Skip to content

Blog Retreat!

June 16, 2008

Could it happen? I mean really! Ya think? Maybe!

There was a little talk last week here in the comment section about putting together a Bloggers Retreat. Hmmm….

So, some conversations went down via email and we think it can be done.

BUT – we need your help!

So go here to 5th Street – Brian Alexander and answer a few questions and give him your thoughts. Play nice tho…he’s a sensitive one πŸ˜‰

And if you decide to come back here…tell me…

Do you think it’s odd to want to meet a bunch of strangers???

34 Comments leave one →
  1. June 16, 2008 2:20 am

    this is an aweesome idea..sorry we won’t be able to make it..I don’t diss my kids…just a thing with me. love ya have a good day..checlin later..STILL internet probs.

  2. June 16, 2008 4:25 am

    Mama and I have no kids at home – but I hate to see kids “dissed”. I did a comment about our facility here – at the link you provided. Mama and I are flexible. I like bringing the kids an option.

  3. June 16, 2008 4:44 am

    Tam – am I still a “stranger”?? I think we are all family.

  4. June 16, 2008 5:53 am

    “he’s a sensitive one”
    Really? come on!

  5. pollyh permalink
    June 16, 2008 6:02 am

    It’s more fun meeting a stranger after chatting back and forth on a blog roll—but then they aren’t really a stranger are they? Just a name with a face that we haven’t seen eye to eye!

  6. June 16, 2008 6:02 am

    no kids? seriously? what about this idea……shhhhh (no 5th street). LOL, just kidding.

    i love the idea. but i’d want to bring my kids. surely we could have an evening where childcare is provided and the grown ups go out and act like children. ?????????????

  7. June 16, 2008 6:07 am

    I’m with Melissa. I can’t do this unless I can bring my daughter. It’s just not right to not bring one of the most influential people in my life.

    I absolutely love the idea. I want so badly to meet up with the people I have come to admire and love as friends here in blogworld…but the cost of leaving Mary out is too high for me.

  8. June 16, 2008 6:10 am

    Easy Melissa, I said over on my blog that we will revisit the “no kids” thing.

    So easy everyone we will look at it.

  9. June 16, 2008 6:11 am

    Melissa,

    You are in charge of getting childcare. πŸ™‚

  10. June 16, 2008 7:08 am

    You know…Kansas City is in the middle of the country. And with Mama and Papa’s Nazarene connections, they have a nice, affordable hotel at Nazarene Theological Seminary that isn’t ever full – unless a conference is going on at the same time. A big living area for all to congregate – nice surrounding woods. It’s not far from the main shopping area – good eating – museums –

    Just a thought…

  11. TheNorEaster permalink
    June 16, 2008 8:19 am

    Look, I know I don’t have kids, but I’m afraid I’m going to have to agree with Melissa and Lori on this one. Because I do know that those who have kids would still have to find someone to watch them while their parents are away. And, like in the case of Tam and Brent, there are times the kids are major part of our own little blog-world. (Besides, who could forget Kota playing those drums or that famous “New Dog Old Tricks” video?) Probably the decision is light years out of my hands, but I just wanted to throw that in there.

    Oh, and, about my going…

    First, it would take some seriously serious conniving to get me there. Not that I’d mind meeting a “bunch of strangers,” but…Well, it’s a long story.

    Second, whether or not I CAN go, depends on price, time of year, location, and how much warning…umm…how much NOTICE I have beforehand.

    ALSO…I don’t think anybody has mentioned this yet so please please please pay attention! (I’d put this in bold if I knew how.)

    We all go to different churches, hold different theological views, and probably have different interpretations about the same Scripture, but if this “blog retreat” does happen then let’s all remember to respect our brothers and sisters. Don’t get so caught up in the idea that we forget our Lord and King and end up debating this or that and throwing mudpies at each other because we have different perspectives. Because whatever our perspectives are, God is bigger than every single one of them put together.

    (Wasn’t that cool? You probably forgot all about the “conniving” part already, didn’t ya? πŸ˜‰ )

  12. June 16, 2008 8:31 am

    Nor – i was thinking the same thing… only that all my readers aren’t Believers. So there’s that to think about too.

    and the kids thing…i definitely understand. and really, i personally have no problem with it. But our kids will likely stay home for school/travel reasons and cost. I think we’ll have the furthest to travel.

    I’d love to see EVERYONE attend…and i’m sure we’ll all come up with something that might work. I don’t think, tho, that conditions will be perfect for everyone however so we WILL need to be flexible.

    Keep pumping out your ideas! We’ll be discussing this a lot in the near future so we have plenty of time to brainstorm.

    I’m super excited about this possibility and can’t believe that i just might meet all of you!!!!!

    And remember to address you concerns at Brians Place – He’s Bloggers Retreat Central. Phew!

    http://brianalexander.wordpress.com/2008/06/15/blog-retreat/

  13. June 16, 2008 8:33 am

    But i DO get to meet Darla and her family in NINE DAYS!!!!!

    I’m doing a Happy Dance right now!!!

  14. TheNorEaster permalink
    June 16, 2008 8:48 am

    Gosh…I guess I should head over to Brain’s Bloggers Retreat Central now and officially get involved now, huh…?

    This might be a bit awkward…

    …I’ve never been to his blog before today–and I have no idea if he has been to mine at all–and yet I’m going to talk about meeting him…?

    This is kind of strange here.

  15. June 16, 2008 8:57 am

    no Nor – you’re just the strange one πŸ˜‰

    but i looooooove youuuu

  16. June 16, 2008 9:06 am

    “A stranger’s just a friend you haven’t meeeeeetttttt!”

    Except Nor – He’s just strange πŸ˜‰

    Haven’t you folks ever heard about Pen Pals?? They were all the rage for about TWO CENTURIES and many of them took years to meet the other living in countries far away.

    The weirdest thing about meeting a blog friend IRL????
    Having to let go of them after you do!

    And just go back to blogging with them via a computer. πŸ˜•

    <B

  17. June 16, 2008 9:31 am

    i think i’m gonna have to take out ads on my blog to raise the dough to go.

  18. June 16, 2008 9:37 am

    me too mandy pants!

  19. June 16, 2008 9:54 am

    I think Love has the farthest to go..just saying πŸ˜‰

    and I am doing the happy dance tooo!!! 9 days!!!!!!!!!! happy dance and cleaning is just wrong…but fun!

    Love you Tam!

  20. June 16, 2008 9:58 am

    i can only clean with music on – and an occasional dance.

    Love does have the farthest to go. I’m afraid he probably won’t make it either 😦

    Love you too Princess!!! We’re in the single digits finally – ahhhhhh πŸ˜€

  21. June 16, 2008 10:10 am

    That would be so cool. My wife and I were talking just the other day and said how cool it would be to do some kind of a meet-up with other bloggers. I’m excited!

    BTW…it kinda bugs me that my Mac spell check says “bloggers” isn’t a word. The replacement it wants to offer is “floggers” and, well…yeah…

  22. June 16, 2008 10:17 am

    haha! hmmmm. floggers? this could could get dangerous 😯

  23. June 16, 2008 10:33 am

    OK, Tam. We are SOOOOO NOT strangers!
    Strange? Yes. Strangers? No!

  24. June 16, 2008 10:43 am

    πŸ˜†

  25. June 16, 2008 11:08 am

    I am still fairly fresh amongst this group of highly-functional, yet seemingly-insane blogaholics, and admittedly, I already feel right at home. Whether or not I could actually join up with the group is debatable consdering my own calendar woes, and plans to leave our shores… BUT, if I was still here, I would definitely join the party and perhaps experience a group where I actually was NOT the craziest person in the room. That might be kinda fun, and hey I like a challenge.

    Until then though, I will resort to rambling comments that seem to lead to no real point. What’s that saying again??? Few Actually Read This?

  26. June 16, 2008 11:12 am

    I have met two “strangers” – Kelly and Crossview – both were wonderful experiences – for me! Not so sure it was for them! lol

    i think it is an extra special blessing – a serendipity!

  27. Heidi permalink
    June 16, 2008 12:56 pm

    I cannot imagine meeting up with all these bloggers.

    I’m like Mandy with a little dough depletion, it will work.

    If I don’t get there, I’m definately making it up to you.
    You are so close but SOOOOOOOOO far away.

    I’m still working on your email.. πŸ™‚

    Love you Tam!!

  28. June 16, 2008 1:00 pm

    Hey, sneakin’ in some blog time while they ALL THREE NAP. πŸ˜€

    Just filled out the questions! Yeah!

  29. June 16, 2008 1:17 pm

    Never met Theresa from Cali and she’s coming to Oklahoma in August to meet some of us Oklahoma bloggers.

    Crazy? Perhaps.

  30. June 16, 2008 4:31 pm

    I too would love to meet other bloggers, but doubt I would be able to attend unless it was in my backyard. Money issues… I also have 2 children and one on the way in December. If by some miracle I was able to come up with the cash, I could only come bringing a nursing little one and I’d have to find a babysitter for the other two.

  31. June 16, 2008 10:19 pm

    we’re going to be in bakersfield, ca next week…and I asked mark how far it was away from you. all he did was laugh.
    it wasn’t funny. hmph!

  32. June 18, 2008 8:03 am

    Ooooo..sounds like fun.

    I think it’s time to get Duece1 back together…….think?

  33. July 1, 2008 9:24 pm

    i wanna come!!!

  34. August 12, 2008 5:35 pm

    how was i so in the dark about this? i am so embarrassed and bummed out.

Leave a Reply

