Skip to content

Deep Thoughts from Kota

June 21, 2008

Took Kota to the Doctor this afternoon. Suspected he had Strep. And Strep he has.

On our way home he was wondering out loud how he could’ve caught this illness. So he says…

“Well, I did have Spam at camp last week.”

😯

2 things!

1- that’s my boy! that stuff will kill ya!

2- what kind of camp serves Spam?!


Is there that one food item you just can’t stomach?

38 Comments leave one →
  1. June 21, 2008 4:22 pm

    hope Kota is feeling better soon! dang spam! ask him who I should write the letter to who gave them spam? that would have made me hungry..bc i wouldn’t have eaten that day.

    Hate can spinach..it looks like snot, and I cannot make myself put in my mouth. πŸ˜†

  2. June 21, 2008 4:43 pm

    okra!

  3. June 21, 2008 5:18 pm

    spinach, liver, tomatoes

  4. June 21, 2008 5:22 pm

    Broccoli ….. Yuck… Blech… Ewe… Gross….

    Tell Kota it could be worse.. Could have been Souse… (Google it if you haven’t heard of it…)

  5. June 21, 2008 5:32 pm

    Doesn’t spam reminds you of Purina Dog Food? You a thought right back at you!
    xoxoxo
    Ivy

  6. June 21, 2008 6:08 pm

    I’ll eat almost anything, even haggis, but never

    NEVER

    liver, gizzards, and tongue!

    EWWWWWWW!!!!

  7. June 21, 2008 6:17 pm

    uh. Michelle?

    i’ve had all 3.

    plus one more kind of in that category but i am SO NOT gonna mention…it just might cause you to dump me 😯

  8. June 21, 2008 6:52 pm

    I’m with Michelle, the whole liver and gizzards thing is ridiculous. Why would I want to eat a part of the body that used to “clean” out the body. Ewwww.

    Oh, and I like Spam πŸ™‚

  9. June 21, 2008 6:59 pm

    Brent – I KNOW!!

    Tam – please don’t share, I’m already gaggin’ here!

  10. June 21, 2008 7:07 pm

    SPAM at camp? What happened, were they trying to recreate Hawaii or something?

    Gizzards are GREAT!!!!

    The one food that I just can’t stomach…is just that, tripe…UGH!. Eww I just threw up in my mouth!

  11. June 21, 2008 7:12 pm

    I’m with you Tam. I’ve never heard of SPAM at camp. I suppose they had a can of Slim Jims on the counter too.

  12. June 21, 2008 7:13 pm

    FRESH TOMATOES!!!! God did not make those nasty things!

  13. June 21, 2008 7:14 pm

    I’ve had bad food at camp before, but never SPAM…maybe a SPAM camp game???

  14. June 21, 2008 7:26 pm

    HI Tam.
    Poor Kota.
    I’ve never had spam….even forgot there was such a thing.
    Potato salad grosses me out……..I can’t look at it, touch it, or even think about it. Must stop now!

  15. June 21, 2008 7:38 pm

    Gross! That is so funny he said that though….The thought of all food makes me sick now because of… well I’ll tell you in a few weeks. πŸ˜‰
    I hope he feels better soon!

  16. TheNorEaster permalink
    June 21, 2008 8:03 pm

    “Is there that one food item you just can’t stomach?”

    Let me instead say that the only vegetables I prefer are corn, broccholi, carrots, and green beans. But I will NOT eat carrots that have been boiled. Uh uh! No way. Not me. Slow-cooked all the way.

    And that reminds me…Do you know what the LEAST common phrase in The Whole World is?

    “OH, BOY…SPAM!!!”

  17. TheNorEaster permalink
    June 21, 2008 8:05 pm

    One more thing…

    …hope Kota feels better soon. πŸ˜‰

  18. June 21, 2008 9:43 pm

    Okay, I LOVE LOVE LOVE spam. Fried spam. With fried potatoes. And french style green beans. And corn. Oh my gosh, one of my favorite dinners ever. LOVE IT! I have two cans in my cabinet that I’m saving for a night when I want to make that dinner. It has to be a night when I can sit and relax and enjoy it. Really. It’s sooo gooood! πŸ˜†

    One food I can’t stand…. umm…. I can’t think of anything. Well, besides the obvious stuff like the previously mentioned gizzards and liver and tongue. But as far as run of the mill everyday foods….ummm…. I hate cottage cheese. Can’t eat it. And yeah, that’s all I can think of.

    I love food so this was hard. πŸ˜†

  19. Heidi permalink
    June 21, 2008 11:36 pm

    Menudo grosses me out.

    With a Mexican husband, I do have to serve it at least once a week. Cleaning the cow stomach is hard to stomach….

    Tongue is good if you make it the right way..

    Spam at camp!!!! ewwwwwwwwwwwwwwww!!!

  20. June 22, 2008 12:31 am

    Mc Donald’s cheeseburgers…because I got food poisoning from eating one and was sick for 3 weeks. I do not eat there anymore.

    Sausage makes me gag…and fish. too.

  21. Tim Haines permalink
    June 22, 2008 1:29 am

    Mmmmmm

  22. June 22, 2008 7:13 am

    Spam??? Seriously!? I cant imagine going ANYWHERE and being served spam ecept for maybe the local prison kitchen! I have never eaten it nor will I ever. I am so sorry for your horrible Spam experience Kota!! You poor thing.

    Tam! What kind of mom sends their kid to “Spam” camp????? πŸ˜‰

  23. June 22, 2008 8:53 am

    Okra, too.

  24. June 22, 2008 9:09 am

    You ever watch that show on the Food Network, where the bald guy eats all those weird items??? Now THAT is a gross gross show… and I wouldn’t eat anything he tries…. if you haven’t seen it, you need to watch it, it will put our fast-food lives in better perspective….

    As for me… I won’t eat pickled pigs ANYTHING… πŸ™‚

  25. June 22, 2008 9:21 am

    Oh sad situation. But your kid is so freakin funny. I love that he thinks he got strep from spam. Yay. I heart him and am praying. yeah…pretty much anything with a “fishy” smell isn’t making into my belly. Gross. But I do love me some fresh tomatoes. I will eat those suckers straight from the bush or tree or wherever they come from. Yum.

  26. kotaincahoots permalink
    June 22, 2008 9:32 am

    it came straight from the can. Not COOKED

  27. kotaincahoots permalink
    June 22, 2008 9:32 am

    it was actually good

  28. kotaincahoots permalink
    June 22, 2008 9:33 am

    I whoosed out on the sardines in mustard

  29. June 22, 2008 9:47 am

    um. kota and i just looked up “souse”

    EEEEEEWWWWWWWW!!!!!

    THAT IS WRONG ON EVERY LEVEL PEOPLE!!!

    BAD!

  30. June 22, 2008 9:58 am

    You know, Tam, I learn all kinds of things I didn’t know before, just from reading your blog.

    I’m thinkin’ it should be listed with all the educational – advanced learning – networks.

    Just a thought…

  31. June 22, 2008 10:05 am

    haha!!! πŸ˜†

    Michelle is a comedian today πŸ˜‰

  32. June 22, 2008 10:19 am

    edumacation is always good and we should get it where ever we can…mmmm doesn’t sound too good…but you know what I mean..hahaha looking around for you…are you going to make me wait til thursday??

  33. June 22, 2008 10:21 am

    So take your pick Spam or Souse if they were the last things on earth to eat? … πŸ˜‰

  34. June 22, 2008 10:27 am

    I would starve to death

  35. June 22, 2008 10:32 am

    how about stabbing my own eye out with a plastic fork
    πŸ˜•

  36. June 22, 2008 12:19 pm

    I have my days… πŸ˜€

  37. June 23, 2008 9:07 am

    Spam sculpting is fun! It’s better than clay πŸ™‚

  38. June 24, 2008 10:53 am

    Oh, some camps have the worst food. Some of our friends own/run http://www.thegenesiscamp.com and thier food is great.

Leave a Reply

