseen principalities and powers, which seeks constantly to destroy us.
    The Lord said to me, β€œ that one of His angels has enough power to deal with all my troubles,” and yet He assures me that He has multitudes ready to swing into action on our behalf, when we give the command for them to fight. Have you commanded them today to fight for you?
    The Lord recently has spoken to me, and said, β€œWhere my angels are, there is my presence.” He said angels must fight the powers of darkness, man cannot defeat such powers, angels will rescue you from all evil.
    Never ask an angel for help ,never pray to them, never seek to converse with them, unless they speak to you a message that has been given to them by our Lord. Angels are servants of God and His children. God has provided strength for us by these angelic beings.
    When Christ was on this earth in His human form He needed strength, just like we do today, and God sent one of His angels to strengthen Him. So that He could obtain salvation for us.
    When you need strength, then command angels to bring you strength from your heavenly Father, in fact you can command angels to bring anything that you have asked your Father for. For example, health, wealth, deliverance, peace, etc.
    Now, some people are very confused about pictures or statues of angels, thinking that it is forbidden in the Bible to look upon such things, but in fact what the Bible says is that we must not bow down and worship images. For these visual aids actually help us to see that there is more to this world than the physical realm.
    Bible tells us that our warfare is not against flesh and blood, but against principalities and powers. So, we must use the angelic powers from God, to deal with these unseen powers by commanding angels.

    I hope that you use these spiritual warfare secrets that the Lord has shown me. Once you begin to enter this realm of believing there is no going back, you must send angels out every day, to fight the evil spirits of infirmities, which is sickness and disease, the spirit of uncleanliness, which is the evil lusts, in mind and deed.
    The spirit of poverty, which are evil attacks on your finances, and anything else that you could possibly think of where you need help.
    Most important of all, every day we must repent, and live in the victory, that Christ Jesus has saved us.

  17. June 16, 2008 5:52 am

    I went to mormon church camp one time w/ a girlfriend.

    I saw some odd things….never went back.

  18. June 16, 2008 2:04 pm

    Inspection Complete!!!!

    This is my 3rd year Monkey Pickin’ and it’s the first year we’ve not had to send a kiddo home with lice πŸ™‚ There is nothing worse than breaking that news to an excited camper. Breaks my heart! Then when you see them at church the next weekend they give you evil eyes 😯

    dang

  19. June 17, 2008 7:31 am

    amen to the creepy crawly people. I’ve seen them around.

  20. June 17, 2008 12:29 pm

    I went to summer camp every year from the time I was eight to fifteen. Some wonderful memories – great times!! Nazarene church camps are the best – just ask Mama and Papa. πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

